Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1217 reviews
Joined: Mar 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Help me to stay focus and organized

5 stars
August 2, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
The online class veritas was very helpful. I have a difficult time studying for GMAT. The class gave me a structure and live person there were very good.
The teacher was very committed and willing to help.
I was able to focus on my GMAT studying.

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Thorough class with excellent instruction and prep materials!

5 stars
August 2, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 567 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Regus Business Center San Francisco - Spear Tower 18 reviews
Teacher: Vincent
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I am currently in the middle of preparing for the GMAT and I wanted to write a quick review on why I am so pleased with the Veritas class I am taking. I have tried studying on my own for the GMAT prior to taking this course and I could never stay focused. The class has been great so far and it follows a logical progression introducing new material and building upon previous lessons. The instructor has done a fantastic job relating to students and alleviating concerns about actual test problems, conditions, etc. The class also moves at a good pace to give students enough time to complete homework and fully grasp/retain the material before moving on to the next section.

I also think the books are the best resource available for a test prep course. I have friends who have taken other classes (Princeton, Kaplan) and their books had considerably less detail than the Veritas materials. I chose this course over others because I wanted to have the most in-depth practice materials available to me. The Veritas books have been an invaluable resource in my prep for the exam.

For people in SF, the location is nice and close to the Financial District although parking can be a bit tough if you commute like I do. Overall, I am really happy with the class and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone trying to decide which prep course to take.

Joined: Feb 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Course for people short on time

5 stars
July 30, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Chris Kane
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
This course was excellent. It helped me go from mid 600s to low 700s in a matter of a few weeks. Chris was an excellent instructor and was dedicated to helping his students. He was clear and focused and kept the class moving at a healthy pace. I would suggest anyone take this class because it is the best way to learn the most the fastest. The course focuses on actually learning the material as well as teaching a few key strategies and shortcuts. Having sat in on various other sample classes I felt that Veritas was the most comprehensive.

Joined: Apr 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep Verbal Focus

2 stars
July 29, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Verbal Focus 3 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Hilton Garden Inn Columbus 1 review
Teacher: Shoba Narayanan
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 590
I am a non native English speaker and hence verbal is my weak area on GMAT. Hence I was looking for a course on Verbal only. I scouted for few days and then one of my friends, with similar background, suggested me to attend Veritas Prep's Verbal Focus class. I enrolled my self for the class and attended in last week of April 2010. I was expecting a group but to my surprise, it was just me and instructor! Some may say it is good opportunity for 1-on-1 but I missed the interaction, discussion about strategies, problems, solutions, etc. Instructor was ok and course books are also ok. However, I did not get what I was looking for. I completed all exercise problems after the class and still scoring very poorly on practice tests (in range of V26-V36), which is not very different from what I was scoring before attneding the class.
Personally, I did improve on timing or accuracy so I am not impressed with class overall and would not recommend.

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
Verified Real Student Review

My Experience

4 stars
July 27, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep On-Demand Course 39 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Howard Hughes Center Los Angeles 30 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
The following is a letter I sent to people who helped me answer questions:

Well I ended up taking the GMAT the Saturday before last. On the practice tests, before Veritas, I got a 620 (GMAT Prep, though I did guess a lot and luckily got a lot of questions right). After going through the Veritas On Demand, I got scores of 630 (800 score), 590 (Veritas), and 610 (GMAT Prep). As you can see, I wasn't expecting much more than a 630 if I got lucky.

Test day, I felt really good after my essay, then started struggling with quant (as I had expected because I was consistently getting 35-40) and then I ended up getting back into the test room 1 minute late, though I didn't worry too much because I normally finished at least 5 minutes fast on verbal.

However, Murphy's Law came into effect and the problems were very difficult. I kept looking at my inability to solve the problems in a quick manner and the time clock, realizing at this pace I wouldn't be able to finish the test. So, I did what any wise test taker would do: took a couple deep breaths, prayed, and then guessed on a good 10 questions! Ha, ha. Finally I got back on pace.

I knew that I wouldn't have another chance to take the test until I came back from Afghanistan next year so if I were going to apply to business schools prior to shipping out, I would need a score, no matter how bad it may be. I was honestly expecting at least a 580 or something of the sort, I mean, how well can you do when you guessed on over 10 questions out of 41!?

However, to my unbelief, I ended up getting a 660/82% (V35/73% , Q45/74%)!! I just stared at my computer screen in unbelief and in utter thanks to God who somehow messed with the computer system to get me this score (ha ha). And today I received my official score report and found out that I got a AWA 6.0/90%! Hallelujah! Anyway, though it wasn't as high as I wanted to score, I know myself and I'm not much of a test taker. I hope it's a good enough score to get me into at least a decent business school.


I definitely wanted to spend this time to give you guys a debrief, people whom I believe had a big part in getting the score I did. Ed and Valerie, thank you so much for your incredible patience with all of the questions I had on ... Well, everything! And thank you for your encouragement after the discouraging practice test scores. And Peter, thanks for taking an interest in me when I first called Veritas in wanting to get more information about the program and continuing to encourage me and help me along the way. I thank God for providing me you guys to help me along my journey in the MBA process and hopefully we'll keep in touch!

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent math, solid verbal prep.

5 stars
July 26, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Rob Stringham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I came into the class fairly confident about my verbal preparation but less certain of my math prep. The course was really helpful in both areas. Furthermore, the time devoted to test day strategy was great as well. The instructor did a really good job catering to the varied preparation levels in the class. I highly recommend this course.

Joined: Jun 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent but not Perfect

5 stars
July 25, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Waikiki 1 review
Teacher: Travis Morgan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I've decided to break down my review into different sections to make it easier to read and to help people find answers to specific questions regarding Veritas. If you have any questions, please feel free to message me within BTG's site.

Value Added v Price: At first, I was worried about the return on investment I was receiving on my $1,800. I have not taken the GMAT yet, so I can not confirm Veritas' claim of an average 80 point increase, however, I can speak to the class and services they offer - and there are very many. Veritas offers a LOT of services. Upon the first day of class, you have access to Veritas' online services for six months. These services include all the lessons on demand, 9 practice tests, a free 3 month subscription to WSJ, and access to people who can answer GMAT questions via email, phone, and Skype. There are also forums (like BTGs) where you can ask GMAT questions, get admissions consulting, and talk rankings. Apparently, you can even send your practice AWAs in to be graded. Pretty much every possible thing you could want to prepare, Veritas offers. Interestingly, the worst value (and it is not bad) is the actual class. Each lesson only lasts three hours and, especially in the accelerated class, there is almost no time to digest what you learn. However, I don't want to give the impression that the classes or the materials are bad, they are not.

Grade: A

Organization: The way the class is laid out is very interesting. One of the first lessons, Arguments, has nothing to do directly with the GMAT. However, as you go along you realize their methods and it begins to actually make a lot of sense. The classes get progressively more difficult as they build upon each other. While this progression makes sense in school, I would have rather the class have spent time on topics in relation to the number of problems you will see on the actual GMAT. There is an entire three hour lesson on probability/combinatorics, which might show up three or four times on the actual GMAT. It made some sense, but it would have been nice to see Veritas think outside the box.

Grade: B

The Lessons: The Veritas lessons are taught from the books and the books are very good. One of my favorite things about Veritas is they are not afraid to teach "up". In other words, the lesson questions are often very difficult. Most of the strategy they offer is in Verbal and most of the Math lessons teach material. Since, unlike math, it is hard to improve verbal in a short amount of time, this strategy is very solid. There are some irrelevant things in the verbal lessons, but overall (even Sentence Correction) was very good. For those wondering, the reading comprehension and critical reasoning lessons are as good as others claim. All of that being said, this is not No Child Left Behind. You are much better served entering the course with a good grasp of the material than entering it blind.

Grade: A

Instructor: My instructor was Travis Morgan. He is a young guy who previously taught the GMAT with Kaplan and we were his first class with Veritas. His unique background was a huge advantage for us, in my opinion. He was able to deftly weave in and out of Veritas lessons to offer us the best of both worlds. He was very affable, but his best quality was his ability to teach lessons in different ways. If students were having a hard time grasping a concept, Travis changed courses and taught the lesson in a different way until we understood. Unlike Veritas' favorite front man, Brian Galvin, Travis does not command a room and, thus, he isn't what I expected. However, I was not disappointed. While I'm sure that every instructor has their own strength and weaknesses, I imagine they are all very solid.

Grade: A-

Location: It would be very annoying for me to complain about anything in Hawaii, especially for all the people living in a land-locked armpit reading this review, so I won't. I will only say, like most of Waikiki, the Sheraton is a nice building with bad help.

Grade: B

Overall: A-

I think the reason Veritas does not get rated higher is because it markets itself incorrectly. They tout their "elite" preparation and their books come delivered with Latin written on a very impressive looking cover. I half-expected to show up to class and have my instructor be a British man wearing a top hat. If you do not go in with supremely high expectations, you will not be disappointed. If I had the option to take the course again, I would do it.

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Brian Galvin is a very helpful and informative GMAT instructor

5 stars
July 22, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Teacher: Brian Galvin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I took GMAT two years ago. From self study, I received a 680. Since I wanted to apply to good schools, I figure that I need at least a 700. I took the Veritas Prep live-online class (7 weeks) and it was money well spent!

Brian Galvin was my instructor and he was excellent. Even after the first two classes, I realized that there are so many things that I didn't know previously. He was also very quick in replying to emails. Very helpful and gives you the encouragement that you need. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who would like to improve their GMAT score but have no time to attend a real live class.

I took the GMAT a week after the course and I receive a 710. Thirty points doesn't sound like much but it increases my percentile from 88% to 93% and it was all I need. =)

Joined: Dec 2009
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
Verified Real Student Review

This course is an excellent source of GMAT material and learning

5 stars
July 21, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 567 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - University Inn and Conference Center 6 reviews
Teacher: Rob Stringham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
- My teacher was great during my course at Veritas. He not only teach the basics of GMAT from Veritas material but also give directions for better study and improve skill-set.

- Veritas course material is detailed and covers most of complex problems.

- Veritas course improved my GMAT and enhance my skill-set to a great extent.

Joined: May 2009
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
Verified Real Student Review

The most complete course you can take

5 stars
July 21, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Teacher: Frankie Beecroft
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
I'll give a little background on my story before I get into the meat of the review. I self-studied on my own for 2.5 months before my exam. I mainly used the Manhattan GMAT guides and the Powerscore CR bible. I got a 680 Q47 V 38. I needed something to push me over the 700 mark, so I took a course with Veritas Prep.

Overall, my experience with Veritas has been nothing but positive. My instructor was phenomenal. She explains everything very thoroughly and through the lens of how the test makers expect you to think about the test. I think what gives Veritas an advantage over other test prep companies is that they help you to develop a systematic approach for each question type. This ensures that you will approach each question the same way with a proven effective strategy. Other materials only rely on teaching you the content, but if you are unsure of how to apply that content, then knowing the material is almost irrelevant. My instructor was very big on teaching you how to think the same way as the test makers. This was very valuable, because practice tests can only simulate so much. Once you are at the Pearson cener you will undoubtedly be presented with questions that look unfamiliar, but the Veritas preparation equipped me to deal with this.

Verbal: I think their verbal preparation is the best in the business. Before taking the course verbal didn't click for me, but Frankie really got to the core of what the GMAC is looking for and how to approach verbal. For example, Reading Comprehension was a struggle for me because I was unsure of how to read the passages. Veritas teaches you how to read the passages, and they get you to practice reading the passages the same way every time, so it becomes routine and second nature. They don't have you wasting valuable time writing a skeletal sketch or anything like that, but they teach you how to read the passage so that you can answer the primary purpose questions without having to go back to the passage. They teach you how to answer inference, according to the passage, organization questions, and all of the other question types that RC test. With SC, they teach you to develop a method so that you can handle each question similarly. Each verbal book has over 90 GMAT style problems for you to learn from. Overall, it is a great supplement to the Official Guide and the Official Guide verbal supplement.

Math: The quant preparation is really solid. I think the strength of the Veritas quant preparation is that after going through all of the books, there won't be a word problem on the GMAT that you won't be able to do. Its like a word problem immersion experience. Each guide has between 80-130 problems, and there are 7 math books (not including the math essentials guide). I think the biggest advantage that I obtained from the veritas math courses were just being comfortable with everything on the math portion of the test. During my retake there was nothing that I was unable to translate or answer, and I finished the section with 5 minutes to spare.

To sum up, the Veritas class helped me raise my score 50 points (730 Q49, V41), so I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to take a course.