Economist GMAT Tutor
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 259 reviews
Paris
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
College: University of Macedonia
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Greece
Verified Real Student Review

The Economist Prep course gave me what I hoped for

5 stars
December 9, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 720
I bought the ultimate prep course of the economist which is 6 months long. It allowed me to take my time and prepare without being in a rush. This by itself reduced the stress most candidates usually have by having to sit the exam last minute before the application deadline. The program was really satisfying and it helped a lot to learn. It was even fun at times. The way that the material was designed helped me really learn what I had to in order to reduce the time needed to reply to the questions. It presented the same type of questions through different perspective and through repetition I learned how to solve the questions and quickly recognize what kind of problem I was solving for. I improved my score and I got a 720. I had taken the gmat twice before and never before had I achieved a 7+ score...

KBridge
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
College: Erasmus University Rotterdam
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

Easy to use & insightful preparation tool, 80 point improvement

4 stars
November 27, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 740
When I first took the GMAT a year ago, I was struggling with the methodology for certain (quantitative) topics. My 660 (Verbal 85th percentile, Quant 50th percentile) was below my target score, mainly because I apparently had not prepared in the most effective way.

3 months ago, I started with the GMAT Complete Prep, which helped me to better structure my preparation and to point out which topics I needed to practice again. I improved my score to 740 [Verbal 96th percentile, Quant 74th percentile].

Pros:
- Clear theory and methodology per topic
- Practice tests help you spot weaknesses and accurately mimic the actual GMAT [I scored 760, 720, 770 on my last 3 practice tests and scored a 740 on the actual test]
- Friendly and helpful customer service and tutors

Cons
- After completing a topic, only a brief summary is shown. Not all different topics can be practiced again, and the ones that can sometimes use the same practice questions. This can erroneously make you think you fully comprehend the topic, while you actually just memorized the answer/question.
- For Verbal (Reading Comprehension and Critical Reasoning), no concrete tips are given regarding taking notes when deconstructing the argument/passage
- Less focused on IR and AWA.

mfeola137
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Comprehensive and well worth i!

5 stars
November 15, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Teacher: Sam H
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 750
I couldn't recommend this program enough - after scoring 650 on the initial diagnostic I dedicated several hours a day towards completing 100% of the guided study. I ended up with a 750, which I was more than happy with.

I thought the Quant sections were easy to understand and full of great time-saving tricks. For example, I learned several tricks on sequences that saved me valuable minutes on the real exam. The Verbal sections were intuitive and QUICK - I felt super confident going into the Verbal section even though it was maybe 20% of the overall course content.

I used two of the live tutoring sessions to brush up on a few concepts, and I found them more useful than I'd predicted. The tutors were diligent in taking notes and emailing them out after our video sessions. Finally, the practice exams (I found) were an accurate predictor of my final score on test day. This program was intuitive and well-worth it. I barely glanced at any other prep materials and got a great result.

jasontgirouard
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2018
College: University of Massachusetts Amherst
Major: Business
Industry: Retail/Wholesale and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

130 Point Increase - Great Adaptive Learning!

5 stars
November 12, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 730
I loved the Economist GMAT Prep. Before signing up I tried the free trial of Veritas and Manhattan Prep's programs and found that they focused on force-feeding you practice problems, whereas Economist GMAT forced you to slow down and focus on strategy and the fundamentals before jumping into anything. Overall, I feel that this strategy most strongly contributed to my success.

Economist GMAT had a relentless focus on strategy as a whole, and strategy within each question type. I never would have thought that I'd be getting so many difficult problems correct, or that I would be able to diagnose "lost causes" so quickly.

While learning all of the fundamental sentence correction rules and math formulas can be very boring, Economist GMAT's adaptive learning program kept me focused and moving forward. It helped me build a strong base that I'm not sure I otherwise would have been able to create.

Economist GMAT's explanations are second to none. Every question helped me understand the fundamentals, and their adaptive program recognized areas of weaknesses and forced me to spend more time on them. It also forced me to revisit questions I had gotten wrong in the past.

I do feel that I wish that Economist GMAT had an option to focus exclusively on advanced topics when I was "approaching the asymptote" rather than leaving the difficulty of practice problems to chance.

BerndMue
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
Major: International Business
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

110 points increase while interning

5 stars
November 2, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Teacher: Isaac
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 680
Working with the Economist GMAT prep was awesome. When I decided to take the GMAT I was already working in a very demanding internship. Getting home late every day I felt like I wouldn't have the energy to search for shortcuts and solutions for every topic on my own. After the trial week I scored 570 on my diagnoses test and after completing the course I scored 680 in my first and only ever official GMAT exam. I'm very glad with the 110 points increase and attribute quite some of that to the included personal lessons and test taking/ time management strategies I've learned in these.
In retrospect I can only recommend to take time management (as taught in the program) seriously. Fisrtly, I personally underestimated the importance by far. After I got into it a little, I boosted my prep exam scores from 640 up to 720.
I felt that because of the score increase or money-back-guarante I would have nothing to lose by taking this course.
However, my expactations have been exceeded by far. I even used the app on the subway and loved the simple design, as well as the ease of use. I only started to learn with official questions from MBA.com two days prior to taking the exam. I do believe that wasn't very wise, but proofse to me that the Economist prep is right on track and prepared me well enough.

ssherrell
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
Major: Accounting
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Content, Helpful tutoring

5 stars
July 20, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 650
The Economist GMAT platform helped me to achieve a 90 point improvement on the GMAT! I loved the ease of use of the mobile app and how I could study on the go or while waiting on people or appointments. I really needed improvement on the quant, my verbal was already in roughly the 80th percentile but it improved to the 93rd percentile as well.
Jake Wengroff really was by far the most helpful and caring tutor. He did an excellent job helping me comprehend some of the quant concepts and all around went above and beyond.
The one con of the Economist course in my option would be the inability to shift ahead to later topics but at the same time my score really improved so it could mean that their order served its purpose. Overall I would definitely recommend the Economist GMAT course.

mirandagrueiro
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
College: Penn State University
Major: Engineering
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Utilize the tutoring sessions

4 stars
July 10, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 620
I started with the program as a way to continue my studies without carrying to OG around. While traveling, I was able to use some offline features on the app. Tutor 1:1 are definitely the key to a successful 70+ increase. I went to take the exam with 3 sessions under my belt and scored a 590. After 2 weeks and an additional 3 sessions I scored a 620. My baseline before starting the program was 540.

Bottom line - if you are looking to study while you travel this is great option. Utilize the tutoring resources and be prepared to do the work.

listoncr
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Manufacturing Engineering
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Lessons/Content, Low Flexibility

4 stars
April 5, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Teacher: Isaac and Sam
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
The Economist Tutor was a huge help to me as I prepared for the GMAT. The three aspects of the program that I found to be most beneficial were the lesson content/structure, tutoring sessions, and simulation tests. The lessons were all very well organized and the concept and strategy explanations we very clear. Each lesson included ample practice to help me solidify my understanding of each topic. The tutors, who were available to meet over Skype, were very helpful. I honestly was hesitant to reach out to them initially, being unsure of what I could discuss with them for 45 minutes that would make a big difference in my testing ability, but each tutoring session was very beneficial. They provided additional articles and materials that helped me improve specific weaknesses and my general test-taking abilities. The simulation tests had a different feel from the official GMAT practice tests. But my range of scores on the Economist tests was similar to my range on the official GMAT tests. I felt that the slightly different feel of the Economist tests helped me become more adaptable while still testing me on my ability to solve the same concepts and questions as one faces the official GMAT.

The biggest downside to the program is its lack of flexibility. When you sign up, you are locked into a time frame (3 or 6 months) and have to pay extra to extend. Additionally, it is VERY difficult to review topics you have already completed. There is no search feature to help you find material you've covered in the past.

ny2mba
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent

5 stars
March 29, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I selected GMAT tutor as a result of its flexible nature. I wanted to make sure that I was taking in all of the content, so felt that the written nature of the program was preferable over other programs that featured videos. I found the "ask a tutor" feature to be the most helpful portion of the ultimate package because I could get detailed analysis on any question I was confused on. I found myself asking for more detailed explanation of many verbal questions, which is why I rated the verbal portion of the program as a 4. I scored a 600 on my diagnostic test, and ended up with a 730, so was more than happy with the final results. The AWA prep created a simple formula that allowed me to score a 6.0 with very little practice. I would definitely recommend this service to anyone that cannot commit to an in-person prep course.

Oras
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: The Bucharest University of Economic Studies
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Romania
Verified Real Student Review

A good investment

5 stars
March 11, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I bought the Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep 3 month plan on November 4th 2017. At that point, I had already been to some GMAT quant lessons in my city and knew absolutely NOTHING about the verbal part. On February 26th I sit my GMAT Exam for the very first time and scored a 720, Verbal 40, Quant 48, all while also being at uni and having a part-time job.

I can honestly say that the Economist GMAT Tutor was the best preparation tool I could use. It's a very friendly program and it really taught me everything I needed to know in order to secure a good score. I was really impressed with the Verbal lessons, they carefully walk you through all the grammar you need for SC in a very interactive way. The RC and CR tips were also very effective.

The tutoring sessions helped me a lot, the tutors are really helpful and have plenty of experience with all kinds of students, so they know in which direction they need to point you. The advice I got from them, especially the tips on strategy, sure made a difference.

All things considered, I think that the Economist GMAT Tutor is a worthwhile investment if you want a good score and I warmly suggest it to anyone planning to take the GMAT.