Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 102 reviews
109 East 42nd Street
New York, NY 10017
Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: Harvard
Major: Economics
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Devin Jones is the best!

5 stars
February 2, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I highly, highly recommend Devin Jones as a tutor!
I had taken a Veritas Prep course a few years back when I first thought about taking the GMAT. I wasn't serious about my prep at the time, but it demonstrated to me that Veritas was a solid prep company and that their instructors were top notch. I fully committed to taking the GMAT this fall, and after scoring 650 on a practice test I decided to get a tutor to help increase my score.

From my first session with Devin, I knew he was going to help me crush the GMAT. It was obvious that he was incredibly smart, and he genuinely cared about me achieving the results I wanted. We had a TON of sessions, but he helped me to identify my problem areas and made sure I had great material to work with throughout the process. He even ordered new books for me when we ran out of material, and hand picked problems to make sure I was covering what I needed. I even had fun during the sessions because Devin is a cool guy too! We had some good laughs throughout. The structured study plan he provided helped me to stay motivated and improve steadily across all the subject areas. I was pretty strong in verbal going in, but to my surprise I improved a lot in verbal AND quant thanks to Devin.

On my first test day, I got in my head and wasted way too much time early on. I scored 670, but coming out of it I wasn't nearly as dismayed as I would have been. Working with Devin gave me the confidence to know I could do better. I shook it off and took the test two weeks later. I scored a 720! Overall, I increased my quant score by 5 points and verbal by 3. I couldn't have been happier. If you want to do well on the GMAT, then Devin Jones is definitely your guy!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: Carnegie Mellon University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I HIGHLY recommend Devin Jones!

5 stars
January 30, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 690
I HIGHLY recommend Devin Jones as a GMAT tutor. The below is my GMAT story and how Devin helped me beat the GMAT.

Quick Summary:
-I improved my GMAT score from a 590 (first actual test) to a 690
-If I take into account my first practice test, I improved my score from a 540 to a 690
-I had a Mathematics minor from Carnegie Mellon University, so I was fairly strong in Quant to begin with, but I improved my Verbal score from a 28 to a 38

My Story:
I have been studying for the GMAT on and off for the past two years. I took a Manhattan GMAT course 2 years ago and did not score as well on the test as I would have liked (score: 590). I was also not very impressed by the Manhattan GMAT course and I didn’t feel like the instructor was particularly helpful nor was he passionate about truly helping students conquer the test.

I took a year off from the GMAT due to frustration and feelings of failure. I started studying for the GMAT again this past September. My friend who also struggled with the GMAT recommended I try out Veritas Prep. She had a private tutor and she said that it made all the difference in the world. Looking back, I could not agree with her more!

I signed up for a 20-hour Private Tutor package with Veritas Prep. From my very first tutoring session, I knew that my tutor, Devin Jones, would help me beat the GMAT. Devin was always willing to meet around my schedule. He was never late and he always stayed past the scheduled duration of the tutoring session. Devin helped me improve both my Quant and Verbal score by creating a strategy/study plan that addressed both my strengths and weaknesses.

Beyond just providing tutoring for the content of that GMAT, Devin was my support and backbone throughout the 4-month process. He kept my emotions at bay and he helped me mentally prepare. He was even willing to walk me to my test center for my first scheduled test because he knew I was nervous. It’s the little things like that that really make all the difference in the world, especially for a stressful test like the GMAT.

Although I did not do as well as I would have liked on my test (score 640), Devin stuck with me and continued to help me prepare and tackle my weaknesses. He provided a continuous flow of study materials and created homework assignments for me each week, once again focusing on a strategy/study plan that addressed both my strengths and weaknesses. The structure of his assignments really helped me get through the weeks. I took the test two more times and unfortunately still did not do as well as I would have hoped (610; 630). However, Devin’s unwavering confidence in my ability to achieve my goal of a 680+ kept me going.

Finally, on my last attempt, I scored a 690!!!!! I was beyond ecstatic and I definitely could not have done it without Devin by my side every step of the way. Devin was the first person I reached out to after leaving the testing center and he was so happy for me. I could not have asked for a better tutor, helping me to improve my score 100 points! Devin is a truly amazing tutor and is incredibly passionate about helping others to success. I consider myself very lucky to have had Devin as my GMAT tutor.

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
Major: Economics
Industry: Multimedia
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Invaluable

5 stars
January 15, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
After two months of studying, ordering every GMAT book off Amazon known to man and taking time off work to study I hit a plateau where in studying alone I was making concepts unnecessarily difficult to understand. I called Veritas after my first official test score came back far below my practice tests and begged the man who answered the phone to give me a great tutor so I could make my application deadline.

Luckily they sent me Devin and after two weeks of simplifying all the material that had become gobbly gook from all the different textbook strategies I was able to sit down for another official test and improve my score by 50 points. Strongly recommend.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent experience with Ethan and Veritas

5 stars
December 12, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Ethan provided an excellent in-person class. In addition to thorough content coverage, he dove deep into strategies to approach different question types, manage time and maintain focus. Every minute of the class was valuable. I've recommended Ethan and Veritas to friends and family.

Be prepared, though, to dedicate a very good amount of time outside of class to studying the material and refreshing basic algebra and arithmetic (prerequisites for being ready for class). I suggest taking the class at least 3 weeks before your exam so that you have adequate time to study after the class. I found that the class teaches you what you need to know, but you need to practice it to be ready to perform well on test day.

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Verified Real Student Review

60 pts in 2 weeks - 700

5 stars
November 24, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I studied for about 9 months using Magoosh and the official GMAT prep books. 1 month prior to the exam, I took Veritas practice tests and peaked at 640. At that point, I realized I needed help as nothing I did improved my score. 2 weeks prior to the exam, I worked with Devin Jones, who knows the gmat inside and out, from Veritas Prep and he come up with a personal game plan, which was to focus on verbal (my strength) and brush up on math. 1 week prior to the exam, I scored a 710 using the official gmat prep software. And finally, I scored a 700 on test day, my target goal. Looking back, I would have done this 6 months earlier. At some point, reviewing the material will not improve you score.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: May 2016
College: University of Ottawa
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep is amazing. Ethan is even more amazing.

5 stars
September 9, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I recently took the Veritas Prep GMAT course with Ethan Todras-Whitehall, and would definitely recommend it to anyone writing the GMAT.

- Teaching style – He provides really good tips to help save time while answering questions. Furthermore, the concepts that he teaches are ones I would have never thought of to tackle GMAT problems. He makes daunting questions look very simple, and teaches tricks to answer them in just seconds.

- Class engagement – Ethan keeps you engaged the entire time by using funny examples and constantly asking you questions to make sure you’re paying attention.

- Help you succeed – During the class, either Ethan or Chris (TA) will check up on you to make sure you’re understanding the lesson. During class or after class hours, they are both very willing to answer questions via email and help you out. Ethan also provides additional resources and cheat sheets via email about tricks that are not provided in the Veritas handouts.

The class comes with the live online lessons with Ethan, additional on-demand videos, 12 books (hard copy and e-book), and lots of practise tests and homework problems. Overall it was a great class and really good investment of money – would recommend to everyone (especially Ethan’s course)!

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
College: Brooklyn College
Major: Accounting
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Arash Diba the tutor to go to

5 stars
August 27, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Eric Meltzer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 710
Arash Diba was an excellent tutor. He cared about my experience as a student and kept in touch in between sessions about my practice test scores, and looked over any problems I had difficulty with before our sessions. He was great at getting me to streamline my approach to each and every question and was constantly coaching me to think analytically during problem sets - plus he has great explanations that will stay with you when you practice on your own.

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: University of Notre Dame
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Immersion Course

5 stars
April 10, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Ravi Sreerama was very engaging and made the course enjoyable. He always tried to connect the GMAT questions and strategies to our lives and interests. While the class was not a private tutoring session, it was small enough for everyone to ask questions and receive specific attention. I was pleasantly surprised not only with everything I learned, but more with how quickly I learned it. Ravi is very clear in stating his objectives and opinions and goes beyond his tutor role to approach students and advise them on strategies, approach, timing and even school applications.

He is really good emphasizing what is important and what one should focus on to be successful in the exam. All in all, I was extremely happy with the course.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2015
College: Duke University
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The Best GMAT Prep for someone with a busy schedule!

5 stars
February 4, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I committed to take the GMAT six weeks prior to my test date, so I did not give myself a lot of time to prepare. I also work about 60 hours per week and have little downtime. The Veritas Prep full online course is the perfect choice for my GMAT studies in that it offers me the flexibility to attend the live on-line course during the evening after work, and, in the event that I am not able to make the live course, it provides the course recording on-demand. I joined the course after the first two sessions had taken place, but I was able to catch up-to-speed by the third session using the video on-demand feature.
My course instructor, Ethan Todras-Whitehill, is fantastic! Ethan brings an enthusiasm and charisma to the class; he is always upbeat and energetic, and he is great at invoking pop culture references, incorporating humor, and applying the material to real life, keeping everyone engaged. Not to offer any spoilers, but his Mel Brooks-themed lesson is a staple that I anticipate will remain in the repertoire for years to come!
Ethan involves the students in the lessons. He polls the class on background knowledge, themes, intuition, and sample problems. Everyone participates, and banter is encouraged. The interface allows us as students to interact with one another via chat and with Ethan via video or normal chat. Despite the joking and tangents we sometimes find ourselves on, Ethan always covers the lesson material in the time allotment (3 hours including two short breaks). The whole experience feels very much like a classroom, adding to the learning experience. Additionally, to the extent I have any questions outside of class, Ethan is quick to respond to e-mails, and he is very helpful in his answers and guidance.
Not to be overlooked are the actual course materials and the resources. The books are excellent, with each book covering one subject and including a skill-builder, the lesson (which is the blueprint for what is covered during the live sessions), and a homework set with answers and incredibly detailed answer explanations. The online portal provides the on-demand lesson bank, problem sets and solutions, the ability to create your own problem sets, and two full-length adaptive practice tests, among many other things.
Overall, I could not be more satisfied with my veritas Prep experience, particularly class with Ethan. I would recommend it to anyone, but especially to those who want to be flexible and have the ability to tailor the experience to their schedule.

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: Indiana University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Ethan Todras-Whitehill

5 stars
January 28, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 600
I signed up for Veritas looking for a new approach to the GMAT and an insightful instructor. It was immediately apparent that Ethan has the ability to distill complex GMAT content into a simple, approachable form. The result of which is walking away from Ethan's course with a comprehensible strategy and approach that is also adaptive to independent study thereafter. Ethan pushes his students to find various ways to solve each problem and more importantly to have an awareness of pitfalls and traps in each problem. Beyond that, I liked that Ethan uses relatable content like contemporary analogies and movie references to make "dull" content more enjoyable - which also maximizes the course setting. Through Ethan, I learned that preparation is not a function of quantity but quality. I would highly recommend Veritas Prep and especially Ethan as the instructor to unlock your GMAT experience.

The Latest Veritas Prep Forum Posts

The Latest Veritas Prep Forum Posts