Economist GMAT Tutor
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Economist GMAT Tutor

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

4.5 stars
(4.5/5) - 262 reviews
fhncma
Joined: Feb 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 2012
College: Smith College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best course for someone needing a quality course with flexibility

5 stars
February 21, 2013
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I greatly appreciated the flexibility and adaptive nature of the course. I knew I had time constraints that would limit my ability to focus consistently on a GMAT course. So, I
needed something that would give me some progression in working on skills
(not just doing problem sets), but would also not be so rigid that it would
require months of practice. The Economist GMAT Tutor provided that nice
middle ground.

I also think the practice was telling. Not only did I improve 100 points
over the first time I took a practice test with the software, but I found
the Integrated Reasoning, which I had not practiced, to be incredibly
challenging (and I did NOT do as well on it). It made me definitely appreciate the confidence I had gained from recognizing and being comfortable with the material in the math and verbal sections.

jamesdallas
Joined: Jan 2013
Purchased Course: Oct 2012
College: United States
Major: Music
Industry: Arts/Culture
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course!

5 stars
January 16, 2013
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Teacher: Isaac (and a few other tutors)
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I would definitely recommend this course. The adaptive approach of the program really helped me navigate the enormous amount of material. I thought the verbal questions were perhaps a little simple, but the quant questions were great. I only took one obligatory math course in college, so I wanted to focus primarily on the quant section while studying. I appreciated that you had the option of choosing both the length of your study sessions and whether to work on verbal, quant, or both. The tutors (there is a team of them) were also very helpful. I actually never took one of the diagnostic tests through the program - I only took the official sample test put out by the GMAC - but I definitely improved my score by close to 100 points. In conjunction with the official GMAT book, I would recommend this course to anyone.

blake1400
Joined: May 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 2012
Verified Real Student Review

From 600 to 730

4 stars
January 7, 2013
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I highly recommend Economist Tutor (MasterGMAT). I took my first GMAT about one month into the material (still under 50% complete for quant and verbal). Result was 600. I met with a tutor shortly after and plotted my gameplan to 700+. I got through the remainder of the material as quickly as possible, while not sacrificing thoroughness.

After another two months of studying, it all paid off when i scored 730 (Q 46/71% ; V 45/99%). Here's my assessment:

Pros:
- The algorithm works. You end up drilling your weaker subjects and quickly advancing in the ones you grasp well.
- Better results than classroom experience, at least for me. Studying for GMAT with other people who come with their own strengths and weaknesses was sub-optimal for me. You inevitably waste tons of time reviewing concepts you already understand, and breezing over areas where you have gaps in your knowledge. If you need a teacher to push you to actually study and go through problems you probably aren't motivated enough to begin with.
- Lots of quant strategies that save time and reduce errors (e.g. plugging-in where numerous variables are required, ballparking convoluted geometry problems, algebraic rules, etc). I raised my quant score 35 percentiles between first and last exam.
- Explanations that 99% of the time put you down the path of least resistance to the correct answer.
- Verbal content, approach, and test-taking strategies that are second to none. I've used Veritas and sat in on a couple Manhattan classes. Can't speak for quant, but for verbal I thought they were inferior. I scored 99 percentile on verbal by studying solely the Economist and GMAC OG.

Cons:
- Over-reliance on the prescribed methodology for certain quant problems. GMAT seems to benefit flexible thinking. It's not always in your interest to approach a type of problem with identical methods (e.g. "I see this problem, therefore i construct a table and do x, y, and z"). I found gmatquantum and khanacademy useful in seeing alternative ways to think through problems.
- Not the friendliest UI. The summary screen makes it incredibly painful to review concepts previously covered. You can only drag a tiny scroll bar through rows and rows of data jammed into a small box. God i hope they've updated this...for your sake. Also, the "ask a tutor" system seemed pointless and duplicative. I'd imagine these things are being improved upon now.

My two cents:
- If you go with Economist, use it to understand strategies and core concepts, and get your timing down with practice problems and tests. Then supplement with lots of GMAC OG problems and explanations from forums. GMAT forums were invaluable in filling knowledge gaps and refining strategies for attacking problems.
- Get in the right state of mind. For me this meant committing the hours and concluding that I would not leave this earth without a 700+. Even if i had to take the test 20 times I would get there.

DaveZZ
Joined: Dec 2012
Purchased Course: Nov 2012
College: Milan Polytechnic
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: Italy
Verified Real Student Review

Stunningly effective!

5 stars
December 14, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
The on-line course is amazing. It literally drives you through a thorough preparation, both on quant and verbal. You don't have to bother with planning your study and can focus on what really matters, that is the real gmat test. The course is adaptive and you have access to a 24/7 tutor service via e-mail which is incredibly responsive and prepared.
The course gives you more than just questions and answers, it gives you real hints in order to tackle almost every kind of GMAT question. Just trust it and go through it til the end, and can say goodbay to other preparation material, of any sort!

I truly recommend it. No doubt.

paulozac
Joined: May 2012
Purchased Course: Jul 2012
College: UFSCar
Major: Computer Engineering
Industry: High Technology/Electronics
Country: Brazil
Verified Real Student Review

If you want tricks instead of real content.

1 star
November 30, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 530
Took the whole online master GMAT. The result was awful.The course is about tricks and ways to fool the GMAT, instead of real content. I would recommend this course only for those who expect to get no more than 600, because that's the most you can get from its content. For me, it was waste of time.

After getting a horrible 530, I studied by myself, essentially with OG and Manhattan GMAT material, and got my 700.

shraddhalanka89
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Fantastic

5 stars
November 24, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 700
To begin with, thank you Master GMAT. I came across this site only 2 weeks before my exam, and so took just the trial. I found it very helpful. The structured and methodical approach and the small tips on how to attempt questions made me realise what I was doing wrong.

I had a whopping 60 point leap,and I would give half the credit to Master GMAT. The classes are flexible, and ideal for working people.

I have recommended this to several people and will continue to do so.

Kristal319
Joined: Nov 2012
Purchased Course: Aug 2012
College: Michigan State University
Major: Psychology
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Terrible Customer Service

2 stars
November 2, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Teacher: N/A Master Gmat
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
First off, this review is for MASTER GMAT.

That being said, Master GMAT attracted me because of their flexible study approach (online) and having an interactive course compared to just using books. I would say it was more engaging than using books, and easier to access since you really don't need anything more than a computer. However, it also had some serious draw backs.

1. Customer Service
Master gmat opperates out of Isreal, so getting someone on the phone if you have any kind of question and live in North America is nearly impossible. This would not be such a big issue if their website was designed better. For example, the other day my course ended, and I was locked out. I tried to sign up again on a weekly basis, but the only way you can sign up is if you "upgrade" online to something more expensive than your original purchase. Therefore, I had to WAIT to purchase the weekly option until someone from Isreal was able to contact me. When you have a busy schedule, little things like this are incredibly frustrating.

2. Knowledge Base of Tutors
I can't really speak to the verbal tutor, as I think I only used that tutor once, but the quant tutor was not very helpful. You have the option of asking a question online, and each time I would ask a question she would simply copy and paste the answer that was already in front of me as her response. How in the world is that helpful? Also, I had a tutoring session with her via skype. She was 15 minutes late, and then proceeded to get questions wrong that we did through the course.

My recommendations--take the course, but I would not waste my money on having access to the tutors (either through a session or online) as they were not helpful at all!!!

Jimkoj
Joined: May 2012
Purchased Course: Jun 2012
College: University of Virginia
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: Hong Kong
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience!

5 stars
October 9, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I usually hate writing reviews but I have had such a great experience with MasterGMAT (now called GMAT Tutor from The Economist) that I feel obligated to put in some good words for them (yeah that's how good they were).

I took a Veritas practice test before I bought the Solo package and got a 640. Pretty solid place to start, I thought - plus MasterGMAT was offering a $151 discount, so even better (I paid $299 total).

I loved the adaptive learning model. It caters to what you need to learn to succeed - it goes faster if you already know the topic, and slower if you are having trouble with it. I will say that they repeat questions towards the end of the course, but who doesn't? I will also say that some of the Verbal questions are not super hard, so if you are aiming for 99% percentile I would suggest using supplemental materials. Otherwise, bottom line is if you can get to completing 80% of the course you will be in really good shape.

It also allows you to set the session duration. Most of us have day jobs, and sometimes I really don't feel like studying for a full 2-3 hours after a long day. MasterGMAT allows you to set the session duration to as low as 5 min. That gives me motivation to put in some time to study every single day. Who doesn't have 5 min? And they also have this little chart where you can see your progress, which I absolutely loved.

I also enjoyed having the opportunity to talk with a real tutor over Skype. I didn't need too much explanation regarding the contents themselves, as the website was already doing a great job, but I thoroughly enjoyed getting advice in exam strategy and time management. It gave me confidence that I will do well, which is very important to me. Of course, if you need help with the contents themselves I am sure that they will do a great job as well.

All in all, I really enjoyed the course, and it prepped me well. I never finished the course as I ran out of time to study, but I did finish 80% of it and also did 3 practice tests (crucial - DO NOT SKIP THEM) before taking the GMAT. I was lucky to have gotten a 740 (Q50, V41) in my first try, but I also know that I would not have gotten the score I wanted if it weren't for MasterGMAT.

Thank you MasterGMAT and its team for everything!

afarouk
Joined: Jul 2012
Purchased Course: Sep 2012
College: American University in Cairo
Major: Management/Business Administration
Industry: Private Equity
Country: Egypt
Verified Real Student Review

Very Happy I stumbled upon this course

5 stars
October 1, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Teacher: Isaac when I had a questions. But mostly self study
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 710
This course is highly recommended

Here is my story.

I started prepping in March 2012 and took the exam first time in July, but of course the net study time was much less, maybe 60 days. I studied mainly from

1) Manhattan GMAT study guides (8 of them, close to 2000 pages) and I literally finished over 90% of the material, very diligent studying, and I revised most the material again from Manhattan.

2) I solved all PS questions from Kaplan Advanced with a very high accuracy

2) I solved all of the OG problem solving but little on the OG verbal

3) I studied CR from CR Bible Power Score

I sat for the exam in July and my score was a miserable 580. This was a shock

Here are the mistakes/conclusions I made:

A) Biggest mistake: I did not practice with timing at all. I used to get all the questions in Manhattan and Kaplan correct but without timing, so some questions took like 5 minutes or 7 minutes and I assumed the most important is understanding the concept so when I see it again on the exam I will solve it fast and correct. On the exam I ran out of the time and left the last 5 questions blank on the Quant and 1 question in the verbal.

B) Manhattan is very long and too detailed. So by the time I reached the third strategy guide I forgot a lot of what's in the first one. However, this does not mean that I did not get any benefit from Manhattan, it certainly gave me a good foundation

C) Studying from books is boring especially for someone who has a busy life (work, family...etc).


After the disappointing score, someone recommended Knewton online and Master GMAT and I went with Master GMAT, mainly as I saw all their reviews were five stars and for their Artificial Intelligence system that tracks your weak points and consistently gives you questions in such areas till you improve

I took a free trial and I decided to subscribe.

I started on Master GMAT July 15 till August 1st. Stopped for 12 days as my wife was in delivery and then resumed slowly till August 27, then had a family trip and resumed slowly on Sept 10, but studied 1 day and 3 off, and took the test on Sept 25. So net study time was about 35 days, average 2.5 hours a day, for a total of approx 90 hours of study time. (60 Quant and 30 verbal)

And although I almost stopped studying for the last 3 weeks before the test, I still scored 710 (48 Q, 40 V) having finiahed only 60% of the Master GMAT course. If I had mote time to study I feel I would have easily got the 740 to 760 as I could have gained a point or 2 on Quant and 2 to 4 points on verbal.

Here are the key advantages about Master GMAT:

1) From day one, it boosts your appetite as it teaches you the tricks that make you solve every question type in a record time, such as process of elimination and ball parking. You will be amazed at how fast you can reach the answer. Hence, you get thousands of "AHA" moments to questions you previously would have lost interest in solving with the traditional book study method

2) It provides you with summary notes that get posted automatically in your account after each study session is completed. these are very very important for your final review

3) Flexibility to choose the length of the study session from 5 minutes up to hours. and when you finish each session you can start a new session of the length that suits your schedule

4) Performance measurement: it classifies the topics you studied under 3 buttons: weak, medium and strong, based on your performance in each topic.

5) Progress measurement: A graph that tells you what percent you finished so far in Quant and what % in verbal

6) Most Importantly, the intelligent system that detects your weak areas, and analyzes patterns and automatically drives you through the course by giving you the appropriate topic.

Great Course, Highly recommended.


aminflash
Joined: Mar 2012
Purchased Course: Oct 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Good content, Not standard questions!

3 stars
September 29, 2012
Company: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Course: Economist GMAT Tutor 262 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I think MasterGMAT course has a rich content of quant and verbal but occasionally the verbal questions are much easier than the real exam (especially SC ones)