e-GMAT Verbal Online
Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

e-GMAT Verbal Online

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 627 reviews
pr55
Joined: Dec 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Handsdown one of the best GMAT courses!

5 stars
December 7, 2018
Company: e-GMAT 1131 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 627 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: N/A
e-GMAT's Verbal online is surely one of the best courses out there. The course has been very thoroughly and thoughtfully created keeping in mind the challenges a non-native English speaker might face. It has helped me gain 200% clarity on concepts that I was just aware of at the surface level. The videos have been modularized for busy professionals who plan too take GMAT. The practice questions tremendously help in solidifying concepts. Very well structured course where complex concepts have been deconstructed for higher retention and better application.

gautham0615
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
Verified Real Student Review

A perfect fit for my requirements: e-GMAT Verbal Online

5 stars
December 2, 2018
Company: e-GMAT 1131 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 627 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I feel lucky to have chosen this product without much thought. It's not wise to subscribe to GMAT courses without thinking, but somehow it worked out for me. Actual score improvement achieved: V27 to V40.

Let me start with a little bit about me so that you understand why 'Verbal Online' worked for me, and you can analyse whether it would suit you. I'm a typical Indian engineering degree holder who is good with quant but who hasn't paid much attention to verbal.. ever. Obviously, English isn't my native language either.
In my cold GMAT mock test before I started my prep, I scored V27. Towards the end of my prep, I was reliably scoring between V40 and V42. And in my GMAT exam I scored a V40.

Credit where credit is due because I did not use any other prep material except e-GMAT verbal online, OG complete guide, and OG Verbal review. You can't learn much from the OG's because of the way it is built. The book's primary aim is not to teach you concepts. But you can use OG books and OG question to check how good you are. It's a reality check.

So about the e-GMAT course and how I used it:
I did my CR prep first and then did SC. I didn't prep for RC (A gamble I had to take). The learning modules are beautifully separated. You get to learn the basics first and learn them thoroughly.
In CR, from my memory, these are the starting modules: Introduction (Premise and Conclusion), Inference, Assumptions. And then it moves on to Evaluate, Strengthen, Weaken and so on. It is repeatedly mentioned in the video lessons to focus keenly on those starting modules and that advice could not be more right. You cannot progress much if your foundation is weak. In my opinion, their CR material is top notch. I cannot imagine any other way you can learn to tackle CR problems. I loved the simple methods that were taught such as the ABC test and a method to derive the assumption from the falsification scenario. Those methods are fool-proof and just what I needed. After doing the video lessons, I practiced a lot in Scholaranium (a question bank application where you can create your own tests and analyse your performance). I never focussed on timing before. My aim was to extract maximum juice from each question. Once you learn the concepts thoroughly, you can reduce the time you take to answer questions towards the end easily. The perfect CR package for me - Lot of video lessons and a question bank application with high quality questions and detailed solutions.

Coming to SC prep.. I am NOT good with grammar and its jargons. That is not the route I can take and come out successfully had I chosen that. I borrowed some Manhattan Prep book for SC sometime way back in the past from a friend of mine and tried skimming through it. I would doze off in 30 minutes guaranteed and it only made me feel inferior and scared of Verbal. I’m not saying that’s a bad route to take, but I can tell for sure that that route is not for me. In e-GMAT the approach to learning SC was logical and meaning based primarily. Of course you cannot do without knowing the basic rules in grammar. The jargons used were minimal and only when necessary, and the engaging video lessons helped. While learning SC it felt more like solving puzzles than like being tested in grammar. They don’t use the phrase ‘wordy and awkward’ willy-nilly. There are always more concrete reasons to reject answer choices. To be able to feel that something is ‘wordy and awkward’, you need a trained gut instinct. I didn’t have that and there’s nothing you can learn when an option you thought was right, is dismissed in the detailed solution because its ‘wordy and awkward’. You can’t learn anything from that. That is the case in many of the online forums, and fortunately it wasn’t like that in the e-GMAT material. Overall, SC too is modularized well. Scholaranium SC rocks too.

The only negative of this product I can think of is – its organization of forums – The place where you ask doubts if you have any. They are at the bottom of every video/question, but the forum questions are not tagged to the options they are concerned with. I browsed almost all the forum questions while learning (I don’t recommend this to others - to burden yourself with the confusion of others :P. Sometimes the question stated might not be clear and it’ll lead you in many tangents), so this was an inconvenience for me. The turnaround time for the answer was on an average 2-4 days. This might sound high, but frankly I wasn’t bothered by this too much. I would make a note of this question in a book and proceed further. In some cases, I myself would come up with the answer to my question before it was answered, or when I look at the answer posted by one of the e-GMAT tutors 2-4 days later, I’d be looking at it with a fresh perspective and would be able to come out of my confusion more easily.

Overall, try to extract maximum juice from every video, and every question. Read the detailed solution of every question, attempted right or wrong, thoroughly. You must be able to understand and agree with every point stated. And if you do so, I think your verbal score is bound to improve. Whatever material you choose you got to be able to trust it and follow the process suggested by it with confidence. I was able to trust the methods taught in this product and it turned out well. By adjusting my outlook as suggested in the e-GMAT material and improving my basic comprehension by prepping for CR and SC, my RC ability improved on its own and so did my IR ability! No prep done for RC and IR.
The free live webinars on various topics (quant and verbal), verbal workshops, and quant workshops are additional bonuses!

rahulsharma23
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

E-GMAT online verbal prep- an amazing course

5 stars
November 30, 2018
Company: e-GMAT 1131 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 627 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Like many other engineering student, I was weak in verbal but good in quant. I was equally bad in all of the 3 sections of verbal. I got to know about this when I gave my first GMAT mock test (GMAT Prep1). I got 590 (Q-51, V- in twenties, don't wanna tell :( ). I tried to study from different sources, but none of them was comprehensive enough to enlighten me about the basics of verbal. I lost hope and started focusing on my job, but God had some other plans for me. I got to know about e-GMAT from one on my friends. I enrolled for the free trial of 7 days. After going through all the videos, I purchased the verbal online course. Trust me, That was the best decision of my life. I will explain you why aspect of my previous statement with respect to each section -

Sentence Correction - Although course is good for all the 3 sections, I gained much more improvement in my SC part. I really did not know that meaning would play a significant role in solving SC questions. I always used to jump to answer choices after identifying a grammatical error in the sentence. Although you can solve easy questions by this approach, you would fail big time in solving medium and difficult questions. So, I imbibed 3 way process of e-gmat in solving SC questions. My accuracy raised to 90% after finishing this course.

Critical Reasoning - Pre-thinking is the key to solve CR questions. e-GMAT helps you in acquiring that skill. Before learning this skill, I was never sure of any correct choice (why it's correct) and incorrect choice (why it's incorrect), but after imbibing pre-thinking skill, now I can easily eliminate incorrect answer choices for correct reasons. Pre-thinking has become second nature in my life.

Reading Comprehension - Skill of summarising and delving yourself in RC helped me very much in increasing my accuracy in RC. Before that, I always lacked focus. These skills helped me gain new perspective that is very much required in solving RC questions. I also learned about different types of incorrect choices and how to identify them. Al these helped me to improve my accuracy in RC drastically.

I will be giving my GMAT next week and will let you know about my GMAT score (Fingers crossed).

Prahartiwari@gmail.com
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: LNCT Indore
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Process is important !!!!!

5 stars
November 30, 2018
Company: e-GMAT 1131 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 627 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I subscribed for e-GMAT Verbal Online course after browsing over several course reviews and debriefs.To success in any competition it is necessary that you follow the optimum process,practice the quality questions and analyzed your progress. E-GMAT provide you all of the above element in their course. For the Sentence correction,It teaches how easily you can apply the concept by analyzing the meaning of the sentence and how to deals with the answer choices. The Pre-thinking concept taught in CR section is a silver bullet. The pre-think approach helps you to decrease the amount of time you generally spends in the answer choices.But the most effective tool in your arsenal is Verbal Scholarium that contains over 500+ question that gives you the feel of real GMAT questions and helps you understand your current level and the amount of work required to get your desired score.

arunfergy1
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Verbal Online of e-gmat is the best!!

5 stars
November 26, 2018
Company: e-GMAT 1131 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 627 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I have started planning for GMAT around 6-7 months ago and started preparing using official guide and manhattan books, but I found myself very poor in each section of verbal. I was thinking that I couldn't improve it all.
Then, one of my friend introduced me to e-GMAT and he suggested me to purchase the course for verbal section. I purchased it around 5 months back and it really helped me to improve my level.
The design of the course make it easier to build the concepts. Also as a working profession I needed a course which I can access at my convenient time.

The best course of e-gmat in verbal is master scholaranium because it is one the the basics thing that every GMAT test taker should have. Also in RC, e-GMAT provides you a number of key strategies that you must keep in mind while reading through RCs. This makes easier for me to solve RC questions.
Understand intended meaning and errors while approaching SC questions makes SC easier for me. You can't solve SC question if you don't understand the intended meaning. Understand meaning makes it easier.

The other thing that I loved is scholaranium platform of each section. This section helps you to hone your skills of a particular section. As I have still some days left for the exam, I'm sure this section will definetely help me to improve further.

Thank you e-GMAT for the learnings that you have provided. I hope I will be able to achieve my target score.

melisaaslan
Joined: Jun 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
Verified Real Student Review

GEM

5 stars
November 21, 2018
Company: e-GMAT 1131 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 627 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 650
Did not increase my score by any points, but thats due to how nervous I got during each of my retakes. This course explains everything in full detail. I would recommend everyone who likes a step by step approach to buy e-gmat

vishal.jewrajka
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT cracked!

4 stars
November 21, 2018
Company: e-GMAT 1131 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 627 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: N/A
When I first gave GMAT, I realized that i really need to improve my Verbal section if I have to score well in GMAT. However, I was not so sure how I should improve my accuracy. Though my quant was always strong, I desperately needed some secret formula to improve my verbal score. Though I was weak in RC and CR, I realized that SC is something which really needs to be looked at on high priority. It was at this time that my friend, who got 760 on his GMAT, introduced me to e-GMAT, assuring me that I would definitely be able to reach at least 700 if I follow the techniques in e-GMAT.

After taking a break from my office, I started with SC video going through each of the sections and I must say I never felt so confident before with my SC accuracy. I used to practice the quizzes after each section and maintained an error log for all my errors and the new concepts I encountered. Two weeks after I was ready to move to scholaranium, I practiced each of the questions and was able to achieve 80% accuracy in SC, something which I couldn't believe. Also, the analytics in scholaranium helped me gauge my weak areas and work on them. e-GMAT has been instrumental in helping me take the first step for my B school preparation.

After I was confident with SC, I started with CR. The pre-thinking methodology really helped me increase my accuracy and I was much more confident while solving CR questions than ever before. I practiced each of the questions in CR and eventually, in 10 days I felt I am ready to scale up my GMAT score. The key takeaway from the CR video lessons is that "Read, Prethink and then Answer". It made my world a lot more easy.

Finally, though I didn't follow RC videos enough, I did go through some of the video lessons and figured out that the art of summarizing and pre-thinking is crucial in solving RC passage with accuracy on time. I have been able to achieve 70% accuracy after following this little, but a super useful mantra.

I am currently been able to achieve 730 in my mocks, and yet to give my GMAT in a week. I must say that anyone who is in desperate need to score well in GMAT, e-GMAT is your secret to success.

souravsaggar
Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: May 2018
College: Srm university
Major: Aerospace Engineering
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

A all rounder course, best in the industry

5 stars
November 21, 2018
Company: e-GMAT 1131 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 627 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: N/A
One year back i have used manhatten prep and princeton review material for my gmat prep but was dissappointed by the results as these courses are not designed for people with english as non native. But egmat came to my rescue, the verbal course is very beautifully designed to make learning efficient. I have already completed the course once and my scores have improved from v27 to v35.
I do recommend this course for verbal prep.

nonplus2
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Simply amazing for non-natives

5 stars
November 10, 2018
Company: e-GMAT 1131 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 627 reviews
Teacher: Payal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: N/A
I subscribed for e-GMAT Verbal Online course after browsing over several course reviews and de-briefs. One thing is for sure - "Verbal for Non-natives" is absolutely pertinent to design philosophy of e-GMAT. Though a person might get overwhelmed with too much audio/visual material, the time dedicated is totally worth it. I had accuracy of ~60% in Sentence Correct and the same has now been improved to ~90%. The "Pre-Concept" and "Post-Concept" quiz of the course helps you to check your understanding of concept before concept files and after concept files respectively.
The Pre-thinking concept taught in CR section is a silver bullet. The strategy is that you brainstorm and come up with potential answer choice before jumping to answer choices and hence, avoid spend time re-reading the stimulus.
I strongly recommend this course to non-natives and natives who are weak in comprehending the printed text.

jainanant317
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2016
College: ISM DHANBAD
Major: Engineering
Industry: Construction
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

BEST VERBAL ONLINE COURSE

5 stars
November 9, 2018
Company: e-GMAT 1131 reviews
Course: e-GMAT Verbal Online 627 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
At the time I started preparing, I used to get absolutely scared by Verbal Sections. I found them really mundane and could never get myself to focus. While my quant was always strong.

Then, my friend introduced me to e-GMAT and I cannot thank him enough for having done that. The concepts as well as the detailed solution videos provided by e-GMAT took the course to a next level. They were light and helped me brush up my concepts very well. I would recommend to make handwritten notes while watching videos as that would not only help you revise, but also create a handy notebook for you to skim through while you're on the move.

The RC videos were really helpful as well. e-GMAT provides you a number of key strategies that you must keep in mind while reading through RCs.

The other thing that I absolutely was the scholaranium. The ability of the software to judge your weak points and to ultimately help overcome those really sets this course apart.

Thank you e-GMAT once again. I hope I was able to motivate a few of you out there like me.

All the best to you all !!