Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1243 reviews
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: University of California - Irvine
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Class

5 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Hyatt Orange County 6 reviews
Teacher: Matt Douglas
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 580
The biggest reason I first picked Veritas Prep over all the other prep courses out there is beacuse of the starting time of the classes. The classes starts at 7pm instead of 6pm or 6:30 like most classes. This means I don't have to leave work early and still have some time to eat a decent meal before heading to class.

Matt was a great instructor. Great sense of humor and is really passionate about teaching the materials. Taking the GMAT can be extremely stressful but Matt somehow made learning all the little tricks fun and kept the atmostphere very relaxed.

Overall, it was a great experience and I would definitely recommend this class to anyone looking to take the GMAT.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Intense Prep

5 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: N/A
The Veritas 1-week Accelerated Course was VERY beneficial to my GMAT preparation. The material was comprehensive, the teacher (Ethan) was passionate and the facility (Grand Hyatt) was superb.

I feel prepared to take on the GMAT with confidence.


Joined: Aug 2010
College: Bucknell University
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States

Excellent Class Highly Recommended

5 stars
August 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Ethan is an excellent GMAT teacher that explains both the verbal and math sections very well. I would recommend him to any friend looking to take the exam. His interactive teaching style is very helpful for understanding the material.

Joined: May 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great Inside Tips!

5 stars
August 19, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Corporate Plaza Drive Newport Beach 5 reviews
Teacher: Matt Douglas
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 540
I thought Veritas Prep was exactly what I needed. I work full time and my instructor Matt Douglas really helped me focus on what I needed to know before my exam. I only gave my self a couple of months to study, but with the help of Matt and the study materials I was able to get a score I needed to get me accepted to all the schools I applied to!

Matt really took the time to help us with our homework questions during the breaks, after class and even via email! He always made himself available which really helped. Vertias gives you a ton of books and tests. You go through a lot of the questions during the class, but are giving homework assignments as well. I primarily focused on the on-line practice tests.

I did buy the Official GMAT books, but those books don't teach you the tricks that are necessary to succeed on this test! Matt had so many great tricks and tips that really help you when you are taking the test. I recommend the class to anyone taking the GMAT especially anyone that is working full time and trying to balance both their career and school!

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: Southern Methodist University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Increased my score to 700, exactly what I needed!

5 stars
August 18, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott West Loop - Galleria 15 reviews
Teacher: Neil Parikh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 700
I studied for 4 months on my own using Kaplan, GMAT Official Guide, and Manhattan books. I felt I was really prepared, however, when I took the test I only scored 640 - depressing according to what I was expecting and my practice tests.

I invested $$$ and hired an excellent private tutor from Veritas, Neil. He helped me strengthen the areas in which I was week and helped me raise my score to 700 in only 5 weeks.

I studied really hard and watched every online class on the Veritas website. The practice tests provided by Veritas were scored harder than the real test. I only got 620 on the practice tests, althogh they were really similar.

Really happy with Veritas and my 700 score!

Eduardo

Joined: Aug 2009
Purchased Course: Aug 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Mixed reviews

3 stars
August 14, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep On-Demand Course 39 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 540
I have mixed reviews about Veritas. The first time I did it, I used the selfpaced online course. I went through the material, did some practice tests and when I wrote it, got a lousy 540.

I thought maybe it was just a lack of discipline so I called Veritas and got a discount to enroll in a teacher led course online. David was the instructor and I thought overall, he did a good job. The structure is a bit difficult in that all you have is a voice and whiteboard, there's no face to face interaction. I wrote the test again and sadly, I scored the same! I should note that I am a poor standardized test taker and unfortunately, Veritas didn't help me very much in this regard.

Veritas has some great text books (a box full) but I think I'm going to try to study from the original materials first and foremost and try again. The test questions just aren't the same.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2007
College: Northwestern University
Major: History
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course, time-saving tricks essential

5 stars
August 13, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Boston Hotel 26 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 680
I really thought the Veritas course was a great prep for the GMAT. I had done a lot of prep on my own, but until I took the course, I hadn't felt entirely confident taking the GMAT.

Veritas materials are very close to the actual GMAT. When you buy the course, Veritas sends you a massive amount of material to use, both during the course and on your own. The instructors walk through problems and examples at length. Because I took the weekend course, it was tiring and time intensive, but I felt myself wanting to continually practice and improve.

David Newland was a great instructor. He made it fun, challenging, but always broke down each problem well and did not move on until everyone got it. The best part that helped me in the actual GMAT were the time-saving tricks that David taught. Ways to use the "reading the directions" time at the beginning, indicators of sentence structure, types of quant problems to look for, etc.

I'd recommend Veritas to anyone who is serious about improving their score to get into a top MBA school. It may seem like a hefty price to pay up front, but in the long run it will help achieve your goal.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
College: Central Missouri State
Major: Economics
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great coach. Quirky personality, but knew his stuff.

5 stars
August 12, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 571 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Marriott Washington, DC 20 reviews
Teacher: Ken
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
The class was great, Ken was very professional. I enjoyed the tips he gave us - and the regimen of study. The study materials are first rate, and I really appreciated that the class had 42 hours of instruction. That pace meant that I kept up well, but the class was always moving forward.

My score would have been better - but I had a baby the first week of the class, so I was less than diligent in my study. Don't let that dissuade you - others in the class scored well over 700.

In the end - it was worth the money.

Joined: May 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
College: University of Illinois at Champaign
Major: Foreign Language and Literature
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing

5 stars
August 12, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 477 reviews
Teacher: Jeffery Lev
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
The course was great and I had a wonderful teacher in Jeffery Lev. He helped me with everything I was struggling with and I would recommend the Veritas program to everybody. There were so many practice tests I couldn't even finish them all!!

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: USA
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: Austria
Verified Real Student Review

Tutoring Support For The GMAT Verbal Portion

5 stars
August 11, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1243 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online 14 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 670
My instructor - David Newland - is a proven expert on the GMAT and especially for the verbal exam portion.

David has the ability to gauge the customer's ability level and then to prescribe the right approach for building upon this level. David's style is detailed, constructive and well paced. The atmosphere online and on the telephone is open and relaxed. He passes his tempo on to that of the customer.

I took the time to describe exactly my weaknesses with the verbal section to that a plan of attach could be crafted. David provided me with numerous handouts based on techniques promoted by VeritasPrep and suppplemented techniques developed from him personally. These techniques breakdown the structure of the problem so that the logic behind it can be understood. Techniques are geared to get to the best answer choices immediately.

I was most satisfied with my experience with Veritas Prep course and my virtual sessions with David Newland. I recommend him to perspective MBA student.