Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 14 reviews
Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
College: Mumbai University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Construction
Country: Indonesia
Verified Real Student Review

Taught the most Lucid Way !!

5 stars
November 29, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Well I was very apprehensive towards GMAT; Like most Engineers, we come from a background where our strength lies on Math more than Verbal. With Ravi, I could develop a skill which made me analyze verbal question more logically than grammatically. With this skill I have optimistic feeling about breaking the 700 barrier in GMAT.

Thanks a lot RAVI SREERAMA sir !!

Joined: Aug 2015
Purchased Course: May 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Improving my Quant with Stuart Park

5 stars
August 9, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Stuart Park
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 740
Three months ago I hit the wall with my GMAT preparation after having taken the test twice and failing to crack 700 both times. My quant continually let me down and my exam technique was poor.

The good folk at Veritas Prep put me in touch with Stuart Park and I signed up for private tuition delivered via online meeting. I was initially uncertain as to how the format would work but Stuart was very accommodating with the time difference and the delivery of the tutelage was seamless. You barely notice that you're not in the same room.

Stuart has in-depth knowledge of the workings of the GMAT test itself, and he provided incredibly useful up-front advice about how to handle time pressure and manage overall test strategy. This made a big difference to my exam technique and provided the edge on the day.

On top of that, Stuart has an uncanny ability to simplify complex questions and take you through the easiest approach. Anyone who's tried using the GMAT Official Guide will be familiar with how complicated some of the answer explanations can be. Stuart continually showed new approaches that the Guide does not articulate.

With a lot of hard work and Stuart's guidance I took my score from 680 to 740. To that end, I thoroughly recommend Stuart Park for anyone seeking tuition.

Joined: Jun 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 2014
College: Virginia Tech
Major: Marketing
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Brandon Pierpont was excellent!

5 stars
June 29, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Teacher: Brandon Pierpont
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
I could not be happier with my experience with Brandon. Not only was he patient teaching me the necessary skills I needed to do well on the GMAT, but he was super encouraging when I would hit a rough spot. He was serious when he needed to be but could also joke around when I needed some comedic relief. And since I was working full time while studying for the test, he was very flexible in scheduling each of our sessions. I honestly believe I would not have done as well as I did without him. I would highly recommend him!

Joined: May 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Fun and Rewarding Experience

5 stars
May 18, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Tutor:
Ethan was an absolute pleasure to learn from; by blending humor, technical competency, and a deep understanding of GMAT fundamentals, he was able to effectively get his points across and help me learn as a student.

Our Approach:
Ethan and I typically reviewed incorrect answers from my practice tests- this approach worked well because I ultimately took 7 practice tests, and we met for 8 sessions (typically 1.5 hours each).

Example of Value-Add:
Ethan was able to pin-point weak spots in my test-taking strategy (e.g. he taught me to guess the NON-OBVIOUS answer on tough DS questions, an approach I wouldn't have discovered otherwise, since doing so often requires going against your natural best guess)

Overall Experience:
I enjoyed the online format of the tutorials, I enjoyed learning from Ethan, and I thought the study materials and tests provided by Veritas were all excellent. Great experience overall and would recommend - especially if you already made a high initial GMAT score but just want to eke out those last few points! (as was the case for me)

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: Georgetown University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Sports
Country: Hong Kong
Verified Real Student Review

Best Course, Best Instructor!!

5 stars
May 8, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I had online lessons (approx. 1.5 hours each session, twice a week) with David Newland, via Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online, over a period of four months. I was hovering around 690-710 in my practice tests, and ended up scoring a 730 on test day.

The course was very convenient and flexible, and David was always accommodating in scheduling lessons. Before I signed up, I was hesitant about online classes, and the concept of having a faceless tutor. However, it turned out to be the best arrangement possible since I could have my lessons at night, in my PJs, in the comfort of my own room.

David Newland is an absolutely amazing tutor. He manages to make lessons fun, and I can't believe I'm admitting this, but I actually looked forward to each of our lessons together. David was with me every step of the way--he even gave me a pep talk the night before test day, and was answering all my panicky last minute questions via email up till the moment I walked into the test center.

I couldn't have achieved my 730 without David Newland, and the Veritas online prep course. Thank you again David!!!

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Oct 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Brandon was awesome

5 stars
November 25, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Brandon Pierpont
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 740   After: 760
Brandon was an awesome teacher!

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Industry: Legal Services
Country: Switzerland
Verified Real Student Review

A fun and successful journey!

5 stars
June 30, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Within only 10 weeks of part-time studying, the highly motivating Ravi Sreerama of Veritas Prep transformed me into a GMAT war machine - I walked into the exam room with 100% confidence in my abilities to reach a high score on my first attempt, and this is exactly what happened. Not only an extremely professional and gifted teacher, Ravi is also a wonderful guy with whom I enjoyed spending every minute of our tutoring sessions. No doubt he is certainly one of the very best GMAT tutors out there.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
College: Utah State University
Major: History
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent program and user friendly

5 stars
June 12, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Teacher: Aaron Pond
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 720
As the header denotes, I improved my score by 120 points with Veritas Private Tutoring. I had taken an online self guided program prior to scoring the 600 on the GMAT the first time (taken mid April) - needless to say, I was less than a stellar student.
I decided to purchase 22 hours of tutoring from Veritas, and was assigned Aaron Pond as an instructor. Aaron and I did tutoring over blackboard (online), as no instructors were available in the Savannah area. I will admit, I was very hesitant to commit to the private tutoring, as it comes at a high price point.
Within a day or two of signing up, Aaron contacted me by phone and email, and we established our schedule. I was very impressed with Aaron's background, his professionalism, and his obvious interest in my success. He spent time discussing with me my goals (both score and schools), my schedule, and desired timeline to take the test a second time. Aaron also sent me a diagnostic exam to identify what testable subjects I was weak on - this proved invaluable as we built our schedule. Over the next 2 months, we worked weekly on subject material and tips to success. The material he provided, and instruction were critical to my confidence and success on the test.
Aaron was amazing. Our sessions were focused, effective and comprehensive. It was obvious to me that he understood the material, and was committed to helping me do the same. The greatest advantage of having a tutor over self guided study was that Aaron continuously diagnosed my performance, and identified single subject points of failure that led to my weaker performance. With this information, we could tailor our work together to target these weaknesses.

As for Veritas general content, the tutoring purchase gave me access to their online and book content. I was immediately impressed with the online interface. It is user friendly, the solutions to practice problems are all online, and the videos are very helpful. Even taking the online self study or group programs would likely be very effective. The books are wonderful (good practice content and excellent foundation material), and the solutions to all problem sets are detailed online - I recommend that anyone do their problem sets online, it tracks your average time per problem, can give instant feedback, and show you effective solutions if you struggle. Also, the office hours feature is almost like having an on-demand tutor. Also, their 'access' practice tests proved very accurate - My best practice test was a 740, but I averaged a 720, and low and behold, that was my score.

In closing, I would like the difference in scores to speak for itself. In two months (15APR(ish) - 12 JUN), I went from a 600 to a 720 (and probably could score higher given another month of self study) using the Veritas material. I am completely satisfied with my results, and incredibly grateful for the effort Aaron put into our tutoring.

Joined: May 2013
Purchased Course: Apr 2013
College: BYU
Major: Secondary Education
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Get a tutor...get this tutor

4 stars
December 30, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Steve Odabashian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 380   After: 500
Okay, so I'm not going to get in the 700s. But you know what I did do with Steve's help? I improved 120 points. And he wasn't just there for the content support. He was there for the psychological help too.

I was impressed with the interactive and accessible nature of the course. I was able to get help when I needed it, be it live online with a tutor in the evening or viewing a skillbuilder.

Quality.

Joined: Aug 2013
Purchased Course: May 2013
College: University of Wisconsin-Madison
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Student
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Online Private Tutor

5 stars
August 13, 2013
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Teacher: Stephen Odabashian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Very effective tutor online. Friendly, helpful, and easy to work with.