Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1243 reviews
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep and David Newland were great

4 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel 26 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
The materials were good. Good homework suggestions. Great strategy tips. A great teacher. David really helped me work on my timing and how to approach the questions. I feel like he helped me to avoid a lot of 'stupid mistakes.' He had tons of hints on how to approach different questions. David was especially knowledgeable about the data sufficiency problems and had a great strategy for approaching them. I got a 750 on the GMAT after taking this class and I certainly didn't kill myself with prep. Probably 2 hours of work before each class then about 4 hours a day the week leading up to the test. I would definitely recommend Veritas Prep and want to give special credit to David Newland who was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, not to mention fun and cool.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2009
College: University of Western Ontario
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Bobby - 5 star teacher!

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 620
Bobby was a great teacher!

He made complicated material simple and his little tricks/tips were great. He taught all his classes in an engaging and an entertaining way.

I would definitely recommend taking Bobby's prep class.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: norway
Major: Finance
Industry: Government
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Bobby is a great motivator

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: N/A

Veritas gives you the overview of everything you need to learn on the gmat.
Bobby is a great teacher and even more important a great motivator.

I recomend the veritas and bobby.
Lars

Joined: Dec 2008
Purchased Course: Mar 2008
College: The University of Western Ontario
Major: Political Science
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Bobby Rocks!!!

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 560
What makes Bobby Umar such an effective instructor is his ability to command attention at the front of the classroom. Simply put, Bobby makes you want to listen to him when he speaks. His experience as an instructor is unparalleled, giving him the type of insight that is hard to find in any other instructor. What also makes Bobby unique is that each class he shared a little bit about what it was like to be in the MBA program. The Veritas prep program helped me gain the tools and strategies necessary to develop a solid study plan and structure that led to success on the GMAT, which eventually landed me a spot at a top MBA program.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
College: Pomona College
Major: Graphic Arts/Media Arts
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Bang for the buck

4 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Hyatt Orange County 6 reviews
Teacher: Matt Douglas
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
This class was excellent. It thoroughly went through every problem type that you might encounter on the GMAT, breaking each type down to their core components.

Matt was incredibly knowledgeable about all the problem types as also very entertaining, which is a big plus when going to class for 3 hours after working 10 hours a day. Studying for the GMAT is not fun and it is not easy, but this class made it as enjoyable as it could possibly have been.

I think the only thing that could potentially make this class even better would be to recreate the test taking scenario and actually have full length practice tests incorporated into the class. This is a minor issue because Veritas Prep provides many practice tests of their own that you can take on your own time, but big enough for me to take away 1 star. (If it were possible I would have given 4.5 stars)

ed
Joined: Aug 2010

Bobby makes the course!!!

5 stars
August 23, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Bobby - was great he made the material enjoyable and kept everyone interested even after a long day of work.

Great Instructor

Joined: May 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
College: New York University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good course, very good teacher

4 stars
August 21, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Veritas offers the most classroom hours of any other prep course. My teacher was Ethan Todras-Whitehill, who scored a 780 on the GMAT and was extremely helpful . The quality of the practice tests, however, was very poor and very different from the actual GMAT.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Apr 2010
College: University of Calgary
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Best way to get rid of the "Sounds Right" philosophy

5 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 670
I joined this course because I got a good vibe after attending their free course evaluation class and definitely did not regret it. Course material was very well structured and Bobby had an excellent ability to explain it in a very interesting and simplified manner. In addition to that, Bobby's personal "golden rules" and "MBA life" were a very welcome addition and have been more helpful with the post GMAT process than I ever thought possible. Class size was also perfect for group interaction and the pace worked well to keep everyone in the class caught up.
I joined this course and got a score of 600 on my first diagnostic test and did my GMAT test one week after completion of the 8 week class receiving a score of 670. Given more preparation time after the class I believe it should be possible to give your score a 100 point boost if you put in the necessary effort.
Would highly recommend Veritas Prep as a course and Bobby Umar as an instructor to anyone, only advice would be to stay caught up with the material or it won't be worth your while.

Joined: Aug 2010
College: Concordia University
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: Canada

Veritas Prep was well worth it!

4 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
I took the weekend course from Veritas Prep in my home city (Veritas did not offer their regular format courses here).

I was aiming for a low 600 prior to taking the course, and was consistenly scoring within the mid 600's towards the end of my study period. I was pleased with my actual score on the GMAT I had surpassed my expectations, all thanks to the vast amount of resouces Veritas provides

Despite the intensity and rather short timeframe for the program (4 days), Veritas truly offers a great prep course. Their books are amazing!! Veritas breaks each type of GMAT question into its own book (ex: algebra, geometry, word problems, SC, RC, CR, etc) so you can not only strengthen your overall GMAT skills, but also hone in (or revisit) areas where you feel you may need improvement. At the end of every tome, Veritas includes about 30 moderate to advanced difficulty questions. I suggest really making sure you master the advanced material to propel yourself past the low 600's range. I cannot stress how valuable these books are. I know that they will yet again come in handy if I plan to re-write the GMAT and join the 700 club ;).

Moreover, my instruction Bobby deserves his own paragraph! He is such a friendly and outgoing teacher, and you can feel his passion for teaching when you sit in the room. He truly does care about his students' success (to the point that he provided me with his cell# and encouraged me to call and ask him questions). His energy, experience and sincerity will provide you with a strong foundation for the exam. He provided the class with a ton of admissions and application advice. We still keep in touch to this day, and I'm glad to say I've made such an intelligent friend.


This is more than just a simple crash course. You get a dozen mock exams, online review classes (in addition to the physical location classes), phenomenal books and rather speedy online/telephone based support.

Simply put, Veritas + OG + practice = success!


Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: Purdue University
Major: Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Cramming for the GMAT

5 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Fairfield Inn - Lake Oswego 1 review
Teacher: Matt Douglas
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 550
I decided to get an MBA in July 2010 and after speaking with the admissions director the possibility of Fall 2010 enrollment was high AS LONG AS I took the GMAT, achieving a score >500. I thought, no problem, scheduled my test for August 16th, bought a study guide and started studying.

After one day of studying I ended up crying, stressed out and defeated. I had been out of school for 16 years. I could not remember the basics. I needed a calculator to complete the math problems. I needed help and FAST.

I searched for training courses and the Veritas course fit my needs and timeline. I was in class for four weekend days - ten hours each day. Forty hours worth of training. The training was intense but our instructor Matt Douglas made the material easy to comprehend and the time flew by.

Matt was a wonderful instructor. He was very motivational especially when we needed it the most. As anyone connected to teaching, Matt really cared about us. The more effort we put into learning the more effort he put into the training. He pushed us to to our best.

I took the GMAT two days after completing the intensive weekend course and exceeded the score I needed to be accepted into my MBA program. I would never have had the discipline to study on my own so the Veritas program was very helpful.

Thank you Veritas!!!