Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Veritas Prep - Live Online

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 152 reviews
22741 Pacific Coast Highway
Online, CA 90265
Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Ravi Sreerama is awesome

5 stars
November 7, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1252 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 484 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 152 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Like many of the other reviews on here already say, the key thing for you will be making sure that you find the instructor / program that would be the most effective in motivating and guiding you through preparing for the GMAT. No instructor is going to take the exam for you, so making sure that you find someone that will get you to want to improve is absolutely key to getting the most out of any program.

Ravi Sreerama was a perfect fit for me - he doesn't sugarcoat his feedback and will happily let any person know if it looks like they are starting to slack off in their preparation for the exam. When I (or anyone else) needed a push to bring my effort up, he was always ready to give one. He did a fantastic job guiding me through how to prepare for the exam and mastering the strategies and topics I needed to know on test day. When I took my first practice test I got a 640 (37Q 39V), and Ravi helped me significantly improve and get into the 99th percentile with a 770 (50Q 46V).

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: University of Western Ontario
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Clear, comprehensive, and concise!

5 stars
September 28, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1252 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 484 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 152 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 690
Hello all,

My experience with the Veritas Prep Course was amazing! I had Ravi Sreerama as my teacher through a 6-week course that covered all sections of the GMAT, all of which were separated into bi-weekly classes (3 hours in duration). The classes covered key concepts from foundational knowledge of each section, essential strategies to aid in timing/pace, and proper approaches to varying question types to reduce careless mistakes. Ravi as a teacher was incredibly helpful! His commitment to pushing his students to do the very best they can do (99 percentile or bust) has inspired myself and my fellow classmates to achieve greatness. Ravi's teaching style is very blunt and straight to the point, he holds you accountable for any/every mistakes that you may make, which I believed helped a lot of students to grow and recognize their mistakes. Allowing each of them to adjust their strategies to ensure that these mistakes are corrected. This does not mean that Ravi has strict or boring classes, quite the opposite actually. He consistently cracks jokes and interacts with his students, which really integrated every individual into the online-class setting, making a very dry and stressful subject somewhat entertaining. I would recommend Veritas Prep to anyone who is considering the course as their material is very clear and comprehensive! The skill builders provided by Veritas allows for each student to learn/refresh on all of the foundational material needed to tackle easy questions (400-600), thus allowing them to progress to more difficult questions (650+) with a strong base understanding of the key concepts of each section. Additionally if I had to choose my teacher again, I would choose Ravi every time!

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Verified Real Student Review

99 Or Bust

5 stars
September 25, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1252 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 484 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 152 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 690
Thoroughly enjoyed Ravi's course and the Veritas program. Ravi won't hold your hand and he will call you out if you don't keep up in the class, but it keeps you honest and in my opinion helps you to get the most out of the course. Ravi's class is high-energy and he thrives off of participation, so I found I got the most of the class when I was heavily engaged in the class discussion.

There's a lot of material to cover and Ravi explains it clearly and concisely, and the techniques he teaches are all practical and helped me during the GMAT.

To get the most out of the course, make sure that you do the homework ahead of time and come to class prepared, Ravi doesn't have time to help with content questions as he has to push through the material, but Veritas has "office hours" that you can take advantage of to brush up on some content.

Overall, great teacher and great program, would highly recommend.

Joined: Dec 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: Georgia State University
Major: Marketing
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

An Honest Assessment of My Experience

5 stars
September 24, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1252 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 484 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 152 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Like other students, I value the input of other Gmatters and how their scores correlated to prepping efficiency. My Vertias Prep online experience with Ravi was not short of excellence.

Not too long after I signed up, Ravi sent us an email letting us know that the GMAT is a beatable foe. Also, he told us that if you are scared of putting in the work to learn, a significant increase in your GMAT score would not be feasible.

Througout the course, Ravi really enforces getting a grasp on the content first before the class through Skillbuilders which helps you get level-headed for the live online portion. During the live online class with Ravi, you learn the mistakes the GMAT test maker lays for unprepared students.

With Ravi's expertise, I really improved in my Quant overall and in my Critical Reasoning subscore for the Verbal. If it was not for Ravi, I would have been lost in this world of GMAT test taking.

World of advice: Take the teachings from Ravi and implement them over time as this will help you soak up the knowledge more. The more you can think like him and the test taker, the better your overall score will be.

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

An eye-opener of a GMAT Prep course. Fun and interactive!

5 stars
September 22, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1252 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 484 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 152 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
WHY I DECIDED TO TAKE THIS COURSE OVER OTHERS:
I did lots of research before this. First on whether or not I should take a course (I had bought the Manhattan Prep books along with the OG books to self-study) but then that got nowhere. Then I decided to look for a course to help me get the ball rolling and to help me be consistent with the studying. I compared all the ones you've seen here through forums/messages and even looking up a clip on youtube to get a sense of teaching style. It was amazing!
To be frank, the GMAT is not hard if you had all the time in the world to finish it. But that's the point - how do you manage your time to get THE answer with the least a bit of work so you can allocate the extra time to another question that may need it. This is how you beat the GMAT - answer the question, but don't over-answer (a lot of the times Quant questions don't need to be fully worked out to get the answer to the question). Veritas Prep just kept coming up as THE course to take because of their high caliber of instructors but also their policy.

I like the structure of VP because they are more strategy-based (both course and books) than for example, Manhattan Prep (which is owned by Kaplan by the way), who is more content-based. You would think that something more content means it covers more theory for you to excel, but it's just a lot more information and detail on perhaps some specific types of questions that you are not likely going to see as often. They can offer techniques to help you remember things, but they never really stick with you. What you need to beat the GMAT is strategy. Strategy on how to approach any question!

The course itself is structured to be very interactive. You won't be bored and I get side tracked easily!

Veritas Prep guarantees that you improve your score.
Veritas Prep allows you to retake the course, at no cost, for any reason. Even if you got an amazing/better score and you still feel like you can improve, by all means, take the course again even if you have the recordings of the first!

WHY I DECIDED ON RAVI AS MY INSTRUCTOR:
You've probably seen his name come up from many past students' review. Although I can't definitively say he's the best since I have not taken a course with others (who also have amazing reviews), but my biased self thinks he is.

Why is Ravi so awesome and a fit for me?
Ravi is direct. He's the kick in the butt that you need. To be in his class, you need to come prepared. If you make a mistake that you shouldn't have because he extensively explained why you should not fall into a certrain traip - he will call you out on it (privately or publicly without mentioning your name). It motivates you to never make that mistake again.

If you are truly struggling, Ravi won't hesitate to message you privately to understand what's going on and give constructive advice to help you succeed.

Ravi and Megan make a great team! I look forward to every class because the knowledge and strategy you get form this course almost feels like you're cheating your way to get that amazing score.

Veritas Prep is an investment worth making if you're really serious in obtaining a great GMAT score. Not good, but great or even amazing. You'll be surprised at just how well you can do with just the right course and instructors! It goes without saying, but don't just study hard, study smart. Good luck!

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Business
Industry: Textiles and Apparel
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Couldn't recommend highly enough

5 stars
September 22, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1252 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 484 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 152 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 760
This course was really invaluable for me as I prepared for the test -- Ravi is a fantastic instructor who knows the GMAT inside and out, and the Veritas test prep materials are incredibly thorough in the range of concepts/scenarios they cover. My Veritas practice test scores were consistently lower than my official GMAT practice tests, but I saw this as a good thing -- because I had practiced with much harder questions from Veritas in both quant & verbal, the questions on the actual GMAT (esp. the quant) seemed way more manageable than I think they would have otherwise been.

I think of Ravi's teaching style as "tough but fair" -- he won't coddle you or hesitate to call you out if you ask a dumb question or make a comment that doesn't materially contribute to the discussion. Again, this is a good thing; it keeps the class tight and disciplined and focused. You have a limited amount of time and a lot of concepts to cover -- Ravi managed to get to everything while still taking the time to thoroughly explain the reasoning behind every solution. I learned a ton of shortcuts for the quant questions that drastically improved my timing in that section.

I initially considered hiring a private tutor to prepare for the GMAT, but balked at the expense; I also thought an in-person class would be better than online because, in my mind, this would allow for easier interaction with the instructor -- but couldn't make that work with my schedule. I ultimately signed up for the live online course, and I am so glad that I did. Not only did I have access to course recordings so that I could revisit areas that were especially difficult for me (not sure if Veritas does this for in-person classes?), but the format of the online course (it includes a chat window/option for private chat), and Ravi's responsiveness to questions, made me feel like this was actually a much more preferable way to prep for the GMAT.

At the end of the day, I feel that my scores speak for themselves -- I went from a 640 pre-Veritas, taking the test completely without preparation, rushing through each section & running out of time well before the end, to a 760 on test day. I was still rushing a bit, but that's just how I roll :) -- the point is, by then I was using my time more wisely, and knew better how to narrow down answer choices, make educated guesses, and I think most importantly for time management, when to move on from a difficult question on which I was spending too much time & energy.

TL;DR -- Ravi is great, Veritas is great; take the live online course with Ravi, you won't regret it! I'm sure he's an effective teacher in person too :)

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

99 or Bust

5 stars
August 13, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1252 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 484 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 152 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Veritas Prep offers the best GMAT course out there. They gave you all the materials you might need and you had the option of learning from their curriculum in book form or online. Then, I had the pleasure of taking Ravi's class. Ravi is not there to hold your hand, but rather to push you to get to that 99th percentile. His knowledge of the GMAT is outstanding and I can't thank him enough.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Penn State
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Chris Kane is a Top Notch Instructor

5 stars
August 1, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1252 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 484 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 152 reviews
Teacher: Chris Kane
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I completed the Veritas Prep Live Online course with Chris Kane and Brandon Pierpont in the early spring of 2017. Not only is Chris a great instructor, he is a co-author of the Veritas curriculum. His mastery of the test is evident in his instruction as he is able to most ably convey the pertinent strategies and important take-aways in a straightforward way; Chris is among the best instructors I have had in any course, period.

With regards to the online format, it was one of the most effective teaching methods I have experienced to date. The classes started promptly and were well moderated by both Chris and Brandon. The online format has the added benefit of the class being recorded so you are able to review it or make up a missed class on your own time. I don’t recommend missing classes as you miss the opportunity for immediate feedback, but if you do miss one, there are office hours that are staffed by Veritas instructors to answer any questions you may have. It is important to do both the homework and the pre-work, as Chris will explain; I’m certain this benefited me.

The content is thorough and well written. It more than adequately prepared me to be successful on the test. The course is structured such that the majority of time is focused on the Quant and Verbal sections with a much shorter amount of time devoted to Integrated Reasoning and Analytical Writing sections. Relying on Chris’ strategy I was able to score perfectly on these sections with minimal effort and devote much more energy to the all-important Verbal and Quant. In addition, there is time in the course devoted to strategy. Chris covered everything from what day and time to take the test to how to best spend your breaks.

As an aside, Chris always offered to stay after class to take any additional questions. This was much appreciated and I recommend sticking around as, even if you don’t have a question, someone may ask something that leads to an answer that benefits you.

I can’t imagine a better prep class exists for this test anywhere. With the added benefit of having the course’s author as an instructor, enrolling with Chris Kane is a sure win.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Cornell University
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ravi Sreerama is the Best in the Business

5 stars
July 15, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1252 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 484 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 152 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
The is the easiest review I'll probably ever have to write because Ravi's online GMAT class is excellent in every respect. Every class, you would go in with expectations of what the lesson would be like based on a conventional understanding of the topic area and every class Ravi would shatter your expectations with consistently brilliant explanations.

The amazing experience that is Ravi Sreerama's Live Online GMAT course goes far beyond getting first rate explanations of GMAT problems. Ravi is funny, engaging and professional and is really good at pushing you to learn as much as you can each and every minute of the lesson. He truly cares about all of his students and believes everyone, if they work hard, has the potential to reach their goals on the GMAT.

Ravi has such an intuitive understanding of what it takes to do well on the GMAT and his overall approach to the class reflects that. All of the discussions are centered on what it will be like on test day--timing, psychology, and strategy are all covered in great detail. By the end of the class, if you do what Ravi recommends, you will have developed a "GMAT Mindset," that puts you in position to do well on test day.

Do yourself a favor and sign up for Ravi's class. It is the best possible decision you can make if you want to ace the GMAT (and ace life in general).

Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great class - provides structure for studying!

5 stars
June 19, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1252 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 484 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 152 reviews
Teacher: Kevin Richardson
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: N/A
Kevin did a great job of presenting the material. I was struggling with the quant and he provided structure to my studying as well as looking at my practice tests to analyze and help provide further guidance. I was skeptical of the online class, but Kevin did a great job of overcoming the barrier and providing individual instruction. The Veritas website is full of tools that were useful, with homework help hours where a live instructor would review problems.

With the money back guarantee, there is no reason not to take the class!

The Latest Veritas Prep Forum Posts

The Latest Veritas Prep Forum Posts