Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 252 reviews
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Manufacturing Engineering
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Lessons/Content, Low Flexibility

4 stars
April 5, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Teacher: Isaac and Sam
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
The Economist Tutor was a huge help to me as I prepared for the GMAT. The three aspects of the program that I found to be most beneficial were the lesson content/structure, tutoring sessions, and simulation tests. The lessons were all very well organized and the concept and strategy explanations we very clear. Each lesson included ample practice to help me solidify my understanding of each topic. The tutors, who were available to meet over Skype, were very helpful. I honestly was hesitant to reach out to them initially, being unsure of what I could discuss with them for 45 minutes that would make a big difference in my testing ability, but each tutoring session was very beneficial. They provided additional articles and materials that helped me improve specific weaknesses and my general test-taking abilities. The simulation tests had a different feel from the official GMAT practice tests. But my range of scores on the Economist tests was similar to my range on the official GMAT tests. I felt that the slightly different feel of the Economist tests helped me become more adaptable while still testing me on my ability to solve the same concepts and questions as one faces the official GMAT.

The biggest downside to the program is its lack of flexibility. When you sign up, you are locked into a time frame (3 or 6 months) and have to pay extra to extend. Additionally, it is VERY difficult to review topics you have already completed. There is no search feature to help you find material you've covered in the past.

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent

5 stars
March 29, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I selected GMAT tutor as a result of its flexible nature. I wanted to make sure that I was taking in all of the content, so felt that the written nature of the program was preferable over other programs that featured videos. I found the "ask a tutor" feature to be the most helpful portion of the ultimate package because I could get detailed analysis on any question I was confused on. I found myself asking for more detailed explanation of many verbal questions, which is why I rated the verbal portion of the program as a 4. I scored a 600 on my diagnostic test, and ended up with a 730, so was more than happy with the final results. The AWA prep created a simple formula that allowed me to score a 6.0 with very little practice. I would definitely recommend this service to anyone that cannot commit to an in-person prep course.

Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: The Bucharest University of Economic Studies
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Romania
Verified Real Student Review

A good investment

5 stars
March 11, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I bought the Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep 3 month plan on November 4th 2017. At that point, I had already been to some GMAT quant lessons in my city and knew absolutely NOTHING about the verbal part. On February 26th I sit my GMAT Exam for the very first time and scored a 720, Verbal 40, Quant 48, all while also being at uni and having a part-time job.

I can honestly say that the Economist GMAT Tutor was the best preparation tool I could use. It's a very friendly program and it really taught me everything I needed to know in order to secure a good score. I was really impressed with the Verbal lessons, they carefully walk you through all the grammar you need for SC in a very interactive way. The RC and CR tips were also very effective.

The tutoring sessions helped me a lot, the tutors are really helpful and have plenty of experience with all kinds of students, so they know in which direction they need to point you. The advice I got from them, especially the tips on strategy, sure made a difference.

All things considered, I think that the Economist GMAT Tutor is a worthwhile investment if you want a good score and I warmly suggest it to anyone planning to take the GMAT.

Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: Texas A&M
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Prep Software

5 stars
February 27, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 760
I used the manhattan books and 4 months of study to get to a score of 690. Two years later, the economist tutor brought me up to a 760. The difference is in the amount of practice available on your toughest topics. Instead of rereading the same section of a book over and over, this software presents more and more questions, all at your target score level, until it finally clicks.

The verbal sections are broken down well into bite-sized chunks that can be easily cross-referenced with the solutions in the official guide, so the synergy between the two is great. I relied less on the quant section than I did the verbal, but it does a great job of introducing difficult topics and easy ones alike.

The practice tests are different than GMATPrep, but effective. They always seemed to focus on topics that I struggled with. There was about a 70-100 point difference between these and my final official score.

Lastly, for those topics that you ju st can't figure out, the one-on-one tutoring sessions are amazing. I highly recommend Jake Wengroff not only as an excellent instructor, but as an avid supporter of my success. He took personal interest in me and my weaknesses, and gave me motivation when I needed it most. Especially useful sessions included a review of GMATPrep practice test questions that I missed. It was great to observe his question-answering process.

Overall, highly recommend. Especially if you are looking to dramatically improve your verbal score.

Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: Copenhagen Business School
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Denmark
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience with The Economist GMAT Tutor

5 stars
February 6, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 420   After: 670
Before I started studying for the GMAT, I had no experience whatsoever with the type of questions in either of the sections. Consequently, my initial score was very low and would not allow me to be admitted at my desired business schools. I bought the Economist GMAT Tutor approximately two months before my test, and decided to spend around 100 hours on completing it.
The course is very easy to approach; you open your computer, log in to the software, and it will tell you where to go from there. I felt that the course was very pedagogical and it took me chronologically through the important steps on how to solve the GMAT with a high score. I was very happy with my experience with the program and even more happy to see my score increase by 250 points. As a great bonus, it comes with a subscription to the Economist during the training period which is a great add-on. All in all a great experience and I can only give my strongest recommendations!

Joined: Jul 2012
Purchased Course: May 2017
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Got 40 point Increase

4 stars
January 8, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I bought the ultimate prep package which comes with 70+ point increase guarantee I got a 650 on my first practice test. This was my baseline score.

I had 7 days of free trial before I pay for the course. At the end of the free trial I completed almost 10% of the course and was definitely convinced that it's worth spending.

Overall, the course content and methods explained in both Verbal and Quant were very helpful. I was comfortable with the format and my course progress. However, 25% down the course I took the second practice test and got 640. This got me worried and I decided to use the live strategy sessions with GMAT tutors. I got some good advice from Isaac who helped me improve my time management issues. Although, it took me 2 more GMAT practice test to figure out the most optimal way to manage the time, once I figured my score was consistently over 670.

I scored a 690 on my last practice test with Economist and scored 690 and 710 on 2 mba.com tests. Eventually, on the D day, I got 690 (V33 Q50).

I was able to cover most of the topics (although took me 6 months since I am a busy full-time working professional). The tests were great and similar to the real test. Also, the live sessions were helpful in assessing the practice tests and discussing customized strategies based on the performance.

Overall, my experience with Economist was good. I would recommend this course to people who are busy working professionals and prefer to prepare at their own pace.

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Princeton University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: France
Verified Real Student Review

An Excellent Platform

5 stars
December 27, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 740
Generally a mediocre test taker, I found The Economist's Complete GMAT Prep software to be an excellent platform to learn.

Fully interactive, you begin with courses that include relevant exercises. As you progress and after taking your first practice test, the exercises become harder, and more tailored to your profile.
The lessons and tricks they teach helped me tremendously in my progression.

After one month of practice, I took my first practice test, and got a mere 630, which was quite demoralizing. Yet, after completing half of the course, I began taking practice tests every two weeks, and continuing the course itself. Eventually, I scored 740 on the actual GMAT.
I would recommend this course to anyone who is completely unfamiliar with the GMAT.

The only one drawback, however, is that there is no way to select the topics of the exercises you want to work on. This could have been tremendously helpful in the later stages of my prep. Something I hope they will improve on!

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: Universidad Adolfo Ibañez
Major: Engineering Management
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: Chile
Verified Real Student Review

Very good tutor

5 stars
October 10, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 480   After: 730
I did some review before purchasing the GMAT tutor of the Economist, and what I liked the most about it is that it was 100% web and interactive. I get easily distracted studying with books, but having to be concentrated in front of the screen solving the problems and reading the content of the lessons got me hooked up for the time I assigned for each of my study sessions.
How it works:
0. I would strongly recommend to take the free trial to see how it works.
1. Before you start to study you have to choose the length of the lesson you want to have. This is very comfortable, I would choose to study 1 hour at lunchtime in my office, 20 minutes in the subway on my way home (there I would do sentence correction) and 1 hour when I got home. I also prevented me to be in too much time in front of the screen without being productive, because after each session I would go have something to eat, have a cigarette, etc.
2. When you start studying the tutor will choose a study plan for you, so for example in 1 hour you can get to study Verbal and Quant.
3. After a few months of studying (and after doing your practice exams) the tutor will go into an "exercise mode" ; you will basically get only exercises, but if you want to review a certain subject you can re-study it by yourself.

Pros:
- You can choose when and where to study. In my case I work over 9 hours a day so I didn't want to go to a classroom after my work, I just wanted to study in mi pajamas in my desk at home. Also I did study on Sundays.
- Very similar to the actual GMAT experience. Since you are always in front of a screen and the tutor shows you how long you take to solve each problem you get a very precise feeling on how long you take to solve a problem.
- Good explanations: The tutor explains you very clearly the solution to each problem.
- Tutor sessions: The tutor gives you a certain number of Skype tutor sessions. The tutors are top levels and if you want to study a certain subject they are very useful.
- Sentence corrections: Since I am a non-native English speaker, it was particularly important to study the verbal part. In Critical Reasoning and Reading Comprehension, there is not much you can do in my opinion. Specially not in a short amount of time. But Sentence Correction is a subject you can get better at. The tutor is extremely good at this subject and in my case I improved a lot.

Cons:
- The only thing I can think of is that if you go into practice mode (just exercises) you can not choose what type of problems to get in Quant; you can choose between DS and PS questions, but if you feel for example weak in probabilities you can not tell the tutor to give you just this kind of problems. Anyway, you can always search on forums the type of problems you feel weak at, solve them, and continue with the tutor.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Self-Paced Adaptive Learning

5 stars
September 1, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The Economist Tutor program is self-paced and great for people with hectic schedules. The Premium package has so many great features, but here are my favorite:
1. Adaptive - tailors content and exercises to your weakest topics so you can zip through your strongest areas and focus on what you need to practice more
2. Predicted score - adds a level of gamification to the process. It was satisfying to see my predicted score go up week on week, and my final score was within the predicted range. Great accuracy.
3. Skype tutoring sessions - although I didn't take full advantage of this, I would recommend doing 2-3 tutoring sessions if you learn best by walking through exercises with a tutor. Great value compared to spending thousands on in-person tutoring.

My score went up 90 points after taking 80% of the course (I took the test only a couple of months into the course).

Overall, would recommend.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Will need supplementary materials, but overall a great course

4 stars
August 25, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Overall the Economist GMAT was extremely helpful. I go to a mid-tier public university in the US and am thinking about getting my MBA in 2-3 years. I looked online and this was appeared to be the best resource.

I'll preface by saying I didn't study at all, and the first practice test I took was through the Economist and I got a 550. My quant was in the 30th percentile, but my verbal was already in the 80th.

By the end, my quant was in the 70th percentile and my verbal improved to the 90th percentile. Although the quant is very good, I felt like the questions near the end of the program were too easy and that I needed to find some harder question to push my thinking and expose myself to harder questions.

And overall I thought the Economist sentence correction questions were much easier than the official ones, so if you get the opportunity, I would prep with difficult ones.

Overall a good product and even though my improvement may be an outlier, it should drastically help you.