Course
GMAT PREP COURSE

Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan

5 stars
(5/5) - 76 reviews
Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Nothing better for Quant

5 stars
June 19, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 660
I started studying for the GMAT middle of last year when I took a Manhattan GMAT course. Upon completion of the course I felt I knew the material but realized that was not the case when I took the actual exam. Next I utilized Magoosh which improved my quant score a little bit but no where near where I had desired. After Magoosh I tried TTP as a friend swore by it. I completed the chapters and used Jeff for private tutoring once a week. TTP really excels in breaking down each topic thoroughly. After utilizing TTP and Jeff my quant score increased 10 points to a 48. Would definitely recommend this service to anyone struggling with Quant.

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: Metropolitan STate University of Denver
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher, great online resources

5 stars
February 8, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 690
Jeff had a number of great tips and shortcuts to save valuable time during the test, and the online resources at Target Test Prep are exceptionally well put together.

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Turned My MBA Dreams Into Reality 550-->730

5 stars
January 14, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 730
I really cannot thank Scott enough for turning my MBA dreams from a distant dream into reality.

My story with TTP starts out with my score of 550. I will forewarn you, I am NOT a good test taker and this is NOT a quick fix post/review (although TTP can surely help you in 2-3 months). I am successful in business, went to a good college, a driven person and willing to do whatever it takes. However, I am not someone who just studied for a little bit and got the score I needed. This post and review is more for people who really have done everything they can and still need a better score. My journey was 2 years from start to finish filled with an emotional roller coaster and lots of money.

Any who, I did not just randomly take the GMAT and get a 550 either. I studied hard, worked with another tutor and took classes at Manhattan Prep. For some people, Manhattan's traditional way of teaching is exactly what you need. Not for me. The classroom set up did not really dig into my weak areas. I knew I needed some help so I decided to get a tutor from Manhattan. The tutor assigned me problem from the Official Guide as well as lessons from the Manhattan Books across both Verbal and Quant. I don't want to go too much in Manhattan because this post is about TTP, but the tutoring did not help. The tutor never checked-in and was always "busy" to meet so it was very hard to find time to work together. He did not take the time to understand my weak areas, and I felt like he sort of gave up on me. Needless to say, I bombed the test and got the 550 (can't remember the exact breakout but let me tell you Quant was reaaaaaaaaaal rough).

One year into my journey, I was devastated but did not want to give up, especially in Quant. I did research here on Beat the GMAT and found TTP. The night I reached out, Scott (the owner) immediately emailed me back and told me he could do tutoring. I took an analysis test on TTP and pretty much bombed it. Scott was very, very honest with me on my road ahead. He told me I needed to study 3-4 hours a night (no joke) and 6 hours on the weekends to get the score above 700+ in three months. I also needed to be extremely dedicated to our sessions (2-3 per week for 2 hours each) and the lessons on TTP. Finally, someone who was honest with me in what I actually needed to do.

For 3 months, our tutoring sessions were grueling. I felt like I needed a nap after. I thoroughly did all of the sessions on the TTP website too (which are amazing by the way). When the time came around to take the test, I felt ready, but extremely nervous because I had already bombed this test. Well, unfortunately, I bombed it again, 590 (again Quant way lower than verbal). I realized that it wasn't just the knowledge. I also struggled hard with anxiety. Scott had prepared me like crazy but my anxiety was getting in the way.

I went into to a real sad hole for a while. Scott was there every step of the way. We decided to give it another try because we thought over preparation would help with anxiety. 3 more months of studying and tutoring. I was ready this time and felt prepared. However, my score came in at 650 (Q46, V33). Definitely not high enough for a top school.

Scott, again, was there for me and worked with me on a next step plan. I knew my story wasn't over (or that I was the most stubborn person in the entire world) and needed to get that 700+ score because I knew I could and that I was smart enough. I worked on my anxiety on the side, and Scott set me up with a verbal tutor he knew. If I was going to break through 700, I needed to get my verbal score up. He actually turned down tutoring me in Quant this time around because he knew that I fully capable of getting a good Quant score. I worked my butt off and did a million practice tests on TTP while studying with the verbal tutor.

My last and final test, I got a 730 (Q49 VX)!!! I will never forget that feeling. I applied for full time shortly after and got into a top 5 business school.

Scott became more than just more tutor. He became my friend and my mentor throughout this entire process. Even though he doesn't tutor me anymore, we still stay in touch. Scott is THE reason I finally got the score I deserved.

If you read this ENTIRE thing here are a few tips:
-If you don't have a ton of money for tutoring, do the TTP regular course. it's a very cheap option for Quant and honestly, it's the best out there. I would know, I have literally tried almost every other option (don't want to list them all out because it's embarrassingly long). I have sent countless people who thank me as soon as they start. It is SO thorough for Quant, intuitive and easy to digest.
-If you are on your 3rd, 4th, 5th time taking the test. DO NOT GIVE UP!! Try something new like TTP. I swear if you put the work in, the outcome will come.
-If you feel like you've done everything you possibly can, look at trying to balance your mental health. Sometimes anxiety is what is holding you back.

Thank you TTP for everything!!!!

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: USC
Major: Psychology
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A long climb to Quant 50

5 stars
June 5, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 520   After: 700
When I first started on the GMAT, I was a year out of undergrad. I thought with my strong grades at USC & strong previous standardized test scores that prep would not be long or hard. I was rocked on my first GMAT - Verbal was a 33. My quant was much worse, I was at a 25.

Needless to say, I was pretty depressed. I felt that my knowledge of math needed a major refresh and I felt I had forgot the vast majority of the concepts on the GMAT. I felt like I needed a curriculum that could teach me the math principles I had forgotten.

I had tried Manhattan GMAT & GMAT club to find problems but I was running into the same issues. I could solve the simple problems but introduce a few variables and I struggled. I needed a course that would review specifically my weaknesses. I came across Jeff from Target Test Prep. We began tutoring and he felt that the curriculum at Target Test Prep would be my strongest prep course.

I reviewed every section and I would bookmark the pages I got wrong. Then I would go back re-read them and practice problems that I could have tailor made to that subject. I noticed that my mistakes came from 5 core subjects and that if I could spend extra time on those I would improve my score. So I prepped and went at it again.

This time I was much closer on the gmat - I got a 34 on verbal and 44 on quant. I felt much better this time but I knew I could crack the 700. I just needed to master the math more.

This past time, I studied for 4 hard months. I reviewed every section at least twice. I did every problem I could from the GMAT book and every Target Test Prep problems. I was still nervous about my verbal so I found myself studying Manhattan GMAT's sentence correction over and over. Then came test day.

The math section on the test felt easy - I finished with 6 minutes left in the exam. I was positive - I had flunked it.

Verbal was much harder and I felt pretty decent about it. The trick with verbal is practicing with the time crunch, I felt myself rushing towards the end. I felt if I had budgeted more time for the problems at the end I would have had a score. However, It was time for me to click and get my score.

I was in complete shock. I got a 35 in Verbal - the 77%. But I scored a 50 - 89% on the Quant. I finally got my 700.

It takes a long time to have GMAT mastery and I couldn't thank Target Test Prep enough. It is my belief that with the quant you have to know how to react instantaneously and have the guts to move on from a problem you won't be able to solve in time. It's not an easy path by any means but getting that 700 was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

I know that most prep companies make a lot of promises. I fell for one in a similar company that I choose not to name for English prep. However, if you feel like you need to LEARN math and not just practice problems but actually grasp the concepts like I did: then I highly recommend Target Test Prep.

I can't promise you a Q50. No company can. That comes from putting a ton of hard work and hours towards understanding the concepts and tricks. But, I do feel with the program that you will have the tools you need to get a Quant score that high.

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course- Cuts to the Essence

5 stars
March 16, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Teacher: Jeff and Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
My decision to apply for Fall '16 was very late and therefore my studying was compressed. I spent 2-3 hours per day for two weeks taking the Chapter tests and using the Chapter lessons for instruction on my weak areas. My study approach was far less than ideal, but Jeff and Scott's website is very user friendly and well organized into the key topic areas. With more time, I believe the slightly above average student could take the entirety of this course and achieve a perfect score. Although I never used the tutoring services, these guys are both experts. HIghly recommended after my initial interactions with them.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: May 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Best Self Study Plan Hands Down

5 stars
February 13, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller & Scott Woodbury
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 690
If you are looking to obtain the highest score possible, the maximum learning plan offered by Target Test Prep is without a doubt the best product on the market. I had taken the GMAT previously using other vendors, but Target Test Prep is the most comprehensive and allows for a self study plan that is extremely organized, with thousands of problems, but more importantly detailed answers to help the learning experience. I have passed the CFA & CAIA and I think that the way in which Target Test Prep prepares students is unparalleled. Furthermore, both Scott and Jeff were extremely hands on and the customer service I received could not have been better.

Do not waste your time looking at various options, just go to the Target Test Prep website and you will understand why it is the best!

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2015
College: Cornell University
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

BEST GMAT Course Available By Far!

5 stars
January 18, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller and Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 710
As previous reviewers have mentioned, Target Test Prep has the best curriculum and tutors for the GMAT exam by far! I took the GMAT exam two years ago after using a mix of Veritas Prep and Manhattan GMAT materials. I also worked with a tutor for 10 hours. I found these materials and the tutor somewhat helpful but I didn’t feel completely prepared or comfortable with the math required for the GMAT.

Ultimately, I decided not to attend business school that year. Two years later, I decided to take the GMAT again. I heard about Target Test Prep because Jeff presented as a guest GMAT tutor in the Forte Foundation’s MBALaunch program. I was so impressed with his presentation that I decided to work on the quantitative section with him. (I’m also currently in graduate school so it took me longer to prepare for the GMAT.) After studying with Jeff for a few months, I felt a million times more comfortable with the quantitative section and the math concepts I needed.

I also worked with Scott Woodbury-Stewart on the verbal section because my verbal score was fluctuating quite a bit. I highly recommend both Jeff and Scott to help with the quant and verbal sections. They are very good at explaining the concepts in different and personalized ways to make them easily understandable to you. It was much more efficient to work with them compared to studying independently. They helped me focus on the areas I needed to improve in the most.

Overall, I took the exam more that once because I got a higher verbal score on one test and a higher quant score on the following test. My higher verbal score was a 42 (96% percentile) and higher quant score was 46 (64% percentile). According to different online score converters, those two raw scores combined are roughly equal to a 710-720. I could not have raised my GMAT score without the Target Test Prep curriculum, Jeff’s quantitative tutoring, and Scott’s verbal tutoring.

Feel free to contact me with any questions about my experience. I was very happy with my experience with Target Test Prep!

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
College: UNSW
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: Australia
Verified Real Student Review

From stressed to confident!

5 stars
November 5, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 400   After: 590
TTP was perfect for what I needed to improve my score. I know how hard it is to commit to one platform, however I was in your shoes only a couple of months ago, and I cannot speak highly enough of what TTP provides. The platform offers an easy to follow course structure and covers all content required. It is one of those platforms that has included everything you would need as a student, including well explained content, examples, tests, easy links from the tests to where the content can be researched and more. The analytics on how I was tracking was first class and certainly helps to know the areas I needed to work on. Strangely enough I actually started to enjoy studying and challenging myself on each of the tests that were provided. It’s two thumbs up from me!

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: Tulane University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep - Invaluable GMAT Prep (640 to 730)

5 stars
October 26, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller & Scott Woodbury Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
Target Test Prep was truly invaluable in my prep for the GMAT. Before coming to Target Test Prep I felt like I had tried almost everything - Manhattan GMAT, Manhattan Review, Veritas, Varsity Tutors, Magoosh. I officially had the GMAT blues and was feeling a bit hopeless. Through Target Test Prep, though, I was able to raise my score from a 640 to a 730, a score I am incredibly proud.

After chatting with Jeff Miller at TTP for the first time, I immediately felt more hopeful and confident that I could master the GMAT. He explained that many people complete courses from other GMAT prep companies and still find themselves in the same situation I was in - I needed more thorough prep catered to my individual needs. The curriculum at TTP, written by Scott Woodbury Stewart, is the best GMAT quant prep resource I’ve found to exist (and I tried a lot of them). It is incredibly thorough and comprehensive. Jeff was also such an amazing teacher and cheerleader - he gave me more pep talks than I thought it was possible for one to give. I cannot thank him and Target Test Prep enough.

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: Utah State University
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Math and GMAT Tutoring Led Me To 100 Point Improvement

5 stars
October 23, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury Stewart, Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 670
Target Test Prep (TTP) has helped me improve where other companies failed to do so. I have tried other test prep curriculums and teachers and none come close to what TTP can do to help improve one's GMAT math skills. I went from scoring in the 32nd percentile to scoring in the 64th percentile in math.

First, the curriculum is unbeatable and I mean that. Being able to set a target and let Scott Stewart's curriculum cater to my needs was fantastic. I was able to really push myself with the in-depth coverage of math topics coupled with excellent questions for each topic. Each chapter or topic not only had great explanations for the math concepts, but TTP also provided excellent testing tips embedded within each chapter. There are so many different useful features within the TTP curriculum. Among many of my favorites, I particularly enjoyed being able to create math practice tests with customized topic selections with selections for respective difficulty levels, customized time spent per question, and a customized number of questions per practice test. As someone who does well to practice multiple problems, TTP's curriculum provided me with what I needed there. The curriculum is just amazing.

Along with the curriculum, I recommend Jeff Miller as a tutor. The price per session was well below other competitors but the tutoring was worth more than what I was paying. Jeff is not only competent in what he teaches regarding math topics, but he is also relatable in one's pursuit for a good GMAT score. He understands the struggles we all go through to improve our scores. As such, he is able to provide meaningful and useful tips that go beyond just the mathematical concepts. He is a mentor as well as a tutor, which combination is imperative for anyone wishing to really master the GMAT. Jeff came prepared and was able to cater to my needs for each session. His knowledge of the GMAT as a whole was helpful in carving my own path to obtaining the score I want. My target score was an ambitious 730. With the skills Jeff has taught me, I know I am well-equipped to take the 100 point improvement I achieved over the course of our working together and tack on an at least an extra 30 points to put me in the 700 range. I now know what I need to do in order to make that happen and TTP was instrumental in obtaining that knowledge.