Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 252 reviews
Joined: Apr 2012
Purchased Course: Jul 2012
College: Arizona State University
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Practice Exams are NOT accurate

2 stars
September 28, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: N/A
The topics in the course are well covered. You are able to cover all of the topics on the exam, at your own pace, all from the comfort of you own home. Sounds great on paper.

Though the course covers all the topics, the exams they use are clearly not accurate. During my first exam I was scoring in the 50th percentile in math, and in verbal. As the I continued to take their practice exams, my test scores were shooting through the roof. At first I was happy to see where my score was, (I was scoring in the high 700's). After completing all of the exams from the course, I paid for exams from Manhattan. The first test I scored in the mid 600's. Thought it was a fluke. Took another, again mid to low 600's. I was puzzled to why I was doing so poorly.

And then it all came to me. On the Master GMAT practice exams I was scoring in the 95th percentile in verbal. But still scoring fairly low in the quant section. I was scoring so well in the verbal section because ALL of the Reading Comprehension passages were the exact same passages they provide you while studying. I was already familiar with the passages, and didn't really have to read them in order to answer the questions. Thus giving me a big leg up.

Considering this fact, I'd be very careful as to how much you are willing to trust this course.

Joined: Jan 2012
Purchased Course: Jun 2012
College: University of Michigan
Major: Economics
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A Different Way of Preparing for the GMAT

5 stars
September 10, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Master GMAT was a great fit for me for my GMAT prep since I was looking for a prep course that did not involve classroom/webinar sessions. I knew that I would not need much help from a teacher/tutor and just needed help with structure and pacing of my GMAT prep and Master GMAT was great for that. The learning app for Master GMAT was very intuitive and kept me engaged. Also, the learning app tracked my progress in terms of percent of the course completed and the number of hours studied, both of which proved to be valuable for understanding where I was in the course and for providing motivation for continuing to make progress in the course. A combination of Master GMAT and practice questions from the Official Guide, Quantitative Review, Verbal Review, and GMATPrep software helped me achieve my target score.

Joined: Jun 2011
Purchased Course: May 2012
College: University of London
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: Singapore
Verified Real Student Review

A really cool way to study GMAT for those who have limited time

5 stars
September 6, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Teacher: N.A.
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 680
Compared to another online course that I took previously, I think that Master GMAT is more suitable for me. I have a full-time job with one baby boy to take care of after work, so time is not in my favor. The Master GMAT allows me to practice and learn new concepts in variable time slices. This is good, in a sense that I can practice for just 30 minutes or less.

As a non-native English speaker, I have difficulties in the verbal section. After doing this course, I managed to increase my verbal score by 10 points. It is especially good in Sentence Correction. Additionally, it improved my accuracy for Reading Comprehension and Critical Reasoning.

The course is beneficial too for quantitative section. It trained me to think differently. Instead of solving, the course teaches how to use shortcuts on different type of questions while keeping the accuracy level high.

Joined: Aug 2012
Purchased Course: Jun 2012
College: United States of America
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Transportation
Country: Switzerland
Verified Real Student Review

680 to 760.

5 stars
August 14, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Teacher: I believe ISAAC B. but I cannot be certain
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 760
I cannot say enough about this course. I will always have a special place in my heart for this course because I do feel that the course helped me achieve 760 - V44, Q49, IR 7, AWA 6 (an incredible score).

During my first attempt I basically was overconfident of the exam. I did prepare for about 1.5 months but my preparation had no method and no direction. All I did was solve 1000s of questions without understanding why I got some wrong. I will not list all the sources I used to practice but let me tell you they were all well known sources.

I found this course on a website of a school I plan on applying to and I was hooked once I started using it during the trial period. The pros that I benefitted from are as follows:

1) Tips and Tricks for solving certain types of questions (Reduces the amt of time you need to solve a tough question)
2) Intuitive understanding of all the questions and question types. This makes you understand what the GMAT team is thinking while preparing the question. This is extremely important. I found that this understanding completely changed my approach to each question.
3) I am actually surprised to say this but I actually developed an intuitive sense of the amt of time I spent on each question without looking at the clock. This course has a little timer clock that appears from time to time and after you have solved the question it asks you to guess how much time you spent on the question.
4) Super cheap compared to other programs available.
5) Great, friendly customer service
6) Everything was online and could be completed at your own pace.
7) App friendly. I used my ipad and iphone all the time with this thing.

Cons
1) Costing could be more flexible.
2) Contacting customer service is hard. Once you contact them though, they are awesome.
3)You have to sit through the entire course to get to a certain topic. Only after you have done so you will be able to access topics by choice. I also think this was an advantage because it was well worth it to sit through the entire course.

Overall, I had an extremely good experience with this company. I not only support the material and method of teaching, but, I also support the companies business model. This online learning module is the way of the future. In fact, I have also recommended this online learning module to my company for some of its training requirements.

Joined: Apr 2012
Purchased Course: Apr 2012
College: JSS Academy of Technical Education, Noida
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

First Attempt - 740 - Amazingly helpful course and staff!

5 stars
August 8, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Teacher: Aaron Lin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I started with the 7 day trial of Master GMAT and literally got hooked on to it. I realized the potential this program had and hence immediately opted to purchase a full blown weekly and then a 3 month access.
The verbal section helped me in building up my sentence correction skills. The explanation for each of the wrong answer choices is amazing. It makes you understand the reason behind the elimination of the answer choice properly. The verbal section also helped me build up my Critical reasoning skills by providing a lot of questions to solve and providing extremely helpful elimination techniques. The reading comp questions were really challenging towards the end of the course. I believe that these questions played an important role in my success on the verbal section of the GMAT. Prior to starting Master GMAT course, my verbal accuracy averaged around 55-60%. By the end of the course, I was able to maintain an average accuracy rate of 90% in verbal.
The maths section is pretty good for folks like me. I had a pretty bad maths background. I have never been fond of maths. The Master GMAT course is designed to become increasingly challenging as you answer more and more questions correctly. The algorithm identifies your ability level and after around 80-85% of the course, it starts throwing questions of your level the moment you log in and slowly helps you increase your level.
The question base is huge and the mix of the material and the questions is just right. I am sure that anyone who tries Master GMAT's seven day trial seriously would concur on this point.
The staff at Master GMAT is amazingly helpful, especially Aaron. They are very helpful and reply back pretty quickly. There is a tool inside the Master GMAT interface to directly post questions about a topic of question to the teachers. This is a really helpful tool as it allows the teacher to refer to the exact same slide/question that you were at.

Pros:- Huge question base. Extremely patient and very nice teachers. Superb content.
Cons:- The tests' scoring is not really that great. Don't get me wrong here. The tests are very tough and a very good practice tool. However, their scoring is definitely flawed and almost certainly reports inflated scores. But for the amount of practice these tests provide, it is really something which you can ignore. Trust me!

Overall, definitely worth the money!

Joined: May 2012
Purchased Course: Apr 2012
College: Hebrew University
Major: Mathematics
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Israel
Verified Real Student Review

Great online GMAT course by Master GMAT

5 stars
May 28, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Teacher: Aaron Lin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
First, I'd like to congratulate the Master GMAT program on its great work.
For a busy individual like myself, it was the only option I had for studying for the exam.
It was extremely focused, very elaborate on its explanations and adapted quickly to my strengths and (many) weaknesses, not to mention much less expensive than any other alternative.

The course helped me hone my GMAT verbal skills, and although I'm a native English speaker I was able to improve my verbal score from 36 to 41.
The quantitative section improved as well, and managed to simplify difficult problems by using their proprietary techniques.

The Master GMAT exams and essay system is extremely helpful, and I was able to improve my essays, and finally receive a perfect score on the actual test.

Thank you Master GMAT, you made the GMAT ordeal simple and easy!

Joined: Mar 2011
Purchased Course: May 2011
College: Delhi University
Major: Biology
Industry: Consulting
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome is an understatement

5 stars
May 21, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Teacher: Aaron, Geva, Ilana
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 530   After: 640
Master GMAT is the only prep tool which can force a reader to concentrate and stay glued to the lessons. The interactive sessions are indeed unique and addictive. My GMAT score improved over 100 points and this product has my complete endorsement

Joined: Apr 2012
Purchased Course: Mar 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Great online course

4 stars
April 13, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I had three weeks to prepare for the GMAT from scratch and the Master GMAT course gave me excellent tutorials on the key parts of the exam as well as exam-taking techniques. Thanks for the help!

Ross

Joined: Mar 2012
Purchased Course: Dec 2011
College: BITS, Pilani
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Very happy with the sense of orderly preparation that this course has helped me achieve.

5 stars
March 31, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I liked the course's AI software. It adapts to one's strengths and weaknesses. The queries that I posed to the team were answered promptly and in detail. The course has a very large question bank. Thanks to this, I got a lot of practice in quant which helped me reduce the silly errors that I kept committing. Complete solutions (without any ambiguity) are given for every question, and in some cases, there are alternate explanations provided as well. I was skeptical when I started the course, felt that it was a bit expensive. But it's been totally worth it. I am confident about the GMAT (20th April).

Joined: Dec 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 2011
College: Technion
Major: Computer Graphics
Industry: Biotechnology
Country: Israel
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience - would highly recommend!

5 stars
December 31, 2011
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 252 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I found this course to be very effective for number of reasons.
First, I only had a brief time to prepare for the exam and being able to study online and on my time schedule was very convenient. In addition, the hardship of the exercises was adapted to my level automatically, so I didn't have to waste time on easy exercises or topics that I already mastered. Moreover, in any given moment I could easily go back and look at the material in case I forgot the required technique. Adjacent to every question in the course there is a small flag that lets you easily navigate to the technique required to solve it. Additionally, all the material is conveniently located on the front page of the software and you can go over all the topics at any time, which I did a day before the exam. Finally, the response time of the support team was very fast and professional. I would highly recommend the course. In my opinion, it is a much better option to studying from a set of books.