Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1236 reviews
ed
Joined: Aug 2010

Bobby makes the course!!!

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Bobby - was great he made the material enjoyable and kept everyone interested even after a long day of work.

Great Instructor

Joined: May 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
College: New York University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good course, very good teacher

4 stars
August 21, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Veritas offers the most classroom hours of any other prep course. My teacher was Ethan Todras-Whitehill, who scored a 780 on the GMAT and was extremely helpful . The quality of the practice tests, however, was very poor and very different from the actual GMAT.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 2010
College: University of Calgary
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Best way to get rid of the "Sounds Right" philosophy

5 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 670
I joined this course because I got a good vibe after attending their free course evaluation class and definitely did not regret it. Course material was very well structured and Bobby had an excellent ability to explain it in a very interesting and simplified manner. In addition to that, Bobby's personal "golden rules" and "MBA life" were a very welcome addition and have been more helpful with the post GMAT process than I ever thought possible. Class size was also perfect for group interaction and the pace worked well to keep everyone in the class caught up.
I joined this course and got a score of 600 on my first diagnostic test and did my GMAT test one week after completion of the 8 week class receiving a score of 670. Given more preparation time after the class I believe it should be possible to give your score a 100 point boost if you put in the necessary effort.
Would highly recommend Veritas Prep as a course and Bobby Umar as an instructor to anyone, only advice would be to stay caught up with the material or it won't be worth your while.

Joined: Aug 2010
College: Concordia University
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Canada

Veritas Prep was well worth it!

4 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
I took the weekend course from Veritas Prep in my home city (Veritas did not offer their regular format courses here).

I was aiming for a low 600 prior to taking the course, and was consistenly scoring within the mid 600's towards the end of my study period. I was pleased with my actual score on the GMAT I had surpassed my expectations, all thanks to the vast amount of resouces Veritas provides

Despite the intensity and rather short timeframe for the program (4 days), Veritas truly offers a great prep course. Their books are amazing!! Veritas breaks each type of GMAT question into its own book (ex: algebra, geometry, word problems, SC, RC, CR, etc) so you can not only strengthen your overall GMAT skills, but also hone in (or revisit) areas where you feel you may need improvement. At the end of every tome, Veritas includes about 30 moderate to advanced difficulty questions. I suggest really making sure you master the advanced material to propel yourself past the low 600's range. I cannot stress how valuable these books are. I know that they will yet again come in handy if I plan to re-write the GMAT and join the 700 club ;).

Moreover, my instruction Bobby deserves his own paragraph! He is such a friendly and outgoing teacher, and you can feel his passion for teaching when you sit in the room. He truly does care about his students' success (to the point that he provided me with his cell# and encouraged me to call and ask him questions). His energy, experience and sincerity will provide you with a strong foundation for the exam. He provided the class with a ton of admissions and application advice. We still keep in touch to this day, and I'm glad to say I've made such an intelligent friend.


This is more than just a simple crash course. You get a dozen mock exams, online review classes (in addition to the physical location classes), phenomenal books and rather speedy online/telephone based support.

Simply put, Veritas + OG + practice = success!


Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: Purdue University
Major: Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Cramming for the GMAT

5 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Fairfield Inn - Lake Oswego 1 review
Teacher: Matt Douglas
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 550
I decided to get an MBA in July 2010 and after speaking with the admissions director the possibility of Fall 2010 enrollment was high AS LONG AS I took the GMAT, achieving a score >500. I thought, no problem, scheduled my test for August 16th, bought a study guide and started studying.

After one day of studying I ended up crying, stressed out and defeated. I had been out of school for 16 years. I could not remember the basics. I needed a calculator to complete the math problems. I needed help and FAST.

I searched for training courses and the Veritas course fit my needs and timeline. I was in class for four weekend days - ten hours each day. Forty hours worth of training. The training was intense but our instructor Matt Douglas made the material easy to comprehend and the time flew by.

Matt was a wonderful instructor. He was very motivational especially when we needed it the most. As anyone connected to teaching, Matt really cared about us. The more effort we put into learning the more effort he put into the training. He pushed us to to our best.

I took the GMAT two days after completing the intensive weekend course and exceeded the score I needed to be accepted into my MBA program. I would never have had the discipline to study on my own so the Veritas program was very helpful.

Thank you Veritas!!!

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: University of California - Irvine
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Class

5 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Hyatt Orange County 6 reviews
Teacher: Matt Douglas
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 580
The biggest reason I first picked Veritas Prep over all the other prep courses out there is beacuse of the starting time of the classes. The classes starts at 7pm instead of 6pm or 6:30 like most classes. This means I don't have to leave work early and still have some time to eat a decent meal before heading to class.

Matt was a great instructor. Great sense of humor and is really passionate about teaching the materials. Taking the GMAT can be extremely stressful but Matt somehow made learning all the little tricks fun and kept the atmostphere very relaxed.

Overall, it was a great experience and I would definitely recommend this class to anyone looking to take the GMAT.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Intense Prep

5 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: N/A
The Veritas 1-week Accelerated Course was VERY beneficial to my GMAT preparation. The material was comprehensive, the teacher (Ethan) was passionate and the facility (Grand Hyatt) was superb.

I feel prepared to take on the GMAT with confidence.


Joined: Aug 2010
College: Bucknell University
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States

Excellent Class Highly Recommended

5 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Ethan is an excellent GMAT teacher that explains both the verbal and math sections very well. I would recommend him to any friend looking to take the exam. His interactive teaching style is very helpful for understanding the material.

Joined: May 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great Inside Tips!

5 stars
August 19, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Corporate Plaza Drive Newport Beach 5 reviews
Teacher: Matt Douglas
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 540
I thought Veritas Prep was exactly what I needed. I work full time and my instructor Matt Douglas really helped me focus on what I needed to know before my exam. I only gave my self a couple of months to study, but with the help of Matt and the study materials I was able to get a score I needed to get me accepted to all the schools I applied to!

Matt really took the time to help us with our homework questions during the breaks, after class and even via email! He always made himself available which really helped. Vertias gives you a ton of books and tests. You go through a lot of the questions during the class, but are giving homework assignments as well. I primarily focused on the on-line practice tests.

I did buy the Official GMAT books, but those books don't teach you the tricks that are necessary to succeed on this test! Matt had so many great tricks and tips that really help you when you are taking the test. I recommend the class to anyone taking the GMAT especially anyone that is working full time and trying to balance both their career and school!

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: Southern Methodist University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Increased my score to 700, exactly what I needed!

5 stars
August 18, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 40 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 15 reviews
Teacher: Neil Parikh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 700
I studied for 4 months on my own using Kaplan, GMAT Official Guide, and Manhattan books. I felt I was really prepared, however, when I took the test I only scored 640 - depressing according to what I was expecting and my practice tests.

I invested $$$ and hired an excellent private tutor from Veritas, Neil. He helped me strengthen the areas in which I was week and helped me raise my score to 700 in only 5 weeks.

I studied really hard and watched every online class on the Veritas website. The practice tests provided by Veritas were scored harder than the real test. I only got 620 on the practice tests, althogh they were really similar.

Really happy with Veritas and my 700 score!

Eduardo