Best Promo Code 2021 & Verified Reviews!

Economist Education GMAT Tutor offers a personalised approach to online test prep, combining self-paced learning with supporting services from experts in the field. Our course has already helped hundreds of students master the GMAT and get into the business schools of their choice. Start your 7-day free trial today, and upgrade to a full plan to gain access to:

* Adaptive online learning covering all sections of the GMAT
* Included 1-to-1 live tutoring sessions
* AWA essay markings 
* Hundreds of practice questions and sample solutions
* Ask-a-tutor support via live chat

The Economist Gmat Tutor, a big kudos to you!

September 24, 2021
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I have tried some different platforms so far. This time I am truly excited to learn math through the EGT. I found the GMAT prep kind of boring and time consuming and honestly I have had a little progress within the first months, but once I started the EGT I can say it has been a miracle! The prep is not boring and tiresome anymore and I put all my spare time on it! Studying math has always been a challenge for me, however, with EGT it’s fun and amusing. I can feel my progress and I am more confident now. They are always reachable and attentive to assist the students and I have been amazed by the AI techniques which has been used here to address all of the issues and weaknesses! This is the only way I can appreciate the EGT and all of it’s amazing support team behind the scenes! A huge shout out to you, the greatest tutors ever ????????????????

Logical Review

September 24, 2021
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

This prep course is quite a thing. The different ways to tackle a problem are given due diligence here with the logical, alternative, and precise techniques. It drills on what the GRE actually tests, which is cognitive flexibility and the ability to answer questions quickly. Great course. And Free subscription to The Economist!

Not enough for fist time GMAT test-takers. Customer support is not the best

September 24, 2021
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

If this is your first time taking the GMAT, I strongly suggest you review other materials first (Manhattan strategy guides). ExamPAL has not been enough for me as a Stand alone package. You also have a credit system - every time you do/redo a question, you lose credits. You don’t have unlimited access for the period stipulated on your package. If the credits are over before that time, you can’t go through the questions again.  What is good about ExamPAL is that it offers you three ways to solve the same problem and it adapts the difficulty of the questions with your progress.

Great program.

September 24, 2021
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

This program was excellent and did a great job of preparing me for the type of questions I would see on the GMAT. The thought process that they teach is invaluable in making sure that you are able to achieve the best score you are capable of attaining.

The platform appealed to me due to the…

September 24, 2021
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The platform appealed to me due to the "path of least resistance" sort of approach to maximizing my score. I didn't find that everything was perfect for me insofar as explanations and whatnot, but then again this isn't a necessarily bespoke course with private tutoring throughout. I reached out with concerns and doubts partway through the course and was given the opportunity to address and work through some of the hangups that I was experiencing and given some tools to work through my issues.   It's good at what it does and helped increase 110 points from my cold diagnostic score to the real deal.

Great course!

September 24, 2021
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I used The Economist GMAT tutor and it has been crucial to my success of scoring 710 in the official exam. The course is extremely well structured and keeps your preparation on track. The PAL approach discussed in the solutions is really a great way to train your mind for GMAT. The content is very rich, presented in a great way, and the tutors are very prompt in their responses. Highly recommend the course!

Excellent Resource

September 24, 2021
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

This program was an excellent guide to prepare for the GMAT. I really appreciated that it was a full guide which you stepped through. You could see your progress throughout and it allowed you to focus on areas where you needed more help. It was crucial in my review process and ultimately helped me obtain a 770.  All that being said, it was less helpful at provided targeted help for the most advanced questions.

Flexible comprehensive course

September 24, 2021
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Would highly recommend this course. I took the mid-tier package because I hadn’t done maths for almost twenty years. I ended up doing the GMAT online without the essay component and I loved the flexibility of the credits which allowed me to do extra practice tests with the credits I would normally have used for essay marking and feedback. I also did a last minute hour with a tutor which was great. I scored 670-710 on my original diagnostic tests, and got 740 in the actual exam (with 760s on some of the practice exams)

Increased Cognitive Flexibility with ExamPAL

September 24, 2021
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I did the ExamPAL course mainly because I needed a different approach to the Quant section of the GMAT. Because I often looked at GMAT Club for answers, and because those solutions are often precise, textbook solutions, I only had one tool in my arsenal: the precise approach. ExamPAL equipped me with alternative and logical approaches as well, giving me greater flexibility when faced with problems I couldn't immediately solve using a precise approach. I ultimately scored a 730. Thanks!

The Economist program is great

September 24, 2021
  • Teacher: Ari
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The Economist program is great. My score went up 60-80 points to a 750. What really helped put it over the top were sessions with Ari to understand my missed questions.  Thanks EXAMPAL!

Joined: Mar 15, 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 1, 2018
College: Old Dominion University
Major: Business
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great explanations for each topic

March 15, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 460 After: 470

examPAL does a wonderful job of explaining terms and formulas and helps you navigate through verbal questions to better help you understand which answer you should choose
Joined: Mar 1, 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

"Its really cool and concentrated way of

March 2, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

Its really cool and concentrated way of learning the theological stuff like GMAT that I have ever seen. Tutor thinks just like the way I think, but in little bit improved manner. They give me crystal clear foundation behind the verbal and quant questions. The way they teach is a 'PAL' method i.e. Precise, Alternative & Logical way of solving each question; whichever fits better. You'll enjoy learning GMAT!
Joined: Mar 1, 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

"Great Experience with ExamPAL "

March 2, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

"The exempal software was very effecient, organized and easy to use. I was able to learn the quant section in a short amount of time and at times and pace suitable for me as the test is an adaptive test.

The staff was very attentive and helpfull at any question.

I recommend using exampal."
Joined: Feb 19, 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

I LOVE examPAL

March 2, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I found examPAL searching online for strategies and free stuff for prepping for GMAT. Its had been tremendously helpful. All the doubts that I had while prepping from other sources were removed one by one as I kept going thru the courses. A lot hoes in the tiny detail, and examPAL covers it totally. Understands what you need to focus on according to your capabilty. I HIGHLY recommend it to any1 looking for help prepping for GMAT.
Joined: Feb 19, 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

50 Point Increase Over One Month

March 2, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

I did the examPAL program over the span of one month and was able to increase my GMAT composit score by 50 points. I purchased one of the packages with the 70 point increase guarantee or your money back, so I was able to receive a full refund. I was very impressed with the program overall. It was amazing to receive my refund with no hassle as well as up my score by a substantial amount. The thing I appreciated most about the lessons was how they taught the logic behind the problems rather than memorization of particular steps. I would definitely recommend the program.
Joined: Feb 19, 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Great concept videos and awesome user interface

March 2, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

"Well I just happen to visit ExamPAL through GMAT Club.
They are offering entire course videos for free.
You just pay if you take tests or tutoring. You can watch all concept videos without paying a single dollar.
I was moved by the way they have built the User Interface and their lucid explanations of concepts.
It would not be fair to compare this course with other players but this one surely wins if you consider the entire course FREE.
And the best part is I am just enjoying the preparation flow with them.
Thank you very much for making those awesome study videos available for free ExamPAL. I just thought i owe you at least a reference.
P.S. I have purchased credits now and have enrolled for the Premium Course."
Joined: Feb 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

examPal has proven to be exactly a pal

March 1, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

examPal has proven to be exactly a pal (or should I say friend) in preparing one for the GMAT. The program offers several stages that allows for assessment on one's weaknesses and strengths, offers three ways to answer any problem (i.e., precise, alternative, and logical), suggests the best solution from one of three methods to solve any given GMAT problem. The founders of the company like to get in touch with subscribers to answer survey questions on how examPal can be improved. The program believes in diagnostic adaptability and, therefore, stresses that throughout the test preparation stage: pre-testing, testing, and post-testing phase. Last but definitely not least, the program is free while studying the materials. One only has to pay for practice materials beyond the free credits allowed through the diagnostic and optimization tests. Moreover, one can study material as needed up to the practice phase, where examPal offers nice discounts to purchase to course.
Joined: Feb 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 22, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

710 with ExamPAL

February 21, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 620 After: 710

Hi everyone, here is a review on how I scored 710 with ExamPAL. In the first part I describe my first experience with the GMAT exam after studying on my own and then I move on to describing the difference I felt when studying with ExamPAL.
As soon as I decided to take the GMAT back in September, I did two things First, I booked my exam four months in advance. And second I did a mock test with GMAT Prep software. The result was quite encouraging: I got a 620 before I even started studying I have a background an engineering and I read a lot in English so I figured this was going to be an easy ride. As my goal was to reach a score around 700, I knew I had to do some studying. So I approached this as I would approach any exam: I bought two exercise books, one for Quant and one for Verbal (The official Guide for GMAT, 2017) and I studied on and off what I logged to be about 50 hours. The day of the exam arrived and I was not feeling very prepared. I was also feeling very nervous and not that well rested, I had booked my exam in the morning and I definitely am not a morning person. I did the exam and scored 640. I felt very disappointed that all my effort only managed to get me up by 20 points. I knew I had to change something in the way I learnt if I wanted to improve my score.
I then started researching online platforms that would provide a different type of learning. I figured that as the GMAT is a computer adaptive exam, I would also need an adaptive algorithm to feed me exercises that are specifically selected to improve my weak points.
The reasons I selected ExamPAL were the adaptive algorithm, the audio/video content, affordability and the cool graphical interface. I was very impressed with the structure and quality of the content. The video/audio support in the lessons made everything clear and easy to follow and the practice exercises were always spot on. The algorithm identifies your weaknesses, focuses the future exercises it feeds you on your weak areas and by the time you are finished with a topic, you feel like you have mastered it to the full extent of your ability. The Conversation window allows to interact with tutors throughout the preparation period and the tutors are always very helpful and offer valuable support.
I have exclusively relied on ExamPAL for the second time I took the exam and I definitely felt like I knew the exam better and also that I knew my own strengths and weaknesses better. I did not panic when I didn't know the solution to an answer (like I did the first time), I managed to use my time more efficiently, I understood when it was appropriate to make educated guesses and when to spend a bit more time to search for the solution.
I first started using ExamPAL in the beginning of January and took the test at the end of February. So in under two months I managed to increase my score by 70 points for a final result of 710. I have been recommending ExamPAL since I started using it, and even more now that I reached my goal.
Joined: Feb 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 22, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Making Sense of GMAT material

February 21, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

What I really liked about examPal were the different approaches it offered up to get to the right answer. The PAL method was nice to have when you were on a tough problem because you knew how to approach problems from a variety of ways. It took some of the uneasiness out of the dealing with difficult questions. I also really like the guided approach on what to study, and when. There's so many topics, especially in the Quant section, it's really hard to know where to begin and what to study next. The way examPal structured the study schedule helped me immensely. Lastly, the explanations where very useful. The intro videos and the answer explanations where great, and I usually understood where I went wrong and how I could correct in the future.
Joined: Feb 18, 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 22, 2018
Verified Real Student Review

A pal that walked with me on the swerving road to 760

February 21, 2018
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 650 After: 760

"My journey started like almost everyone's: trying to gauge what my current level of skill was. I used a tool made by The Economist which estimated a score of 650. I thought ""not bad"", since my target score was 700. A 50 point increase is a far from impossible feat. This was on December 2016, and I had three months to prepare. However, upon closer examination, I realised that it wasn't as good as it looked. My raw verbal score, in the 40s, was covering up a math performance of barely 40. Although total score and percentile are regarded as the most important GMAT measures, I knew that a raw quant score in that range was problematic. On the bright side, I knew my performance was substandard because I just didn't have enough math knowledge nor recent practice.

Before thinking about any test taking strategies, I needed to revisit the basic concepts. Even though I had studied all of these concepts before at some point, they were still foreign to me. I started looking for courses and books. I bought a book. Let's just say it didn't work, mainly because it was a book and a book wasn't what I needed at that point. I found exampal and compared it to other options in the same market niche. The advantage of exampal was clear: it felt fresh and friendly. I work full time and I knew that studying for the GMAT after a long and stressful day at work was going to be hard. Actually, I knew that that was going to be the hardest part. I was used to coming back home and play guitar, cook or watch TV. The last thing I needed was a boring PDF on an LCD screen. The other online courses just seemed like video versions of that boring PDF.

Don't get me wrong, most of the other well established companies make excellent material based on what I could see. However, I'm positive that no other company puts as much emphasis on its presentation. Exampal feels like a good app, not like a recorded GMAT course. I won't say it makes studying for the GMAT fun, but it definitely makes it bearable. It's filled with interesting facts, funny remarks and animations. While playing the lessons, you are forced to answer questions to continue playing the video. If it wasn't for this feature, I would have fallen asleep every time.

After completing the exampal course, I was ready to try the first GMAT Prep exam. Two GMAT Prep tests are given away for free, and exampal gives you access to the Exam Pack 1, which allows you to take two additional exams. I got a 720 on my first GMAT Prep and I was ecstatic. The quant was in the mid 40s. This was in early February 2017.

After my first GMAT Prep test, I started working on the GMAT official guide (OG). The OG is a great resource, one that exampal nor any other company can replace. You're probably aware that the OG is made entirely out of retired GMAT questions, which means that those were once actual GMAT questions. What you may not know is that, after a while, actual GMAT questions start looking very different from their imitations. GMAT questions are excellent, as there is no ambiguity to them and they are usually complicated in appearance but straightforward if you know what is being tested.

I took several prep tests. After a week practising with the OG, I scored 690. This was discouraging, but I knew the score drop had a reason. As a test strategy for my second test, I thought ""I'm going to stop being so fixated on the stopwatch"". This is a terrible strategy. The next day, I took my third GMAT Prep test and scored 720 again. Relief. I tried the Manhattan GMAT (MGMAT) prep test and scored a 730. I agree with other test takers on the fact that quant is harder and verbal is easier when compared to GMAT Prep tests. A day after the MGMAT test, I took my fourth GMAT Prep test and I scored a 740. I had seen some of the questions on this test on the OG, so didn't think this score was entirely reliable. I didn't think I was going to be able to replicate this score, but it sure gave me hope for the actual exam.

Two days after scoring 740 on GMAT Prep, I went to the testing centre and went through the real thing. That thing on the screen looked a lot like the GMAT Prep, but it felt completely different. I was just so stressed. I made an effort and managed to stay calm. I thought I was doing well. Then the screen showed 660 (Q44 V37). I couldn't believe it. The quant was lower than expected, as I was aiming for something in the 45-48 range. But my verbal score wasn't just lower than expected, it was in a different league. My verbal was in the 40-44 range, and scoring 37 was a surprise.

I got home from the testing centre and booked the earliest possible appointment for a retake: 17 days from then (GMAC makes you wait at least 16 days). After the test, I took a Veritas Prep test on which I got a 38 on the verbal section. This didn't help. But thankfully I realised that the verbal questions were very different from actual GMAT questions and not of the greatest quality.

I bought the Enhanced Score Report for my 660, which told me the raw subscores:

- 39 for Problem Solving
- 50 for Data Sufficiency
- 42 for Critical Reasoning
- 28 for Reading Comprehension
- 38 for Sentence Correction

The Data Sufficiency and Problem Solving split is weird, however I've realised I'm good at thinking the math but bad at executing it hence the score split since on Data Sufficiency you often don't calculate as much. But the Reading Comprehension was a surprise. I had always got good scores on that subsection, and I had even hit 51 at a point.

I started reading about how stress affects the brain. I realised that at a subconscious level I was experiencing a life threatening situation. When in such a stressful situation, memory just doesn't work properly since instincts take over. I later realised I had no recollection of any test content, just that I was cold and that any noise was particularly annoying. I had to focus on controlling my ability to memorise. So I started practicing Reading Comprehension in a different way. Instead of just reading and answering questions, I would picture every situation in my mind. And most importantly, I focused on every sentence. I squeezed all meaning out of every single sentence and constructed a representation in my mind. My main goal now was absolute precision when it came to understanding what I was reading.

I applied this same principle to Critical Reasoning and Sentence Correction. This changed everything. The day before the actual test, I purchased GMAT Exam Pack 2 and took my fifth GMAT Prep test. I scored 740, with a meager 44 on quant but an astonishing 48 on verbal. It was amazing just how changing my way of thinking took me from the 95th percentile for verbal to well into the 99th percentile. Oh yes, and English is not my first language; it's Spanish. I have a very good command of the English language, but sometimes I struggle with things as simple as ""was he in the airplane or on the airplane?"". My point is that GMAT verbal is not an English test. Although the test is in English and it obviously helps to know the language, verbal ability is something else. It's the ability to work with natural language and meaning.

My GMAT journey ended well, with a 760 (Q47 V47) on the screen. My focus on understanding every sentence and consciously creating a representation in my mind allowed me to beat stress and ace the verbal. Looking back, the 660 was a blessing in disguise. Had I got 710, I probably wouldn't have gone back to the testing centre. It was a relatively short -3 month- but intense journey. In retrospect, there were four main components to it:

- Exampal. Taught me all contents tested on the GMAT (sets, geometry, etc). Like I said, most importantly, it made it bearable.
- OG. Made me solid, showed me many different variations of GMAT questions.
- GMAT Prep tests. Allowed me to build stamina, try different strategies and get acquainted with the test format.
- Introspection. Allowed me to make something powerful out of the information that I had, and develop a strategy and a mindset that worked for me."
Page:1 2 3