Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Target Test Prep

5 stars
(5/5) - 196 reviews
Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Dont look any more

5 stars
November 2, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 30 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: N/A
Guys

I dont write reviews but i love this course, They do have the best platform ever, best content and best methods. In my opinion they better than all the other famous guys.
My advise for the math part don't go anywhere else just do the free trail and you will love them.
The only shortcoming is that they dont have Verbal, But for math they are even better than private courses. They have test for each chapter and even the system analysis your performance allowing you to focus on your weakness.

Dont waste your time go with them
Regards
Wisam

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: University of Notre Dame
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

From 700 to 740 in just two weeks!

5 stars
November 1, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 740
Target Test Prep is, in my opinion, far better than any of the test prep books. The website has diagnostic quizzes that allow you to identify the key areas that you need to improve on. Once the problem areas are identified, there are very comprehensive learning modules to help you really learn the material. Once you feel you have mastered the section, you can take another quiz to see if you've improved. With a short time period to improve my score, Target Test Prep was definitely the right choice.

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: Emory University
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

With TTP, 620 to 710…in 30 Days!

5 stars
October 17, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 710
I began studying for the GMAT back in December of 2015. I scored a 540 on my first ever diagnostic exam but was confident in my ability to learn the material on my own. I just needed to get serious and commit 100% focus, right? That’s easier said than done. I purchased and read the MGMAT books for 4 months, from December 2015 to March 2016. I became familiar with the exam, focused on Quant (since my V34 score was okay), and re-learned the arithmetic I had forgotten from grade school. But my consulting/international travel schedule was grueling.

What a terrible excuse.

The real problem was that I was studying for only a few hours each weekend – way too casually. I gave up on MGMAT because I didn’t like lugging around the books and I wasn’t seeing improvement. A friend recommended that I watch the Magoosh videos instead. Over the next 5 months, I watched every single Magoosh Quant video, made notecards, and passed section quizzes. I learned the basics but I wish I hadn’t dedicated so much time to Magoosh. The material was too basic. I was scoring in the mid 600s on my practice exams. I took an official exam in September 2016 and scored a 620 (Q35 V40).

What a deflating experience.

I planned to apply to Top 10 schools this year. I set new test dates for October (progress check) and November (last chance). The window was closing. I went into panic mode, scouring the blogs for intensive, Quant-focused advice. I stumbled across an outstanding review about Target Test Prep (TTP) and signed up for the 5-day free trial. Jeff and Scott both reached out to me. They asked about my goals and confirmed that I knew how to navigate the program. I loved the user interface, curriculum layout, section quizzes, and personal engagement. I purchased the Flexible Preparation Plan ($99/month), took the diagnostic exam, and set my account to “Short Study Plan.” Jeff tutored me for one hour each week, always flexible with my crazy schedule, always patient, always inspiring confidence in me. I studied diligently for 4 weeks, at least 2 hours each weekday and 8-10 hours each weekend day. I completed 33% of the course before sitting for my October exam.

I GOT A 710!! (Q44 V44). I was shocked and relieved. I decided not to sit for the November exam because I wanted to dedicate more time to apps/essays. If I had found TTP earlier, I’m sure I could have reached a 750+.

Here’s the secret to the GMAT: you have to practice every day to 1) retain the content and 2) recognize the patterns. Set a date even if you don’t feel as though you’re totally ready. A looming exam date serves as great motivation. Eat well, sleep well. If you’re having trouble with Quant, you NEED to sign up for Target Test Prep. And if you’re pressed for time (or think you could benefit from one-on-one help), work with Jeff or Scott. They’re fantastic. TTP is fantastic.

Joined: Mar 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Western Washington
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Development
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great self study plan

5 stars
October 1, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Dedicated Study Plan 30 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I truly enjoyed the TTP plan. I spent almost 7 months studying and had exposure to TTP and two other plans. I spent the most time doing the TTP questions. I think their online teaching program (the slides) had the most clear explanations of any of the 3 math programs I did. I also loved their website design.

I highly recommend TTP for anyone who needs help with math. I brought my score from the mid 30's to a 47 and a 48 on the GMAT.

Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: May 2016
College: University of Southern California
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Entertainment/Leisure
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

My Long Journey to Get that 710 - Target Test Prep

5 stars
September 13, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 710
Very few times do they tell you that GMAT is a long road and has a great deal of bumps along the way. I figured if I took the class, studied what they said, and did enough practice tests, I would be on an easy ride to my 700. Not so for me, I took Manhattan GMAT twice - once in person and once online. My teachers thought I had mastered it; in fact, they all expected I would get a 700+ in no time. Instead I would get 700-720 on my practice tests and 650 on my actual test TWICE! I kept searching online hoping to find students who went through the same thing as me, so I hope this post helps someone.

I was losing hope and fast. My friend mentioned Scott and Target Test Prep and I can't tell you the wonders it did for me. My numbers speak for themselves. After my first Manhattan class and my first official test I got a 54% in Quant. After my second Manhattan class and second official test, I got a 59%. I started using the Flexible Study Plan at Target Test Prep end of May with Scott to boost my quant score. My official test came to an astonishing 77%. I felt so confident with Math, that I think I could have done even better without the nerves from my previous tests.

Scott, himself, is a great tutor and very patient. He lead me to E-GMAT for my Verbal review. I felt skeptical at first thinking my Verbal was strong, but his recommendation did wonders. He really can see where a student is lacking and bringing the strengths out in them. I just wish I had gone to him before wasting time with Manhattan. Everything quantative that is on the GMAT is in Target Test Prep. If you study from the program thoroughly, you will feel confident on Quant.

Things I wish people told me when I started this GMAT journey 1.5 years ago:
- It takes time and consistent effort -- try and study everyday even if for a short time
- The basics are super important -- once you know the basics, with practice, the challenging problems will come easy
- Relax and don't let the nerves get to you - So many times I would forget it's just a test and I can get through it

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: May 2016
College: University of Maryland at College Park
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

640 to 710 (Q41 to Q48) in 6 Weeks - Target Test Prep Made The Difference!!

5 stars
August 15, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Miller and Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 710
My GMAT journey started 1 year ago with a naive outlook about the test, especially when in came to quant. I am a licensed engineer, so I would like to think that I have a good understanding of higher level math, but as my GMAT studying progressed I came to the realization that my engineering background was probably more of a hindrance than a blessing when it came to tackling the quant section. After taking many practice tests, and averaging around a Q38 I made the decision to enroll in an online Veritas instructor led program. Although this course was very beneficial in teaching the understanding and approach to tackle the test as a whole, one can imagine my disappointment when I received only a 640 (Q41) on the official exam after intensive studying through the 6-week Veritas program. I found that although Veritas is very helpful to the majority of test takers, I knew I had to try something different to reach my goal of breaking 700.

After doing some research on my own, I found that one-on-one tutoring was what I needed to reach my goal, and that the quant problems were my biggest area of weakness. I came across Target Test Prep (TTP), and after reading the reviews I initially thought it was almost too good to be true, but boy was I wrong! I decided to give it a try and signed up for the online curriculum as well as one-on-one sessions with Jeff Miller in May-2016. From countless months of studying I had gained a false sense of security in the basic understanding of certain quant problems, which I found as I worked through the TTP curriculum and met with Jeff on the weekend. Jeff quickly was able to hone in on my weaknesses within quant and explain not only where I was making certain mistakes but also why I was making them. This was the game changer for me when approaching the quant section.

Jeff worked with me, and was very flexible to my schedule, which was very accommodating. Every time we met I felt as though I was having another "Ah-Ha" moment to exploit and then close the different gaps that I had. Most importantly, the one-on-one sessions with Jeff instilled in me the confidence I needed to, and initially did not have, to beat the GMAT and reach my goal by getting a 710 (Q48). I only wish that I had just made the decision earlier on to go through TTP. Jeff and TTP really did make the difference!!

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: May 2016
Verified Real Student Review

640 to 700 in 3 weeks! Target Test Prep was a game changer

5 stars
August 8, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Scott Woodbury-Stewart
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 700
After studying for 10-15 hours a week for close to 4 months, I walked out of the test center with a disappointing 640 (Q42 V38). It was the lowest score I had gotten since I had taken my first diagnostic test 5 months before (550), but I can’t say I was too surprised. It was Saturday of Memorial Day Weekend and instead of feeling relieved and excited to be done with this test as I had hoped, I was panicked, dejected, and close to losing all hope that I would get the 700+ I needed to apply to my target schools for R1 this year. Sound familiar?….there’s hope!!

I began my GMAT journey at the beginning of 2016 and while I was prepared to put in significant time to get my desired score, I was optimistic I would be fine given my history with standardized tests and complex material. I work in financial services so have taken 4 licensing exams in stressful situations and also sat for both level 1 and level 2 of the CFA. My first mistake was not giving this test the respect it deserved…

I signed up for Manhattan Prep’s GMAT On Demand course and prep books. I found the interface easy to use and the videos helpful in reviewing the material I was completing in the books diligently according to the weekly schedule Manhattan Prep had provided. This was a familiar system for me as I had used it for all of my other tests—read/review material in books, watch videos online to reinforce concepts, and follow up with practice questions. I was acing all of the verbal questions in the books and videos and found the refreshers on some basic math concepts helpful. I took a couple of diagnostics along the way and went from a 550 to a 660. I plateau’d a bit on the 2nd and went to 670, but I didn’t let my nerves get the best of me. I wanted to trust the process. Fast forward to about 2 weeks before my scheduled exam and I scored a 650. I was devastated and terrified. I found the CATs frustrating and just could not crack the test questions despite doing well in my review books and the OG problems. I worked with a tutor for 1 session from Manhattan Prep out of panic. She tried to calm my nerves, but didn’t really help me connect where I was having trouble with Quant. She went through some last minute test taking and timing strategies. For $450 and 2 hours of precious study time, I wasn’t sold…but again, I was too far along to turn back and wanted to trust the process. I took one last diagnostic the weekend before the test and got a 680—ok, improvement! I was hoping I would peak on test day and all would be ok…

WRONG. I’m not a nervous test taker by any means and have always believed if I put in the work (at this point hundreds of hours and $1,000+…) I would prevail. I could not shake the nerves and doubted myself the entire time. The GMAT loves to prey on these types of test takers. I got through my essay and IR feeling pretty good. Quant started and immediately the first 5 questions just didn’t “feel right.” They didn’t look very familiar and it was clear I just was not understanding what concept the test was testing me on within my 2 min. time limit. It pretty much set me on a course for failure…when the screen flashed with the 640 I was shocked. I was torn up, frustrated, and inconsolable when I got home. I couldn’t believe after all of that hard work, the test felt almost foreign to me. I immediately went online to figure out how to fix this mess. I needed to retake the test in 3 weeks as I would be traveling for the summer and wanted to immediately start applications after.

ENTER TARGET TEST PREP. I started seeing reviews about TTP and wandered around the site. Despite sitting for the 3.5 hrs earlier, I took the diagnostic test on TTP and quickly realized these questions were far more similar to the real test I just took than the prep materials I had been using. Not surprisingly, I didn’t do very well on the diagnostic, but I finally felt a glimmer of hope after looking through the site. I wrote to TTP and asked about private lessons. Almost immediately, Scott (the founder!) IM’d me (Saturday night of MDW, btw…) and asked to set up a phone call, reassured me we would get my score, and gave me the piece of mind to actually get some sleep that night so I could wake up and get back to work.

We spoke on the phone and I immediately felt like he understood what I was struggling with and my frustrations with the test. I told him I had 3 weeks to bring my score up to a 700+, and he did not dissuade me whatsoever. He built back up my confidence again—reassured me that I actually knew this material and could take the test, I just needed help understanding what the test was asking and how it wanted me to get to the answer. I started going through the online modules. I loved the UI and how easy it was to identify where my weak spots were. I dedicated a lot of time to get through as many of the modules as possible in such a short time, and augmented that with 3 private tutoring sessions with Scott. These sessions were incredibly helpful. Scott was able to walk through some very high quality problems and importantly, understand how I thought about problems and where I was going wrong. The most valuable part of these sessions was that he helped me prepare to solve questions that way the test wants you to solve them. This was something I felt was lacking with Manhattan Prep. I was able to refresh on basics and was solid, but MGMAT didn’t really connect the concepts with how they are hidden in the questions you get asked. TTP taught me how to identify concepts in questions and get to an answer, using solid fundamentals (not neccesairly tricks), often times in 30 seconds or less.

6/17/16 and I walked into the same test center and felt more relaxed, though not completely at ease. I was prepared for that feeling, though. Scott really helped me understand that this test is so different than any one I have ever taken. Nobody really feels totally comfortable with it—it’s the reality of an adaptive test. I got to the Quant section and started recognizing concepts and question types immediately. The “language” felt far more familiar but, again, I wasn’t totally at ease. With that said, I still felt a significant improvement in my performance on Quant and that confidence carried over to Verbal. The test ended, I clicked through the screens and then it flashed up… a 700 (Q47, V39)!! I was so excited I practically jumped out of my seat.

I can’t recommend TTP enough. I believe MGAMT was useful in helping me review basics and fundamentals as well as Verbal. I would not spend the $1,000 on the courses, though. TTP was far more affordable ($99/ mth) and the personal attention and dedication I got from Scott was amazing. It really made all of the difference for my score. While my friends and family were supportive of me and tried their best to understand my frustrations, it was so great to speak to Scott and have him in my corner. He got to know me, my test taking mentality, and where my weak spots were in such a short period of time. I credit his program almost exclusively (except for my additional 60+ hours over those 3 weeks:) ) for the jump in my Quant score

So, if you are sitting at your computer dejected and stressed out over a disappointing diagnostic score, tough GMAT sit…whatever it is…try out TTP and talk to Scott. All is not lost, you can get to your score! If I could do it all over again, I would probably just get the MGMAT books to refresh concepts and trust the TTP process exclusively after that.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: University of Vermont
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

From a 380 to a 620!!

5 stars
August 1, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Teacher: Scott and Jeff
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 620
My journey into the GMAT started out like that of many others - I took an in-person class from a major test prep company, in the hopes that I could hit my score goal. After following that path and scoring a 380 on my first GMAT attempt, I decided to look elsewhere for help. This is when I found Target Test Prep. In March of 2015 I signed up for their quant course and also started tutoring with Jeff and Scott. Each tutoring session was based around a particular topic, and after each lesson I went back to the course and practiced that topic until I had it mastered. Compared to that of their competitors, TTP’s platform was easy to use, and they presented the quantitative sections in a way that I could understand and comprehend the material. Also, I was stunned by the usability of the course. It was obvious that the TTP team spent a lot of time and energy crafting the course to provide the best possible user experience.
When I took the GMAT in August my score improved, but I knew I could increase it even more during the Fall. I re-took the test in November and, unfortunately, my score did not improve. What was odd about my lack of improvement is that I knew I had amazing understanding of the concepts tested on the GMAT but always seemed to have an issue on test day. After consulting with with Jeff and Scott, I realized that I needed extra time on the GMAT, just as I had in high school for taking the SAT. After my application for extended time was approved, I worked with Scott to keep my GMAT knowledge fresh so I’d be ready for test day. Scott also did a great job of keeping me motivated all the way to the end. After taking the exam in March I scored a 620! I literally could not believe my eyes when I saw that score.

Without TTP, I would have given up my dream of attending business school and would have regretted it for years to come. Both Scott and Jeff truly dedicate themselves to their students and want all of them to achieve the highest score possible. Thank you, TTP!!!

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2015
College: Georgetown University
Major: Marketing
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Target Test Prep raised my quant score from a 36 to 49!

5 stars
June 28, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 690
I struggled with the GMAT for almost a year and a half. I tried out so many different companies - Veritas, Magoosh, EmpowerGMAT...even a tutor! Nothing worked until I tried Target Test Prep. I started with a 570 in Jan 2015 and was bummed but not discouraged. I studied for 6 months more and got the same score in June 2015. Nothing clicked or was working. I decided I needed a tutor and proceeded to spend even more $$$ and still wasn't seeing a major jump in my score. Finally, in September I committed to doing a one week trial with TTP. I realized quickly that I really liked the user interface, the easy to understand chapter lessons and the chapter tests that allowed me to practice every problem under timed conditions, and refer back to the chapter for deeper understanding using chapter links in the answer explanations. By September, I really needed to get my score to a competitive enough place to apply so I chose to do the accelerated study plan in which I did chapter tests in each of the lessons under timed conditions, reviewed my answers and referred back to the actual chapter for additional insight and learning. Who would've known that in just 6 weeks of doing TTP, I'd raise my quant score from a 36 to 49! Prior to TTP, I had never seen a score above 40 on any practice or official exam! I was in awe of how far I had gotten in 6 weeks compared to the year-long study I had endured with little to no improvement. My only regret was that I didn't do TTP sooner to spare me the misery of studying for so long! I highly recommend this program to anyone struggling with Quant! I was able to pull a 690 (all due to my quant score because my verbal wasn't great) and now I'm going to Wharton in the Fall! Thank you Target Test Prep!

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: Florida State University
Major: Economics
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thorough Prep Course with awesome videos

5 stars
June 27, 2016
Company: Target Test Prep 196 reviews
Course: Target Test Prep - Flexible Preparation Plan 89 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 700
Having been out of undergrad 9 years by the time I decided to take the GMAT, I was really worried about my ability to perform on the GMAT math section as I had spent most of the time in my career living and breathing in Excel models.

My life: What's 7+7? Hold on, let me open a new spreadsheet!

Although I would consider myself pretty good at standardized tests, I had a tendency to do things the long, hard way. Target Test Prep ensured that I had shortcuts to get me through those tricky questions much more quickly.

Scott and team reached out to me personally throughout the course to see how things were progressing, and I found that they really made themselves available for questions and were great about following up.

Unfortunately I did not leave myself enough time to prep for the GMAT. My score did not increase, but that was no fault of Target Test Prep, as I only got through about 1/3 of the available material. My assessment is that I guessed correctly on a lot of the math questions the first go round (and was propped up by a strong verbal score). When I took the test after Target Test Prep, I definitely felt more comfortable. I was able to answer questions more quickly, and even finished a little bit early. My math score went up, but verbal suffered a bit, leaving me with the same overall score.

I'd definitely recommend Target Test Prep, esp. if you need more flexibility than sitting though an in-person course. I was able to use it seamlessly on my phone and laptop (including watching videos!) and it made it easier to prep on the go while working full time.