Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1209 reviews
Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
College: University of Chicago
Major: International Relations
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great class!

5 stars
January 2, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1209 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 449 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 137 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras--Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 670
I took the live, online class with Ethan Todras-Whitehill and Chris Speck and it was fantastic! I was able to improve my GMAT score by 100 points. At first I was skeptical of taking the class online because I was not sure if I would be able to fully commit myself to a class where I didn't have to show up in person. However, Ethan and Chris both made it easy to do the work and stick with the class. The momentum and energy of the class was fantastic and really helped set me up for success. Not only did they explain the content at a good pace for all learners but they supplemented it with great study tips and handouts to complement what we learned in class. It was really a nice touch. I highly recommend taking the live online course with Ethan and Chris. They really make sure that they are providing high quality instruction where students can actually achieve results!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Engaging, Attentive, and Efficient Online Course

5 stars
January 2, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1209 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 449 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
First of all, Ethan made Data Sufficiency entertaining and understandable. Beforehand, I was skeptical of online courses and their ability to keep me engaged and awake after a full work day; however, Ethan made every class entertaining. He and the TA were attentive asking us personally how we were doing during every class. I appreciated being able to ask questions off-line during or after class as well. Before using the Veritas online course I had used Manhattan books but afterwards found Veritas to be better because of an emphasis on the strategy and jedi mind tricks of the GMAT. I had also chosen to upgrade to the online course after initially signing up for the Veritas self-study.

Outside of the class, it was helpful to have access to the course recordings, the practice problem solutions, and the tests online.

The class was worth every penny.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: The George Washington University
Major: American Studies
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

“Couch to GMAT” in Just 6 Days

5 stars
January 1, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1209 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 137 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The year-end 6 day immersion class taught by David Newland exceeded all my expectations. Having a pretty heavy and unpredictable travel schedule at work, I’ve had a hard time finding a prep class that worked for me. However, knowing I had a week off from work between Christmas and New Year’s Day the immersion class worked perfectly for me and allowed me to be completely focused on studying without any other distractions. 36 hours of content in 6 days was no cake walk but I am certain I was able to learn and retain more than I would have if I had other things to focus on in addition to studying. But the timing was just one reason why my experience was so positive. David Newland knows his stuff; I mean he is a contributor to the Veritas curriculum books after all. Mixing the core material with his own experiences and strategies took me from “couch to GMAT” in just 6 days. The Veritas presentation format is also the most conducive to learning I’ve ever overcome. Being able to see on my screen David in front of the SmartBoard made me feel like he was right in front of the room with me. I wouldn’t be as optimistic for my upcoming exam if it wasn’t for immersion class, David and Veritas. I couldn’t recommend it more.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
College: University of Winnipeg
Major: Biochemistry
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing immersion course!

5 stars
January 1, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1209 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 137 reviews
Teacher: David Newland
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
David Newland is a great teacher. He has a great sense of humour too! I really appreciate that he would always ensure that everyone in the class understood the concepts.

The course was very intense as we covered almost all of the GMAT prep materials in 6 days! It became challenging at times to really focus and absorb all of the course materials so you have to make sure that you are fully committed once you sign-up for an immersion course. For those with very busy schedules, this might be a good fit for you!

Joined: Jul 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Scored Beyond What I Thought was Possible

5 stars
December 24, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1209 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York 8 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 760
Before: 690 (Q: 44, V: 42)
After: 760 (Q: 50, V: 42)

Prior to working with Devin I had taken a MGMAT in-person course with no real luck in pushing up my score. Despite 4 months of prep, my score had moved 10 pts from a 680 to a 690, with my quant subscore dropping dramatically, and my verbal subscore increasing primarily due to a Veritas's free online course which anyone can download to their iPad.

I had always been a quantitatively minded person (800 SAT I), but was having trouble tackling the hardest questions which the GMAT threw at me. After starting tutoring with Devin, we focused on the quant and targeted a 49 or 50. Devin has several strategies to approach each question and has the ability to see through incredible complexity to make what might be an incredibly difficult problem simple (he also recognized that some questions simply are too complex for the timed environment of the exam, and encouraged guessing on those). With his help I was able to become much more efficient on the easy/medium questions so I had more time to deal with the difficult ones. While we spent less time focusing on the Verbal section, he definitely helped me brush up my skills since it had been a few months since I had last taken the exam.

Ultimately I ended up taking the test twice after my tutoring sessions with him and ended up with a 760 on my second try, well beyond what I thought was achievable. I would highly highly recommend his services, but would keep in mind that personal tutoring is all about how effectively you use your time. I got the most out of my sessions because I had spent significant time reviewing a gmatprep exam prior to each session, and as a result, had extremely pointed questions every time a session had began.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Netherlands
Major: International Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Austria
Verified Real Student Review

Veritas Prep, the prep class for the GMAT!

5 stars
December 15, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1209 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 449 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 137 reviews
Teacher: Chris Kane
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 330   After: 530
For one and a half years I have struggled with math. I have followed university courses on the basics of math and algebra, I have had after work help in math, and I have done the GMAT twice. After scoring a 330 this year, I thought it was time for a change.

I came across the Veritas Prep courses and decided to contact the company to see what classes were available, and what they would tell me about my situation. From the moment you contact them, the company shows what they're made of and what you get for the money. They're fast in their responses, they're friendly, and very, very helpful. So I decided to join a course in the weekend, which was taught by Chris Kane. The complete package you get (the books and online environment) are of great value. And Chris Kane is an amazing tutor! Very helpful and skillful! His classes are great and he has helped me a lot throughout the past few months.

Even after the class is over, Veritas Prep is still of great value. The homework help is great and Chris Kane even gave us a post-class strategy on how to continue to study. He's always available for questions regarding homework or strategy!

Even though I only scored a 530 on my (third) exam after the class, it still improved my score with 200 points! The classes are extremely helpful and I have learnt more during the Veritas classes, than I have at the university.

So if you're thinking about joining a GMAT class, choose the Veritas Prep class given by Chris, it's superb!

Rick

Joined: Sep 2016
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
Verified Real Student Review

WORTH EVERY PENNY

5 stars
December 12, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1209 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 449 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - The Hughes Center Las Vegas 1 review
Teacher: Chris Kane
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I don't even know where to start. Everything about this course was fantastic. Chris is a phenomenal instructor. He explained things clearly, had a great attitude, and made the class really fun. He was always available for questions after class, and he was very accessible over email.I actually looked forward to the lessons and was a bit sad when the course ended. The study materials were top notch and made a huge difference. The homework problems, quizzes, practice exams, and video lessons along with the actual live classes covered every possible base in terms of learning styles and resources. I took an official practice GMAT before starting the course after self-studying for a few weeks and scored a 540. I took the 6 week course, then studied on my own using the Veritas materials and techniques for 2 months and scored a 700. The value of the course really relies on the Veritas curriculum. The course repeatedly emphasizes their "think like the testmaker" philosophy over rote memorization, which is key if one intends to score in the upper percentiles. Veritas also provided shortcuts and tips/tricks that I would have never learned on my own, and I firmly believe that the higher-level thinking plus the hidden tips made all the difference in my score. Also, this could just be in my head, but I feel that the Veritas curriculum and practice exams are actually much more difficult than the actual official GMAT. When I was studying, the highest I ever scored on a Veritas exam was a 620. Perhaps it was just a fluke, but it is also likely that the material is intentionally tricky to set up test-takers for success. All in all, I cannot say enough good things about both the

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent experience with Ethan and Veritas

5 stars
December 12, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1209 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Immersion Course 41 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Ethan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Ethan provided an excellent in-person class. In addition to thorough content coverage, he dove deep into strategies to approach different question types, manage time and maintain focus. Every minute of the class was valuable. I've recommended Ethan and Veritas to friends and family.

Be prepared, though, to dedicate a very good amount of time outside of class to studying the material and refreshing basic algebra and arithmetic (prerequisites for being ready for class). I suggest taking the class at least 3 weeks before your exam so that you have adequate time to study after the class. I found that the class teaches you what you need to know, but you need to practice it to be ready to perform well on test day.

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Caracas / UCAB
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Real Estate Development
Country: Venezuela
Verified Real Student Review

Ravi is the man!

5 stars
December 9, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1209 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 449 reviews
Teacher: Ravi Sreerama
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 720
Ravi´s way of teaching is really impressive. He covers so much information in so little time, and somehow he manages to keep the class going fast while being so interesting. Time flies with Ravi. The student really needs to study in order to take advantage of Ravi´s classes, cause as I said before, the classes are fast and dense! Ravi is suited for all students that are really taking the GMAT seriously and really want to perform well. 99% or bust!
I started with Practice Tests of 590 and after the course ended, and on my second official attempt, I scored a 720. At least I owe half of that to Ravi

Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ethan Todras-Whitehill and Chris Speck at Veritas

5 stars
December 2, 2016
Company: Veritas Prep 1209 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 449 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Hyatt Regency Louisville 1 review
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill and Chris Speck
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 680
I highly recommend Ethan Todras-Whitehill and Chris Speck (TA)'s online GMAT Prep course with Veritas. I attended the 6-week class a few months ago and achieved a lot of improvement within a short period of time. I took the GMAT again three weeks after having completed the course and finally reached my score goal that I would not have other been able to achieve studying by myself. They are both fun, dedicated and easy to work with. The 6-week format is also an effective way to hold myself accountable for the prep and to really spend time focusing on getting the required homework done. I purchased some Manhattan materials for self-study prior to signing up for the Veritas course, but now looking back I really wish I could have found Veritas earlier!