Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1111 reviews
Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Wonderful - Helped me move past plateau

5 stars
May 11, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1111 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 392 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: N/A
I took a live online course with Ethan with Chris Speck as our TA. I was wary before taking the course for a few reasons. First, I had already taken a Manhattan Prep course and I hadn't seen a score improvement. Second, it was an online course and I thought it wouldn't be as good. Finally, I didn't think anything could help me improve my score.

Well. Ethan (ET) was an AMAZING teacher. He brings the class to life, is incredibly engaging, and is hysterically funny. I have a full time job and work 11/12 hour days which is all to say that I'm exhausted when I get home. So it's a true testament to how excellent a teacher ET is that I am excited to learn and feel 100% engaged by the material he's teaching (my course was from 8-11pm). I can't speak highly enough of him. During my practice tests I hear him in my head saying: "NOBODY EXPECTS THE DIFFERENCE OF TWO SQUARES!!" And I know people talk about his great fool's strategy but seriously, it sticks with you and it's hilarious. His strategies stay with you during the test. Believe it or not, he makes studying for the GMAT (well, GMAT class at the very least) fun and makes the test feel beatable. He's excited to teach and it comes through the screen. Take his course, you won't regret it. I thought I was a lost cause but in the 6 weeks of his class, I improved by 70 points (!!!!) and I'm not done yet! Still not at my dream score but I CAN TASTE IT.


Chris was extremely helpful and provided great feedback throughout the course. He would check in during class to make sure you were understanding. To add to that, I emailed Chris and ET a few times with questions and updates. Both were very helpful and Chris's responses were amazing. He answered every aspect of the question and sent me very detailed responses, helping to comfort my fears and sending useful tips on how to study.

The only negative is that the MGMAT foundational books are more thorough for people who need to learn the math skills than the Veritas books are. But after you've mastered the foundations, Veritas does a far better job of teaching you how to actually take the test. The strategies for taking the GMAT that Veritas teaches are excellent. I am NOT an engineer or a finance kid and while I do math for my job, it's mostly percentages and I hadn't taken a math class in 6/7 years. ET and Veritas teach you that this is actually a logic test and the idea is to do as little math as possible. In fact, when I see a complicated problem, I know to pause, think of Ethan (WWED) and consider what this question is actually trying to test. So thank you.

To calm people's fears about an online course, it's actually extremely convenient and it's as engaging as you make it. You won't get cold called (maybe other teachers do that but ET doesn't) but you're very engaged. Any questions you have, any at all, you just type into the chat box. I loved my fellow class mates and we all interacted very well together. ET and Chris created a points system (not sure if other teachers do this as well), which helped to foster classroom interaction. The system was excellent and my computer, which normally can't handle a basic skype call, was perfectly able to live-stream the class. I never encountered disturbances in my connection I was unable to fix with a basic refresh, which only needed to be done during one of my classes. I don't know what kind of magic you Veritas people are working but it's great.

HIGHLY recommend this course and take it with Ethan! HE'S THE BEST!!!!!

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: Bucknell University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent GMAT Prep

5 stars
May 9, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1111 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 392 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 115 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I was enrolled in the Veritas Live Online GMAT Prep course with Ravi Sreerama. The Veritas structure combined with Ravi's amazing teaching made for an excellent GMAT Prep course. My baseline score prior to any test prep was a 560. After the course and some additional studying on my own, I was able to score a 760. Each Veritas class definitely hit all major topics that might be tested. Ravi did an incredible job reinforcing the basics as well as teaching methods to solving the harder problems. A large portion of the class also focused on learning how to find the trap answers and using tricks and shortcuts to get to the right answer. I never would have been able to learn these concepts from a test prep book on my own. The homework and problem sets on the Veritas student account were both great ways to practice. The explanations in the solutions are pretty thorough and do a great job of elaborating on the best way to solve the problem given the time constraint. Additionally, Ravi and the whole Veritas Team were very responsive to any and all questions. The course enrollment includes a lot of other resources to help with applications. Overall, I'm very pleased with my Veritas experience and would recommend it to anyone shopping around for test prep options.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep: Chris Kane - Live Online Course

5 stars
May 7, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1111 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 392 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 115 reviews
Teacher: Chris Kane
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I highly recommend Chris Kane as a GMAT instructor and Veritas Prep's live online course. They do an excellent job breaking down concepts and teaching the skills necessary for getting a high score on the GMAT exam. Chris taught the course not only the concepts but strategies for doing well on the exam and created an fun, studious environment.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Worth it.

5 stars
May 6, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1111 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 392 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 660
This was my first time ever taking an online course so I was a bit apprehensive going in. I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed the course. Ravi was an excellent teacher! He would not build you up or sugar coat anything. Ravi told you what to expect and it was up to you to take the material and apply it. Again as this was my first time taking an online course, I did not know what to expect and Ravi did a great job dismissing my fears of distraction and kept me engaged. Ravi was there to help and he went above and beyond. Ravi would message me personally and check up, ask me questions about my answers and really made an effort with me that I did not expect. With Ravi and Veritas and you were willing to work hard, you could reach any score you desired.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: Colorado State University
Major: Sport and Health Sciences
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the price of admission

5 stars
May 3, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1111 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 541 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Washington DC Hilton 33 reviews
Teacher: Anthony Ritz
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: N/A
Andy did a great job of adding to the books. He made class worthwhile, additionally, he was knowledgeable regarding the various errors students could make. So it was extremely helpful when he could step into a problem at any point and help a student thoroughly understand how to complete a problem. Moreover, after one week in the class I had already scored the exact same score on a practice test that I did on the official prior to starting the class. I'm looking forward to taking the official test in a couple of weeks, and that wouldn't be the case had Andy not been my instructor.

Joined: May 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: University of Wisconsin Eau Claire
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

5-Star Class and Professor

5 stars
May 3, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1111 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 392 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
A friend of mine recommended the Veritas online weekend course. It was Saturday and Sundays for 3 hours each day for 6 consecutive weeks. I had never taken an online interactive course before so I didn't know what to expect. After the first class with Ethan I knew I had made the best choice for both the class and professor. Ethan's teaching and communication style are very engaging and easy to follow. He makes students feel welcome during class and connects with them immediately. He breaks the content down and includes his own notes, suggestions, tricks and tips, which honestly could be the most effective takeaways from some of our lessons. The content he creates in addition to the provided materials are grade A work and worth the price of admission.

The whole reason I picked Ethan as my professor was because he had an excellent rating on Veritas' site. I knew that every Prof on Veritas would be sharp, but Ethan was everything I had hoped for and more. He genuinely cares about success of his students and it shows through in everything that he does from start to finish. If you're new to interactive online courses and concerned that you won't get the attention or engagement that you would from an in-person classroom setting, no need to worry, this course with Ethan will eliminate all of those concerns.

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: University of Houston
Major: Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Live Online with Chris Kane = Score Increase

5 stars
April 30, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1111 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 392 reviews
Teacher: Chris Kane
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: N/A
TL;DR – For me, the Veritas Prep live online format was surprisingly more effective than a traditional classroom format. It combines taking the class in an environment that’s most comfortable for you and interacting in real time with your fellow students and instructors. At the midpoint of the course, I already saw a 90-point practice test score increase. If that doesn’t represent success and improvement, then I don’t know what does!
I decided that I needed some outside GMAT test prep after coming having a classic freak out over the realization that I was completely unprepared for a fast approaching GMAT test date. I initially balked at the idea of spending over $1,500 for test prep but also knew that I had to do something to help progress with GMAT. Luckily, I’m involved with the Forte Foundation and they provided a discount for us. I’ve seen several other ways to get discounts to Veritas through attending events or webinars. I would highly recommend taking the time to find a way to get a discount because it’s worth it but I will contradict myself by also saying that the course is 100% worth the money even if you didn’t have the discount.
I registered for the Monday/Wednesday live online class with Chris Kane over the phone with Farrah. She was very helpful and went over several details of the course and what I was getting when I signed up. Additionally, she provided me with a great example of how the live online course format worked in order to prepare me for the experience of using it for my course. After I registered and paid for the first of three payments, I got a box from Veritas in the mail that included 12 course books, an essential guide to some of the top MBA programs, and a dry erase packet and pen that mimics what you’ll get on test day. You also get instant access to your online student portal after you register.
To be honest, Veritas gives you so many resources that it’s initially overwhelming. They do a great job of giving you first steps that helps you work through the student portal and the books systematically. This is mostly given to you in the first of the course books. With these learnings, it becomes very easy to use the online portal effectively.
On class days, it’s surprisingly how much similar it is to a real class. You still get nervous about speaking up (via chat) and can get called on unexpectedly. Chris did this often! It really helps at keeping you engaged for a good majority of the lesson. Many working professionals know that the mark of a great meeting or seminar is not watching the clock. It’s amazing how quickly three hours of instruction passes by. Before you even realize it, the 6 weeks of class is over.
During class, the instructor takes you through a concise version of the book’s contents and its exercises. You should have the book with you during class to follow along but the class is not a substitute for the book because the class goes faster than the class and often skips over details that you might find useful. Almost all of the exercises that you do in class are a part of the lesson section of the book. I found it most beneficial to have the book with me during class and then go back and watch the On Demand lesson at my own pace later. It’s two different deliveries of the lesson but highly effective. I found that it allowed me to take advantage of all the methods of learning that I was paying for. I recommended this system to a friend that was also taking Veritas but with a different live online instructor and she also found it helpful.
Chris was truly a wonderful instructor. I don’t know how he does it but it really feels like he gets to know his students throughout the course. He gets really good at letting each of us know what we were probably thinking when we selected an incorrect answer. It’s creepy but in a good way… although still creepy enough that we talked about it class. How does he know?! He was great at entertaining us through our lessons with stories about his past students and experiences as a GMAT instructors. Our incentive to do well during class was a
Brandon was our TA and he served as a communicator between the student and Chris and then between the student and the rest of the class. Often times, we would get summed up concise tips from him in the chat along with “student comments” where a student has a comment or question that comes up in the private chat with him but it’s relevant enough for all of us. He was the person that we could bounce frustrations or concerns off of during class.
Even though it’s an online class for the students, you still have the dynamics of a traditional classroom. I’m talking about getting off topic, class clowns, lack of participation (mainly from fear of getting the wrong answer), etc. Chris ad Brandon did a really great job of entertaining us when we were off topic but also keeping us on course to tackle the entire lesson in the given amount of time. In a way, this was nice because you didn’t lose that aspect of class and it meant that you were still interacting with your classmates. This made it really fun for me. Because you’re only chatting, it’s easier to “break the ice” between students. Even in the short amount of time that we were together, I felt the other students and I were all very supportive of each other to the extent that some of us connected on LinkedIn after the last class.
Overall, Veritas Prep gave me the instruction and structure I was missing in my GMAT prep. The curriculum doesn’t offer any shortcuts. It’s meant to give you the tools you need to understand concepts and strategies at a deeper level. After two weeks of practicing post-class, I can see the difference in my thought process with practice problems. I highly recommend not only Veritas Prep but the live online course with Chris Kane!

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience

5 stars
April 27, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1111 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 392 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I had a online live class with Ravi. I love it. It helped me a lot with my GMAT studies, and I really like Veritas Books. They are very well written. I have gain much more confidence to take GMAT.

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the price and specially the time!

5 stars
April 26, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1111 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 392 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras - Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Preparing for the GMAT doesnt have to be a terrible experience if you are well guided through the journey.

Veritas prep course is a great choice! The course itself is well structured and challenging and the materials perfect for study on and offline.

I really enjoyed every class, our teacher Ethan was practical and focused on the things we need to understand about the exam. Our classes were very interactive and he kept us fully engaged during the 3 hours each of them lasted. Our teacher's assistant Ed was a hit too, always willing to help us with any technical issue and supporting the class content as well.

In order to maximize the class effect, make sure you do your homework between classes, the skillbuilder lessons are essential in order to keep the class in a competitive level.

Veritas Prep Course exceeded my expectations and i would recommend it to anyone looking for a GMAT preparation course.

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: CSU EAST BAY
Major: Business
Industry: Transportation
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Tough Course for Big Improvements

5 stars
April 24, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1111 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 392 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 400   After: N/A
I took a live online course with Ravi Sreerama and I thought he was a great instructor. He will reach out to you to you if you are struggling and will open a dialog with you and talk about what you need to do to improve. I took the GMAT after having not touched a textbook in about 5 years and got a 400 but after the course I saw a 100-150 jump in my practice tests which is a big improvement considering where I was at. I think Ravi was a great instructor but the course is going to be tough if you are working full time, I wish they had an option for a longer course than 6 weeks with less hours required during the week but as far as what I could find online this was the best option.

Vertias has a pretty slick website and the books are well designed and formatted and you can even watch a recorded version of the lessons Ravi has done during the course. I recommend Veritas if you want to see an improvement in your score.