Course
GMAT PREP COURSE

Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring

5 stars
(5/5) - 39 reviews
Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: Harvard
Major: Economics
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Devin Jones is the best!

5 stars
February 2, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I highly, highly recommend Devin Jones as a tutor!
I had taken a Veritas Prep course a few years back when I first thought about taking the GMAT. I wasn't serious about my prep at the time, but it demonstrated to me that Veritas was a solid prep company and that their instructors were top notch. I fully committed to taking the GMAT this fall, and after scoring 650 on a practice test I decided to get a tutor to help increase my score.

From my first session with Devin, I knew he was going to help me crush the GMAT. It was obvious that he was incredibly smart, and he genuinely cared about me achieving the results I wanted. We had a TON of sessions, but he helped me to identify my problem areas and made sure I had great material to work with throughout the process. He even ordered new books for me when we ran out of material, and hand picked problems to make sure I was covering what I needed. I even had fun during the sessions because Devin is a cool guy too! We had some good laughs throughout. The structured study plan he provided helped me to stay motivated and improve steadily across all the subject areas. I was pretty strong in verbal going in, but to my surprise I improved a lot in verbal AND quant thanks to Devin.

On my first test day, I got in my head and wasted way too much time early on. I scored 670, but coming out of it I wasn't nearly as dismayed as I would have been. Working with Devin gave me the confidence to know I could do better. I shook it off and took the test two weeks later. I scored a 720! Overall, I increased my quant score by 5 points and verbal by 3. I couldn't have been happier. If you want to do well on the GMAT, then Devin Jones is definitely your guy!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: Carnegie Mellon University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I HIGHLY recommend Devin Jones!

5 stars
January 30, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 690
I HIGHLY recommend Devin Jones as a GMAT tutor. The below is my GMAT story and how Devin helped me beat the GMAT.

Quick Summary:
-I improved my GMAT score from a 590 (first actual test) to a 690
-If I take into account my first practice test, I improved my score from a 540 to a 690
-I had a Mathematics minor from Carnegie Mellon University, so I was fairly strong in Quant to begin with, but I improved my Verbal score from a 28 to a 38

My Story:
I have been studying for the GMAT on and off for the past two years. I took a Manhattan GMAT course 2 years ago and did not score as well on the test as I would have liked (score: 590). I was also not very impressed by the Manhattan GMAT course and I didn’t feel like the instructor was particularly helpful nor was he passionate about truly helping students conquer the test.

I took a year off from the GMAT due to frustration and feelings of failure. I started studying for the GMAT again this past September. My friend who also struggled with the GMAT recommended I try out Veritas Prep. She had a private tutor and she said that it made all the difference in the world. Looking back, I could not agree with her more!

I signed up for a 20-hour Private Tutor package with Veritas Prep. From my very first tutoring session, I knew that my tutor, Devin Jones, would help me beat the GMAT. Devin was always willing to meet around my schedule. He was never late and he always stayed past the scheduled duration of the tutoring session. Devin helped me improve both my Quant and Verbal score by creating a strategy/study plan that addressed both my strengths and weaknesses.

Beyond just providing tutoring for the content of that GMAT, Devin was my support and backbone throughout the 4-month process. He kept my emotions at bay and he helped me mentally prepare. He was even willing to walk me to my test center for my first scheduled test because he knew I was nervous. It’s the little things like that that really make all the difference in the world, especially for a stressful test like the GMAT.

Although I did not do as well as I would have liked on my test (score 640), Devin stuck with me and continued to help me prepare and tackle my weaknesses. He provided a continuous flow of study materials and created homework assignments for me each week, once again focusing on a strategy/study plan that addressed both my strengths and weaknesses. The structure of his assignments really helped me get through the weeks. I took the test two more times and unfortunately still did not do as well as I would have hoped (610; 630). However, Devin’s unwavering confidence in my ability to achieve my goal of a 680+ kept me going.

Finally, on my last attempt, I scored a 690!!!!! I was beyond ecstatic and I definitely could not have done it without Devin by my side every step of the way. Devin was the first person I reached out to after leaving the testing center and he was so happy for me. I could not have asked for a better tutor, helping me to improve my score 100 points! Devin is a truly amazing tutor and is incredibly passionate about helping others to success. I consider myself very lucky to have had Devin as my GMAT tutor.

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
Major: Economics
Industry: Multimedia
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Invaluable

5 stars
January 15, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
After two months of studying, ordering every GMAT book off Amazon known to man and taking time off work to study I hit a plateau where in studying alone I was making concepts unnecessarily difficult to understand. I called Veritas after my first official test score came back far below my practice tests and begged the man who answered the phone to give me a great tutor so I could make my application deadline.

Luckily they sent me Devin and after two weeks of simplifying all the material that had become gobbly gook from all the different textbook strategies I was able to sit down for another official test and improve my score by 50 points. Strongly recommend.

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Scored Beyond What I Thought was Possible

5 stars
December 24, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York 8 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 760
Before: 690 (Q: 44, V: 42)
After: 760 (Q: 50, V: 42)

Prior to working with Devin I had taken a MGMAT in-person course with no real luck in pushing up my score. Despite 4 months of prep, my score had moved 10 pts from a 680 to a 690, with my quant subscore dropping dramatically, and my verbal subscore increasing primarily due to a Veritas's free online course which anyone can download to their iPad.

I had always been a quantitatively minded person (800 SAT I), but was having trouble tackling the hardest questions which the GMAT threw at me. After starting tutoring with Devin, we focused on the quant and targeted a 49 or 50. Devin has several strategies to approach each question and has the ability to see through incredible complexity to make what might be an incredibly difficult problem simple (he also recognized that some questions simply are too complex for the timed environment of the exam, and encouraged guessing on those). With his help I was able to become much more efficient on the easy/medium questions so I had more time to deal with the difficult ones. While we spent less time focusing on the Verbal section, he definitely helped me brush up my skills since it had been a few months since I had last taken the exam.

Ultimately I ended up taking the test twice after my tutoring sessions with him and ended up with a 760 on my second try, well beyond what I thought was achievable. I would highly highly recommend his services, but would keep in mind that personal tutoring is all about how effectively you use your time. I got the most out of my sessions because I had spent significant time reviewing a gmatprep exam prior to each session, and as a result, had extremely pointed questions every time a session had began.

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Verified Real Student Review

60 pts in 2 weeks - 700

5 stars
November 24, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I studied for about 9 months using Magoosh and the official GMAT prep books. 1 month prior to the exam, I took Veritas practice tests and peaked at 640. At that point, I realized I needed help as nothing I did improved my score. 2 weeks prior to the exam, I worked with Devin Jones, who knows the gmat inside and out, from Veritas Prep and he come up with a personal game plan, which was to focus on verbal (my strength) and brush up on math. 1 week prior to the exam, I scored a 710 using the official gmat prep software. And finally, I scored a 700 on test day, my target goal. Looking back, I would have done this 6 months earlier. At some point, reviewing the material will not improve you score.

Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep - Devin Jones -Tutoring Review

5 stars
October 16, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Devin was an amazing tutor, I recommend him 100%. I was a first time GMAT test taker and only had a short time (one month) to study for it. From the very beginning he was very helpful by giving me a lay out of the test and helping me understand how to approach my studying. He explained things in a different way than most books, actually showing me the tricks and shortcuts I could apply on test day. He complements the existing Veritas prep materials by giving you the basic tools to tackle every sort of question. In a very short time, I went from feeling nervous and insecure about taking the test to sort of comfortable (you are never fully comfortable) and ready to take it. Results were evident in the score and I am truly thankful for Devin's help along the way.

He is specially strong in the quantitative section so I would recommend taking advantage of his approach and knowledge on this part of the test.

Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: University of Florida
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Private Tutoring - Brendan Smith

5 stars
June 7, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York 8 reviews
Teacher: Brendan Smith
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 690
Brendan was a fantastic tutor during my GMAT preparation. He planned our sessions tailored towards my weaknesses and explained it in a simple way without sacrificing the quality of the material. Also, Brendan always shared strategies and tips for the test that helped me improve my score and timing. Even after our sessions were over, Brendan was personally invested in my success by checking regularly on my progress during the practice tests. Brendan was a key factor in my preparation and 90 point improvement on my overall GMAT score.
I would recommend Brendan as a tutor especially if you are considering Veritas Prep!

Joined: Oct 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
Major: Fashion
Verified Real Student Review

Investing in tutoring is definitely worth it

5 stars
March 2, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Teacher: Faith Chyou
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 710
I decided pretty late in the Fall of 2015 that I wanted to go to business school. My background is in Fashion Design, so although I took AP Calc in high school, it had been 11 years since my last math class. I started studying on my own with the Official GMAT guide and was struggling a lot. The high price of the prep courses really turned me off, but after reading the reviews I decided to go with the Veritas full course. My first practice test before starting the course was a 550. After taking the course I scored a 630 on my first attempt. This was an improvement, but nowhere near what I wanted for the schools I was applying to.

I contacted Veritas for private tutoring and they set me up with Faith. Because I has already taken their prep course I got a discount on the tutoring sessions. Faith was super helpful and really nice, she was very supportive and patient with me for the concepts I continued to struggle with. She helped me pinpoint exactly what things were slowing me down in the quant section and showed me better ways to approach certain problems. She also helped me improve my verbal score by reviewing the more difficult CR and SC questions.

My takeaways:
1.If you know you will need help, bite the bullet and pay for the review course. Trust me, it’s worth it. Veritas spends very little time teaching the concepts (which you already learned in school, but perhaps haven’t used in years), and a lot more time giving you techniques and strategies to recognize the GMAT’s tricks. There were several quant problems that I knew I would never solve in time, but the Veritas techniques made me an expert at guessing!

2. If you take the practice tests and feel that you aren’t making enough progress, get some private tutoring. I spent 6 hours with Faith and my score went from 640 to 710, just because I got an individualized approach in fixing some big issues.

3. Khan Academy is your best friend. The math videos allowed me to practice the concepts that Faith pointed out I consistently had trouble with.

4. Play to your strengths. I realized my Quant score was never going to be amazing, but that I could boost my overall score with the Verbal section. I kept working on Verbal while spending most of my time on the Quant, and went from a 75th percentile Verbal score up to the 96th.

Good luck everyone!!

Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2015
College: Dartmouth College
Verified Real Student Review

Exactly what I wanted and needed

5 stars
September 21, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Teacher: Guannan (David) Li
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
David was an overall great tutor. He was patient and friendly, and he took the time in the beginning to understand me, my background, and my goals for the GMAT and beyond. He was quick to then move right into carefully selected practice problems that targeted my key weaknesses (mainly Math). These problems were challenging, but David was right there to guide me through a problem or provide a much needed hint. The overall process (as suggested by David) was a combination of practice problems with David, practice at home with the official GMAT guide, and two practice exams made up of real retired GMAT questions. This process allowed me to quickly and efficiently improve my scores and my comfort with the GMAT. After only 3 weeks and 12 total hours with David, I went from barely cracking open a GMAT book to achieving a score that was even better than what I had originally hoped for. Thanks David!

Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Guannan (David) Li was a great tutor

5 stars
July 19, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Teacher: Guannan (David) Li
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Did a great job - nice guy, sharp, willing to look at problems in a bunch of different ways. It was more of a collaborative session to get to the best answers rather than a top-down approach where he force feeds you info. Very effective.