Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

5 stars
(5/5) - 196 reviews
Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Vaulted me to a 770!

5 stars
June 9, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 30 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 770
I started my GMAT journey last July, with the expectation of applying to schools in the fall of 2017. As a native English speaker who has always read a lot, I was able to hit the 90th to 95th percentile in Verbal consistently without studying, so I focused my study entirely on Quant. Given the weighting differential between Verbal and Quant, I really only had to get a “decent” Quant score to reach the 720+ range I was targeting, which seemed perfectly achievable at the time given that math has never been a subject which I have struggled on.

My study process was well-thought out, and I was extremely diligent in my preparation. I used the MGMAT strategy guides, GMAT Hacks Total Math, and a variety of GMATclub resources to prepare. Completed all the questions in the OG Guide 2017 and OG Quant Review 2017 twice. Took all 6 MGMAT CATs and all 6 Official CATs multiple times. Detailed error logs of everything. And I studied A LOT. My first official exam was in October, on which I scored a 700 with a 42 Quant (47th percentile). Disappointed, I continued to study and took another crack in November, which resulted in another 700. Improved my Quant score slightly to 44 (54th percentile), but Verbal fell a bit. Thought ok a little more improvement and I’ll be alright, and scheduled another test for December. The third time was a heartbreaker – I choked and halfway through the Quant section I knew I was toast, and thought about just walking out with the test unfinished. Another 700 with a Quant score of 42; my performance had declined after hours and hours of studying. Given my non-elite undergrad and work experience, a 700 wasn’t going to cut it for the schools I would consider (especially with such a terrible Q/V split), and I didn’t end up applying for the 2017 intake.

After doing some series reflecting on my performance and spending a lot of time mapping out an improvement strategy, I knew I needed some kind of prep course. Made quite the spreadsheet with information on all the different prep course options, cut this list down, and demoed the finalists. Ended up choosing Target Test Prep out of all of them, which I thought at the time was somewhat of a leap of faith as it is not one of the major players i.e. MGMAT, Veritas, Magoosh, Kaplan or the like.

The Target Test Prep course had a nice progression, forcing you to really master the fundamentals before moving on to some of the more advanced topics you would only see at higher levels. The lessons were great, and I picked up some stuff I did not learn from my prior studies. Thought the video explanations were surprisingly helpful as well, and the dashboard feature made it easy to identify where your weaknesses are and save questions for additional review. However, I think the real key for me was the massive amount of practice questions you were instructed to complete after each lesson. First, I thought they were very, very similar to actual GMAT questions (definitely more so than MGMAT) which helped to a degree. But most of all, doing a ton of questions focused on one specific topic at a time helped to drill concepts into my head and pickup on dumb mistakes I made too frequently, for example misreading the question or making errors on simple arithmetic. I compare it to math homework in high school; you would learn a lesson and then do an excruciating amount of problems that night to really master it. While the comparison to high school math homework might make you think “yeah umm that Target Test Prep course . . . absolutely not” all I can say is that TARGET TEST PREP FREAKIN DELIVERED! Took the GMAT for a fourth time in May, and stood up and fistpumped (as quietly as possible) when I saw 770 flash over the screen. After spending countless hours studying with little to show for it, the Target Test Prep course propelled me from a Q42 to a Q49 and a 770 overall score. For anyone needing help with Quant, this is your course.

Joined: Apr 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Guaranteed 700

5 stars
April 15, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 30 reviews
Teacher: Scott
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 700
Thank you to Target Test Prep for helping me get a 700. I recommend Target Test Prep not only for the course content, but also for the instructors. The course is designed to teach all content in a very digestible fashion to easily recognize different types of quant questions. With the timed practice problem sets for each section, I was able to master the content in a timed environment, translating nicely into the actual test. I can't speak highly enough of Scott, who was responsive, flexible on schedules, and fun to work with. Scott identified areas that I struggled with based off my practice sets, and pushed me to improve. Thank you to Target Test Prep!

Joined: Mar 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: Duke University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep was exactly what I needed for quant

5 stars
March 12, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 760
5 STARS, HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR QUANT!!

Before beginning TTP, I was at a point in my quant studying where I felt that I knew content well, but didn't really know where to focus or how to move from 60th percentile up to the 80s. TTP works so well because it allows you to drill specific types of problems over and over until you get the concept and then move on to the next. It completely turned around my quant prep. I cannot speak highly enough of the program!

The answer explanations and lessons are fantastic, very clear and easy to navigate. Fantastic interface and an absolute MUST for anybody trying to improve their quant score but feeling stuck.

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Boston College
Major: Economics
Industry: Venture Capital
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

44Q to 50Q with Target Test Prep

5 stars
March 5, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I started using TTP a few months into my study and found the detailed lessons and tests helped me gain the edge I needed to get my quant score over the hump. After starting TTP I started consistently scoring 47+ on practice tests for quant, and ended up with a 50 on the real thing. I used it for 3 months and did almost every lesson and found so many tricks and tips that helped me complete the section faster. Highly recommend if you need to give your quant score a boost

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: Metropolitan STate University of Denver
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher, great online resources

5 stars
February 8, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 690
Jeff had a number of great tips and shortcuts to save valuable time during the test, and the online resources at Target Test Prep are exceptionally well put together.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Great course for increasing Quant score!

5 stars
January 22, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 30 reviews
Teacher: Jeff and Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 650
My GMAT journey began last summer, when I decided to enroll in an in-person course with one of the popular test-prep companies. I completed the course and all the practice material, but still felt like I was only getting a rough review of the concepts and not really understanding where my weaknesses were. I ordered a bunch of other test prep books based on reviews, and scrambled to go through some material before my first actual exam. After my first official experience and a disappointing score of 590 with a 35 quant, I knew I was going to need some other strategy. I spent a long time reading countless reviews of people in this scenario, and repeatedly saw Target Test Prep highlighted for their quant-focused curriculum. I gave them a call to ask some questions about the course, and immediately heard back from Jeff, who was extremely helpful in guiding me toward the best plan for my needs. I enrolled in the 3-month plan and also worked with Jeff on a weekly basis to bring my quant skills up to par. I was immediately impressed by the TTP online interface, especially the ability to track progress, understand weak areas, and watch videos for solutions to many of the practice questions. I also cannot emphasize enough how useful I found the TTP explanations to be. The comparison between answer explanations I would see in OG questions to those explained by Jeff and the TTP course was like night and day - thorough, efficient, and clear solutions! I took my final GMAT and scored a 650 with a 45 quant, increasing my quant score by 10 points total, and I owe it all to this program. I believe I could’ve improved this score even more if I had a little more time to work on OG questions and official CATs, but the TTP team did a great job helping me sharpen core skills to tackle any problem with confidence. I really wish I had found them sooner and didn't waste any time with other prep material! I highly recommend the course to anyone that needs to improve quant skills quickly!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: University of Wisconsin - Madison
Major: Real Estate
Industry: Real Estate Development
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep

5 stars
January 22, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller & Scott Woodbury
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: N/A
Jeff and Scott were great during the test prep process. The Target Test Prep platform helps to identify your weak points and focus your study efforts on the areas of the exam where you can make the most improvement. In addition to using the platform I worked closely with Jeff during private tutoring session which had a significant impact on my ability to perform on the exam. Target Test Prep is a great resource to improve your quant score and Jeff and Scott are great to work with.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Business
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep helped me rock the GMAT

5 stars
January 18, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I started prepping for the GMAT far later than I should have. I took many practice tests (through a prominent test prep company and GMAC), but in the beginning my quantitative scores were fairly weak compared to where I wanted to be. Though my overall score was improving, it was primarily due to improvements in my fairly solid verbal scores.

Shortly before the test date, I decided to use TTP for some in-depth quantitative boot camp to improve my score and reach my overall goal for the GMAT. I was incredibly impressed with the smoothness of the experience, the depth of the practice for each of the principles, and the ability to test easy, medium, and hard questions for each principle. I buckled down and hit TTP hard in the areas I needed (which was knowledge conveniently provided by the TTP diagnostic in the beginning). After lots of prep and practice in these areas, I saw my score make a drastic jump, and I felt much readier to tackle the GMAT.

Test day came and went, and I ended up with a 770 overall (Q50 V46). I couldn't have asked for a better experience both from TTP and the GMAT test day. I know test day was a lot less stressful and a lot more rewarding because of the prep from TTP. If you're on the fence regarding GMAT quant prep, try it out! You may end up scoring well above the range you think possible.

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Turned My MBA Dreams Into Reality 550-->730

5 stars
January 14, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 730
I really cannot thank Scott enough for turning my MBA dreams from a distant dream into reality.

My story with TTP starts out with my score of 550. I will forewarn you, I am NOT a good test taker and this is NOT a quick fix post/review (although TTP can surely help you in 2-3 months). I am successful in business, went to a good college, a driven person and willing to do whatever it takes. However, I am not someone who just studied for a little bit and got the score I needed. This post and review is more for people who really have done everything they can and still need a better score. My journey was 2 years from start to finish filled with an emotional roller coaster and lots of money.

Any who, I did not just randomly take the GMAT and get a 550 either. I studied hard, worked with another tutor and took classes at Manhattan Prep. For some people, Manhattan's traditional way of teaching is exactly what you need. Not for me. The classroom set up did not really dig into my weak areas. I knew I needed some help so I decided to get a tutor from Manhattan. The tutor assigned me problem from the Official Guide as well as lessons from the Manhattan Books across both Verbal and Quant. I don't want to go too much in Manhattan because this post is about TTP, but the tutoring did not help. The tutor never checked-in and was always "busy" to meet so it was very hard to find time to work together. He did not take the time to understand my weak areas, and I felt like he sort of gave up on me. Needless to say, I bombed the test and got the 550 (can't remember the exact breakout but let me tell you Quant was reaaaaaaaaaal rough).

One year into my journey, I was devastated but did not want to give up, especially in Quant. I did research here on Beat the GMAT and found TTP. The night I reached out, Scott (the owner) immediately emailed me back and told me he could do tutoring. I took an analysis test on TTP and pretty much bombed it. Scott was very, very honest with me on my road ahead. He told me I needed to study 3-4 hours a night (no joke) and 6 hours on the weekends to get the score above 700+ in three months. I also needed to be extremely dedicated to our sessions (2-3 per week for 2 hours each) and the lessons on TTP. Finally, someone who was honest with me in what I actually needed to do.

For 3 months, our tutoring sessions were grueling. I felt like I needed a nap after. I thoroughly did all of the sessions on the TTP website too (which are amazing by the way). When the time came around to take the test, I felt ready, but extremely nervous because I had already bombed this test. Well, unfortunately, I bombed it again, 590 (again Quant way lower than verbal). I realized that it wasn't just the knowledge. I also struggled hard with anxiety. Scott had prepared me like crazy but my anxiety was getting in the way.

I went into to a real sad hole for a while. Scott was there every step of the way. We decided to give it another try because we thought over preparation would help with anxiety. 3 more months of studying and tutoring. I was ready this time and felt prepared. However, my score came in at 650 (Q46, V33). Definitely not high enough for a top school.

Scott, again, was there for me and worked with me on a next step plan. I knew my story wasn't over (or that I was the most stubborn person in the entire world) and needed to get that 700+ score because I knew I could and that I was smart enough. I worked on my anxiety on the side, and Scott set me up with a verbal tutor he knew. If I was going to break through 700, I needed to get my verbal score up. He actually turned down tutoring me in Quant this time around because he knew that I fully capable of getting a good Quant score. I worked my butt off and did a million practice tests on TTP while studying with the verbal tutor.

My last and final test, I got a 730 (Q49 VX)!!! I will never forget that feeling. I applied for full time shortly after and got into a top 5 business school.

Scott became more than just more tutor. He became my friend and my mentor throughout this entire process. Even though he doesn't tutor me anymore, we still stay in touch. Scott is THE reason I finally got the score I deserved.

If you read this ENTIRE thing here are a few tips:
-If you don't have a ton of money for tutoring, do the TTP regular course. it's a very cheap option for Quant and honestly, it's the best out there. I would know, I have literally tried almost every other option (don't want to list them all out because it's embarrassingly long). I have sent countless people who thank me as soon as they start. It is SO thorough for Quant, intuitive and easy to digest.
-If you are on your 3rd, 4th, 5th time taking the test. DO NOT GIVE UP!! Try something new like TTP. I swear if you put the work in, the outcome will come.
-If you feel like you've done everything you possibly can, look at trying to balance your mental health. Sometimes anxiety is what is holding you back.

Thank you TTP for everything!!!!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
College: University of Houston
Major: Accounting
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

390 to 730 with Target Test Prep!

5 stars
January 13, 2017
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 30 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
This is absolutely the BEST GMAT quant course available.

In early March 2016, my Manhattan practice exam score was a 390. I couldn’t even finish the math portion it was so hard. This was after reviewing all of the Manhattan math/verbal material. A friend recommend Target Test Prep, and I decided to try it in at the beginning of April. This was the best decision I could have made. I took the GMAT on June 4 and scored a 730!!

Target Test Prep was the reason for my success. on the GMAT. It's incredibly effective because:

1) The material is so thorough. I loved that it went through all of the different types of questions. I broke down the material into small-sizeable chunks. It was easier to follow and understand.

2) It gives you notes sheets for each lesson, and these are the BEST way to stay organized and review the material. I created flashcards out of these notes for the areas I was weak on to review daily in my last month.

3) It's all about practice!! The “quizzes” in Target Test Prep were amazing and the repetition of the questions really helped me finally understand how to answer those types of problems as they appeared.

4) The "Dedicated Study Plan," the Printable Calendar and the interface with the amount completed per lesson and the % correct per quiz was an easy way for me to stay organized, move forward and understand my strength/weaknesses.

5) Target Test Prep is much more affordable than most of the options available, while being more effective.

I’ve told everyone I know that’s studying or planning to study for the GMAT to use Target Test Prep over anything else! I can't recommend it enough.