Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1236 reviews
Joined: Aug 2009
Purchased Course: Aug 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Mixed reviews

3 stars
August 14, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep On-Demand Course 39 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 540
I have mixed reviews about Veritas. The first time I did it, I used the selfpaced online course. I went through the material, did some practice tests and when I wrote it, got a lousy 540.

I thought maybe it was just a lack of discipline so I called Veritas and got a discount to enroll in a teacher led course online. David was the instructor and I thought overall, he did a good job. The structure is a bit difficult in that all you have is a voice and whiteboard, there's no face to face interaction. I wrote the test again and sadly, I scored the same! I should note that I am a poor standardized test taker and unfortunately, Veritas didn't help me very much in this regard.

Veritas has some great text books (a box full) but I think I'm going to try to study from the original materials first and foremost and try again. The test questions just aren't the same.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2007
College: Northwestern University
Major: History
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course, time-saving tricks essential

5 stars
August 13, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel 26 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 680
I really thought the Veritas course was a great prep for the GMAT. I had done a lot of prep on my own, but until I took the course, I hadn't felt entirely confident taking the GMAT.

Veritas materials are very close to the actual GMAT. When you buy the course, Veritas sends you a massive amount of material to use, both during the course and on your own. The instructors walk through problems and examples at length. Because I took the weekend course, it was tiring and time intensive, but I felt myself wanting to continually practice and improve.

David Newland was a great instructor. He made it fun, challenging, but always broke down each problem well and did not move on until everyone got it. The best part that helped me in the actual GMAT were the time-saving tricks that David taught. Ways to use the "reading the directions" time at the beginning, indicators of sentence structure, types of quant problems to look for, etc.

I'd recommend Veritas to anyone who is serious about improving their score to get into a top MBA school. It may seem like a hefty price to pay up front, but in the long run it will help achieve your goal.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
College: Central Missouri State
Major: Economics
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great coach. Quirky personality, but knew his stuff.

5 stars
August 12, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Ken
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
The class was great, Ken was very professional. I enjoyed the tips he gave us - and the regimen of study. The study materials are first rate, and I really appreciated that the class had 42 hours of instruction. That pace meant that I kept up well, but the class was always moving forward.

My score would have been better - but I had a baby the first week of the class, so I was less than diligent in my study. Don't let that dissuade you - others in the class scored well over 700.

In the end - it was worth the money.

Joined: May 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
College: University of Illinois at Champaign
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing

5 stars
August 12, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 472 reviews
Teacher: Jeffery Lev
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
The course was great and I had a wonderful teacher in Jeffery Lev. He helped me with everything I was struggling with and I would recommend the Veritas program to everybody. There were so many practice tests I couldn't even finish them all!!

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: USA
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: Austria
Verified Real Student Review

Tutoring Support For The GMAT Verbal Portion

5 stars
August 11, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 670
My instructor - David Newland - is a proven expert on the GMAT and especially for the verbal exam portion.

David has the ability to gauge the customer's ability level and then to prescribe the right approach for building upon this level. David's style is detailed, constructive and well paced. The atmosphere online and on the telephone is open and relaxed. He passes his tempo on to that of the customer.

I took the time to describe exactly my weaknesses with the verbal section to that a plan of attach could be crafted. David provided me with numerous handouts based on techniques promoted by VeritasPrep and suppplemented techniques developed from him personally. These techniques breakdown the structure of the problem so that the logic behind it can be understood. Techniques are geared to get to the best answer choices immediately.

I was most satisfied with my experience with Veritas Prep course and my virtual sessions with David Newland. I recommend him to perspective MBA student.

Joined: Feb 2009
Purchased Course: Aug 2008
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep Full Course in Toronto with Bobby Umar

4 stars
August 6, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Teacher: Bobby Umar
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I took the full-length course on Saturdays. The class was originally scheduled to be held at University of Toronto Victoria College, but the room felt small for the class size (about a dozen) and upon complaining was promptly changed to one of the luxurious meeting rooms at Sutton Hotel. This location was more convenient to subway access, comfortable, and suitable for interaction, both with the instructor and other students.

I did not take the GMAT prior to taking the course, but did take an official practice test and got around 650. My aim was over 700 and hoping for over 720. I ended up with 770 (Q50/V44/AWA6.0) and 99th percentile overall. Prior to the course, I did go through some OG questions as well as GMAT800, but overall lacked strategy and routine.

The course fee buys you a lot - course materials, in-person classes, online services for six months (on-demand lessons, practice tests, questions support, etc.) However, I did not use any of the online services other than the practice tests and the personalized page to make personalized schedule and track results of practice tests.

I definitively recommend taking the Saturday course where you do both a verbal and a quant lesson in the same day, separated by a lunch period. It can be a bit daunting at times, but definitively less than if having to travel to class twice during work week in rush hour etc.

The materials themselves are excellent, and so is the way different books/lessons are organized and sequenced. Covered are test-taking strategies, theory and first principles (both math and verbal), and practice questions of varying difficulty. I made a personal commitment to complete all (and not just assigned homework) questions ahead of class in order to really take advantage of all the learning opportunities (i.e. asking questions in class if unclear) and to provide structure ahead of my test date (5 weeks after test date). The questions are mostly OG or OG style, but there are quite a few tricky ones where you will do wrong but will remember the mistake later upon reading and understanding the answer explanation. Also, which the materials are comprehensive, they are still short enough to be achievable to complete between your classes (i.e. there is not too many variations of the same questions, which wastes precious prep time).

I also could not have asked for a better instructor. Bobby was actually voted as a top instructor in the whole company, and for good reason! He was able to cater to different goals and preparation and knowledge backgrounds among the students. I think the best part was his great personality that kept our attention for hours, with random jokes, GMAT and MBA school advice and anecdotes providing a welcome break from class material when needed. Bobby was always available after class to provide clarification for questions that students did not raise during class. I would say that Bobby's explanations and teaching style (based on Veritas method) overall focused more on theory and less on test-taking strategies. While strategies have certainly been covered, and reading other prep companies' materials on this topic helped with practicing these concepts, the concepts themselves are not too hard to grasp and learning the theory was in my opinion a much better use of class time considering how much we're paying for it. Overall, Bobby is a great guy and a great instructor, and I have already recommended both the company and him personally to several friends who are planning to take the GMAT. Simply a great experience!

Due to my technical background, I thought that I would need to give extra attention to improving and practicing the verbal portion of the material. After I finished the test, I thought that I didn't do so great due to guessing the last few quant questions but finishing verbal with more than 15 minutes to spare...even considered cancelling the score. However, I took Bobby's advice on at least knowing the score before retaking due to the time and cost of the test (and the fact that retaking up to 2 times is not viewed so negatively) and could not believe I scored 770! I was pretty ecstatic as this was totally unexpected as I never even scored above 720 on practice tests. Having Veritas provide the structure, focus and comprehensive but succinct materials helped me get over the top.


Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
Verified Real Student Review

PERFECT!

5 stars
August 5, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Yale University New Haven 1 review
Teacher: Dave Halliday
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
Taking a prep course is just what I needed to get myself to study for the GMAT.

Veritas does an amazing job of breaking down the test for you and teaching you simple building blocks to breaking down each problem.

My score improved by over 100 points.

All GMAT courses are expensive, but very well-worth it. The class was a small, intimate class, and DAVE was amazing. He always made sure everyone was along for the ride- but kept the pace up.

The study materials that Veritas gave were great- bc each subject has a book. Instead of one huge study book- the material is broken out.

All around I would recommend this class to anyone.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2008

Best GMAT Course - hands down!

5 stars
August 4, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I took the Veritas Course back in early 2008. Due to several issues I was not able to take the GMAT right after the course (as they recommend) but waited until early 2009 to take it. Despite that I was able to score 650 on the GMAT and got into Cornell's Johnson School of Business.

I am certain that had I taken the test soon after completion of the course I would have scored higher but I was pleased with scoring that high, especially after taking a year off from studying! The teaching and the tips shared by Veritas were invaluable and I would recommend it to anyone!

Ray Saiyed

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2008
Verified Real Student Review

750

5 stars
August 4, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel 26 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I cant say enough about Veritas or David. I did not take the GMAT before the class so I cant give a starting base line. After the class I took the exam and scored a 670, a good score but I knew I needed to top 700 to be admitted to my school of choice. I called Veritas and explained how close I was and didn't have the $1,000 to take the course again. They waved the fee and explained that I could take the class a second time but after that I would have to pay again.

After taking the class a second time, my score increased 80 points to a 750. My verbal jumped to 99% and quant was in the mid 80s.

While Veritas was great about letting me take the class for a second time, my success came as a result of David's teaching. His style, energy, and enthusiasm made the 8-hour weekend days fly by. He was clear, concise, and knew how to teach the skills needed to succeed on the test. On each section he took stock of where the class was and adjusted his time allocation based on where he felt the class needed extra help.

I am confident that the strategies and tips I learned from Veritas allowed me to generate a score that was appealing to my top choice. While expensive, the gains I will generate over the life of my career will far outweigh the cost. I strongly recommend Veritas to someone who is serious about scoring well on the GMAT.

Joined: Mar 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Help me to stay focus and organized

5 stars
August 2, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1236 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 472 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
The online class veritas was very helpful. I have a difficult time studying for GMAT. The class gave me a structure and live person there were very good.
The teacher was very committed and willing to help.
I was able to focus on my GMAT studying.