Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York

5 stars
(5/5) - 8 reviews
109 East 42nd Street
New York, NY 10017
Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Scored Beyond What I Thought was Possible

5 stars
December 24, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York 8 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 760
Before: 690 (Q: 44, V: 42)
After: 760 (Q: 50, V: 42)

Prior to working with Devin I had taken a MGMAT in-person course with no real luck in pushing up my score. Despite 4 months of prep, my score had moved 10 pts from a 680 to a 690, with my quant subscore dropping dramatically, and my verbal subscore increasing primarily due to a Veritas's free online course which anyone can download to their iPad.

I had always been a quantitatively minded person (800 SAT I), but was having trouble tackling the hardest questions which the GMAT threw at me. After starting tutoring with Devin, we focused on the quant and targeted a 49 or 50. Devin has several strategies to approach each question and has the ability to see through incredible complexity to make what might be an incredibly difficult problem simple (he also recognized that some questions simply are too complex for the timed environment of the exam, and encouraged guessing on those). With his help I was able to become much more efficient on the easy/medium questions so I had more time to deal with the difficult ones. While we spent less time focusing on the Verbal section, he definitely helped me brush up my skills since it had been a few months since I had last taken the exam.

Ultimately I ended up taking the test twice after my tutoring sessions with him and ended up with a 760 on my second try, well beyond what I thought was achievable. I would highly highly recommend his services, but would keep in mind that personal tutoring is all about how effectively you use your time. I got the most out of my sessions because I had spent significant time reviewing a gmatprep exam prior to each session, and as a result, had extremely pointed questions every time a session had began.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: May 2016
College: University of Toronto
Major: Finance
Industry: Student
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing experience

5 stars
August 8, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York 8 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: N/A
I took the live online course with instructor Ethan Todras-Whitehill, who was very helpful and enthusiastic. He provided students with clear and comprehensive explanation of concepts, practice questions and examples to vividly illustrate course contents. Both the instructor and the TA were highly engaged during class time, ensuring an interactive environment for an excellent learning experience. After the course, I noticed considerable improvements in both my practical GMAT knowledge and test-taking skill (such as mindset and time management). Overall, it was an outstanding experience learning with Veritas Prep.

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: University of Florida
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Private Tutoring - Brendan Smith

5 stars
June 7, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York 8 reviews
Teacher: Brendan Smith
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 690
Brendan was a fantastic tutor during my GMAT preparation. He planned our sessions tailored towards my weaknesses and explained it in a simple way without sacrificing the quality of the material. Also, Brendan always shared strategies and tips for the test that helped me improve my score and timing. Even after our sessions were over, Brendan was personally invested in my success by checking regularly on my progress during the practice tests. Brendan was a key factor in my preparation and 90 point improvement on my overall GMAT score.
I would recommend Brendan as a tutor especially if you are considering Veritas Prep!

Joined: Nov 2013
Purchased Course: Sep 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Great comprehensive and challenging class.

5 stars
November 7, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York 8 reviews
Teacher: Brandon Pierpont
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Veritas Prep with Brandon was a fantastic class. The material is comprehensive and challenging, but the curriculum is well-crafted, paced, and helpful.

Brandon was a great instructor. He is very qualified in his knowledge and understanding of the material and funny and personable to make the class engaging and the three hours each session fly by. He worked through every problem in a clear and logical manner and always stayed after class to help out. His truthfulness and down to earth manner makes you feel that the test is nothing but a game you can beat and he shares all his tricks and advice to beat it.

I feel very prepared from this class to beat the gmat.

Joined: Sep 2013
Purchased Course: Aug 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome class

5 stars
September 29, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York 8 reviews
Teacher: Brandon Pierpont
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Brandon was an awesome teacher. Very personable. He made an otherwise boring class fun. I highly reccomend Veritas for any GMAT prep. They really know what they are talking about.

Joined: Sep 2013
Purchased Course: Jul 2013
College: Stony Brook University
Major: Journalism
Industry: Real Estate Development
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great class, haven't taken the test yet

5 stars
September 19, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York 8 reviews
Teacher: Brandon Pierpont
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The Veritas Prep course was great. The books and website supply a lot of sample problems, as well as clear and thorough explanations for the answers. Brandon provides more tips and tricks for the GMAT that give students more options in solving problems efficiently. He makes himself available and is very open to students.

Joined: Sep 2013
Purchased Course: Jul 2013
College: New York Institute of Technology
Major: Biology
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course

5 stars
September 3, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York 8 reviews
Teacher: Dave Goldstein
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Before taking this course, I had practiced the GMAT multiple times. The main improvement I saw was in my quant. I learned helping tricks such as the matrix box and how to make hard questions simpler. Dave is a great instructor and he really helped us even outside the class by sending us flash cards and important test taking tips.

Joined: Mar 2013
Purchased Course: Jan 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Absolutely worth it!

5 stars
March 29, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York 8 reviews
Teacher: Chris Kane
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The course was awesome. Chris Kane was enthusiastic, very knowledgeable in all facets of the GMAT and just an overall great instructor. The 12 books that are given are extremely helpful, especially the skillbuilder sections. I learned valuable techniques and strategies to assist with question approach and time management. It was an awesome experience that was very beneficial.

The Latest Veritas Prep Forum Posts

The Latest Veritas Prep Forum Posts