Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Veritas Prep - New Living Houston

5 stars
(5/5) - 15 reviews
6111 Kirby Drive
Houston, TX 77005
Joined: Apr 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
College: Indiana University
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Verified Real Student Review

Very well thought out course,even better teacher

5 stars
April 4, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 477 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Chris Kane
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
Chris Kane teaching the Veritas prep course was the best decision I could've made to prepare for the GMAT. My math skills are pretty good and my verbal are awful. The way that Chris teaches the course really helped improve my Verbal score from practice tests to the real deal.

He managed to help me get a perfect score on the IR and the AWA. A 49/51 on the Quantitative Reasoning, and while my 34 on the Verbal was still low it was a drastic improvement from where I was.

I had planned to take the test again to improve my Verbal score with what Chris had taught me but I already had received acceptance from the school I wanted to get into.

If you are on the fence at all, just sign up for his course. He is well spoken, direct, and to the point. Also very willing to email you outside of class. He doesn't waste any time in class either, with every minute being something important you can take away.

Thanks again Chris.

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Houston Full Course - 1/2017

5 stars
February 24, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Veritas has a unique feature that allows you to take the course (hassle free) a second time. When I first did the course, I was steadfast in my engineering "must-solve" ways and found myself constantly fatigued as I'd get to the verbal sections and that took a toll on my final score.
Mark injected optimism and a little bit of magic into the GMAT; taking the mundane and heavy course load and making it into fun examples and eulogies. He taught me that it's ok to guess, and provided tools to help me maximize the chances of getting an answer correct.
While I may not have required the technical parts of the course, he introduced sharper ways to think and conserve energy. The portion that had the most impact on me was how to think like a test maker. This not only calmed my nerves when I was stressed about a question, but also helped me not wallow and manipulate a way through.

I took this class twice, and I have no regrets. Mark is a wonderful educator and great role model to follow. I'd highly recommend anybody looking for some extra help to seek him out.

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Major: Fashion
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas in-person Houston

5 stars
February 20, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 530   After: 640
Taking the Veritas Prep class was one of the best decisions I made for grad school preparations. I improved my score by over 100 points after taking a different online course. I took the local Houston M-W evening class with Mark Robinson. He was a fabulous teacher who did a great job engaging the class late into the evening. I am a visual learner and Mark was always showing how to complete problems in multiple ways depending on your style of learning. He was constantly telling us applicable stories that helped the class make sense of the broader goals of the GMAT and how it prepares you for your MBA program. I also enjoyed the other benefits that Veritas provides around your grad school application. This was completely work with for me and I highly recommend taking the in-person class with Mark!

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
Verified Real Student Review

This course helped me and it will help you too.

5 stars
February 17, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I recently completed Mark Robinson's Houston Veritas Course and it was extremely helpful in my studying for the live exam. Mark went over everything from the core curriculum to the advanced strategies that are essential for an optimum score. The way questions were broken down and simplified was of great significance, he uses real life examples and situations to give the class a better understanding. Not only does Mark discuss how he got the right answer but he also goes over why every other answer is wrong. The tools and tricks I learned in this class will undoubtedly have a positive effect on my score. he brought an energy to the class. Thanks Mark!

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome instructor!

5 stars
September 22, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the Monday/Wednesday course with Mark Alan Robinson in June/July 2016. I really enjoyed his class and moreover his teaching style. He found ways to dumb down the material, so it can be easily understood, processed and later applied to similar problems. I think the one item in particular that goes unnoticed and falls between the cracks, is his ability to teach in multiple ways. For instance, he draws pictures for visual learners.

Additionally, he was very accessible above and beyond class time and typically responds to emails within a few hours.

Besides his teaching style and being available, Mark genuinely wants to see you succeed. He's very honest and direct, not in an aggressive way, but in a manner that encourages you to accept the fact that you have some areas of weakness that simply needs improvement. Let's face it, you wouldn't be taking the course if you hadn't already accepted the fact that you do!

All in all, I highly recommend him as an instructor. His teaching style, enthusiasm and passion for the material and your success definitely helps to bring out the best in you.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep Houston with Mark Alan Robinson

5 stars
August 26, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the July-August Houston Full Course with Mark Alan Robinson. Mark is a great instructor for people that go into the course already performing at a high level. He does not review in depth the basic ideas you are learning, so if you are taking his course it is important to have a decent understanding of the material. The GMAT questions are always trying to trick you, and Mark teaches the ways to see beyond the tricks and get to the right answer in an effective manner. The greatest takeaways I have gotten from this course are the test taking strategies that Mark teaches. I believe the content and style in which Mark teaches provided value that I never could have obtained if I were studying on my own, and that is what I was looking for in a GMAT course. I took a practice exam cold before entering the course and then a few practice exams throughout the course - my score has improved 110 points.

Joined: Aug 2016
Purchased Course: May 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Worth it!

5 stars
August 8, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Mark is an excellent teacher, probably one of the best that I have ever seen. He motivates the students in class to get better at what they do in preparation for the test and uses real world examples to strengthen concepts. The Veritas study material is well organized and thorough and very systematically takes the student from fundamental concepts to more challenging questions involving strategy. Mark made the study material more concise and taught us ways to apply certain concepts to recognize question types and patterns. I would definitely recommend Mark's class at Veritas for the GMAT.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Jun 2016
College: Cornell University
Major: Economics
Industry: Heavy Cap Intensive/Raw Matl Supplrs
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Way More than just GMAT

5 stars
July 12, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Mark Robinson is the best GMAT instructor you will find out there. Not only is he knowledgeable about what he's teaching, but he can explain concepts to you in ways that make sense to everyone. The best part about his teaching style is that he prepares you for business school while taking the GMAT. Mark forces you to think outside the box and use consulting tools like estimation that are common on the GMAT to answer questions. His tips and tricks really helped me increase my score and I would recommend him to anyone.

Joined: Feb 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2015
College: worcester polytechnic institute
Major: Engineering
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course!

5 stars
February 1, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
Excellent course and great professor! The course helped me bump my initial score from 460 to 690. Definitely recommend this course to anyone taking the GMAT.

Joined: Apr 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2015
College: Texas Tech University
Major: History
Industry: Government
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep Mark Robinson

5 stars
August 6, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the In-Class Course with Mark Robinson from May-June 2015. Mark was an excellent instructor and taught me to think outside the box. He was always readily available and eager to answer any questions I had. I highly recommend his class to anyone in the future.