Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

5 stars
(5/5) - 184 reviews
Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: May 2015
College: United States
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Indispensible!

5 stars
June 6, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury Stewart & Jeffrey Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 490   After: 680
I took the GMAT for the first time in December 2014 and I did not do well at all. Both my quant (30) and verbal (29) scores were low. I studied very hard for 6 months with a tutor, the Original Guide, and some Manhattan GMAT books that were handed down to me. I purchased the Target Test Prep flexible preparation plan about 30 days before my GMAT test date, and began using Target Test Prep casually to beef up my knowledge in the harder quant subjects like Permutations and Combinatorics. I was impressed with the amount of information in the chapters, but I did not have enough time to finish the entire curriculum before taking the GMAT. My GMAT score increased 120 points because I was able to take my verbal score from a 29 to a 40; however, my quant score pretty much stayed the same. I was discouraged and burnt out, which led me to defer applying to business schools until the next Fall. I took about 6 months off and began studying again in January 2016. This time, I put my pride aside and began working through the Target Test Prep curriculum from the very beginning. I soon began to realize that my quant scores were so low because I didn't have a good grasp of the basics, and Target Test Prep was actually teaching me those basics! I made flashcards of all the "Must Knows" in the curriculum and quizzed myself any time I had some free time. I contacted Target Test Prep about their tutoring services after I had worked through approximately 25% of the curriculum. I started working with Jeff Miller and he was fantastic! Working with Jeff really helped to solidify the information in my brain. As a supplement for harder to grasp chapters, I would also watch Target Test Prep's webinars on YouTube for additional help. My quant score increased 12 points from my initial GMAT score and, best of all, I got my confidence back!

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
College: drexel university
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

From 600 to 700 with Target Test Prep’s Dedicated Study Plan!

5 stars
June 6, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Teacher: Scott Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 700
TTP is an amazing program that takes the student methodically and logically through fundamental quant principles. The program allows the student to go through the material at their own pace and covers everything you are going to see in the GMAT quant section. The data analytics allows you to see what your strengths and weaknesses are and enables you then to spend time and effort on refining those weaker areas. Customizable tests and tons of problems allows each student to master any and every subject within the quant portion of the exam. Over three months of studying (about 10 - 15 hours a week) I went from struggling with and fearing the quant section to being excited to take the test. My quant score went up from 34 to 44 over that time and I am now able to reasonably apply to any school I want. I also must say that Scott and Jeff were super responsive and flexible to my needs and several tutoring sessions enabled me to really strengthen areas where I felt I was weak while also helping me build a solid test taking strategy. This program is very affordable and is worth every penny and I cannot more highly recommend it!

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: USC
Major: Psychology
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A long climb to Quant 50

5 stars
June 5, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Maximum Learning Plan 77 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 520   After: 700
When I first started on the GMAT, I was a year out of undergrad. I thought with my strong grades at USC & strong previous standardized test scores that prep would not be long or hard. I was rocked on my first GMAT - Verbal was a 33. My quant was much worse, I was at a 25.

Needless to say, I was pretty depressed. I felt that my knowledge of math needed a major refresh and I felt I had forgot the vast majority of the concepts on the GMAT. I felt like I needed a curriculum that could teach me the math principles I had forgotten.

I had tried Manhattan GMAT & GMAT club to find problems but I was running into the same issues. I could solve the simple problems but introduce a few variables and I struggled. I needed a course that would review specifically my weaknesses. I came across Jeff from Target Test Prep. We began tutoring and he felt that the curriculum at Target Test Prep would be my strongest prep course.

I reviewed every section and I would bookmark the pages I got wrong. Then I would go back re-read them and practice problems that I could have tailor made to that subject. I noticed that my mistakes came from 5 core subjects and that if I could spend extra time on those I would improve my score. So I prepped and went at it again.

This time I was much closer on the gmat - I got a 34 on verbal and 44 on quant. I felt much better this time but I knew I could crack the 700. I just needed to master the math more.

This past time, I studied for 4 hard months. I reviewed every section at least twice. I did every problem I could from the GMAT book and every Target Test Prep problems. I was still nervous about my verbal so I found myself studying Manhattan GMAT's sentence correction over and over. Then came test day.

The math section on the test felt easy - I finished with 6 minutes left in the exam. I was positive - I had flunked it.

Verbal was much harder and I felt pretty decent about it. The trick with verbal is practicing with the time crunch, I felt myself rushing towards the end. I felt if I had budgeted more time for the problems at the end I would have had a score. However, It was time for me to click and get my score.

I was in complete shock. I got a 35 in Verbal - the 77%. But I scored a 50 - 89% on the Quant. I finally got my 700.

It takes a long time to have GMAT mastery and I couldn't thank Target Test Prep enough. It is my belief that with the quant you have to know how to react instantaneously and have the guts to move on from a problem you won't be able to solve in time. It's not an easy path by any means but getting that 700 was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

I know that most prep companies make a lot of promises. I fell for one in a similar company that I choose not to name for English prep. However, if you feel like you need to LEARN math and not just practice problems but actually grasp the concepts like I did: then I highly recommend Target Test Prep.

I can't promise you a Q50. No company can. That comes from putting a ton of hard work and hours towards understanding the concepts and tricks. But, I do feel with the program that you will have the tools you need to get a Quant score that high.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: May 2015
College: Arizona State University
Major: English
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep tool

5 stars
May 12, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
Having studied a Kaplan GMAT test prep book casually for a couple of months I took the GMAT and earned a disappointing score of 620. I then found Target and completed a focused study program that took about two months of concerted effort. Target's program provided significant flexibility and expert instruction and was integral in bumping my score to 710. I would highly recommend it.

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 2015
College: Oklahoma City University
Major: Dance
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

good program

5 stars
May 10, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 710
The first time I took the gmat I scored in the 93rd percentile on verbal but completely choked on the math- 38th percentile. (650) I had never done that poorly on the quant section of a practice test but it became apparent that I was just too unfamiliar with the concepts to perform under pressure.

I spent three months ~1 hour a day plus or minus with the Target Test Prep self study course. I put in my goal score and the program told me what percentage of questions I needed to master on the "easy, medium and hard" questions grouped by concept. I went through these tests by concept until scoring at the recommended level. Also, every week or so I'd take a customized test- with hard questions for the concepts I'd already studied. It was good to drill, and the lessons and selected video explanations were helpful for concepts I hadn't fully grasped.

I still was scoring 10-20 points higher on my practice tests than I did on the actual test- 62 percentile on math. That said, my verbal went up a bit and my IR was strong, so my first choice program accepted me.

I liked target test prep for the vastness of their question bank, the easily customization of practice tests and plans, and the good explanations. No other program that I was able to find allowed me to drill questions by concept, and that was what I needed to get comfortable with the material.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT prep strategy

5 stars
May 4, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I started studying on my own for the GMAT around 2 months before my exam date. I worked through a great deal of practice problems from the official GMAT book and was scoring in the low to mid 600 range. I was not happy with my performance and even more so unsure how to improve my score. I major in math in college and so expected my quant score to be well above average. It was not until I started using Target Test Prep's course that I realized how to effectively improve my score and learn the key concepts expected of me on the GMAT. While my verbal score improved through a great deal of self practice, quant improved even more so once I realized the topics tested and my weaknesses. Target test prep's site of content and practice questions was very effective in the short time I had to pin point my weaknesses and knock out the low hanging fruit.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Could not be more satisfied

5 stars
May 4, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I was looking for a crash course on the GMAT that would allow me the flexibility and ability to study during whatever free time I could find during my consulting cases. Target Test Prep allowed me to study on my own schedule in an immersive environment that mimics what you are going to see on test day. I received an initial quant score of 44 and a total score of 700 on the official GMAT diagnostic before starting Target Test Prep, and after only 8 weeks of studying on and off I was able to raise those scores to 49 and 740 respectively for my first stab at the GMAT. As far as I'm concerned this is the most comprehensive study aid for the quant section; there was nothing on test day I hadn't seen before.

On top of the quality of the product, the customer service you'll come to expect from Target Test Prep is second to none. Scott and Jeff reached out personally several times to ask how things were going and provide tips and tricks.

Long story short: if you're looking to balance GMAT prep with a busy and unpredictable work schedule, TTP is the move

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: University of Michigan Ross School of Business
Major: Business
Industry: Transportation
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Hands Down Best Curriculum & Tutoring!

5 stars
April 27, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller & Scott Woodbury Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
I'll keep this short and sweet. Tried many online platforms before Target Test Prep and found I was studying very hard, but not smart. First off, the online platform is great! It finally gave logic and direction to an exam that in many ways is not logical. Secondly, Jeff was a great tutor. He was very accommodating in scheduling and challenged me beyond what the online platform could. Finally a prep course that was worth the money!

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Could not have gotten a 50 without it!

5 stars
April 13, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 79 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Wow! I was in a tough spot the week leading up to the test. I had not prepared adequately and was relatively far from where I wanted to be. Although I was doing solidly on Quant, I knew I needed extra help to push me towards my dream score. I stumbled upon TTP after looking on Craigslist for GMAT tutors and finding Jeffrey Miller, the COO. He helped me tremendously, and through the site, I was able to establish a study plan to hone in on the concepts that were really troubling me. Within two days, my ability to complete a problem efficiently and strategically had increased a staggering amount. I knew that the program was giving me the tools and preparation I needed to reach my goal. I used TTP for hours a day, feeling more competent with the material after each chapter. Bottom line - if you need to improve your Quant score, whether you have all the time in the world or only a few days, this is the place to go! The program is easy, affordable, and helpful in breaking down each lesson into the basics that every individual can learn from.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Duke University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The Most Efficient Way to Prep for Quant

5 stars
March 30, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 184 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 28 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
After scoring 580 (Q35) on my first practice GMAT, I realized I needed a clear, structured plan to have any chance of hitting my 700+ goal. I knew I needed to prioritize Quant, knew my schedule would be too unpredictable to take a prep class, and knew I wanted the best value for my money. The overwhelmingly positive Beat The GMAT reviews pushed me to try Target Test Prep. After prepping ~10 hour/week for 5 weeks, I registered for the GMAT and scored 740 (Q47).

Simply put, there is no more efficient and effective way to prep for the GMAT than Target Test Prep's dedicated study program coupled with the official GMAT practice exams. I spent 3 weeks working through each of the 19 chapters in the TTP program, using chapter quizzes to identify which areas to focus on. I then spent my last 2 weeks taking TTP's custom tests focused exclusively on my weakest areas. Throughout the process, I received constant analysis of my strengths and weaknesses.

I would absolutely recommend Target Test Prep to anyone looking for significant GMAT Quant improvement in a short period of time.