Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

5 stars
(5/5) - 197 reviews
Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep is AMAZING!!! Scott is AMAZING!!!

5 stars
June 20, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 197 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 30 reviews
Teacher: Scott W.
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 470   After: N/A
Scott is an amazing GMAT instructor who goes above and beyond what is required of him. He helped me to increase my GMAT score by over 100 points. I can't recommend him enough. He's one of the best teachers I've ever had and certainly the best in the GMAT industry. I combined private tutoring with Scott with the Target Test Prep GMAT Quant Course, which helped me tremendously. This course provides a clear and comprehensive treatment of GMAT math. After using this course, I was super prepared come test day

Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: May 2015
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

690 to 760

5 stars
June 19, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 197 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 90 reviews
Teacher: Jeffrey Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 760
I could not be happier with my experience with Target Test Prep. I recently took the GMAT for the second time and improved my score from a 690 to a 760. I had been tutored by a competing (large, well-known) test prep company before my first exam, and I can say with confidence that TTP was a much better resource for me. The website is excellent, and clearly a lot of effort has been made to provide easy-to-understand solutions to every problem. I particularly liked the video explanations, the ability to tailor your problem sets, and the concise, clear TTP lessons. I would highly recommend Target Test Prep to anyone looking to improve their quant score.

Joined: Dec 2013
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: Michigan State University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive Quant Coverage Giving you the Confidence to BEAT the GMAT

5 stars
June 18, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 197 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 690
After working with Target Test Prep, my GMAT score increased by 70 points. Scott was my tutor, helping me with my Quantitative skills for the GMAT. After taking the exam twice, I was very discouraged and knew that I needed to make a huge change in how I approached the exam - Target Test Prep was that change! Scott was instrumental in helping me increase my score by 70 points getting me to a score I would've never been able to achieve on my own. His online program through Target Test Prep is extremely comprehensive and provided me with the very detailed explanations I needed to approach every Quant question type included on the GMAT. The knowledge base that I gained through that program gave me the confidence that I needed to go in and beat the exam! Outside of the program, working with Scott directly was extremely powerful for a number of reasons. 1) He was very accommodating, waking up super early or even moving around appointments to make time for my sessions 2) He was dedicated to my success, consistently checking in on my progress and texting me unanticipated practice questions to keep me sharp and 3) He was encouraging giving me personalized advice to help build my confidence in my ability and provide me with the juice I needed right before test day.

I would highly recommend Scott as a personal tutor to any student looking for the key to getting a great score on the GMAT! Working with him was a huge advantage for me! I would also highly recommend Target Test Prep Quant - this course is truly amazing.

Joined: Apr 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: Texas A&M University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

760 (Q50) First Try Thanks to Target Test Prep's Innovative Online Program!

5 stars
June 18, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 197 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 90 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
With the help of the TTP GMAT Quant Course, I score a 760 (Q50) on my first try! I HIGHLY recommend Target Test Prep for any and all Quantitative preparation for the GMAT. Whether you are taking the first step on the journey of GMAT self-study or trying to identify key weaknesses and be as efficient as possible in the last week of your study, the volume of the TTP material and clarity of the explanations were exactly what I needed. I was able to work questions on every part of the spectrum of difficulty, and OnTarget was a very helpful resource that identified topics or types of problem in each lesson I was consistently missing. TTP was awesome!

Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 2013
College: Texas A&M University
Major: Finance
Industry: Utilities
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Tutor!

5 stars
June 18, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 197 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I highly recommend Target Test Prep for anyone wishing to improve their score on the GMAT. I used the Maximum plan. I took the GMAT in September of 2013. I began my preparation in June by taking an on-site prep course with Kaplan. I found the Kaplan instruction for the verbal section to be quite effective. However, for the quant section, I felt I needed something more. Kaplan focused on test strategy and time management. The instructor stated, quite correctly, that they did not have time to teach the breadth of quantitative skills covered in the GMAT. For this reason I sought out a tutor to help me relearn math skills I had not used since high school. I found Target Test Prep via a Craigslist ad. They were more expensive than other tutors I found but they were very professional and responsive via email. I was also initially concerned about working over the Internet a combination of Skype and WebEx. However, I decided to work with them because I was impressed with our initial discussions and because they offered free access to their study materials and practice questions. Their Target Test Prep platform was extremely helpful. It provided full written lessons and a deep set of practice questions presented in the same format as the GMAT itself. I worked with their questions and Kaplan’s quiz bank side by side and found the Target Test Prep questions to be substantially harder and more varied. I started actively tutoring roughly five weeks before taking the GMAT. Despite working in an analytical field, I’ve never had any reason to maintain even the rudimentary math skills tested by the GMAT. Quite frankly, I had forgotten how to even foil a quadratic when I started tutoring. However, I let my tutor know I was interested in scoring higher than a 700 and he committed doing everything possible to get me there. We worked our instruction times up on a weekly basis, and he was extremely flexible in working around my schedule. The WebEx & Skype tutoring method extremely effective and I actually felt I was able to stay focused in on the tutoring better than I would have in a physical environment. During the five weeks, we met about three times a week, twice for two hours and once for one hour. The instruction was extremely targeted and very effective. We moved quickly through sections I mastered easily, and slowed down on things I struggled with. We also reviewed practice tests and went over the questions I needed to review. Overall I was extremely pleased with my experience with Target Test Prep. In the five weeks of rigorous tutoring, I managed to improve my score from a 600 on my first practice test to a 740 on the actual GMAT. After working with the high difficulty questions presented by Target test prep, I didn’t find the actual test to be terribly challenging at all.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2014
College: Cornell University
Major: Fashion
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Road to 700s in just one month!

5 stars
June 18, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 197 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Jeffrey Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
In 2014 I studied for the GMAT with the help of Target Test Prep. Before working with TTP, I had interviewed three different GMAT tutors from other prep companies. I was most impressed with TTP. My TTP tutor Jeffrey Miller was a great teacher, who knew the GMAT inside and out. He was very professional and was able to clearly explain many different types of GMAT math concepts. He was patient and helped calm me down when I was frustrated. I also used the TTP GMAT Quant course, which is an online self-study course. Using this course in tandem with private tutoring was a perfect combination. I researched almost all of the GMAT prep materials on the market, and the TTP Quant course offers what is BY FAR the most clear and comprehensive discussion of GMAT math concepts that I’ve ever seen.

In the end, with one month of study I scored a 700! I am very happy to have worked with TTP and recommend it with the highest regard.

Joined: Aug 2013
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: Middlebury College
Major: International Relations
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Totally Comprehensive Material That Cuts Through the GMAT BS and Makes It a Manageable/Beatable Test

5 stars
June 18, 2015
Company: Target Test Prep 197 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 30 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 740
The Target Test Prep GMAT Quant Course is easily the most comprehensive and thoughtful offered anywhere. By the time I had found TTP, I had used a number of other materials to prepare for the GMAT. However, I did not find the success I was searching for. Enter Target Test Prep. From Day 1, I could tell the TTP course curriculum was different. The entire “online textbook” felt both extensive and manageable. I scanned the list of chapters and thought “That’s it? This is doable.” I saw the road to a better score and I bought into their system. I didn’t work any harder than I had before I took my first test, but the curriculum forced me to work smarter by connecting the dots between concepts. I learned to anticipate answers and think like a GMAT question writer. I turned Data Sufficiency questions from obstacles into quick responses that allowed me to gain time back that I would need on the harder problem solving questions. Perhaps the greatest compliment I can pay TTP is that there wasn’t a single question on the actual GMAT that I wasn’t ready for. The test threw me all of its tricks, and I was ready for every single one. Going in I felt prepared. It should go without saying that the process was instrumental not only in boosting my knowledge base, but also in increasing my test-taking confidence. Although I spent almost all of my time with TTP on quant (aside from 5 hours with a fabulous verbal TTP tutor), I credit my improvements on math AND verbal to the TTP crew. In the end, my score jumped 110 points from the 72nd percentile to the 97th in four months. I credit the team at TTP, with taking my score to the level that I felt it should be. If you find yourself similarly frustrated with your progress on the GMAT, look no further than Target Test Prep. Spend the time with them and you’ll be amazed at how well you will do and how much they will take care of you as their student.