Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring

5 stars
(5/5) - 40 reviews
Joined: Nov 2011
Purchased Course: Apr 2011
College: Cornell University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Tutoring with Brian Prestia

5 stars
November 8, 2011
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Brian Prestia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 710
Brian is a very capable tutor who shows a genuine interest in improving his students' peformance on the GMAT. I came to Brian having taken the GMAT before, and he designed an effective strategy to improve my score. Brian was able to communicate strategies that helped him succeed on the GMAT, but more importantly, he was able to adapt to my natural strengths and weaknesses. He is also a good guy to be around, and that makes summononing the energy for a post-work tutoring sessions much easier. I would highly recommend Brian's work to anyone hoping to score well on the GMAT.

Joined: Nov 2011
Purchased Course: Sep 2011
College: New York University
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing tutor!

5 stars
November 6, 2011
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Brian Prestia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 750
Brian was an absolute asset in getting my GMAT score to improve by 50 points. His patience and insight was extremely helpful in facing tough questions. All classes were organized and tailored to my specific needs and he was always willing to help.

Extremely knowledgeable, I would recommend Brian to any student looking to improve their GMAT scores.

Joined: Sep 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
College: Switzerland
Major: Business
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

Great foundation to BeatTheGMAT!

5 stars
September 14, 2011
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Brian Pestia
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 600
Mr. Pestia has helped me a lot to feel comfortable with the GMAT. I had zero experience before I started the private tutoring. Mr. Pestia focused on the right things like strategy and time management. With his flexibility according to time and place and the extra study materials he provided for me taught me literally how to BeatTheGMAT. Since I am a non-native English speaker my verbal remained relatively low, which is normal, but my quant score increased from 27 to 47!

Overall, a great and strong recommendation for both the beginning or the advanced stage of GMAT studies.

Joined: Dec 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Feedback

5 stars
December 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Amit Kakkad
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 630
I found the preparation course very effective. My teacher was able to explain for me even the most difficult tasks using the brilliant logic.

Joined: Dec 2010
Purchased Course: Oct 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Rewarding experience

5 stars
December 3, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt - Buckhead Atlanta 7 reviews
Teacher: Shannna Ricketts
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 730
I took the GMAT before this course and got a 580. I knew I was capable of scoring higher but did not have the right tools or resources to do so until I studied with Veritas. The material provided is excellent and encourages practice. My tutor, Shanna, was patient, sharp, and willing to sit through each problem so that I could understand better. Overall, I would recommend the course to anyone. My score improve the second time around. I received a 730.

Thanks veritas!!

Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Dec 2008
Verified Real Student Review

Great tips to achieve an exceptional score

5 stars
October 11, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Chris Kane
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I worked with Chris privately to help take the GMAT and thought he was an exceptional instructor. He provided me with a focused technique for approaching the various types of math a verbal questions, which is key in order to finish the exam on time. Ultimately I achieved a passing score in the mid 700s and would recommend him highly to anyone.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Dec 2009
College: Amherst College
Major: Psychology
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience

5 stars
August 29, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Courtyard Marriott - Hunt Valley Baltimore 1 review
Teacher: Megan Kucik
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I took a one weekend math bootcamp and then some private tutoring sessions. My tutor, Megan, was excellent, and the veritas materials were an essential part of my overall studying. I researched several test prep services, and Veritas was far and away the best. The customer service was excellent, and I saw a major score improvement in a short period of time. I would highly recommend Veritas to anyone studying for the gmat.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: New York University
Major: Music
Industry: Public Relations
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ethan doesn't beat around the bush

5 stars
August 25, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 670
I had taken private tutoring from ManhattanGMAt before my second try at taking the test (I studied on my own for the first) and my main complaint was that my tutor and I didn't seem to be able to click well between his explanations of concepts and my understanding of them. When I switched over to Veritas and was matched up with Ethan, right away I knew that his method of teaching was more in line with how I learn. At no point did Ethan just give up the answer, even at my most frustrated, forcing me to really figure things out and his basic advice was great on overall tackling of the test.

Joined: Aug 2010
College: McGill
Major: Business
Industry: Private Equity
Country: Canada

Bobby Umar and Veritas took me to the next level

5 stars
August 24, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 720
I wrote the GMAT on my own and scored 640. I knew I needed to do better to get into a top MBA program, so I signed up with Bobby and Veritas. The structure and rigor of the program - not to mention Bobby's unique tools and strategies - gave me the comfort and confidence to score a 720 when I re-wrote. I highly recommend Bobby to anyone looking to score high.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: Southern Methodist University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Increased my score to 700, exactly what I needed!

5 stars
August 18, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 15 reviews
Teacher: Neil Parikh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 700
I studied for 4 months on my own using Kaplan, GMAT Official Guide, and Manhattan books. I felt I was really prepared, however, when I took the test I only scored 640 - depressing according to what I was expecting and my practice tests.

I invested $$$ and hired an excellent private tutor from Veritas, Neil. He helped me strengthen the areas in which I was week and helped me raise my score to 700 in only 5 weeks.

I studied really hard and watched every online class on the Veritas website. The practice tests provided by Veritas were scored harder than the real test. I only got 620 on the practice tests, althogh they were really similar.

Really happy with Veritas and my 700 score!

Eduardo