Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
749 reviews
Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
College: Baruch College
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Verified Real Student Review

Great lesson, great materials

4 stars
September 10, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 749 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 165 reviews
Teacher: Brandon Pierpont
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 630
The live online experience was definitely an interesting one. I was a little skeptical about it but it was definitely a good means of transmitting the lesson. It is convenient for someone like me who is working full time as well, without diluting the quality of the lesson. Brandon was a great instructor and he was able to explain and break things down very well. Sometimes he may have gone a little too fast but such was the nature of the lesson structure. The books that Veritas send are very thorough and high quality as well. Add that to the online materials that are available, and you have a ton of quality work to help raise your score.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: May 2014
College: Purdue University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Recommended as a pre-requisite

5 stars
September 9, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 749 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 48 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Regus Business Center San Francisco - 425 Market St. 3 reviews
Teacher: Cliff Smith
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I explored many different Gmat prep courses and decided on Veritas Prep. Not only for the positive reviews but for the material they offered online. They also had bios on each teacher which was very helpful in choosing which course to go with.

I took the Saturday 6-week course and feel much more prepared for what I need to focus on prior to taking the GMAT. There was plenty of material to work on prior to class and homework after to review what was taught in each lesson.

What I find most helpful are the courses online. Since it was a 6 hour course every Saturday, it was a lot to absorb. Since the course is over, I can go back and review each course book in full detail on my own by following the online course. The online instructors are also amazing and make the material easy to learn and follow.

Cliff Smith was highly recommended and after taking the course, I can definitely see why. He took the time to review what was important as well as touch on other subjects. He had amazing handouts that he created with tips/tricks that were ideal for any GMAT test taker to know.

I would recommend taking Veritas Prep to anyone who is even contemplating taking the GMAT. It's a GREAT place to start and get a push into the right direction in terms of what to study/know.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth It

5 stars
September 9, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 749 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep On-Demand Course 31 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 650
The Veritas on demand course allowed me to study at my own pace while delivering quality content. The practice questions and practice tests were extremely useful in preparing for the exam.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
Country: Romania
Verified Real Student Review

highly recommended

5 stars
September 7, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 749 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 48 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
From the very beginning I had a good experience with veritas. They were very prompt and helpful in advising me on the various course and tutoring options.
Once I enrolled and because there was not enough time for the books to arrive, they sent me the books for the first two classes in pdf form.
After reading several reviews, I opted for Ravi's course. And I did not regret it for a second. He has the skills of a great teacher: he speaks clearly, explains the content very well and pushes students to improve.

As for veritas prep books: they are very well organized and provide the necessary foundations for each chapter; but more than that, they provide valuable strategy advice.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
College: UC Berkeley
Major: English
Industry: Education
Country: China, People's Republic of (PRC)
Verified Real Student Review

Organized, relevant, and fast-paced

5 stars
September 6, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 749 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 448 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Pepperdine University - Westside Conference Center LA 17 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Veritas Prep curriculum, while demanding, gives you every skill set you need to nail the GMAT. The pre-lesson skill builder work gives you the knowledge you then learn to apply during the lessons. To that end, completing the pre-lesson readings and activities will determine how much you get out of the course. Despite the heaviness of the readings, I felt that they could not be streamlined any further without compromising quality.

Ravi is a great instructor. You can tell from the first day that he has taught this course numerous times, and his true value comes from his ability to highlight the most important information in each lesson (not that everything isn't important!). His approaches to certain questions are also unique, which really helps you to save time if you can internalize his thought process. He also pushes you hard in terms of grilling you for your mistakes, which I personally find to be an excellent motivational tool.

I would definitely recommend this course to anyone studying for the GMAT!

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Ohio State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Highly Diversified Manufac and Service
Verified Real Student Review

A great resource to help reach your GMAT goals

5 stars
September 6, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 749 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 24 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: N/A
Mark Robinson did a very good job of instructing me how to take the GMAT. We not only went over how to solve problems, but how to critically examine what the question is asking. This has been the most invaluable piece of the tutoring, as I have seen significant improvements in my score by using this method. I highly recommend Mark to anyone that wants to really achieve their GMAT goals, and to do so as efficiently as possible.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: University of Texas at Austin
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worked for me (760)

5 stars
September 4, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 749 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 448 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
In short, I found Veritas very helpful, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to improve or cement the GMAT score you want.
I took the Jul-Aug full course in Houston, Texas with Mark Robinson. A week after my class, I took the GMAT, and according to my unofficial score, which you get immediately after the test, I got a 760 (99th percentile overall; 88th percentile Q/ 94th percentile V).
When I saw that the classes took place in a conference room of Courtyard Marriott, I was a bit skeptical about the course. However, Mark turned out to be an exceptional instructor. Because he has been teaching for many years, he has many funny, relevant, or shocking anecdotal stories to help explain and memorize concepts. The only downside I saw to the classroom setting was that students of every level are placed in the same class, so the class may be a bit too fast if you are in the struggling category or a bit slow if you're in the 700+ range. If you are in the struggling category, you shouldn't worry because I saw Mark stay after class to further explain the concepts to some people who didn't quite grasp them during class. Also, I personally did not do this, but I heard some of the students reached out to him during the week through e-mails and texts when they ran into problems while doing hw.
What I found especially helpful was the study materials. The books, though they contain few typos here and there, are well-written and explain concepts easily. Most of all, I found the practice exams very useful. While some of my friends told me that the practice exams are easier than the real thing, they were pretty accurate for me. I got a 740 on my first practice exam, 710, 720, and 730 on subsequent exams (two of which I took the weekend before the actual exam), and I got a 760 on the real thing, which exceeded my expectations. So I would say that the scores on the practice exams served as pretty good estimates for the real score.
In all honesty, I was at a loss when I first got the GMAT practice book. Nevertheless, I probably would have gotten a score in the high 600's or low 700's range if I studied on my own. I'm so glad I decided to take the class because I got a lot of good test taking tips from the course, and those tips definitely helped me raise my grade and cement the score I wanted.
So all in all, if you are in Houston, TX and want to do well/better on your GMAT, try the course with Mark.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: May 2014
College: San Francisco State University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic Course to get you started!

5 stars
September 2, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 749 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 448 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Pepperdine University - Westside Conference Center LA 17 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
This course was a great way to start my studies for the GMAT. I have not taken the test yet, but have taken a few practice tests and have improved immensely. It gave me structure to study as well as guidelines and what to focus on first. Much of what was focused on during class was dictated by the fantastic Ravi. He is a no non-sense teacher that tells you like it is.

Ravi is very upfront about the amount of material that is covered in class and that you will only get out of it what you put in. It is important to know that taking this class isn't just throwing money at studying, you really have to be as invested in the program and use all the resources in order to get the most of out of your experience.

I will spend more time studying in the coming weeks in hopes of scoring over 700 on my test, but so far all the tools have been given to me through Veritas Prep and Ravi.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome Course, Even Better Instructor

5 stars
September 2, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 749 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 165 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Veritas Prep curriculum and course were great. They thoroughly teach you the material and then enforce it through practice problems and skillbuilder quizzes. There are additional practice problems that can be done and they also offer the most practice tests out of any prep company out there.

Ethan was awesome. He came into each class with energy and made problem explanations understandable for the entire class. He was always available for further questions and you could tell he really cared about the well-being of our class.

Would definitely recommend Veritas over the other prep companies out there.

Joined: Aug 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
Verified Real Student Review

The Perfect Way To Prep for the GMAT

5 stars
September 2, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 749 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 448 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Howard Hughes Center Los Angeles 19 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Taking the Veritas Full Prep Course from Ravi was an amazing experience. Being out of school for over 10 years, Ravi's style of teaching perfectly suited my needs at this point of my life. I needed a teacher who can challenge me to learn material on my own while thoroughly explaining the material I struggled with. Ravi was always available to answer any question, and made sure that his students prioritize efficiency when approaching the GMAT. He encouraged his students to try each class whether the answer provided would be right or wrong. His focus was to make sure each student sees why they arrived at an answer so that they know the best approach possible to each question on the test.

I strongly recommend Ravi's course to anyone considering taking a Veritas Prep Course.