Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

5 stars
(5/5) - 178 reviews
Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Could not be more satisfied

5 stars
May 4, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I was looking for a crash course on the GMAT that would allow me the flexibility and ability to study during whatever free time I could find during my consulting cases. Target Test Prep allowed me to study on my own schedule in an immersive environment that mimics what you are going to see on test day. I received an initial quant score of 44 and a total score of 700 on the official GMAT diagnostic before starting Target Test Prep, and after only 8 weeks of studying on and off I was able to raise those scores to 49 and 740 respectively for my first stab at the GMAT. As far as I'm concerned this is the most comprehensive study aid for the quant section; there was nothing on test day I hadn't seen before.

On top of the quality of the product, the customer service you'll come to expect from Target Test Prep is second to none. Scott and Jeff reached out personally several times to ask how things were going and provide tips and tricks.

Long story short: if you're looking to balance GMAT prep with a busy and unpredictable work schedule, TTP is the move

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: University of Michigan Ross School of Business
Major: Business
Industry: Transportation
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Hands Down Best Curriculum & Tutoring!

5 stars
April 27, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller & Scott Woodbury Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
I'll keep this short and sweet. Tried many online platforms before Target Test Prep and found I was studying very hard, but not smart. First off, the online platform is great! It finally gave logic and direction to an exam that in many ways is not logical. Secondly, Jeff was a great tutor. He was very accommodating in scheduling and challenged me beyond what the online platform could. Finally a prep course that was worth the money!

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Could not have gotten a 50 without it!

5 stars
April 13, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Wow! I was in a tough spot the week leading up to the test. I had not prepared adequately and was relatively far from where I wanted to be. Although I was doing solidly on Quant, I knew I needed extra help to push me towards my dream score. I stumbled upon TTP after looking on Craigslist for GMAT tutors and finding Jeffrey Miller, the COO. He helped me tremendously, and through the site, I was able to establish a study plan to hone in on the concepts that were really troubling me. Within two days, my ability to complete a problem efficiently and strategically had increased a staggering amount. I knew that the program was giving me the tools and preparation I needed to reach my goal. I used TTP for hours a day, feeling more competent with the material after each chapter. Bottom line - if you need to improve your Quant score, whether you have all the time in the world or only a few days, this is the place to go! The program is easy, affordable, and helpful in breaking down each lesson into the basics that every individual can learn from.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Duke University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The Most Efficient Way to Prep for Quant

5 stars
March 30, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
After scoring 580 (Q35) on my first practice GMAT, I realized I needed a clear, structured plan to have any chance of hitting my 700+ goal. I knew I needed to prioritize Quant, knew my schedule would be too unpredictable to take a prep class, and knew I wanted the best value for my money. The overwhelmingly positive Beat The GMAT reviews pushed me to try Target Test Prep. After prepping ~10 hour/week for 5 weeks, I registered for the GMAT and scored 740 (Q47).

Simply put, there is no more efficient and effective way to prep for the GMAT than Target Test Prep's dedicated study program coupled with the official GMAT practice exams. I spent 3 weeks working through each of the 19 chapters in the TTP program, using chapter quizzes to identify which areas to focus on. I then spent my last 2 weeks taking TTP's custom tests focused exclusively on my weakest areas. Throughout the process, I received constant analysis of my strengths and weaknesses.

I would absolutely recommend Target Test Prep to anyone looking for significant GMAT Quant improvement in a short period of time.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Middlebury College
Major: Biology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Content, Analytics, and Study Plan

5 stars
March 24, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 740
What I lacked while studying for my first GMAT was an understanding of my weaknesses and the ability to target those weaknesses with a study plan. Target Test Prep addressed both of these issues and helped me improve my Quant score from 39 to 49(!!) Never thought I could see such an improvement in under 2 months.

The thing I loved most about Target was the way they break all of the Quant material into easily digestible Chapters, and then further into Topics within each Chapter. Coupled with an awesome analytics engine that visualizes your performance within each Chapter and Topic, you get a very clear idea of what your strengths & weaknesses are. Add on top of that a Study Plan that is tailored to your target score range, and you are golden!

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Major: Finance
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

This is the one for Quant! Q46 on practice test to Q51 on Test Day!

5 stars
March 24, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I started my studying back on January 4th, and took my first GMAT Prep Exam and received a 670 (Q46, V36). Thinking I had a 700 in the bag, I continued to study with other highly rated outside materials. My verbal was improving, but my quant simply was not.

Fast forward to late February - after my 5th CAT (various providers) score of under 700, I was completely flabbergasted. "How can I be doing poorly on quant?" I had practiced generic macro strategies such as smart numbers and skipping questions, but I was still not completing the Quant section on time or I was forced to guess through the last few questions because I was getting stumped on so many tough questions.

I ended up looking through the beatthegmat website and saw this company in the Reviews section that I had never heard of. There was a promotion for a week-long free trial. I thought, "why not?" I took the diagnostic after choosing the "awesome score" target, and learned that I still had so many different weak points regarding the tougher quant material. More so, I saw detailed videos that explained what I was doing wrong in each of those questions. I knew right then and there that this was what I needed.

I ended up using the "short" study plan, and ripping through chapter tests to further discover what my weak points were. Target Test Prep's Dashboard is a phenomenal tool which tracks all the questions answered and identifies areas of weakness. Within each area, there is instruction material that details exactly the different types of questions that the GMAT would give you during the actual test, and various methods to defeat them. By honing my weak chapters and converting them into strengths, I saw the effects on my practice scores. After getting a 750 (Q49) on the GMAT Prep Test #2, I immediately signed up to take the real thing a week later.

That last week, I continued to take custom practice exams from Target Test Prep in the early morning and Official GMAT questions in the evening (I work full time). I took the real exam on March 19th, and it felt like I was that guy from Limitless in the Quant Section. I felt like I identified all the traps that the GMAT was dishing out, and with a combination of my practice and possibly some sheer luck, I was extremely happy to see my unofficial score of 760 with a Quant Score of Q51!

Yes, most of your progress on your GMAT score is your own hard work, but Target Test Prep is definitely what helped me bring up my Quant score to break the 700 barrier. Scott and Jeff run a great program and deserve every 5 star review on this site.

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course- Cuts to the Essence

5 stars
March 16, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Teacher: Jeff and Scott
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
My decision to apply for Fall '16 was very late and therefore my studying was compressed. I spent 2-3 hours per day for two weeks taking the Chapter tests and using the Chapter lessons for instruction on my weak areas. My study approach was far less than ideal, but Jeff and Scott's website is very user friendly and well organized into the key topic areas. With more time, I believe the slightly above average student could take the entirety of this course and achieve a perfect score. Although I never used the tutoring services, these guys are both experts. HIghly recommended after my initial interactions with them.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
Major: Physics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Start with this one; its the only prep you'll need

5 stars
February 17, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 74 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Target Test Prep is a fantastic program. It is clear, easy to use, and didactically excellent. I wish I had found this at the beginning of (rather than half way through) my studies. As an educator, I understand how important it is that concepts build on one another. The process in which materials are learned is as important as the methods used. It had a huge positive impact on my score (and my confidence!). If anyone I knew was prepping for the GMAT I would send them straight away for this tool.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: washington university
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Customer Experience

5 stars
February 17, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Target Test Prep was among the best - if not the best - studying sources I had for my GMAT prep. The desktop UI is excellent; it's clean, intuitive, and has the right level of 'human help' (i.e., when you need help, you can get support from a Target Test Prep resource right away). I studied a tremendous amount for the GMAT and used extensively on the Manhattan GMAT, Kaplan, Economist, GMAT Club, Veritas websites. While each of these had their own role in my GMAT prep process, I wanted to call out that TTP was the one that had the lasting impression on me; it was the one that allowed me most to refine my math section scores. Ultimately, I scored a 760 on my first and only GMAT with a 6 on AWA and 8 on IR. I also won the Economist GMAT Brightest Minds Challenge (1st of 6,300) and scored 770/790 on the Official GMAC practice tests.

Separately, I wanted to write a quick note about Jeff Miller, who I worked with for a few hours of tutoring. Jeff was an excellent tutor, and the only one among a number of tutors I spoke with that I decided to hire. I hired Jeff in the hope that he could help me with my approach to specific problem types: inequalities, distance/rate, work/rate, and absolute values. On multiple occasions, I was able to tell Jeff something to the effect of, "that's exactly what I needed and exactly why I hired you." After the tutoring sessions, I was able to attack problems in under a minute that would previously have eaten up ~3 minutes of my time. On the official test, I ended up having 15 minutes to spare in the math section alone and started doing problems over and over again just to make sure I had the right answer. (Honestly, I can't figure out which problems in the math section I got wrong, but I suppose there were a few.)

Thanks again to the TTP team.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: May 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Best Self Study Plan Hands Down

5 stars
February 13, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 178 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 76 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller & Scott Woodbury
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 690
If you are looking to obtain the highest score possible, the maximum learning plan offered by Target Test Prep is without a doubt the best product on the market. I had taken the GMAT previously using other vendors, but Target Test Prep is the most comprehensive and allows for a self study plan that is extremely organized, with thousands of problems, but more importantly detailed answers to help the learning experience. I have passed the CFA & CAIA and I think that the way in which Target Test Prep prepares students is unparalleled. Furthermore, both Scott and Jeff were extremely hands on and the customer service I received could not have been better.

Do not waste your time looking at various options, just go to the Target Test Prep website and you will understand why it is the best!