Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

5 stars
(5/5) - 178 reviews
Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: Georgetown University
Major: Marketing
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep raised my quant score from a 36 to 49!

5 stars
June 28, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 690
I struggled with the GMAT for almost a year and a half. I tried out so many different companies - Veritas, Magoosh, EmpowerGMAT...even a tutor! Nothing worked until I tried Target Test Prep. I started with a 570 in Jan 2015 and was bummed but not discouraged. I studied for 6 months more and got the same score in June 2015. Nothing clicked or was working. I decided I needed a tutor and proceeded to spend even more $$$ and still wasn't seeing a major jump in my score. Finally, in September I committed to doing a one week trial with TTP. I realized quickly that I really liked the user interface, the easy to understand chapter lessons and the chapter tests that allowed me to practice every problem under timed conditions, and refer back to the chapter for deeper understanding using chapter links in the answer explanations. By September, I really needed to get my score to a competitive enough place to apply so I chose to do the accelerated study plan in which I did chapter tests in each of the lessons under timed conditions, reviewed my answers and referred back to the actual chapter for additional insight and learning. Who would've known that in just 6 weeks of doing TTP, I'd raise my quant score from a 36 to 49! Prior to TTP, I had never seen a score above 40 on any practice or official exam! I was in awe of how far I had gotten in 6 weeks compared to the year-long study I had endured with little to no improvement. My only regret was that I didn't do TTP sooner to spare me the misery of studying for so long! I highly recommend this program to anyone struggling with Quant! I was able to pull a 690 (all due to my quant score because my verbal wasn't great) and now I'm going to Wharton in the Fall! Thank you Target Test Prep!

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: Florida State University
Major: Economics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thorough Prep Course with awesome videos

5 stars
June 27, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 700
Having been out of undergrad 9 years by the time I decided to take the GMAT, I was really worried about my ability to perform on the GMAT math section as I had spent most of the time in my career living and breathing in Excel models.

My life: What's 7+7? Hold on, let me open a new spreadsheet!

Although I would consider myself pretty good at standardized tests, I had a tendency to do things the long, hard way. Target Test Prep ensured that I had shortcuts to get me through those tricky questions much more quickly.

Scott and team reached out to me personally throughout the course to see how things were progressing, and I found that they really made themselves available for questions and were great about following up.

Unfortunately I did not leave myself enough time to prep for the GMAT. My score did not increase, but that was no fault of Target Test Prep, as I only got through about 1/3 of the available material. My assessment is that I guessed correctly on a lot of the math questions the first go round (and was propped up by a strong verbal score). When I took the test after Target Test Prep, I definitely felt more comfortable. I was able to answer questions more quickly, and even finished a little bit early. My math score went up, but verbal suffered a bit, leaving me with the same overall score.

I'd definitely recommend Target Test Prep, esp. if you need more flexibility than sitting though an in-person course. I was able to use it seamlessly on my phone and laptop (including watching videos!) and it made it easier to prep on the go while working full time.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: University of Central Florida
Major: Finance
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Achieved My Goal Because of Flexible Prep Tool

5 stars
June 9, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Despite having a strong background in mathematics, I knew I would need something to prepare me for the tricks and nuances of the GMAT. I signed up for free trials of multiple platforms, including Target Test Prep, and found myself using (and actually enjoying) Target Test Prep the most. After roughly a week of testing out each platform, I signed up for the monthly flexible plan on Target Test Prep.

Before I started my preparation at the end of February, I took the first practice exam provided by the GMAC to gauge my knowledge level. I scored a 47 on the Quant and a 710 overall. The goal I set for test day (in May) was a 750 total score and 50 on the Quant. Target Test Prep is the sole reason I achieved my goal and scored a 50 on the Quant and 760 overall.

The curriculum is structured very well but still allows students to be flexible if they so choose. Each chapter includes multiple examples of each type of problem you may find on the exam, as well as tips and tricks on how to improve your speed in solving these problems. There are also chapter tests for each chapter that are grouped into Easy/Medium/Hard. I found it useful to do some tests after completing the curriculum for each chapter, but also to save some for later. I would go back and do earlier chapter tests each weekend in order to keep material fresh in my mind. Lastly, there are custom tests that can be generated from the complete set of problems (I believe there are more than 2500). The system even provides the option to include only problems you have previously answered incorrectly and to pick between easy/medium/hard from any chapters. The flexible nature of this system is what makes it so powerful; you can focus your efforts on whatever the weakest concepts are. It was also very helpful to be able to create a test of any length so I could practice when I had the time (on my lunch break for example).

In addition to a phenomenal platform, the support available throughout preparation goes well beyond that received from other services (with the exception of dedicated private tutors). There is a built in chat feature available on every page where you can open a conversation with Scott and Jeff to ask about anything, whether it is a specific problem or just a general prep question. I never waited more than an hour for a response from them, and many times received a response from both within 15 minutes. Absolutely amazing service!

The last thing I will mention that I found to be crucial in my studies was the equation guide they publish. They have a document that is roughly 15 pages long and includes all formulas and "rules" that are used on the GMAT. I kept a copy of this with me all the time and anytime I found some free time (in the elevator at my office, on lunch, before bed, etc.) I would review this sheet. This was invaluable as it helped ingrain the concepts into my brain.

Hands down, this platform exceeded my expectations and I firmly believe I couldn't have reached my goal if it wasn't for Target Test Prep. Don't just take my word for it, go to their website and take full advantage of the 5-day trial.

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: Syracuse University
Major: Finance
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Exactly the Kind of Help I Needed. Great Teacher and Resources.

5 stars
June 7, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Teacher: Jeffrey Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 680
Jeff was great. He helped me through the material in a way that really helped me think and be ready for the types of questions and tricks the GMAT will throw at you. The supplemntal materials on Target Test Prep's website were amazing. The lessons and especially the Equation Cheat Sheet really really helped me get my math score where I needed it to be.

Thanks Jeff and the rest of the Target Team. I highly recommend!!

Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: May 2015
College: United States
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Indispensible!

5 stars
June 6, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury Stewart & Jeffrey Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 490   After: 680
I took the GMAT for the first time in December 2014 and I did not do well at all. Both my quant (30) and verbal (29) scores were low. I studied very hard for 6 months with a tutor, the Original Guide, and some Manhattan GMAT books that were handed down to me. I purchased the Target Test Prep flexible preparation plan about 30 days before my GMAT test date, and began using Target Test Prep casually to beef up my knowledge in the harder quant subjects like Permutations and Combinatorics. I was impressed with the amount of information in the chapters, but I did not have enough time to finish the entire curriculum before taking the GMAT. My GMAT score increased 120 points because I was able to take my verbal score from a 29 to a 40; however, my quant score pretty much stayed the same. I was discouraged and burnt out, which led me to defer applying to business schools until the next Fall. I took about 6 months off and began studying again in January 2016. This time, I put my pride aside and began working through the Target Test Prep curriculum from the very beginning. I soon began to realize that my quant scores were so low because I didn't have a good grasp of the basics, and Target Test Prep was actually teaching me those basics! I made flashcards of all the "Must Knows" in the curriculum and quizzed myself any time I had some free time. I contacted Target Test Prep about their tutoring services after I had worked through approximately 25% of the curriculum. I started working with Jeff Miller and he was fantastic! Working with Jeff really helped to solidify the information in my brain. As a supplement for harder to grasp chapters, I would also watch Target Test Prep's webinars on YouTube for additional help. My quant score increased 12 points from my initial GMAT score and, best of all, I got my confidence back!

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
College: drexel university
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

From 600 to 700 with Target Test Prep’s Dedicated Study Plan!

5 stars
June 6, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Teacher: Scott Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 700
TTP is an amazing program that takes the student methodically and logically through fundamental quant principles. The program allows the student to go through the material at their own pace and covers everything you are going to see in the GMAT quant section. The data analytics allows you to see what your strengths and weaknesses are and enables you then to spend time and effort on refining those weaker areas. Customizable tests and tons of problems allows each student to master any and every subject within the quant portion of the exam. Over three months of studying (about 10 - 15 hours a week) I went from struggling with and fearing the quant section to being excited to take the test. My quant score went up from 34 to 44 over that time and I am now able to reasonably apply to any school I want. I also must say that Scott and Jeff were super responsive and flexible to my needs and several tutoring sessions enabled me to really strengthen areas where I felt I was weak while also helping me build a solid test taking strategy. This program is very affordable and is worth every penny and I cannot more highly recommend it!

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: USC
Major: Psychology
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A long climb to Quant 50

5 stars
June 5, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 520   After: 700
When I first started on the GMAT, I was a year out of undergrad. I thought with my strong grades at USC & strong previous standardized test scores that prep would not be long or hard. I was rocked on my first GMAT - Verbal was a 33. My quant was much worse, I was at a 25.

Needless to say, I was pretty depressed. I felt that my knowledge of math needed a major refresh and I felt I had forgot the vast majority of the concepts on the GMAT. I felt like I needed a curriculum that could teach me the math principles I had forgotten.

I had tried Manhattan GMAT & GMAT club to find problems but I was running into the same issues. I could solve the simple problems but introduce a few variables and I struggled. I needed a course that would review specifically my weaknesses. I came across Jeff from Target Test Prep. We began tutoring and he felt that the curriculum at Target Test Prep would be my strongest prep course.

I reviewed every section and I would bookmark the pages I got wrong. Then I would go back re-read them and practice problems that I could have tailor made to that subject. I noticed that my mistakes came from 5 core subjects and that if I could spend extra time on those I would improve my score. So I prepped and went at it again.

This time I was much closer on the gmat - I got a 34 on verbal and 44 on quant. I felt much better this time but I knew I could crack the 700. I just needed to master the math more.

This past time, I studied for 4 hard months. I reviewed every section at least twice. I did every problem I could from the GMAT book and every Target Test Prep problems. I was still nervous about my verbal so I found myself studying Manhattan GMAT's sentence correction over and over. Then came test day.

The math section on the test felt easy - I finished with 6 minutes left in the exam. I was positive - I had flunked it.

Verbal was much harder and I felt pretty decent about it. The trick with verbal is practicing with the time crunch, I felt myself rushing towards the end. I felt if I had budgeted more time for the problems at the end I would have had a score. However, It was time for me to click and get my score.

I was in complete shock. I got a 35 in Verbal - the 77%. But I scored a 50 - 89% on the Quant. I finally got my 700.

It takes a long time to have GMAT mastery and I couldn't thank Target Test Prep enough. It is my belief that with the quant you have to know how to react instantaneously and have the guts to move on from a problem you won't be able to solve in time. It's not an easy path by any means but getting that 700 was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

I know that most prep companies make a lot of promises. I fell for one in a similar company that I choose not to name for English prep. However, if you feel like you need to LEARN math and not just practice problems but actually grasp the concepts like I did: then I highly recommend Target Test Prep.

I can't promise you a Q50. No company can. That comes from putting a ton of hard work and hours towards understanding the concepts and tricks. But, I do feel with the program that you will have the tools you need to get a Quant score that high.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: May 2015
College: Arizona State University
Major: English
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep tool

5 stars
May 12, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
Having studied a Kaplan GMAT test prep book casually for a couple of months I took the GMAT and earned a disappointing score of 620. I then found Target and completed a focused study program that took about two months of concerted effort. Target's program provided significant flexibility and expert instruction and was integral in bumping my score to 710. I would highly recommend it.

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
College: Oklahoma City University
Major: Dance
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

good program

5 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 710
The first time I took the gmat I scored in the 93rd percentile on verbal but completely choked on the math- 38th percentile. (650) I had never done that poorly on the quant section of a practice test but it became apparent that I was just too unfamiliar with the concepts to perform under pressure.

I spent three months ~1 hour a day plus or minus with the Target Test Prep self study course. I put in my goal score and the program told me what percentage of questions I needed to master on the "easy, medium and hard" questions grouped by concept. I went through these tests by concept until scoring at the recommended level. Also, every week or so I'd take a customized test- with hard questions for the concepts I'd already studied. It was good to drill, and the lessons and selected video explanations were helpful for concepts I hadn't fully grasped.

I still was scoring 10-20 points higher on my practice tests than I did on the actual test- 62 percentile on math. That said, my verbal went up a bit and my IR was strong, so my first choice program accepted me.

I liked target test prep for the vastness of their question bank, the easily customization of practice tests and plans, and the good explanations. No other program that I was able to find allowed me to drill questions by concept, and that was what I needed to get comfortable with the material.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT prep strategy

5 stars
May 4, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I started studying on my own for the GMAT around 2 months before my exam date. I worked through a great deal of practice problems from the official GMAT book and was scoring in the low to mid 600 range. I was not happy with my performance and even more so unsure how to improve my score. I major in math in college and so expected my quant score to be well above average. It was not until I started using Target Test Prep's course that I realized how to effectively improve my score and learn the key concepts expected of me on the GMAT. While my verbal score improved through a great deal of self practice, quant improved even more so once I realized the topics tested and my weaknesses. Target test prep's site of content and practice questions was very effective in the short time I had to pin point my weaknesses and knock out the low hanging fruit.