Course
GMAT PREP COURSE

Veritas Prep Verbal Focus

4 stars
(4/5) - 3 reviews
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Bobby Umar helped me boost my verbal score to the 96th percentile

5 stars
August 30, 2011
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Verbal Focus 3 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
Bobby is an excellent teach. The structure of the Veritas verbal focus course helped me learn everything necessary to excel in the GMAT verbal and AWA in just two days. With that course and two weeks of studying I was able to score a 720.

Joined: May 2009
Purchased Course: Jul 2008
Verified Real Student Review

Engineer needing desperate verbal review

5 stars
August 25, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Verbal Focus 3 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Neil Moakley
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 730
Being an engineer, I desperately need a guiding hand in the verbal sections. I particularly had an issue with the grammar portion of the test. After struggling with self study books and not getting much improvement, I decided I need a prep course. I found Veritas offered a full course in the verbal section over just one weekend.

The 2 day course was intense and moved rapidly without losing anyone. My instructor, Neil Moakley, was very informative and had a knack for explaining the material. I picked up several nuggets of wisdom that allowed me to break into the 700s.

Joined: Apr 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep Verbal Focus

2 stars
July 29, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Verbal Focus 3 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Hilton Garden Inn Columbus 1 review
Teacher: Shoba Narayanan
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 590
I am a non native English speaker and hence verbal is my weak area on GMAT. Hence I was looking for a course on Verbal only. I scouted for few days and then one of my friends, with similar background, suggested me to attend Veritas Prep's Verbal Focus class. I enrolled my self for the class and attended in last week of April 2010. I was expecting a group but to my surprise, it was just me and instructor! Some may say it is good opportunity for 1-on-1 but I missed the interaction, discussion about strategies, problems, solutions, etc. Instructor was ok and course books are also ok. However, I did not get what I was looking for. I completed all exercise problems after the class and still scoring very poorly on practice tests (in range of V26-V36), which is not very different from what I was scoring before attneding the class.
Personally, I did improve on timing or accuracy so I am not impressed with class overall and would not recommend.