Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Veritas Prep

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 1217 reviews
Joined: Oct 2016
Purchased Course: Dec 2016
Major: Economics
Industry: Multimedia
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Invaluable

5 stars
January 15, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring 39 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Grand Hyatt New York City 102 reviews
Teacher: Devin Jones
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
After two months of studying, ordering every GMAT book off Amazon known to man and taking time off work to study I hit a plateau where in studying alone I was making concepts unnecessarily difficult to understand. I called Veritas after my first official test score came back far below my practice tests and begged the man who answered the phone to give me a great tutor so I could make my application deadline.

Luckily they sent me Devin and after two weeks of simplifying all the material that had become gobbly gook from all the different textbook strategies I was able to sit down for another official test and improve my score by 50 points. Strongly recommend.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
College: SUNY, University at Buffalo
Major: Finance
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Entertaining instructor with simple concepts for even the most complex GMAT questions.

5 stars
January 13, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehil
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Ethan's class was great! So I haven't studied at all since graduating college in 2014 and needed to brush up on a lot my basic grammar and algebra skills. However, the class went at a smooth pace where I was still able to follow through (but not too slow, as there were many concepts that were covered). His passion is reflected in his courses as he really cares that students gain a solid understanding of the material before moving on. A lot of the concepts taught in class tie in very neatly to one another and you will learn early on that much of the materials do not require memorization. He will give you some neat tricks to identify the type of question and exactly how to tackle it, much of the concepts (if studied and practiced enough) become almost foolproof. It's also helpful that he gives students lots of questions to do in class and with each example, he will provide a concrete explanation as to why an answer is right/wrong. You will become an expert in identifying all the traps that are woven into the GMAT and with the in-class practices Ethan provides much of it becomes second nature to watch out for the traps and choosing the best approach for each question type.

Ethan is able to make the courses entertaining with real life examples, movie references, etc. which makes the 3 hours of each class go by much quicker than you would expect. At this point, I have no solid date signed up for the GMAT but I feel much more confident when I study on my own (as this course has put me on the right track and provided me with plenty of quality study materials).

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: KATRINA CHO
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent class

5 stars
January 7, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 138 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the Veritas Prep Live Online 6 week course starting in October 2016 with Ethan as the instructor and Chris Speck as the assistant. I did not end up taking the GMAT - work has been extremely stressful and busy and I am weighing my options right now - but I highly recommend the class. The class was 2 times a week and Veritas provides all the books you need before it starts. There are online pre-tests and pre-work and homework for each subject. Ethan makes even the most dreary subjects really fun and he is extremely animated throughout class. He does a great job of getting students to participate and Chris adds a competitive and fun element by awarding points. I've taken test prep classes before for the SAT and they were extremely boring and it was hard to remember everything they taught. Ethan does an excellent job of making things easy to remember. He has a ton of catchy phrases and he uses a lot of different voices and even costumes! to make the material easy to remember and stimulating.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: The University of Texas at Austin
Major: Management Information Systems
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course, Ethan rocks!

4 stars
January 5, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: N/A
Took the GMAT once before taking the prep course with Veritas prep. Haven't taken the GMAT again since the course ended, so it's hard to say the course definitely helped. However, Ethan was a great teacher, full of energy, made every class engaging, and I really felt like I was in a classroom with him. The course was well-organized, you just have to stay on top of all of the homework, pre-class requirements, and studying to retain the material. And I will say, there was a lot that they throw at you. But Ethan did a good job of making it all clear. A lot of light bulbs went off, and now it is just a matter of reviewing it all to make sure it sticks.

Overall, I would recommend the course, and I don't think the Live Online course would have been "worse" than an in-person course. And get Ethan as the instructor if he's available! Super funny and engaging guy.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Need Strategy? Sign up with Ethan

5 stars
January 5, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Regus Business Center Denver 5 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
If you're considering a GMAT prep course, you're obviously going to want to make sure you get your money's worth. After a lot of research, I decided to take the full online Veritas Prep course with Ethan Todras-Whitehill. I was a little skeptical at first because of the significant investment, but you will absolutely get the ROI out that you're looking for. Ethan is an expert with GMAT content, you you can tell he has a lot of experience teaching. He'll give you all the strategy you need to be successful on the exam. I haven't taken the formal GMAT, but have already increased my initial score by 70 points, and I'm confident I'll be able to get a 90-100 point increase in the near future.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: George Washington University
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Multimedia
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ethan is the best and will help you improve greatly

5 stars
January 4, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - University of Pennsylvania - Williams Hall 30 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The key thing to remember when studying for the GMAT is that you are only going to get out of it what you put in, so expectations on score improvement and learning need to be kept in check with that qualifier in mind. Ethan made sure to remind all the students in the class with this fact during every class which was a great way to keep reality in check and make sure to put in the work required before and after each class.

I really enjoyed my class with Ethan as he kept things from being dry at almost all times (and there are some DRY topics to refresh on). He has a great sense of humor, great at keeping people involved and most importantly, he's smart and a really good teacher. Ethan (and the Veritas digital classroom with Chris as his TA) is great at making sure the class is interactive and encouraging in participation. The material was laid out very well with it's skillbuilders and lessons and Ethan made sure that I learned the underlying reasoning behind answering the questions in order to efficiently answer new ones going forward.

Would give nothing but the highest of recommendations going forward to use Ethan and Veritas as the go-to option for GMAT studying (and if you are a fan of The Princess Bride, you'll have nothing but love for this class).

Joined: Nov 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 2016
College: University of Central Florida
Major: Economics
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

This was a fantastic introductory course to the GMAT!

4 stars
January 3, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Full Course 567 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami 6 reviews
Teacher: Chester Rodeheaver
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 540
Chester was a great instructor. He made the concepts really simple and easy to understand and he always encouraged student participation. If we ever had any questions about a specific problem, he'd make sure we understood it before moving on. Though I wish the course was a bit longer as not to cram so much material into six weeks, it was an enjoyable experience and I would highly recommend this course for anyone looking to take an in-person GMAT prep class in Miami.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awsome class

5 stars
January 2, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 138 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I recently took the Veritas GMAT Prep class - online with Ethan Todras-Whitehill as my instructor. Ethan does a fantastic job of teaching the material in an easy to understand and easy to apply way - made studying for the GMAT enjoyable! He runs an energetic but well-paced class that covers all of the fundamentals and builds methodically towards raising your score for the GMAT. The class helped me clearly identify strengths and weaknesses as well as formulate a plan for how I am going to address the former and leverage the latter in my prep for the exam.
In addition to providing some solid techniques to beat the most challenging of GMAT questions, Ethan makes excellent use of class time to explain not only the 'how' but 'why'. Last but not least, his use of colorful metaphors and analogies make the class that much more interesting and the material 'sink in' that much easier. If you are considering taking a GMAT Prep class, I highly recommend taking the Veritas Prep course and taking a class with Ethan.

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
College: University of Chicago
Major: International Relations
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great class!

5 stars
January 2, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Location: Veritas Prep - Live Online 138 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras--Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 670
I took the live, online class with Ethan Todras-Whitehill and Chris Speck and it was fantastic! I was able to improve my GMAT score by 100 points. At first I was skeptical of taking the class online because I was not sure if I would be able to fully commit myself to a class where I didn't have to show up in person. However, Ethan and Chris both made it easy to do the work and stick with the class. The momentum and energy of the class was fantastic and really helped set me up for success. Not only did they explain the content at a good pace for all learners but they supplemented it with great study tips and handouts to complement what we learned in class. It was really a nice touch. I highly recommend taking the live online course with Ethan and Chris. They really make sure that they are providing high quality instruction where students can actually achieve results!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2016
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Engaging, Attentive, and Efficient Online Course

5 stars
January 2, 2017
Company: Veritas Prep 1217 reviews
Course: Veritas Prep Live Online Course 457 reviews
Teacher: Ethan Todras-Whitehill
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
First of all, Ethan made Data Sufficiency entertaining and understandable. Beforehand, I was skeptical of online courses and their ability to keep me engaged and awake after a full work day; however, Ethan made every class entertaining. He and the TA were attentive asking us personally how we were doing during every class. I appreciated being able to ask questions off-line during or after class as well. Before using the Veritas online course I had used Manhattan books but afterwards found Veritas to be better because of an emphasis on the strategy and jedi mind tricks of the GMAT. I had also chosen to upgrade to the online course after initially signing up for the Veritas self-study.

Outside of the class, it was helpful to have access to the course recordings, the practice problem solutions, and the tests online.

The class was worth every penny.