Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
713 reviews
Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2013
College: Dickinson College
Major: International Business
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best GMAT Prep Experience

5 stars
July 25, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 713 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 149 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Finally an instructor that made sense of this test! Ravi Sreerama is an excellent instructor. He is able to break down problems into the simplest form and explain approaches and time-effective strategies that are specific to GMAT problems. Also, he is hilarious and very responsive to emails and questions outside of class! Prior to taking his online course, I had taken a Manhattan Prep in person class, paid for an expensive one-on-one tutor, used countless forums, books, online lessons and still was not understanding how to effectively approach this exam. This test is not just about how well you know math and verbal, it's about beating the exam itself and a key part is understanding shortcuts and how the creators of the GMAT try to trick you. That's exactly what Ravi was able to explain. I only wish I had taken his class sooner and not wasted so much time and money on other routes to get this done.

I'm taking my third test this Saturday and I feel very prepared because of him! I highly recommend taking his class.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Nov 2013
College: Florida Institute of Technology
Major: Aerospace Engineering
Industry: Transportation
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very thorough prep courses and extensive study materials

5 stars
July 23, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 713 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep On-Demand Course 30 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I took the "On Demand" course which includes an extensive series of videos covering all the verbal and quantitative skills tested by the exam. The website also features extensive homework problems with detailed explanations and 10 adaptive practice tests. The "On Demand" package also includes the study books which complement the online materials. Overall, I think the "On demand" package is a great value and provides hours of study materials.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
College: The Ohio State University
Major: Marketing
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas is for students who want to get to the next level

5 stars
July 23, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 713 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 432 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - U. Chicago Gleacher Center 31 reviews
Teacher: Kevin Richardson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 500   After: 600
I signed up for Veritas because I wanted to seriously increase my score on my GMAT. I was only interested in attending one of the top MBA programs in the nation so I needed to perform extremely well on the GMAT. Veritas provides structure, in the form of classes held two times a week. It also creates accountability in terms of attendance, performance in class, and homework.

All attendees for Veritas were the top of the class that were interested in attending one of the top MBA programs. The course instructor knows this and focuses on preparing you not only for GMAT but for how the application of these skills in the test are essential for your business career.

Veritas provides you with multiple resources to enhance your GMAT studying and fully prepares you to sit for the test. With the full in-person course you are provided with 12 books that are complete with an introductory section, lesson, homework, and explanations to the answers. These 12 books focus on 12 different subjects that will help you prepare for the GMAT. The course grows during the 7 or so weeks that it takes place. Beginning with the basics to help you refresh some skills that you may have forgotten or don't use on a daily basis. After you are fresh with these building blocks you are then prepared to solve what makes up the major portions of the test. During this middle period is where you can control your score and you breakdown each section by question type. The instructor helps explain every and all types of questions making it easy to understand how to increase your effectiveness. After hitting the meat of the test you are presented with the 90th percentile questions of each section. Based on your strengths, this is where your performance can put you over the 700+ mark. The instructor guides you through these final sessions and helps students who are stronger in these areas. For those that are not as strong in these areas it is encouraged that you focus on the meat of your weaker subjects before trying to conquer the more difficult sections of the test.

The in class sessions are extremely valuable not only as a way to go over questions and answers but to understand how to approach every type of question that you will be presented on the GMAT. The instructor will interact with all students and get to know you individually. He will make it a point to call on you on subjects that you need the most work on. They make it clear that it is important to score well on your strong subjects and to improve your score on your weaker areas. This type of focus is the difference between self study and Veritas. Veritas helps you understand the breakdown of these questions and how to see them as your stronger subject type. A verbal question can be explained or formatted as a quantitative and vice versa. This analytical breakdown of the test helps students take control and see it from the view of the test writer. Understanding what the test writer is trying to test puts the student in a position to succeed.

To go along with the in class experience you are also provided "Class On Demand" sessions which are video overviews of each live class. Problems sets from each book are also provided online with the solutions and their explanations. Veritas also provides a large set of practice tests. These test are built into your online schedule that Veritas provides but will also be guided by your instructor. Your instructor will suggest when and how to take these practice tests as well as how each type of practice test can be measured in relation to the actual GMAT. Other resources include homework help through a online live waiting room as well as help through email.

Veritas prepares you for every aspect of the GMAT and truly prepares you to succeed in the business world. Veritas takes you to the next level and is a great resource for anyone looking to maximize their business career potential.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: May 2014
College: England
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Accounting
Country: England
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep - GMAT masters

5 stars
July 23, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 713 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 19 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
If you are considering taking the GMAT and wish to achieve a high score, I would, without hesitation, recommend at least considering VP.

Since signing up a few months ago, my experience has been unrivalled. Everything about VP is geared to getting me that high GMAT score I so desperately want. Below are the four key areas that I think set VP apart:

1. Their curriculum

There is a lot to learn for the GMAT. Entrants need to be familiar with an AWFUL lot of things, such as geometry, sentence correction and so on. VP have broken down this bank of required knowledge into 12 easy-to-read modules. Each module is broken down further into 'Skillbuilders', that introduce basic/foundation ideas and concepts, Lessons, where students are guided through the key areas whilst in class, and Homework, where students complete numerous drills and questions to get the learning set to memory. Breaking topics down has helped me understand ideas and concepts at a very deep level.

2. Their online portal

From the moment a student signs up, they then have access to an absolute plethora of information through their VP portal. This portal contains information that fully supports the curriculum and classroom teachings. Examples include videos of instructors working through the foundation ideas and concepts for each of the 12 topics, question banks and solutions for each topic, 17 full practice exams with debrief and solutions, access to online workshop sessions, and full soft-copies of the curriculum books.

This is all accessible from one's tablet or smartphone, so students can learn as and when they need to.

3. The course

My full-week immersion course was fantastic. It was structured such that it was assumed students had worked through the 'Skillbuilders' before the course. This enabled the teacher to then focus on the medium to high level learnings. We worked through one module in 3 hours, so did 2 modules per day. This was enough time to learn a fair bit, whilst still being short enough to not burn students out by day 3!

It is worth mentioning that this course is very concise. It assumes that students have already worked through the basic Skillbuilders, and will follow the course up by completing the homeworks and practice exams. This is great for me - I was prepared to put the time in, and am still working through my homework questions now. I have noticed a marked difference in how I approach questions, and am getting significantly more questions correct than I did before the course.

Working through the course alone is fine if that is how you work. I thought I worked best that way, until I attended the course. Attending the class made me realise that I learned as much from my peers as I did from the books. It is so useful to hear how others tackle problems, how they struggle with certain areas, and how they are finding the GMAT journey overall.

4. The Tutors

Over the past decade, I have attended University, accountancy classes, CFA classes and now Veritas Prep's GMAT classes. Out of all of those classes, and there are hundreds of them, I never felt as engaged with the tutor about the topic as I did with my VP class. Sure, my undergraduate tutors were professors of Mathematics and were perhaps smarter than any other tutor, but I never felt as involved as I did with my VP class.

My tutor really took the curriculum and made it leap from the page. This is vital to retaining that information and learning.

My tutor was Bobby Umar, and I would wholeheartedly recommend him to anyone who wishes to nail the GMAT. The guy is a bit of a legend, in my opinion. Not only is he incredibly smart, but he is approachable, engaging and knowledgeable. If you can book a course with Bobby as the tutor, DO SO! For me, he alone could be a differentiating factor between prep providers - he is that good.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2013
College: Pitzer College
Major: Film, Cinema and Video
Verified Real Student Review

Ravi made Veritas that much better

5 stars
July 23, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 713 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 432 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Howard Hughes Center Los Angeles 17 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
Ravi means strictly business. If you're prepared, welcome to the world of a master who will bless you with genuine kindness and expertise.
If you're unprepared, don't waste his time, and much less so yours.

Joined: Aug 2013
Purchased Course: Nov 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep will not help you

1 star
July 22, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 713 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 149 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I decided to get a 700 or higher in the GMAT and I thought that enrolling in a Veritas online course could help me to get there, but I was wrong.

In January 2014, I started an online Veritas Course. In the beginning I was really excited about the books, the user interface, the homework, and basically everything! After completing all the lessons, homework, and skillbuilders, and repeating a few lessons, I was able to score 650 (March 22), 670 (April 5), 680 (April 9), 670 (April 26) in four Veritas Prep CATs. I thought I was very close to my target score so I decided to email my teacher for some guidance.

My teacher was too busy to reply one of my emails. The first email I sent to him was on January 28 and after not getting any response I wrote another email on April 26. I finally got a response on May 1 telling me that we could work on a plan for me to get to 700, sounds great right? The only problem is that after that 1 email I never heard from my “teacher” again. I tried to get a response in their “Homework Help” but once again, no one replied to me. Clearly, NO ONE IN VERITAS CARES if you need some help.
I do not think this is a course worth it for someone who wants to get a score higher than 700. I am sure that I wasted my money in Veritas and that I need other resources if I want to get to 700.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Definitely Worthwhile!

5 stars
July 19, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 713 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 149 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
The Veritas GMAT prep course was a great help in my preparation for writing the GMAT. Ravi Sreerama was a great instructor that took the time to explain and really break down the fundamental concepts. His insight and experience with the GMAT preparation process is a valuable asset to reach success on the GMAT. I would recommend Ravi to all prospective students pursuing a high GMAT score.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: May 2014
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Economics
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good but there are better options

3 stars
July 19, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 713 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 149 reviews
Teacher: Steve Odabashian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The course was good but kind of a waste of time if you are going to read the book. In order to prep for class you need to read the books and if you continue reading you can get through the material faster than if you are in the online class.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2013
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very thorough prep course, great resources

4 stars
July 19, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 713 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 149 reviews
Teacher: Steve Odabashian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
My review of Veritas Prep can be divided into three different categories: the lesson content, the teacher, and the online resources.

The lesson content was very thorough and effective. There are 12 lessons that cover various topics of GMAT material such as reading comprehension, data sufficiency, and statistics/combinatorics. Each Lesson has a skill builder section that helps you refresh underlying concepts. The lesson itself talks about how these concepts are tested and the strategies needed to do well on them and then there are 50-100 homework problems at the end of every book.

My teacher was Steve Odabashian and I thought he did a great job. He has more of a laid back teaching style which I enjoyed and he also has a lot of experience teaching GMAT prep. He was very quick to answer any emails I sent him and always stayed after each class to answer questions.

The online resources are also very comprehensive. Each homework problem has a written explanation. Some of the explanations could be better but they are working on video explanations for each question and those are very well done. There are at least 5-10 practice tests that you can do on top of the ones provided by GMAC and there are also homework help times where you can go in to an online classroom and ask questions. Overall I enjoyed the course, if you do not do well the first time you take the test they will let you take the course again for free and will extend your subscription.

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: May 2014
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great On-Demand Class

5 stars
July 16, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 713 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep On-Demand Course 30 reviews
Teacher: On Demand
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the "On Demand" version of this course and thought it was great. There are multiple computer adaptive tests and many resources available in the online portal. If you decide that the on demand class isn't enough for you to prepare, you can apply the money you spend on the class towards an in-person class.