Economist GMAT Tutor
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 259 reviews
justin7705
Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: Texas A&M
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Prep Software

5 stars
February 27, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 760
I used the manhattan books and 4 months of study to get to a score of 690. Two years later, the economist tutor brought me up to a 760. The difference is in the amount of practice available on your toughest topics. Instead of rereading the same section of a book over and over, this software presents more and more questions, all at your target score level, until it finally clicks.

The verbal sections are broken down well into bite-sized chunks that can be easily cross-referenced with the solutions in the official guide, so the synergy between the two is great. I relied less on the quant section than I did the verbal, but it does a great job of introducing difficult topics and easy ones alike.

The practice tests are different than GMATPrep, but effective. They always seemed to focus on topics that I struggled with. There was about a 70-100 point difference between these and my final official score.

Lastly, for those topics that you ju st can't figure out, the one-on-one tutoring sessions are amazing. I highly recommend Jake Wengroff not only as an excellent instructor, but as an avid supporter of my success. He took personal interest in me and my weaknesses, and gave me motivation when I needed it most. Especially useful sessions included a review of GMATPrep practice test questions that I missed. It was great to observe his question-answering process.

Overall, highly recommend. Especially if you are looking to dramatically improve your verbal score.

MarkMTB
Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: Copenhagen Business School
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: Denmark
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience with The Economist GMAT Tutor

5 stars
February 6, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 420   After: 670
Before I started studying for the GMAT, I had no experience whatsoever with the type of questions in either of the sections. Consequently, my initial score was very low and would not allow me to be admitted at my desired business schools. I bought the Economist GMAT Tutor approximately two months before my test, and decided to spend around 100 hours on completing it.
The course is very easy to approach; you open your computer, log in to the software, and it will tell you where to go from there. I felt that the course was very pedagogical and it took me chronologically through the important steps on how to solve the GMAT with a high score. I was very happy with my experience with the program and even more happy to see my score increase by 250 points. As a great bonus, it comes with a subscription to the Economist during the training period which is a great add-on. All in all a great experience and I can only give my strongest recommendations!

sampg
Joined: Jul 2012
Purchased Course: May 2017
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Got 40 point Increase

4 stars
January 8, 2018
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I bought the ultimate prep package which comes with 70+ point increase guarantee I got a 650 on my first practice test. This was my baseline score.

I had 7 days of free trial before I pay for the course. At the end of the free trial I completed almost 10% of the course and was definitely convinced that it's worth spending.

Overall, the course content and methods explained in both Verbal and Quant were very helpful. I was comfortable with the format and my course progress. However, 25% down the course I took the second practice test and got 640. This got me worried and I decided to use the live strategy sessions with GMAT tutors. I got some good advice from Isaac who helped me improve my time management issues. Although, it took me 2 more GMAT practice test to figure out the most optimal way to manage the time, once I figured my score was consistently over 670.

I scored a 690 on my last practice test with Economist and scored 690 and 710 on 2 mba.com tests. Eventually, on the D day, I got 690 (V33 Q50).

I was able to cover most of the topics (although took me 6 months since I am a busy full-time working professional). The tests were great and similar to the real test. Also, the live sessions were helpful in assessing the practice tests and discussing customized strategies based on the performance.

Overall, my experience with Economist was good. I would recommend this course to people who are busy working professionals and prefer to prepare at their own pace.

qbecheau
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Princeton University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: France
Verified Real Student Review

An Excellent Platform

5 stars
December 27, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 740
Generally a mediocre test taker, I found The Economist's Complete GMAT Prep software to be an excellent platform to learn.

Fully interactive, you begin with courses that include relevant exercises. As you progress and after taking your first practice test, the exercises become harder, and more tailored to your profile.
The lessons and tricks they teach helped me tremendously in my progression.

After one month of practice, I took my first practice test, and got a mere 630, which was quite demoralizing. Yet, after completing half of the course, I began taking practice tests every two weeks, and continuing the course itself. Eventually, I scored 740 on the actual GMAT.
I would recommend this course to anyone who is completely unfamiliar with the GMAT.

The only one drawback, however, is that there is no way to select the topics of the exercises you want to work on. This could have been tremendously helpful in the later stages of my prep. Something I hope they will improve on!

juanialmarza
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: Universidad Adolfo Ibañez
Major: Engineering Management
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: Chile
Verified Real Student Review

Very good tutor

5 stars
October 10, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 480   After: 730
I did some review before purchasing the GMAT tutor of the Economist, and what I liked the most about it is that it was 100% web and interactive. I get easily distracted studying with books, but having to be concentrated in front of the screen solving the problems and reading the content of the lessons got me hooked up for the time I assigned for each of my study sessions.
How it works:
0. I would strongly recommend to take the free trial to see how it works.
1. Before you start to study you have to choose the length of the lesson you want to have. This is very comfortable, I would choose to study 1 hour at lunchtime in my office, 20 minutes in the subway on my way home (there I would do sentence correction) and 1 hour when I got home. I also prevented me to be in too much time in front of the screen without being productive, because after each session I would go have something to eat, have a cigarette, etc.
2. When you start studying the tutor will choose a study plan for you, so for example in 1 hour you can get to study Verbal and Quant.
3. After a few months of studying (and after doing your practice exams) the tutor will go into an "exercise mode" ; you will basically get only exercises, but if you want to review a certain subject you can re-study it by yourself.

Pros:
- You can choose when and where to study. In my case I work over 9 hours a day so I didn't want to go to a classroom after my work, I just wanted to study in mi pajamas in my desk at home. Also I did study on Sundays.
- Very similar to the actual GMAT experience. Since you are always in front of a screen and the tutor shows you how long you take to solve each problem you get a very precise feeling on how long you take to solve a problem.
- Good explanations: The tutor explains you very clearly the solution to each problem.
- Tutor sessions: The tutor gives you a certain number of Skype tutor sessions. The tutors are top levels and if you want to study a certain subject they are very useful.
- Sentence corrections: Since I am a non-native English speaker, it was particularly important to study the verbal part. In Critical Reasoning and Reading Comprehension, there is not much you can do in my opinion. Specially not in a short amount of time. But Sentence Correction is a subject you can get better at. The tutor is extremely good at this subject and in my case I improved a lot.

Cons:
- The only thing I can think of is that if you go into practice mode (just exercises) you can not choose what type of problems to get in Quant; you can choose between DS and PS questions, but if you feel for example weak in probabilities you can not tell the tutor to give you just this kind of problems. Anyway, you can always search on forums the type of problems you feel weak at, solve them, and continue with the tutor.

bostonorbust
Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Self-Paced Adaptive Learning

5 stars
September 1, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The Economist Tutor program is self-paced and great for people with hectic schedules. The Premium package has so many great features, but here are my favorite:
1. Adaptive - tailors content and exercises to your weakest topics so you can zip through your strongest areas and focus on what you need to practice more
2. Predicted score - adds a level of gamification to the process. It was satisfying to see my predicted score go up week on week, and my final score was within the predicted range. Great accuracy.
3. Skype tutoring sessions - although I didn't take full advantage of this, I would recommend doing 2-3 tutoring sessions if you learn best by walking through exercises with a tutor. Great value compared to spending thousands on in-person tutoring.

My score went up 90 points after taking 80% of the course (I took the test only a couple of months into the course).

Overall, would recommend.

bamslam25
Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Will need supplementary materials, but overall a great course

4 stars
August 25, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Overall the Economist GMAT was extremely helpful. I go to a mid-tier public university in the US and am thinking about getting my MBA in 2-3 years. I looked online and this was appeared to be the best resource.

I'll preface by saying I didn't study at all, and the first practice test I took was through the Economist and I got a 550. My quant was in the 30th percentile, but my verbal was already in the 80th.

By the end, my quant was in the 70th percentile and my verbal improved to the 90th percentile. Although the quant is very good, I felt like the questions near the end of the program were too easy and that I needed to find some harder question to push my thinking and expose myself to harder questions.

And overall I thought the Economist sentence correction questions were much easier than the official ones, so if you get the opportunity, I would prep with difficult ones.

Overall a good product and even though my improvement may be an outlier, it should drastically help you.

Lmcscool1
Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience even though only 50 point increase

5 stars
August 2, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Teacher: Na
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 700
: I started studying for the GMAT several years ago using just the Manhattan GMAT books. I kept falling off studying. Finally I decided to get committed and start the official Manhattan GMAT in person course. I learned a lot in that but my score was only 650 on the real gmat after that course. I was disappointed because my first practice exam I got a 620 and I got the exact same score on my last one. It's like the class did nothing for my score. When I took the exam o got a 650, which was not good enough for me, but still I was pleasantly surprised that I got higher than my practice exams.

I found the economist GMAT course online after searching for a GMAT course score guarantee. It amazed me that I could go up 70 points with no risk through the economist. I started the Exonomist the day after my first GMAT exam with the hopes of getting a 720.

I found the course to be extremely helpful! The quant section was especially good. It changed to show me more questions of what I needed help on and fewer questions for things that I already knew. I really liked how the course had a score estimate and a percent complete tracker. I also had great sessions with Jake Wengroff, my tutor for all but one of the sessions. You can't pick your tutor in the system but he and I were able to book appointments offline that he would then add to the system so that it would guarantee that he was my tutor. He was really great and I would recommend him for sure!

The verbal section I found helpful, but the sentence correction section didn't seem to be as difficult as the real exam. My verbal score went from a 40 to a 41, so really there was not much improvement there from my first real exam to my last real exam. My quant went up from 40 to a 45. I'm very pleased with my progress. Although I did not get the 700 points that they guarantee I plan on extending my subscription so that I can take the exam again in September and will hopeful ly go up 20 or more points. In all I would recommend the eco moist to anyone. It is possible to get to 700!! You just have to keep working at it.

girishgopiselvaraj
Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeeth
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

An elegantly constructed, consummate course for every GMAT taker

5 stars
July 1, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Teacher: Jake Wengroff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
The Economist GMAT can best be described as the ideal tool for working professionals. The tool takes care of your preparation from the get-go: monitoring your progress, planning the courses, making suggestions for review.
Working a full-time job, a regular class-room course wouldn't work for me and I would not be able to fully utilize even the best course in that setting.
The way that the Economist GMAT tutor allowed me to utilize even the smallest bit of time available to prepare and the ease at which my course could be set or reset according to my preferences made a huge difference to my preparation.
All courses improve scores by some amount. However, I can confidently say that the Economist GMAT tutor does even more - it allows the test-taker to identify his/her level to a more accurate degree, meaning that I could go into the test confident that I was going to be fairly close to my target, and so it proved.
A special mention to tutors Jake Wengroff and Kasia Slawinska. Jake worked with me very early on in my prep, teaching me the basics of what the GMAT would be like, how I need to tackle it and what the best methods were to increase efficiency and reduce stress. He'd also helped me with a lot of work on Quants and gave me some very useful tips for test-day preparation. Kasia had worked with me around 10-15 days before the test, teaching me how to accelerate my preparation and plan how best to use the remaining time I had . I cannot commend highly enough the influence of those two on my preparation.

billydakid
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: York University
Major: Political Science
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Most useless prep for me

1 star
June 12, 2017
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 259 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Okay here's the thing. I didn't want to write this review. I really wanted Economist's GMAT prep to work for me. It didn't so I decided to buy Kaplan, Manhattan Prep, GmatPrepNow, and Magoosh. All of which are so much better. Here are my reasons:

1) Customizable: Economist doesn't let you customize your lessons. You can select quant or Verbal but within those two, they won't let you choose what you need to work on like the other preps. So if you understand 7 things already and need to work on 3, they make you go through all 10 before you can move on. And God forbid what you need is way down in their lessons, you have to go through everything before it. After emailing them a few times, they said I can check a box that says pick your own lessons, but I tried this twice and it didn't work.

2) Tutoring: The Tutors only work on what you've covered in THEIR course. I've emailed them about questions I had in the original guide but they said I need to go over what they've taught first about that topic. And if that topic is 40-50 lessons down, I have to go through all the topics before I can get a tutor to help me with what I need help in.

3) Strange format: They have this weird prompt screen asking you questions like "Is the math on the GMAT harder than high school math" on the way to the questions you need. You have to keep answering these to move on. I found this a waste of time and I just moved on to the other prep courses out of frustration

4) Refund: Forget about it. If you tell them the course isn't working for you and you would like to use the money on something that is more conducive to your learning, they won't do it. Instead they'll write you long paragraphs about how their course is the best and there's no need to look elsewhere.

5) 5000 practice questions: These aren't in the form of a question bank. I emailed them about this. They said you'll get a total of 5000 questions if you keep answering their questions on their weird path they have designed for you. I wish I had known this before because this was one of the main reasons I purchased it.

I've had the most frustrating experience with them and wish I never paid. It is partially my fault because I should have tried the week trial fully before buying it. However, I thought the lessons were just locked because I hadn't paid yet. But no... you have to go through everything.

So basically I lost $1000 and can't get it back. I am now studying using a bunch of other prep courses because Economist didn't have what I needed and their teaching style did nothing for me. Others might have had a positive experience, but this was mine.