Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1247 reviews
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
College: Virginia Military Institute
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent!

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - San Diego Marriott La Jolla 12 reviews
Teacher: Matt Douglas
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 570
The Veritas Prep Weekend course was an excellent investment in time and money. I was quite pleased with my instructor's effectiveness and ability to answer all of my questions. He also kept in touch with me over e-mail after the course. I really enjoyed the fact that he was willing to work with me and recommend good study plans. Even though my first score wasn't what I had hoped for, I am confident that working with him will improve it.

Joined: Aug 2010
College: concordia
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Management
Country: Canada

Excellent teacher

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Teacher: bobby umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Exciting and fun class. Bobby has all the little tricks and tips to do well on the GMAT!!He keeps the class interactive, organized and interesting!

I am currently working as a VP at one of the big 5 banks and would highly recommend this instructor for a quick brush up before you write the test.

Joined: Aug 2010

Very Helpful

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 482 reviews
Teacher: Megan Kucik
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 610
Megan was an awesome instructor who explained the material very clearly and made it easy to understand.

The live online setting was nice because you could do it in the comfort of your own home, but you could also get instant feedback from the instructor and other students.

Joined: Aug 2010
College: University of Toronto
Major: Economics
Industry: Accounting
Country: Canada

Rewarding!!!!

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
Given my dislike for standardized tests, Veritas prep was refreshing and a rewarding experience. The course itself was well structured and highlighted the key areas needed to excel in the GMAT.

But it would not have been possible if it wasn't for Bobby Umar, my instructor. He is one of the best teachers I have ever had. His teaching style was engaging, interactive and conducive to learning. But above all his very human nature for the way he cared for his students was what I will never forget. I am grateful to have had the chance to meet and be taught by Bobby.

I would recommend this course above others for anyone looking to ace the GMAT!!!

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: UC Berkeley
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

640 to 730!

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Hyatt Orange County 6 reviews
Teacher: Matt Douglas
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Before I enrolled in the Veritas class I took one of the practice GMATs on mba.com and scored 640. My goal was to break 700 on the test, so I thought I was in bad shape. After completing the Veritas (full 7 week) course, I consistently scored over 700 on all my practice tests and eventually scored 730 (49Q,40V) on the real test.

I would recommend the Veritas class because they really show you every type of problem you could possibly see on the real test. You'll go into the real test feeling very prepared and confident. They also offer many practice tests so you can fine-tune your timing. And on top of all that, they have great instructors (at least mine was) who are very willing to help out with problems and give test taking advice and strategies that you won't find in any books. My instructor (Matt Douglas) gave me tips on how to improve my timing and also gave me a study plan that helped a lot. Oh and buy the Official Guide, it's a great supplemental book.

Joined: Aug 2010
College: University of Toronto
Major: Human Resource Administration
Country: Canada

Bobby Umar was Outstanding!

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Bobby Umar was an outstanding teacher. He really took the time to explain the material in the simplest ways imaginable. I actually looked forward to attending his prep classes as he was always fun and engaging during his lessons. I would definately recommend him to others considering taking his class.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep and David Newland were great

4 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel 26 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
The materials were good. Good homework suggestions. Great strategy tips. A great teacher. David really helped me work on my timing and how to approach the questions. I feel like he helped me to avoid a lot of 'stupid mistakes.' He had tons of hints on how to approach different questions. David was especially knowledgeable about the data sufficiency problems and had a great strategy for approaching them. I got a 750 on the GMAT after taking this class and I certainly didn't kill myself with prep. Probably 2 hours of work before each class then about 4 hours a day the week leading up to the test. I would definitely recommend Veritas Prep and want to give special credit to David Newland who was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, not to mention fun and cool.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2009
College: University of Western Ontario
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Bobby - 5 star teacher!

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 620
Bobby was a great teacher!

He made complicated material simple and his little tricks/tips were great. He taught all his classes in an engaging and an entertaining way.

I would definitely recommend taking Bobby's prep class.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: norway
Major: Finance
Industry: Government
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Bobby is a great motivator

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: N/A

Veritas gives you the overview of everything you need to learn on the gmat.
Bobby is a great teacher and even more important a great motivator.

I recomend the veritas and bobby.
Lars

Joined: Dec 2008
Purchased Course: Mar 2008
College: The University of Western Ontario
Major: Political Science
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Bobby Rocks!!!

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1247 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 560
What makes Bobby Umar such an effective instructor is his ability to command attention at the front of the classroom. Simply put, Bobby makes you want to listen to him when he speaks. His experience as an instructor is unparalleled, giving him the type of insight that is hard to find in any other instructor. What also makes Bobby unique is that each class he shared a little bit about what it was like to be in the MBA program. The Veritas prep program helped me gain the tools and strategies necessary to develop a solid study plan and structure that led to success on the GMAT, which eventually landed me a spot at a top MBA program.