Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1241 reviews
Joined: Jun 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent but not Perfect

5 stars
July 25, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1241 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Sheraton Waikiki 1 review
Teacher: Travis Morgan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I've decided to break down my review into different sections to make it easier to read and to help people find answers to specific questions regarding Veritas. If you have any questions, please feel free to message me within BTG's site.

Value Added v Price: At first, I was worried about the return on investment I was receiving on my $1,800. I have not taken the GMAT yet, so I can not confirm Veritas' claim of an average 80 point increase, however, I can speak to the class and services they offer - and there are very many. Veritas offers a LOT of services. Upon the first day of class, you have access to Veritas' online services for six months. These services include all the lessons on demand, 9 practice tests, a free 3 month subscription to WSJ, and access to people who can answer GMAT questions via email, phone, and Skype. There are also forums (like BTGs) where you can ask GMAT questions, get admissions consulting, and talk rankings. Apparently, you can even send your practice AWAs in to be graded. Pretty much every possible thing you could want to prepare, Veritas offers. Interestingly, the worst value (and it is not bad) is the actual class. Each lesson only lasts three hours and, especially in the accelerated class, there is almost no time to digest what you learn. However, I don't want to give the impression that the classes or the materials are bad, they are not.

Grade: A

Organization: The way the class is laid out is very interesting. One of the first lessons, Arguments, has nothing to do directly with the GMAT. However, as you go along you realize their methods and it begins to actually make a lot of sense. The classes get progressively more difficult as they build upon each other. While this progression makes sense in school, I would have rather the class have spent time on topics in relation to the number of problems you will see on the actual GMAT. There is an entire three hour lesson on probability/combinatorics, which might show up three or four times on the actual GMAT. It made some sense, but it would have been nice to see Veritas think outside the box.

Grade: B

The Lessons: The Veritas lessons are taught from the books and the books are very good. One of my favorite things about Veritas is they are not afraid to teach "up". In other words, the lesson questions are often very difficult. Most of the strategy they offer is in Verbal and most of the Math lessons teach material. Since, unlike math, it is hard to improve verbal in a short amount of time, this strategy is very solid. There are some irrelevant things in the verbal lessons, but overall (even Sentence Correction) was very good. For those wondering, the reading comprehension and critical reasoning lessons are as good as others claim. All of that being said, this is not No Child Left Behind. You are much better served entering the course with a good grasp of the material than entering it blind.

Grade: A

Instructor: My instructor was Travis Morgan. He is a young guy who previously taught the GMAT with Kaplan and we were his first class with Veritas. His unique background was a huge advantage for us, in my opinion. He was able to deftly weave in and out of Veritas lessons to offer us the best of both worlds. He was very affable, but his best quality was his ability to teach lessons in different ways. If students were having a hard time grasping a concept, Travis changed courses and taught the lesson in a different way until we understood. Unlike Veritas' favorite front man, Brian Galvin, Travis does not command a room and, thus, he isn't what I expected. However, I was not disappointed. While I'm sure that every instructor has their own strength and weaknesses, I imagine they are all very solid.

Grade: A-

Location: It would be very annoying for me to complain about anything in Hawaii, especially for all the people living in a land-locked armpit reading this review, so I won't. I will only say, like most of Waikiki, the Sheraton is a nice building with bad help.

Grade: B

Overall: A-

I think the reason Veritas does not get rated higher is because it markets itself incorrectly. They tout their "elite" preparation and their books come delivered with Latin written on a very impressive looking cover. I half-expected to show up to class and have my instructor be a British man wearing a top hat. If you do not go in with supremely high expectations, you will not be disappointed. If I had the option to take the course again, I would do it.

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Brian Galvin is a very helpful and informative GMAT instructor

5 stars
July 22, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1241 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 477 reviews
Teacher: Brian Galvin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I took GMAT two years ago. From self study, I received a 680. Since I wanted to apply to good schools, I figure that I need at least a 700. I took the Veritas Prep live-online class (7 weeks) and it was money well spent!

Brian Galvin was my instructor and he was excellent. Even after the first two classes, I realized that there are so many things that I didn't know previously. He was also very quick in replying to emails. Very helpful and gives you the encouragement that you need. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who would like to improve their GMAT score but have no time to attend a real live class.

I took the GMAT a week after the course and I receive a 710. Thirty points doesn't sound like much but it increases my percentile from 88% to 93% and it was all I need. =)

Joined: Dec 2009
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
Verified Real Student Review

This course is an excellent source of GMAT material and learning

5 stars
July 21, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1241 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - University Inn and Conference Center 6 reviews
Teacher: Rob Stringham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
- My teacher was great during my course at Veritas. He not only teach the basics of GMAT from Veritas material but also give directions for better study and improve skill-set.

- Veritas course material is detailed and covers most of complex problems.

- Veritas course improved my GMAT and enhance my skill-set to a great extent.

Joined: May 2009
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
Verified Real Student Review

The most complete course you can take

5 stars
July 21, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1241 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Weekend Course 54 reviews
Teacher: Frankie Beecroft
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
I'll give a little background on my story before I get into the meat of the review. I self-studied on my own for 2.5 months before my exam. I mainly used the Manhattan GMAT guides and the Powerscore CR bible. I got a 680 Q47 V 38. I needed something to push me over the 700 mark, so I took a course with Veritas Prep.

Overall, my experience with Veritas has been nothing but positive. My instructor was phenomenal. She explains everything very thoroughly and through the lens of how the test makers expect you to think about the test. I think what gives Veritas an advantage over other test prep companies is that they help you to develop a systematic approach for each question type. This ensures that you will approach each question the same way with a proven effective strategy. Other materials only rely on teaching you the content, but if you are unsure of how to apply that content, then knowing the material is almost irrelevant. My instructor was very big on teaching you how to think the same way as the test makers. This was very valuable, because practice tests can only simulate so much. Once you are at the Pearson cener you will undoubtedly be presented with questions that look unfamiliar, but the Veritas preparation equipped me to deal with this.

Verbal: I think their verbal preparation is the best in the business. Before taking the course verbal didn't click for me, but Frankie really got to the core of what the GMAC is looking for and how to approach verbal. For example, Reading Comprehension was a struggle for me because I was unsure of how to read the passages. Veritas teaches you how to read the passages, and they get you to practice reading the passages the same way every time, so it becomes routine and second nature. They don't have you wasting valuable time writing a skeletal sketch or anything like that, but they teach you how to read the passage so that you can answer the primary purpose questions without having to go back to the passage. They teach you how to answer inference, according to the passage, organization questions, and all of the other question types that RC test. With SC, they teach you to develop a method so that you can handle each question similarly. Each verbal book has over 90 GMAT style problems for you to learn from. Overall, it is a great supplement to the Official Guide and the Official Guide verbal supplement.

Math: The quant preparation is really solid. I think the strength of the Veritas quant preparation is that after going through all of the books, there won't be a word problem on the GMAT that you won't be able to do. Its like a word problem immersion experience. Each guide has between 80-130 problems, and there are 7 math books (not including the math essentials guide). I think the biggest advantage that I obtained from the veritas math courses were just being comfortable with everything on the math portion of the test. During my retake there was nothing that I was unable to translate or answer, and I finished the section with 5 minutes to spare.

To sum up, the Veritas class helped me raise my score 50 points (730 Q49, V41), so I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to take a course.

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course

5 stars
July 21, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1241 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 477 reviews
Teacher: Jim S.
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
Veritas Prep Live Online course was excellent. Not only did it help me review for the GMAT, but it provided me with some excellent tips and tricks for test day. My teacher was excellent. He made me feel confident a ready for test day. If I had to do it all over again, I would definately take the course. I would recommend the Veritas Course to anyone. It is pricey but worth it if you're serious about preparing for the Test. The books were very well written and helpful. They provided me with easier problems as well as challenge problems.

Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep GMAT Course was the game changer for me!

5 stars
July 21, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1241 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - University Guest House, University of Utah 15 reviews
Teacher: Aaron Pond & Bill Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
First off when the books arrived I was impressed with how professional everything looked.

My classes were organized in a manner that allowed me to focus on certain subjects each week.

Teachers knew what they were talking about and were always willing to answer questions.

The teachers genuinely cared for the students and even now that I have taken the test are willing to look over some of my essays.

Joined: Dec 2009
Purchased Course: Nov 2009
Verified Real Student Review

A Great Way to Supplement your GMAT Prep - Veritas Prep Course

4 stars
July 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1241 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Regus Business Center - San Jose 8 reviews
Teacher: laura cook
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I started my GMAT preparation by myself, reading the OG and a few other books. But I could not bring myself to the level of focus and routine that is needed to succeed in the GMAT Test. So I looked for a couple of courses and sat in a free class of Veritas Prep. I liked the instructor and signed up for the course.

The course was well designed and the books were very good quality (both content wise and physically). The instructor was pretty good, she was knowledgeable and addressed almost all our concerns in the class. The homeworks were extensive, and completing all of them is a key to success. Homework help is also available, although I did not use it that much; the instructor's feedback was enough. Moreover, all the materials were available online, in case you missed a class.

The only problem I had with Veritas Prep course was their practice tests. They give you a lot of practice tests, I think 17 in all, but a number of them were useless, both in terms of content and in terms of the scoring algorithm. I also contacted the support team for fixing this issue, but unfortunately it did not happen.

My suggestion, use these tests just for some practice problems, not for assessing your level of readiness. Trust only the Official Tests for scoring assessment.

If you dedicate yourself to attending all the fourteen classes and to doing all the homework problems, Veritas' materials are great and will help you get through pretty well.

Thank You..Niladri. (GMAT - March 12, 2010, 740)

Joined: Jan 2010
Purchased Course: Dec 2009
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep Review

3 stars
July 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1241 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Hyatt Orange County 6 reviews
Teacher: Maritess Panlilio
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
Since this was the first class taught at the Anaheim location, I felt that we were somewhat the guinea pigs of the course. The only positive aspect of it was that since there were only 5 students who enrolled, the instructor could cater to each of the students' individual weaknesses. I felt that the instructor's verbal skills and techniques were excellent but her quant knowledge was sub-par. To be honest with you all, after I completed the class, I purchased the Manhattan GMAT set on Amazon.com and practiced on my own which was more effective. Perhaps it could be due to my learning style, but I would suggest that if you have time to self-study go ahead and buy give it a shot before you enroll in a prep course.

Joined: Mar 2009
Purchased Course: Mar 2009
Verified Real Student Review

You can do better

2 stars
July 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1241 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 570 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Doubletree Hotel - Campbell Center Dallas 5 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
I signed up for the veritas course with high hopes. The company markets itself as "elite" GMAT prep. I honestly think you can do better through careful use of self-study methods and a tutor. If you do want to take a class, I would recommend finding a short and cheap one offered by a local college. The reason is, you will get some initial improvement in your score by learning about the types of questions on the test, and some simple tricks..after that, it's all practice practice practice. Taking a long expensive class is just going to waste your valuable time.

Pros:
Methodically takes you through test.
Critical reasoning and Reading Comprehension lessons are good.

Cons:
-For being an elite class, the room felt crowded. I expected better accommodations.
-Long, after this class, you have already spent two months reviewing for GMAT. If the course does not provide needed improvement, you are likely looking at even more time for self study.
-Expensive, even after shelling out the money for the elite class, I still ended up purchasing all the manhatton books, OG guides and others.
-The materials that are provided are not sufficient for achieving a high score. As one example, the sentence correction book I was given was littered with errors in the correct answers portion. It is kind of hard to learn how to do something right if the correct answers aren't given to you. True, error corrections were on the website, but the # of errors is unacceptable for an "elite course"
-Lack of individual attention. Despite being the longest class, that does not mean you will really receive much individual attention. You are basically going to get out of it what the teacher covers.

--Bottom line: Going in with high expectations, I was obviously disappointed in the class. I really think that a class is useful for getting you an initial score boost, but not necessarily to your target score. So if you are going to take a class, I would recommend finding one that is short and relatively inexpensive. Then you can spend the additional time and money on self-study materials and possibly a tutor.


Joined: Jan 2009
Purchased Course: Jun 2008
Verified Real Student Review

To get to 700, Veritas can help. To Go beyond, its up to you.

4 stars
July 20, 2010
Company: Veritas Prep 1241 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Regus/HQ Business Center Downtown Miami 4 reviews
Teacher: Ken Kleinfeld
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
To sum things up:
1. The instructor was great. The guy is truly brilliant. He was funny and challenging and motivational. It was a good teaching experience.
2. The curriculum was good, and the material veritas uses is good, up to a point. It is slightly different from the real GMAT questions, but it is much closer to the GMAT type questions than Kaplan and a lot of others that make their questions far more complex but straightforward that GMAT questions, which are simple but worded in a dense manner. This is a key a difference between courses and the test. To really get to beyond 700, you have to work the GMAC books because they are your bread and butter.
3. Results: Before I took the veritas course I took the GMAT and got a 680. I was going to apply to a PhD program so I need a score in excess of 720. I took the GMAT test 6 months after I took the course, after I did a heavy dose of personal study, using the beaththegmat resources, and got a 740. The veritas course was good, if I would have been applying to an MBA a 650 to 700 would have been suffice.
All in all it was a good course, done in a nice place, with a great instructor.