Course
GMAT PREP COURSE

Veritas Prep Immersion Course

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 41 reviews
Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: The George Washington University
Major: American Studies
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

“Couch to GMAT” in Just 6 Days

5 stars
January 1, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 143 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The year-end 6 day immersion class taught by David Newland exceeded all my expectations. Having a pretty heavy and unpredictable travel schedule at work, I’ve had a hard time finding a prep class that worked for me. However, knowing I had a week off from work between Christmas and New Year’s Day the immersion class worked perfectly for me and allowed me to be completely focused on studying without any other distractions. 36 hours of content in 6 days was no cake walk but I am certain I was able to learn and retain more than I would have if I had other things to focus on in addition to studying. But the timing was just one reason why my experience was so positive. David Newland knows his stuff; I mean he is a contributor to the Veritas curriculum books after all. Mixing the core material with his own experiences and strategies took me from “couch to GMAT” in just 6 days. The Veritas presentation format is also the most conducive to learning I’ve ever overcome. Being able to see on my screen David in front of the SmartBoard made me feel like he was right in front of the room with me. I wouldn’t be as optimistic for my upcoming exam if it wasn’t for immersion class, David and Veritas. I couldn’t recommend it more.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: University of Winnipeg
Major: Biochemistry
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing immersion course!

5 stars
January 1, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 143 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
David Newland is a great teacher. He has a great sense of humour too! I really appreciate that he would always ensure that everyone in the class understood the concepts.

The course was very intense as we covered almost all of the GMAT prep materials in 6 days! It became challenging at times to really focus and absorb all of the course materials so you have to make sure that you are fully committed once you sign-up for an immersion course. For those with very busy schedules, this might be a good fit for you!

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent experience with Ethan and Veritas

5 stars
December 12, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Ethan provided an excellent in-person class. In addition to thorough content coverage, he dove deep into strategies to approach different question types, manage time and maintain focus. Every minute of the class was valuable. I've recommended Ethan and Veritas to friends and family.

Be prepared, though, to dedicate a very good amount of time outside of class to studying the material and refreshing basic algebra and arithmetic (prerequisites for being ready for class). I suggest taking the class at least 3 weeks before your exam so that you have adequate time to study after the class. I found that the class teaches you what you need to know, but you need to practice it to be ready to perform well on test day.

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
College: Copenhagen Business School
Major: Business
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

Second Immersion course and a much better experience

5 stars
September 19, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Teacher: Anthony
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I was extremely satisfied with the course with Anthony. I honestly found his teaching incredibly good. This was my second time taking the course with Veritas and found his teaching certainly better than my last teacher, Ravi.

Anthony was very technical both in the quantitative and verbal sections, but in a natural and easy to interpret way. I got very useful takeaways and strategies on how to tackle questions that I had not gotten before, making me more confident in how to approach the questions and in leveraging material from the skillbuilders. He's extremely bright but also a very fun teacher who is willing to go the extra step to help his students, I really had a great time.

His method is really great and he was very good at comforting students into not being scared of asking questions to get the right answers during class.

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent instructor and course!

5 stars
September 5, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 730
The course was exactly what I needed to help me boost my score. Ravi Sreerama is an excellent instructor. Before the course, I struggled with timing on both quant and verbal sections but his strategy allowed me save time - it really paid off on test day!

The course materials were extremely helpful and Ravi taught the course in an engaging manner. He teaches you great techniques / shortcuts and encourages you to think like the test maker.

Overall, I increased my score by 60 points thanks to Ravi!

I strongly recommend the course. You leave the course with skills that will allow you to perform well on test day (with hard work of course).

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
College: Oxford University
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Industry: Consulting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

99th percentile or bust...

5 stars
August 20, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
...is Ravi's motto when he delivers the course! While of course he softens that to 'let's get you the score you need to get into the schools you want to get to', Ravi has a ruthless, no-nonsense approach that means he tells you what you need to know whether you like the answer or not (such as telling me, who was desperate to take the exam the day after the course finished, I would probably need 6-8 weeks to get a stellar score - not what I wanted to hear but I can't deny he was right!). Frankly, for GMAT, this is exactly what most of us need.

Secondly, from his pre-course email, detailing how the course will be structured, advice on how to get the most on it, how to prepare yourself for the exam and where to find the best practice materials and his opinion on the resources, right through to offering his support post-course on any exam tactics or preparation issues you may be having (for 'homework help' on GMAT topics you are still struggling with post-course Veritas offers a centralised, also excellent service), Ravi takes very seriously making sure that his students are getting what they need out of the course and are getting to where they need to be.

In class, it's a hefty dose of pragmatism all round to everyone who's tempted to bury themselves for minutes on end in a tough, meaty problem. All questions are timed, and it's not about 'how do we solve this particular especially hard problem' but instead 'what do we do to get you the highest score you can' (a very different question you'll have to take the course to understand) - totally practical and all about getting you to the score you need.

I'd add that Veritas' materials are nothing if not extensive and well tuned to the exam, and the post-course support in terms of homework, practice exams and supporting analysis thereof, etc. are all first-rate, but this is a review of the course itself, and it's really the instructor that makes the course in my opinion.

It's a pricy package, but if you're talking about what's going to get you to the highest score you can attain the most efficient way possible, this is the right choice. Of course I can only speak for the course I did, but, if all of Veritas' instructors are of Ravi's calibre, then they are worth the money you spend and I doubt I'd have got my one-take 760 score without them.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome tutor and awesome curriculum

5 stars
August 6, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I had high expectations for this course, and the course surpassed those expectations. The highlights of the course were;
- My tutor, Ravi Sreerama, was awesome. I know Ravi's advice and guidance made a big difference to my score. His teaching style was highly engaging and effective. He taught us how to be street smart with the test and how to best structure our study approach - such crucial tips to know in order to be successful.
- The content in the books and online is very accessible and easy to learn if you're willing to put in the hours. Other courses are apparently a bit "textbook" in their approach, whereas Veritas strikes a great balance with providing 'street smart' test strategy.
- I highly recommend this course.

Joined: Apr 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
College: University of Notre Dame
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Immersion Course

5 stars
April 10, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Ravi Sreerama was very engaging and made the course enjoyable. He always tried to connect the GMAT questions and strategies to our lives and interests. While the class was not a private tutoring session, it was small enough for everyone to ask questions and receive specific attention. I was pleasantly surprised not only with everything I learned, but more with how quickly I learned it. Ravi is very clear in stating his objectives and opinions and goes beyond his tutor role to approach students and advise them on strategies, approach, timing and even school applications.

He is really good emphasizing what is important and what one should focus on to be successful in the exam. All in all, I was extremely happy with the course.

Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: Indiana University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Ethan Todras-Whitehill

5 stars
January 28, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 600
I signed up for Veritas looking for a new approach to the GMAT and an insightful instructor. It was immediately apparent that Ethan has the ability to distill complex GMAT content into a simple, approachable form. The result of which is walking away from Ethan's course with a comprehensible strategy and approach that is also adaptive to independent study thereafter. Ethan pushes his students to find various ways to solve each problem and more importantly to have an awareness of pitfalls and traps in each problem. Beyond that, I liked that Ethan uses relatable content like contemporary analogies and movie references to make "dull" content more enjoyable - which also maximizes the course setting. Through Ethan, I learned that preparation is not a function of quantity but quality. I would highly recommend Veritas Prep and especially Ethan as the instructor to unlock your GMAT experience.

Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent GMAT Instructor!

5 stars
December 15, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 620
Ethan Todras-Whitehill is nothing less than a master instructor. He has not only rocked the GMAT, consistently scoring at the 780 level or above, but he also communicates content and strategy clearly and in a way that is incredibly engaging. He takes the Veritas content, which is already top-notch and infuses it with his own style and perspective that makes it really pop. He uses entertaining references and analogies to make the material come to life more. He is a great storyteller who engages well with the students and is extremely knowledgeable of the material. Furthermore, he emphasizes tricks and strategies that you can’t get from the material in the books. Very often, just when I thought I had found a slick way to solve a problem, Ethan had a way that was at least twice as efficient! I would highly recommend him as an instructor.