Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring

5 stars
(5/5) - 40 reviews
Joined: Jul 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Guannan (David) Li was a great tutor

5 stars
July 19, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Guannan (David) Li
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Did a great job - nice guy, sharp, willing to look at problems in a bunch of different ways. It was more of a collaborative session to get to the best answers rather than a top-down approach where he force feeds you info. Very effective.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Anthony Ritz Outstanding Tutor!!

5 stars
March 13, 2015
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Anthony Ritz
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 500   After: N/A
Anthony is truly a brilliant individual and a tremendous tutor whose successes on standardized testing are virtually unmatched. He scored in the 99th percentile on the GMAT exam, and is just as successful on other exams as well. Watching him masterly dissect and break down questions and answers is quite a sight to see, yet he does so in ways that are understandable to the student he is tutoring.

However, above all else, Anthony's best quality is that he genuinely cares about each one of his students. GMAT prep and the GMAT itself are both incredibly frustrating and pride-swallowing experiences, but Anthony made them manageable. He teaches you how to think properly, and also how to build a game plan for success. Additionally, for 1-on-1 tutoring, he is very accommodating when it comes to scheduling. He makes himself available for sessions even if your only availability is on a Friday night. He is 100% dedicated to ensuring to the best of his ability that his students reach their GMAT goals.

I improved 100 points from my first exam to my second exam, and I could not have done it without Anthony's help. If you are determined to score well on the GMAT and are located in the Washington, DC area, I highly recommend Anthony to anyone looking to take their testing abilities to the next level.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Cornell University
Verified Real Student Review

Helpful and Enthusiastic

5 stars
November 24, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Guannan (David) Li
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
David was an incredibly helpful and enthusiastic tutor. It was great to go through the problems I got wrong on practice tests with him and see how he would have approached them differently. I left every session with David feeling more confident about my chances on the real test.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Efficient yet effective learning

5 stars
November 7, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I did the 14 hour private tutoring with Veritas prep. It was a great experience.

I felt it very helpful. I started seeing my tutor this summer and worked quite intensively with him. It was amazing the progress i was able to see by the time we finished each session, I noticed huge improvements to understanding and confidence.

I think this is a great way to make use of preparing for the GMAT

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: University of British Columbia
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Steve was exactly what I was looking for...

5 stars
October 15, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Stephen Odabashian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
...and he knows his stuff.

Steve did a great job of very quickly analyzing what my strengths and weaknesses were via conversations, problems sets that we would walk through together, and the practice tests that he had to take. He then spent the time to make sure that I fundamentally understood the concepts instead of just teaching me how to answer a few specific questions, allowing me to then utilize those skills in questions above the difficulty level that I had seen.

In terms of logistics, he was very understanding and flexible when it came to last minute changes in schedules (if I was running late...), which made it easy to meet in a way that best fit my schedule.

Overall, I would undeniably recommend Steve!

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep's GMAT Help

5 stars
October 13, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Neil Parikh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 750
Veritas Prep was a great program and really prepared me for the GMAT. It was so helpful to have digital versions of the book available for download to my iPad, which made it easier to study while traveling for work. I also loved and took advantage of how many practice tests there were available - to me, this was the most helpful part! I didn't really watch any of the videos because they basically just went over everything that was already written in the booklets, but I'm sure they could have been helpful for others. It was also good to have so many practice questions available at the end of each section.

Neil Parikh was a great tutor. He was very thorough in explaining problems and flexible in helping me to figure out what were the best ways to review and improve upon my old score. He was generally available when I was, and willing to meet for 4 hour blocks on the weekends where other I'm sure others would not. I would recommend him to anyone.

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Ohio State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Highly Diversified Manufac and Service
Verified Real Student Review

A great resource to help reach your GMAT goals

5 stars
September 6, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: N/A
Mark Robinson did a very good job of instructing me how to take the GMAT. We not only went over how to solve problems, but how to critically examine what the question is asking. This has been the most invaluable piece of the tutoring, as I have seen significant improvements in my score by using this method. I highly recommend Mark to anyone that wants to really achieve their GMAT goals, and to do so as efficiently as possible.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
Verified Real Student Review

educational

5 stars
June 27, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 151 reviews
Teacher: Stephen Odabashian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 350   After: 490
Stephen is a great tutor. He knew exactly what I needed to work on in order to improve my score. (I plan to stick with him until my score reaches at least a 550.) He is very good at teaching different math techniques in order for me to solve the problems given. I am not quick to learn, he adjusted to my style and was patient with me. I would only recommend a different style to learning the verbal. It was hard for me to grasp the section during tutoring because I feel there were not a lot of "take aways". I am still working in this area though. Stephen is persistent and genuine when tutoring. He sees the ability in me and is helping me work towards my goals.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Nov 2013
College: Villanova University
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Entertainment/Leisure
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Mark Porath in Los Angeles - Amazing!

5 stars
March 19, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Howard Hughes Center Los Angeles 30 reviews
Teacher: Mark Porath
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
After reading reviews and talking to representatives at multiple test prep companies (including Kaplan, Princeton Review and Manhattan GMAT), I signed up for 14 hours of tutoring through Veritas. I had spent the 4 months prior studying on my own, and I had improved my score 60 points from my initial practice test. I decided to get a tutor to focus on my problem areas in math so I could get a score in the 700s. (Please note that I only had tutoring on the Quantitative Section, so the Verbal Section is not applicable in my case.) Mark Porath was amazing! We used the 14 hours of tutoring over 8 weeks. With his help, my score improved another 60 points. I scored 710 on the exam! He has a ton of experience and was able to teach me so many tricks. He provided countless sample problems, and I learned to answer problems quickly and to complete the exam confidently.

Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Nov 2013
College: NYU
Major: History
Industry: Public Relations
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

If you need to really sharpen your skills and are in a crunch for time, look no further!

5 stars
March 6, 2014
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Brandon Pierpont
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 530   After: 700
This is the situation that I was in before starting work with Veritas: a 530 score after more than 6 months of studying and a course with another prep company. 19th percentile in Quant. Disaster. I needed to do something about this and fast.

I knew that another prep course in a classroom setting was not going to work for me. For one, like many people prepping for the GMAT, it is almost impossible to find time in the schedule, even on nights and weekends, that would work for me over a sustained period of time. And because I was in such dire straits on my Quant, I needed to focus a significant portion of my attention there, and not just the Verbal. I needed flexibility in terms of scheduling and curriculum, and I needed who would focus on sharpening my areas of weakness.

The private tutoring lessons at Veritas did just that for me. I had the pleasure of working with Brandon Pierpont for about three months in prepping for my second test. There was a lot of work to get done and we developed a plan where we would focus on my areas of weakness in Quant while also keeping up my relative strengths in Verbal. Brandon worked around my needs in terms of timing and content both in person and in online sessions. In addition to focusing on making sure that I understood the underlying material, Brandon really helped me work out a strategy on how to approach test based on my abilities and I think that was critical in my significant improvement in my second try. In addition to that, the prep materials Veritas provides were superior to any of the other materials that I worked with (and I looked at many) and gave me the right amount of work to do, and the right balance between content and strategy.

Ultimately, I went into my second test with confidence, with a gameplan and with the tools I needed to get it done. Once the GMAT was not an intimidating experience anymore, my score improved significantly and I got a 700 (Q45 / V40) on the second try. This would not have been nearly close to possible without the work with Brandon and the great resources that Veritas provides. If you are in a situation anywhere near mine, I highly recommend Veritas private tutoring and Brandon!