Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

5 stars
(5/5) - 196 reviews
Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: The College of Wooster
Major: International Relations
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Focused, effective quant prep

5 stars
June 28, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 720
After studying for several months for the GMAT, I received a disappointing 670 with a quant score of 42. In practice, I was nailing the easy questions, but couldn't translate that understanding into medium or difficult quant questions. Target gave me the raw skills I needed by playing into my strengths and allowing me to tackle my weaknesses. I loved being able to learn a concept and test it out with several GMAT-style questions. I also appreciated being able to write my own tests to reinforce concepts I struggled with. Ultimately, I received a 46 quant score with a 720 overall. That's a 15 percentile point increase in seven weeks! Target's software is intuitive and the short lessons make concepts easier to grasp. I'd recommend Target to anyone without a strong quant background hoping to achieve a high quant score.

Joined: Oct 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended!

5 stars
June 26, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 640
I whole-heartedly recommend the Target Test Prep Course. Prior to working with Jeffrey Miller, my tutor from Target Test Prep, I had worked with tutors from both Kaplan and Veritas. The other tutors managed to help me bring my score up slightly, but it was nothing as rigorous as Jeffrey's systematic approach, which increased my score by 110 points in a matter of 5 weeks. First, a bit about my background. I'm foreign-born and a non-native English-speaker. I was raised in Brazil, where standardized exams differ greatly from those in the US. The GMAT was the first test in which I'd ever been timed so strictly, and it was an incredibly stressful experience for me. Also, I physically reside in Japan, so I needed someone who had a system to work with me remotely, via Skype or some other method. Finally, although English is a second language for me, I was testing consistently higher in the verbal portion than the quantitative portion of the GMAT. I needed a good tutor who could address all of these issues. I found Target Test Prep online with a simple Google search. Like I mentioned, I'd worked with a few tutors previously, so I sort of knew what I was looking for. What immediately attracted me to Target Test Prep was its systematic approach to tutoring. What I mean by that is the Online GMAT Math Self-Study Course provides a strong foundation for the quantitative section of the GMAT. It is incredibly thorough and fills any knowledge gaps in all sections of the actual exam. This was a critical element that made the course so effective. Other tutors have good advice, good shortcuts, but none of the ones I worked with had a systematic approach to learning. My approach: I used a combination of the Target Test Prep Online GMAT Math Self-Study Course and the quant tutor, Jeffrey Miller. The course is set up for the user to methodically review GMAT quantitative material by topic – such as number properties, geometry, coordinate geometry, etc. Since I was short on time, Jeff helped me strategize – I took a diagnostic test, using Target Test Preps online course, and selected topics that needed the most work. I would read each chapter, do a practice test, and each week review questions I had with Jeffrey. During our tutoring sessions, Jeffrey used a combination of a white board and Skype; I was concerned that this system may be cumbersome but I found that it was actually quite effective. Through this process – 1) study a topic; 2) take a practice test on the chapter; and 3) review with the tutor – I was able to comprehensively cover most of my weak areas and fill in knowledge gaps. I’d like to take a minute to talk about the software – the “Target Test Prep Online GMAT Math Self-Study Course.” I think it’s worth mentioning because it was an absolute essential part of my course package. My understanding is that it was developed by Scott Woodbury-Steward over a period of several years. It is a very flexible software program that allows you to test yourself on various topics with varying levels of difficulty. The questions are very similar to actual questions one would see on the actual GMAT. This was my foundation to learning quant topics – I spent 2-3 hours on this program a day and found my math skills improve significantly in a matter of 5 weeks. This is what separates Target Test Prep from other GMAT Prep packages – there is nothing else out there like it, believe me, I searched. I have many quant books and the material covered in those don’t even begin to compare to the depth of content displayed in the software. Lastly, I’d like to highlight Jeffrey’s teaching style. He was patient, thorough, and most importantly, really helped to develop my confidence. He was always positive, even when I wasn’t, and anyone who’s taken this exam knows that half of it comes down to being confident when you walk in the room on test day. Although very subjective, this should not be overlooked, and Jeffrey really helped in this respect. My target was in the mid to high 600s – I jumped 110 points in exactly five weeks and hit my target. It was a grueling process – about 20 hours of studying and 3 hours of tutoring per week. But if you’re going to put that kind of time into this endeavor, then it’s worth every penny to hire the right people to get you there. A combination of my perseverance and Target Test Prep tutoring allowed me to hit my target. Thank you guys!

Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: May 2015
College: San Diego State University
Major: Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep GMAT Quant is the Best Online Math Course Available!

5 stars
June 26, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Target Test Prep GMAT Quant course is a perfect choice for improving your quant score. I used the course to self-study for a few months, and it helped me tremendously. The practice problems are the most realistic that I've seen. The solutions are by far the most clear and comprehensive that I've read. The learning platform is student-friendly and allows for rapid progress. In general, the course is exceptionally helpful, and I recommend it to anyone who needs to improve their scores.

Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2013
Verified Real Student Review

TTP is the best spend for your time and money

5 stars
June 25, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 690
After completing a big name GMAT prep course and not scoring what I wanted on the GMAT, I decided to look into private tutoring. I began working with Target Test Prep, and after 3 months, I raised my GMAT score 90 points. It was money and time very well spent!! I highly recommend Target Test Prep. During my first session with my Target Test Prep tutor, I knew I had found the right fit. By the end of the session, he was able to pin-point my problem areas and made me feel comfortable and relaxed.

Target Test Prep provides their own GMAT math self-study course, which is an incredible resource included in the price of private lessons. The course was able to clarify concepts more clearly and fully than any other course I had tried. On top of that, the one-on-one sessions with my tutor cut to the heart of the material quickly and efficiently. My tutor not only helped to improve my quant skills but he also offered me realistic advice about my approach to studying and my expectations.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: UCLA
Major: Sociology
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The best way to prep for the GMAT, period

5 stars
June 24, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 720
I’ve used just about every GMAT prep curriculum out there and nothing comes close to that of Target Test Prep. There is no fluff in the Target Test Prep material. It is simply straightforward GMAT concepts broken out by topic, and each topic immediately gets to the meat of what you need to know. There is nothing as good as TTP - period.

In addition to using the TTP Quant course, I met with a TTP tutor every few weeks for supplemental instruction. He focused me on the most important concepts (where I would see the most profit). My quant score went from 44 to 48 within a few short months. I ended up with a 720, which was 20 points beyond my goal! If you’re studying for the GMAT, do yourself a favor and use TTP. You will not regret it.

Joined: Oct 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
College: UC Irvine
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The best there is!

5 stars
June 24, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 650
After two disappointing attempts at the GMAT, I knew I needed a fresh set of resources and was lucky enough to discover Target Test Prep. Along with its online quant course, I had one on one tutoring sessions with a TTP tutor and eventually raised my quant score from a 32 to a 42! The Target Test Pre GMAT Quant course is incredibly thorough and provides amazing clarity and detail in all the chapters and practice question explanations. The Target Test Prep Quant course allowed me to easily find my weaknesses and strengthen them on my own and also with my tutor.

My tutor was incredibly supportive, encouraging, and ultimately helped me overcome any test anxiety or fears I had on my previous attempts. I could not have achieved my target score without TTP. I can’t recommend them highly enough! If you have struggled with the GMAT and/or are using a big name prep course that you are not satisfied with, give TTP a try!

Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Nov 2013
College: University of Minnesota
Major: International Business
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Spain
Verified Real Student Review

Huge Improvement Quant Score with TTP

5 stars
June 24, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I worked with TTP over the course of several months to prepare for my GMAT exam. It had been about eight years since university, so as you can imagine, my skills were a bit rusty. Using Target Test Prep GMAT Quant, along with a Target Test Prep tutor, provided me with the knowledge and skills necessary to truly learn and master GMAT quant. My tutor was also an awesome coach and mentor, and over the three and a half months of preparation, my score improved by over 120 points! I highly recommend Target Test Prep for anyone trying to improve their GMAT quant score.

Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2013
College: Denison University
Verified Real Student Review

Got into Booth after 8 sessions with Jeff and a 70 point increase on the GMAT

5 stars
June 24, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Jeffrey Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I cannot say enough positive things about Target Test Prep, my instructor, and the GMAT self-study course material they offer. The instructors are the best in the industry, and the curriculum is brilliantly put together and helped me enormously. After working with Target Test Prep for 5 weeks, my GMAT score went up 90 points from my first test; I was thrilled. Over the course of 5 weeks leading up to my first test, I did 5 hours of 1v1 tutoring and spent about 30 hours reviewing their chapters and completing the included practice questions. My preparation time did not allow for a comprehensive overview of all "testable" material, but my instructor worked with me to outline a custom-made strategy to put me in the best position to be successful. My instructor was amazing, and the curriculum is brilliantly put together; it helped me enormously. I ended up with exactly my target score of 650 (on my first attempt), which was a 40 point jump over an official GMAT practice test I took 1 week earlier, and a 90 point jump from the first practice test I took before I began working with my instructor 5 weeks earlier. The 1v1 time was extremely important in terms of exposing my weak spots (which I otherwise wouldn't have picked up from just practice questions) and the Review Questions offer extensive opportunities to "drill." In our last session, my instructor identified a particular shortcoming on Exponents (which ended up being 8 or 9 of the official exam questions I had). Had he not caught that, and implored me to re-review the chapter, I'd have been bludgeoned. The personal attention TTP offers is critical for maximizing your potential on the GMAT; I HIGHLY recommend.

Joined: Dec 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Course, Use TTP if you are struggling with Quant!

5 stars
June 23, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Jeffrey Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 520   After: 610
My experience with Target Test Prep, from start to finish, was awesome. I was in a tough spot when I reached out to TTP. I needed some drastic improvement on the GMAT Quant section. I started working with my tutor once a week, and he and I methodically went through the Target Test Prep Online Math Self Study Course. The material was very comprehensive, more so than any other GMAT prep course I tried, but more importantly it was very easy to understand and retain. My tutor felt more like a good friend who was teaching me math instead of a math tutor. My tutor was also a great coach and sounding board during the process; he truly cared about my success on the GMAT. I would highly recommend Target Test Prep to anyone looking for some significant improvement on the GMAT Quant section.

Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2013
College: Duke University
Major: International Relations
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The Real Deal

5 stars
June 23, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Jeffrey Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 690
Awesome experience with Target Test Prep. There no nonsense, no gimmick approach really helped me systematically identify my errors and gaps in knowledge that were preventing me from achieving a high GMAT score. I would recommend Target Test Prep to anyone trying to find a surefire way to increase their quant score on the GMAT.