Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1217 reviews
Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: University of South Carolina
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Definitely Worth It

5 stars
February 21, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 567 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Washington DC Hilton 40 reviews
Teacher: Anthony Ritz
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 690
Anthony is a fantastic teacher- it is apparent when you sit his course that every moment of the program is practiced and the results are apparent. He is a math heavy teacher, a valuable trait given the GMAT's mathematical bias. Even the verbal section ends up feeling like a math problem- this is a welcome thing when on the test because it really helps with consistency and to stave off fatigue (even as one who is desperate to finish the quant section to get to verbal).

If you want someone who is highly invested in the outcome of your exam, and has a great platform to help you succeed, you will be happy with Anthony and Veritas Prep.

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Major: Fashion
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas in-person Houston

5 stars
February 20, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 567 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 530   After: 640
Taking the Veritas Prep class was one of the best decisions I made for grad school preparations. I improved my score by over 100 points after taking a different online course. I took the local Houston M-W evening class with Mark Robinson. He was a fabulous teacher who did a great job engaging the class late into the evening. I am a visual learner and Mark was always showing how to complete problems in multiple ways depending on your style of learning. He was constantly telling us applicable stories that helped the class make sense of the broader goals of the GMAT and how it prepares you for your MBA program. I also enjoyed the other benefits that Veritas provides around your grad school application. This was completely work with for me and I highly recommend taking the in-person class with Mark!

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Georgetown University
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The best course out there

5 stars
February 20, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 567 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Washington DC Hilton 40 reviews
Teacher: Anthony Ritz
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the in-person prep course with Anthony Ritz, so I cannot speak to the online course or any other tutor. I decided to do the in-person course because this specific tutor came recommended to me by friends, and I felt like the in-person would force me to be more engaged. While searching around for the best course to take on the internet, Veritas was one of the more expensive courses I found. However (indicator word), I cannot imagine a more effective course out there. The class was 2 days a week for 3 hours each day (for a total of 6 weeks) and came with 12 books (one for each class). Anthony knows the GMAT inside and out and teaches it exceptionally well. He is quirky but extremely entertaining and self-aware. He constantly made me laugh but never veered off topic. He was NEVER boring, which is impressive considering pretty much every class - grade school through college - I ever took, there were plenty of times where my mind went elsewhere. If you know you are going to take the GMAT, you HAVE to take a prep course. Don't even try to take without doing a course. I don't care how smart you are, the test is all about tricks. And you have to know the tricks to use. And if you're going to take the GMAT and spend the money on the course, in my opinion, it really makes sense to go for the best (even if it is a little more expensive), or else you are wasting your money. Anthony missed his calling as a teacher or professor, so take advantage of the opportunity here!

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Incomparable

5 stars
February 17, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 710
Ravi was truly the best teacher I could ask for. I took the course in person before I took it online with Ravi. Candidly speaking, I learned much much more from him online then I did in a 6 week classroom like course. He is knowledgeable, intelligent and just enthusiastic and humorous in regards to the exam. Unlike my previous instructor, he was very serious about all the concepts and did not waste time in any of the classes. Overall, wonderful guy and he is INDIAN!!!! Highly encouraged.

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
Verified Real Student Review

This course helped me and it will help you too.

5 stars
February 17, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 567 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - New Living Houston 15 reviews
Teacher: Mark Alan Robinson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I recently completed Mark Robinson's Houston Veritas Course and it was extremely helpful in my studying for the live exam. Mark went over everything from the core curriculum to the advanced strategies that are essential for an optimum score. The way questions were broken down and simplified was of great significance, he uses real life examples and situations to give the class a better understanding. Not only does Mark discuss how he got the right answer but he also goes over why every other answer is wrong. The tools and tricks I learned in this class will undoubtedly have a positive effect on my score. he brought an energy to the class. Thanks Mark!

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: Missouri State University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ravi is an expert in his field

5 stars
February 3, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Like anyone else, before dropping some significant cash on a GMAT prep course, I read dozens if not hundreds of reviews on this site and others, hoping to land at the course best suited to help me score well into the 700s. One name that kept coming up was Ravi Sreerama at Veritas Prep. I signed up for his 12 week live-online format and crossed my fingers.

The course was more thorough than I could have imagined, breaking down each portion of the test into specific question types and equipping you with tools to most effectively approach each of these types with confidence on test day. What I got from this course that I did not anticipate going in, was an understanding of how the questions are constructed, and the ability to think like the test maker.

Ravi's teaching style wastes zero time. For each 3 hour class period he hits the ground running and makes sure you get the most out of each session. While I don't think a class went by without several laugh out loud moments, Ravi is notorious for his tough love approach to GMAT Prep. It will serve you well to bring your A-game each and every session or he will politely but directly ask you to logout, do your prep work, and watch the class recording at a later time. It is this gentle pressure that keeps you on your toes and pushes you to deliver your best work each class and also on test day.

The live-online format was surprisingly amazing. I felt that it allowed me to feel connected to my classmates without the added distractions and time sucks of a physical classroom. The chat function and Ravi's interactions with students made for many enjoyable exchanges.

If you are looking to cruise into business school with a 650, this course may not be for you. If you need that personalized attention that comes with one-on-one tutoring, you will not get a lot of that here, but if you are a good self starter who is ready to commit to excellence and push you score into the 700s, you won't find a better place to spend your money.

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: Harvard
Major: Economics
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Devin Jones is the best!

5 stars
February 2, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I highly, highly recommend Devin Jones as a tutor!
I had taken a Veritas Prep course a few years back when I first thought about taking the GMAT. I wasn't serious about my prep at the time, but it demonstrated to me that Veritas was a solid prep company and that their instructors were top notch. I fully committed to taking the GMAT this fall, and after scoring 650 on a practice test I decided to get a tutor to help increase my score.

From my first session with Devin, I knew he was going to help me crush the GMAT. It was obvious that he was incredibly smart, and he genuinely cared about me achieving the results I wanted. We had a TON of sessions, but he helped me to identify my problem areas and made sure I had great material to work with throughout the process. He even ordered new books for me when we ran out of material, and hand picked problems to make sure I was covering what I needed. I even had fun during the sessions because Devin is a cool guy too! We had some good laughs throughout. The structured study plan he provided helped me to stay motivated and improve steadily across all the subject areas. I was pretty strong in verbal going in, but to my surprise I improved a lot in verbal AND quant thanks to Devin.

On my first test day, I got in my head and wasted way too much time early on. I scored 670, but coming out of it I wasn't nearly as dismayed as I would have been. Working with Devin gave me the confidence to know I could do better. I shook it off and took the test two weeks later. I scored a 720! Overall, I increased my quant score by 5 points and verbal by 3. I couldn't have been happier. If you want to do well on the GMAT, then Devin Jones is definitely your guy!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: Carnegie Mellon University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I HIGHLY recommend Devin Jones!

5 stars
January 30, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 690
I HIGHLY recommend Devin Jones as a GMAT tutor. The below is my GMAT story and how Devin helped me beat the GMAT.

Quick Summary:
-I improved my GMAT score from a 590 (first actual test) to a 690
-If I take into account my first practice test, I improved my score from a 540 to a 690
-I had a Mathematics minor from Carnegie Mellon University, so I was fairly strong in Quant to begin with, but I improved my Verbal score from a 28 to a 38

My Story:
I have been studying for the GMAT on and off for the past two years. I took a Manhattan GMAT course 2 years ago and did not score as well on the test as I would have liked (score: 590). I was also not very impressed by the Manhattan GMAT course and I didn’t feel like the instructor was particularly helpful nor was he passionate about truly helping students conquer the test.

I took a year off from the GMAT due to frustration and feelings of failure. I started studying for the GMAT again this past September. My friend who also struggled with the GMAT recommended I try out Veritas Prep. She had a private tutor and she said that it made all the difference in the world. Looking back, I could not agree with her more!

I signed up for a 20-hour Private Tutor package with Veritas Prep. From my very first tutoring session, I knew that my tutor, Devin Jones, would help me beat the GMAT. Devin was always willing to meet around my schedule. He was never late and he always stayed past the scheduled duration of the tutoring session. Devin helped me improve both my Quant and Verbal score by creating a strategy/study plan that addressed both my strengths and weaknesses.

Beyond just providing tutoring for the content of that GMAT, Devin was my support and backbone throughout the 4-month process. He kept my emotions at bay and he helped me mentally prepare. He was even willing to walk me to my test center for my first scheduled test because he knew I was nervous. It’s the little things like that that really make all the difference in the world, especially for a stressful test like the GMAT.

Although I did not do as well as I would have liked on my test (score 640), Devin stuck with me and continued to help me prepare and tackle my weaknesses. He provided a continuous flow of study materials and created homework assignments for me each week, once again focusing on a strategy/study plan that addressed both my strengths and weaknesses. The structure of his assignments really helped me get through the weeks. I took the test two more times and unfortunately still did not do as well as I would have hoped (610; 630). However, Devin’s unwavering confidence in my ability to achieve my goal of a 680+ kept me going.

Finally, on my last attempt, I scored a 690!!!!! I was beyond ecstatic and I definitely could not have done it without Devin by my side every step of the way. Devin was the first person I reached out to after leaving the testing center and he was so happy for me. I could not have asked for a better tutor, helping me to improve my score 100 points! Devin is a truly amazing tutor and is incredibly passionate about helping others to success. I consider myself very lucky to have had Devin as my GMAT tutor.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
College: Alex Chu
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very helpful course - increased my score 70 points

5 stars
January 19, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Teacher: Chris Kane
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 730
I took the live online course with Chris Kane, and I think it worked even better for me than a live in-person course. During class, you are strongly encouraged to participate and Chris made the online experience very personal. Veritas's approach to the GMAT helped me think of the test as a game to beat, and I preferred Veritas's practice tests over those of GMAC. I recommend taking a Veritas course to anyone who wants to improve their score.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
College: Colorado College
Major: English
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Anything but boring!

5 stars
January 19, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
David and Brigidette team up to form an extremely cohesive and effective package of GMAT goodness! David keeps things light and entertaining, and has loads of effective strategies and techniques. He relays the information effectively, and slows down if anyone in the course has a question so as to make sure everyone is on the same page. The Veritas online format is excellent. I even took the class from the Detroit airport when I was stuck in a blizzard with no problems! It feels as much like a small classroom as any online class possibly could--- I highly recommend this course!