Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1247 reviews
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Chester was amazing!

5 stars
October 9, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami 8 reviews
Teacher: Chester Rodheaver
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Veritas Prep has amazing resources, and Chester was a fabulous instructor. Taking this course helped me understand the format and flow of the exam, the test makers' tricks, and mostly importantly, the amount of effort required to succeed on the exam. I underestimated how much studying would happen after the conclusion of the course, and feel like I could keep studying for many more hours. The additional materials Chester provided (study guides, etc.) have been awesome, and I'll be holding onto all the Veritas materials should I need to brush up on core skills in the future.

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: University of Western Ontario
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Clear, comprehensive, and concise!

5 stars
September 28, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 690
Hello all,

My experience with the Veritas Prep Course was amazing! I had Ravi Sreerama as my teacher through a 6-week course that covered all sections of the GMAT, all of which were separated into bi-weekly classes (3 hours in duration). The classes covered key concepts from foundational knowledge of each section, essential strategies to aid in timing/pace, and proper approaches to varying question types to reduce careless mistakes. Ravi as a teacher was incredibly helpful! His commitment to pushing his students to do the very best they can do (99 percentile or bust) has inspired myself and my fellow classmates to achieve greatness. Ravi's teaching style is very blunt and straight to the point, he holds you accountable for any/every mistakes that you may make, which I believed helped a lot of students to grow and recognize their mistakes. Allowing each of them to adjust their strategies to ensure that these mistakes are corrected. This does not mean that Ravi has strict or boring classes, quite the opposite actually. He consistently cracks jokes and interacts with his students, which really integrated every individual into the online-class setting, making a very dry and stressful subject somewhat entertaining. I would recommend Veritas Prep to anyone who is considering the course as their material is very clear and comprehensive! The skill builders provided by Veritas allows for each student to learn/refresh on all of the foundational material needed to tackle easy questions (400-600), thus allowing them to progress to more difficult questions (650+) with a strong base understanding of the key concepts of each section. Additionally if I had to choose my teacher again, I would choose Ravi every time!

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Verified Real Student Review

99 Or Bust

5 stars
September 25, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 690
Thoroughly enjoyed Ravi's course and the Veritas program. Ravi won't hold your hand and he will call you out if you don't keep up in the class, but it keeps you honest and in my opinion helps you to get the most out of the course. Ravi's class is high-energy and he thrives off of participation, so I found I got the most of the class when I was heavily engaged in the class discussion.

There's a lot of material to cover and Ravi explains it clearly and concisely, and the techniques he teaches are all practical and helped me during the GMAT.

To get the most out of the course, make sure that you do the homework ahead of time and come to class prepared, Ravi doesn't have time to help with content questions as he has to push through the material, but Veritas has "office hours" that you can take advantage of to brush up on some content.

Overall, great teacher and great program, would highly recommend.

Joined: Dec 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: Georgia State University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

An Honest Assessment of My Experience

5 stars
September 24, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Like other students, I value the input of other Gmatters and how their scores correlated to prepping efficiency. My Vertias Prep online experience with Ravi was not short of excellence.

Not too long after I signed up, Ravi sent us an email letting us know that the GMAT is a beatable foe. Also, he told us that if you are scared of putting in the work to learn, a significant increase in your GMAT score would not be feasible.

Througout the course, Ravi really enforces getting a grasp on the content first before the class through Skillbuilders which helps you get level-headed for the live online portion. During the live online class with Ravi, you learn the mistakes the GMAT test maker lays for unprepared students.

With Ravi's expertise, I really improved in my Quant overall and in my Critical Reasoning subscore for the Verbal. If it was not for Ravi, I would have been lost in this world of GMAT test taking.

World of advice: Take the teachings from Ravi and implement them over time as this will help you soak up the knowledge more. The more you can think like him and the test taker, the better your overall score will be.

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

An eye-opener of a GMAT Prep course. Fun and interactive!

5 stars
September 22, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
WHY I DECIDED TO TAKE THIS COURSE OVER OTHERS:
I did lots of research before this. First on whether or not I should take a course (I had bought the Manhattan Prep books along with the OG books to self-study) but then that got nowhere. Then I decided to look for a course to help me get the ball rolling and to help me be consistent with the studying. I compared all the ones you've seen here through forums/messages and even looking up a clip on youtube to get a sense of teaching style. It was amazing!
To be frank, the GMAT is not hard if you had all the time in the world to finish it. But that's the point - how do you manage your time to get THE answer with the least a bit of work so you can allocate the extra time to another question that may need it. This is how you beat the GMAT - answer the question, but don't over-answer (a lot of the times Quant questions don't need to be fully worked out to get the answer to the question). Veritas Prep just kept coming up as THE course to take because of their high caliber of instructors but also their policy.

I like the structure of VP because they are more strategy-based (both course and books) than for example, Manhattan Prep (which is owned by Kaplan by the way), who is more content-based. You would think that something more content means it covers more theory for you to excel, but it's just a lot more information and detail on perhaps some specific types of questions that you are not likely going to see as often. They can offer techniques to help you remember things, but they never really stick with you. What you need to beat the GMAT is strategy. Strategy on how to approach any question!

The course itself is structured to be very interactive. You won't be bored and I get side tracked easily!

Veritas Prep guarantees that you improve your score.
Veritas Prep allows you to retake the course, at no cost, for any reason. Even if you got an amazing/better score and you still feel like you can improve, by all means, take the course again even if you have the recordings of the first!

WHY I DECIDED ON RAVI AS MY INSTRUCTOR:
You've probably seen his name come up from many past students' review. Although I can't definitively say he's the best since I have not taken a course with others (who also have amazing reviews), but my biased self thinks he is.

Why is Ravi so awesome and a fit for me?
Ravi is direct. He's the kick in the butt that you need. To be in his class, you need to come prepared. If you make a mistake that you shouldn't have because he extensively explained why you should not fall into a certrain traip - he will call you out on it (privately or publicly without mentioning your name). It motivates you to never make that mistake again.

If you are truly struggling, Ravi won't hesitate to message you privately to understand what's going on and give constructive advice to help you succeed.

Ravi and Megan make a great team! I look forward to every class because the knowledge and strategy you get form this course almost feels like you're cheating your way to get that amazing score.

Veritas Prep is an investment worth making if you're really serious in obtaining a great GMAT score. Not good, but great or even amazing. You'll be surprised at just how well you can do with just the right course and instructors! It goes without saying, but don't just study hard, study smart. Good luck!

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Business
Industry: Textiles and Apparel
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Couldn't recommend highly enough

5 stars
September 22, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 760
This course was really invaluable for me as I prepared for the test -- Ravi is a fantastic instructor who knows the GMAT inside and out, and the Veritas test prep materials are incredibly thorough in the range of concepts/scenarios they cover. My Veritas practice test scores were consistently lower than my official GMAT practice tests, but I saw this as a good thing -- because I had practiced with much harder questions from Veritas in both quant & verbal, the questions on the actual GMAT (esp. the quant) seemed way more manageable than I think they would have otherwise been.

I think of Ravi's teaching style as "tough but fair" -- he won't coddle you or hesitate to call you out if you ask a dumb question or make a comment that doesn't materially contribute to the discussion. Again, this is a good thing; it keeps the class tight and disciplined and focused. You have a limited amount of time and a lot of concepts to cover -- Ravi managed to get to everything while still taking the time to thoroughly explain the reasoning behind every solution. I learned a ton of shortcuts for the quant questions that drastically improved my timing in that section.

I initially considered hiring a private tutor to prepare for the GMAT, but balked at the expense; I also thought an in-person class would be better than online because, in my mind, this would allow for easier interaction with the instructor -- but couldn't make that work with my schedule. I ultimately signed up for the live online course, and I am so glad that I did. Not only did I have access to course recordings so that I could revisit areas that were especially difficult for me (not sure if Veritas does this for in-person classes?), but the format of the online course (it includes a chat window/option for private chat), and Ravi's responsiveness to questions, made me feel like this was actually a much more preferable way to prep for the GMAT.

At the end of the day, I feel that my scores speak for themselves -- I went from a 640 pre-Veritas, taking the test completely without preparation, rushing through each section & running out of time well before the end, to a 760 on test day. I was still rushing a bit, but that's just how I roll :) -- the point is, by then I was using my time more wisely, and knew better how to narrow down answer choices, make educated guesses, and I think most importantly for time management, when to move on from a difficult question on which I was spending too much time & energy.

TL;DR -- Ravi is great, Veritas is great; take the live online course with Ravi, you won't regret it! I'm sure he's an effective teacher in person too :)

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

99 or Bust

5 stars
August 13, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Veritas Prep offers the best GMAT course out there. They gave you all the materials you might need and you had the option of learning from their curriculum in book form or online. Then, I had the pleasure of taking Ravi's class. Ravi is not there to hold your hand, but rather to push you to get to that 99th percentile. His knowledge of the GMAT is outstanding and I can't thank him enough.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: United States Military Academy
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth every penny

5 stars
August 5, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Malibu HQ 3 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I had the pleasure of taking the Veritas six week course with Ravi Sreerama. Before the course I scored a 500 on my first GMAT practice test, struggling with the content and pacing issues. I debated whether to spend the money to buy the books for self study, an on demand course, or a live online course. I decided to take the 6 week course with Ravi, cause I read his reviews of being a great teacher and this would force me to twice a week take a three hour course. Even with the course being on the computer, it was much better than most live classes I have been to in my life. Ravi would reach to you individually, whether he was calling you out for providing advice in a separate chat box. I got to the point where I was looking forward to each three hour class. Veritas provides you with more problems than you can every imagine completing and lots of practice test! You still have to put in the work, along with the two 3 hour courses per week, I took one practice test each work and around 1-2 hours of problems on days I did not have a class. Each week I took a practice test, I just focused on pacing, and strategy and scores started to improve. Half way thru the course my scores were now averaging in the upper 500s, lower 600s. I continued to put in the work and towards the end I was averaging around 650. I took the test on Monday and got a 700! The best practice test I had taken before that was 680. While I was taking the test, there was a lot of content I knew, but just tricks and traps that I was able to answer cause of everything I learned in Ravis class. I improved my score 200 points in less than two months. I 100% recommend Veritas as your study platform and Ravi as your teacher. It is worth every penny.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Penn State
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Chris Kane is a Top Notch Instructor

5 stars
August 1, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Chris Kane
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I completed the Veritas Prep Live Online course with Chris Kane and Brandon Pierpont in the early spring of 2017. Not only is Chris a great instructor, he is a co-author of the Veritas curriculum. His mastery of the test is evident in his instruction as he is able to most ably convey the pertinent strategies and important take-aways in a straightforward way; Chris is among the best instructors I have had in any course, period.

With regards to the online format, it was one of the most effective teaching methods I have experienced to date. The classes started promptly and were well moderated by both Chris and Brandon. The online format has the added benefit of the class being recorded so you are able to review it or make up a missed class on your own time. I don’t recommend missing classes as you miss the opportunity for immediate feedback, but if you do miss one, there are office hours that are staffed by Veritas instructors to answer any questions you may have. It is important to do both the homework and the pre-work, as Chris will explain; I’m certain this benefited me.

The content is thorough and well written. It more than adequately prepared me to be successful on the test. The course is structured such that the majority of time is focused on the Quant and Verbal sections with a much shorter amount of time devoted to Integrated Reasoning and Analytical Writing sections. Relying on Chris’ strategy I was able to score perfectly on these sections with minimal effort and devote much more energy to the all-important Verbal and Quant. In addition, there is time in the course devoted to strategy. Chris covered everything from what day and time to take the test to how to best spend your breaks.

As an aside, Chris always offered to stay after class to take any additional questions. This was much appreciated and I recommend sticking around as, even if you don’t have a question, someone may ask something that leads to an answer that benefits you.

I can’t imagine a better prep class exists for this test anywhere. With the added benefit of having the course’s author as an instructor, enrolling with Chris Kane is a sure win.

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: May 2015
College: Duke University
Major: Biology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Experience with Veritas Prep and Anthony Ritz

5 stars
July 30, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Teacher: Anthony Ritz
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 720
I'm very happy with my experience and investment in the Veritas Prep course. I especially appreciated that I could retake the course for free within a year. I took my first Veritas Prep course in 2015 with David Goldstein in Boston, and I scored a 710 on my first GMAT attempt. A year later, I retook the class with Anthony Ritz in Washington DC. Anthony was a fantastic teacher - very sharp and genuinely friendly. He kept classes entertaining and fast-paced with his quirky sense of humor, and he provided me with a tailored study plan since this was my second rodeo. I was able to pick up new strategies from Anthony, and I bumped my score up to 720 on my second attempt. The effort and investment certainly paid off - I'm starting at UCLA Anderson in a week. I would 100% recommend this course to everyone.