Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 759 reviews
Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

My experience with Veritas Prep

5 stars
September 28, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 759 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 453 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Crowne Plaza Cabana Palo Alto 8 reviews
Teacher: Cliff Smith
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I am going to take GMAT soon and Veritas course was very helpful to me with verbal and math sections. Our instructor Cliff Smith was definitely a great teacher. We did a lot of practice questions during the class. In addition, I really like that I will have an access to all video lessons for almost a year for free.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Pretty good

4 stars
September 28, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 759 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 453 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Hyatt Regency Boston 5 reviews
Teacher: Kathleen?
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 200   After: 690
The course is good if you take full advantage of the course. Each book goes over different topics found on the GMAT, and these were helpful. My instructor was knowledgable about the business school admission process, which was helpful.
However, my official GMAT score was lower than the scores of my Veritas Prep practice exams. The questions on the practice exams did not seem as difficult as the questions found on the real official exam. I will definitely be taking the GMAT again but may take a different prep course for future preparation.
I would recommend Veritas Prep for GMAT preparation.

Joined: Mar 2013
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Colorado State University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Instructor!

5 stars
September 26, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 759 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 169 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: N/A
I recently completed the Veritas Prep Online Course taught by Ravi Sreerama. All in all, it was an awesome course. He taught test-taking strategies in an effective manner, and his style is such that it keeps you interested throughout, while tossing in a little humor along the way. That works wonders when you're teaching a GMAT course. Ravi is a down-to-earth guy who knows his stuff, and this only inspires further confidence in the course and in yourself to do well on the exam. As far as material, you cover a little bit of everything that the GMAT tests- quant, verbal, and the various subcategories of each subject, as well as tips and tricks to use during the test.

I took a real GMAT about a year ago before I took this course and scored 570. I was thinking I'd be content with breaking 600+ on my next go-round. I took a practice exam after Ravi's course was over- I scored 660. This was a game-changer. Now I'm aiming for a 700, and it's no longer an unrealistic expectation, and I have to say part of this improvement is all thanks to Ravi. Now, this doesn't mean you can take the course alone and do well- you have to put in the work by reading and taking "skillbuilder lessons" outside of "class time" to ensure you know the GMAT fundamentals you'll be tested on.

Ravi does an excellent job of giving you the basic tools to succeed. He's like a climbing guide- he won't carry you to the top of the mountain- you have to put in the work- but he's a tremendous help along the way. I can't say enough good things about Ravi- he's a funny, smart guy who I highly recommend. Not sure how much of this is grammatically correct by GMAT standards but whatever. Good luck!

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: USC
Major: History
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas is great

5 stars
September 24, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 759 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 169 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I would recommend everything about this course. Before your class starts, Veritas sends you a big box with all your subject books. These books generally include a skill builder section you do before class, a lesson that you work through with the instructor during the class, and homework problems to help you fine tune your skills. My teacher David was very knowledgeable on all aspects of the exam and even had a personal website where he posted articles and other study materials for us to supplement the Veritas program. I don't know if all instructors do that or if I was just lucky to get one who had such extensive supplemental offerings. If you are someone who has trouble self-motivating the Live Online Course might not be the best for you as it can be challenging to balance the weekly course obligations with work, etc, and it's pretty easy to skip the classes without feeling accountable. However, for the few classes that I did miss due to work obligations, I was able to make it up later that week on my own time by using the recording of the lesson sent by the instructor. Before starting this process I was having difficulty choosing which prep course I would use, however, after finishing the Veritas program I would not choose any other company.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
College: Binghamton
Verified Real Student Review

Great course for an immersive dive into GMAT content

5 stars
September 23, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 759 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 453 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 74 reviews
Teacher: Rob Stringham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 600
Rob Stringham is a fantastic teacher. He has a huge amount of enthusiasm for the material which really makes a difference when it comes to learning new content. Rob made the content fun and engaging.

I haven't been in school for 6 years, and it was definitely difficult getting back in to the academic mindset. I knew I had a ton of work to catch up on and a slew of topics I needed to refresh or even relearn. When I first started looking at GMAT content, I had forgotten things like how to multiply fractions or find a percent increase. Obviously, I had a lot of learning to do.

The Veritas prep course gave a good foundation of knowledge on all of the areas of the GMAT. The set of books were well put together and had a really wide selection of homework problems to tackle. A real highlight of the course for me was the ability to go online through Veritas' web site, track my progress, do questions, and tackle content and practice tests.

I would say that the Veritas practice tests seemed a bit easier than the official GMAT and official practice CATs.

Scores:
430 - GMAT Practice CAT - First attempt at anything GMAT related.
1 month of self study
540 - GMAT Practice CAT2
Veritas prep 6 week course
680 - Veritas Practice Test 1
690 - Veritas Practice Test 2
690 - Veritas Practice Test 3
690 - Veritas Practice Test 4
620 - GMAT Practice CAT3
600 - GMAT Official

For the official GMAT, I definitely froze up on some really easy questions, super easy, and I just couldn't think of how to do the problems. (Simple work-rate problems)

I have rescheduled for next month and plan on getting a 650+

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Would have been lost without it

4 stars
September 23, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 759 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 453 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Crowne Plaza Cabana Palo Alto 8 reviews
Teacher: Cliff Smith
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Honestly, I was tempted to attempt the GMATs with self study but that would've been very foolish. There are just some things you need to know and a lot of things you will waste so much time on, thinking you need to know. This course directs you to use your time efficiently, only on the skills you need to know for the test. It breaks down the material in a very organized and approachable manner. If it wasn't for the course, I probably wouldn't have had any direction. I would've been scrambling around trying to solve every problem individually and concluding that I just have to relearn all my junior high math and grammar rules.

If you want to save time and not overload yourself with unnecessary skills, you need to take this course. Veritas was the toolbox I needed to attack this thing and I'm so glad I learned to use it.

If you take the course with Cliff, take advantage of his expertise. He's always willing to help and it is very obvious that he knows this stuff like the back of his hand.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: Bucknell University
Major: Economics
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great class - Very Interactive

5 stars
September 17, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 759 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 169 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The teacher was great. Made sure to keep the class entertaining. David made some great points and provide some solid resources for increasing studying and testing techniques. The math portion of the course was helpful. The explanations were given clearly and he made sure that each concept was understood before moving forward. David was great for the verbal portion. Provided some great tips for beating sentence correction and reading comp.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
Verified Real Student Review

awesome!!

5 stars
September 15, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 759 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 453 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
great experience! super helpful!

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: Notre Dame
Major: Marketing
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive prep at your own pace

4 stars
September 15, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 759 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep On-Demand Course 32 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The structure of the Veritas on-demand course was well-designed for people that want to study at their own pace and be able to dedicate more time to certain sections that you may struggle with more. This course taught the necessary foundations, but more helpful was the test thinking - and how to approach the test and the types of questions that it is aiming to answer. Overall I would highly recommend the Veritas course to anyone who is looking at GMAT study options that they can do at home on their own schedule.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely helpful

5 stars
September 11, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 759 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 169 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The material by Veritas was very well designed and the instructor Ravi Sreerama was very helpful in explaining solutions to my questions and always gave 100% effort to make each student satisfied. I would recommend this to anyone interested in scoring high in the GMAT.