EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course
Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course

5 stars
(5/5) - 124 reviews
RSGuardian
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2018
College: ITMO University
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: Russia
Verified Real Student Review

From 0 knowledge about the test to GMAT Assassin in 2 weeks

5 stars
December 6, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Teacher: Rich, Max, Brian Michaels, Stacy Wilson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
As the title suggests, I took the GMAT just two weeks after learning what this test is all about. And on my first try, I beat the GMAT with a score of 720. So yes, this is possible, but I would advise against trying this at home. Those were two weeks of very intense studying for 10+ hours a day. Not many people can afford to spare this much time on prepping and have the resilience to study for this long.

On my first day of prepping I took a "cold call" practice test and scored 660 on it. Everything after that can be considered an improvement of this score. My initial verbal score was significantly higher than my quant score, so I focused first and foremost on improving my quant results.

I spent the next four days revising high school algebra and geometry, which I had completely forgotten at the time. Then came the time to choose a GMAT course. I took free trials of several different courses and evaluated them during my fifth day.

In the end, I chose EMPOWERgmat for several reasons. Not only was it one of the most affordable courses on the web, but it also focused on really beating the GMAT, not just studying for it. Moreover, something about how Rich explains things, his charisma, really clicked with me.

Unlike other courses, EMPOWERgmat doesn't just prepare you for the questions but tries to use every trick in the book to help you get the right answers effectively and efficiently. For the quant section this mainly revolves around three Empower tactics: Test It, Test The Answers, and Triage. These tactics are very simple, yet extremely helpful for saving time on the test.

After 8 more days of preparation with EMPOWERgmat, I felt confident enough to take the real test and wasn’t disappointed with the result. I became the GMAT Assassin that Rich and Max promised I’d be.

grindanyway
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2018
Verified Real Student Review

From 620 (Q45 V31) to 690 (Q47 V38): The Importance of Strategy

5 stars
November 23, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 690
I have always abhorred standardized tests. When I realized I would have to actually study for the GMAT to apply to MSc Finance programs, I was not happy to say the least. From my initial research, I ended up getting all the Manhattan Prep books for learning the material and decided to self-study. The Manhattan Prep books, with the OG books, led me to get a 620. I was happy with my Quant score (I started from way lower), but my Verbal score disappointed me mainly because I thought I had a decent grasp on the material.

I was aiming for at least a 650 or above so I knew I would have to take the GMAT again. Since I had gone through everything I could on my own, the idea of a class or course started to sound better. I was looking for two things in a course, cost and quality. After some research, I decided to sign-up for EMPOWERgmat for $85 for the first month through a promo. I also picked up the Official CAT 3&4 pack for a discounted price through them.

EMPOWERgmat as a course focuses on strategy more than textbook style material teaching. It is my opinion that while knowing the material is important, strategy plays a HUGE part in doing well on the GMAT. The course taught me things about the test that I would have never found out on my own. For Quant, the best advice the course gave me is to dump the really difficult questions. I straight-up axed at least 3 questions on the Quant because I knew even if I would get them correct, it would take up 3 mins or more. Not only did this give me more time on the rest of the gettable questions, but also allowed me to actually finish the questions at the end of the section with sufficient time.

The Verbal section is where the strategy and technique I learned really pulled through. I honestly think the SC, RC, and CR modules in the course taught me more than the books considered as the best for this section. The way you do questions in the Verbal section almost becomes tactical and leaves you feeling that you actually selected the correct answer. The video lessons are great and the instructors are fantastic.

This is advice for people looking to retake this exam. If you have been focusing solely on the learning the material and have not found success, it is time to focus on strategy. I was offered a 70 point guarantee over my initial 620 and I got a 690!

utdallas2019
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MAJOR score boost in only a month using empowerGMAT strategy

5 stars
November 21, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 540   After: 640
When I started studying for the GMAT, I had my eyes set on a top 50 business school. For my desired program I needed a score around the 60th percentile (about 610) to be considered a competitive applicant. After a couple months of using Kaplan book resources and the two practice CATs available on mba.com I took my first GMAT in October of 2018. I was devastated when I walked away with a score of 540 (Q35 V28). With only a month before applications were due, I knew I would have to try again.

I quickly began researching various GMAT prep companies. I only had a month of study available to me so I was looking for something affordable with no long-term commitments. I found empowerGMAT through the forums and heard great things about their service. Empower GMAT offers a monthly subscription service and had a convenient one-month study plan carefully designed for people (like myself) in a time crunch so I decide to get started studying again. Here’s my review of their service:

Customer Service 10/10: Before I had even purchased the empowerGMAT subscription, I had reached out to their customer service team to learn more about their score improvement guarantee. Their response was insanely quick, I don’t even think an hour had passed before they got back with me in each case. Not only did they reassure me on the structure of their score improvement guarantee, but they also offered me extremely valuable guidance on how to proceed in improving my score (based on the official score report I sent them from my first GMAT). Of all the GMAT prep companies I interacted with, empowerGMAT is by far the most professional and responsive. They truly care about helping you improve your performance.

Content 10/10: The course content consists of a syllabus that guides you through training exercising on various GMAT topics. EmpowerGMAT offers a handful of different syllabi options to match the amount of time you have to study, including a one month option for people like me who are in a rush. Although, it does appear that a 3-month study plan is this most popular option. Overall, the syllabus keeps you on pace to meet your study goals – no thinking required!

The typical format is to watch instructional videos by Rich for the quant section and Max for the verbal section. The lessons include a few practice problems and quizzes to help with retention of the material. The course then allows for you to take quizzes based on the official guides (this requires you to have the official guide to get the questions) and offers video explanations for the solutions of each problem.

Both Rich and Max are great instructors for the video lessons. That is, they are clear and concise in their explanations. They don’t waste your time by explaining long, complicated equations and rules for each question. And to top it all off, they both have a solid sense a humor – making the videos entertaining to watch. I never really had a dreaded feeling of studying with empowerGMAT.

Strategy 10/10: Being in a massive time crunch, I was focused more on a strategy to squeeze out as many points as possible rather than learn content. The empowerGMAT tactics both Rich and Max teach you are absolutely INCREDIBLE. Once you practice their strategy and learn to apply it to GMAT problems, the CATs become magically that much easier. And if you’re like me, and have a pacing problem, applying their strategies will certainly help you to pick up the pace. Not only do you learn strategies for each section, but Rich also offers strategies on how to handle stress and fatigue during the exam.

Quant & Verbal 10/10: Being a native English speaker, I naturally geared myself more towards the quant modules. Not having taken a math class in over two years, I found the quant modules by Rich to be very clear and concise in conveying what you need to know. They even offered a review module for those like me who might need to brush up on some of the basic math skills taught back in high school.

As a native English speaker, I found the verbal modules to be easy to follow. I was particularly bad at sentence correction on my last exam and focused by studies around that. Max does a great job conveying the information you need to know without throwing a whole lot of grammar jargon at you – something I would imagine that non-English speakers would really appreciate.

Conclusion: Overall, I would have to strongly recommend empowerGMAT for anyone looking to boost their score, particularly for those in a serious time crunch like myself. I took my second GMAT in November of 2018 less than a month after the first and made a 100 point improvement to score a 640 (Q42 V35) and walked away with a score higher than what I needed to be competitive for my desired program. I did nothing more on the second exam than apply the empowerGMAT tactics and instruction that I learned through the course. I have strong confidence, that if I had more time to study, I would have no problem scoring 700+ with empowerGMAT’s service.

Anon95
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2018
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

30 point improvement in less than a month - GMAT710

5 stars
November 16, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Teacher: Rich, Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 710
I had given the GMAT twice before each time scoring less than my target score of 700+. Both times, I had tried using different strategies, practicing with Official Guides, GMATPrep mocks and Veritas books. Self-study just wasn't working and I wasn't able to figure out why.

I, then, decided to take an online course and chose EmpowerGMAT, quite honestly, because it was among the cheapest ones I could find and I needed a short guarantee program since deadlines for the second round were coming closer. I wasn't too skeptical since the Empower program had really good reviews and I had seen Rich's comment on GMAT forums to believe that the program would be helpful in achieving my goals. And I was proven right.

The program is structured extremely well and questions are present with gradual difficulty levels which helped me gain confidence over the topics. Rich and Max's videos were really well thought-out and they basically not only teach you everything you need to know but also tricks and exam strategies which are extremely helpful during the actual exam. In particular, I used to always try to answer every question and used to end up missing out on the questions at the end of each section. Empower's pacing strategy and how to skip questions completely changed the way I approached the exam. For the verbal section, my weakest section was SC and the Empower Concept videos helped improve my SC to the level that I barely used to get any SC wrong in the practise tests. Even their simple motivational podcasts and general exam strategies were so great.

They also provide a lot of extra resources as well like the GMATPrep Exams at a discounted price and a phone call with a counselor to review your essays.

Overall, the EmpowerGMAT course is the best decision I made regarding my GMAT. I would genuinely recommend this program to everyone, especially retakers. Also, a big thumbs up to their customer support team!

Shubrat
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
College: University of Alberta
Major: Economics
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Best way to Approach the GMAT

5 stars
November 13, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Teacher: Stacy Wilson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 690
When I started the process to apply to business school, I originally thought the GMAT would be the easiest portion due to my background as a CFA and Investment advisory. However on my first attempt I scored a 650 and realized that I would probably need to prepare before I took an actual attempt. I found EMPOWERgmat online and heard great reviews, so I jumped in and followed the course format. Since I had a limited time of 1-2 months, I took the fast track course and spent 2-3 hours every day. The tricks and practice they provide really gave me an edge in increasing my score. I ended up getting a 690 on my actual try, even though I had achieved a 720 on a practice exam. Regardless, this score was above the average of what I needed and am more than happy with the outcome.

jsus16
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2018
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT or bust

5 stars
October 31, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 710
I started my GMAT studying about 6 months ago and wasted a lot of time with an expensive tutor and going about studying with no plan. My first test in August was a disaster. I got a 610 and I was SO upset.

I took about a month break and had to get surgery. I wanted to reset and figure out my new plan.
I started doing some research on what online program/tutoring to do going forward as I wasn’t going back to spending 150 plus on a tutoring session. I landed on EmpowerGMAT. Fast forward to Oct 1. I made my game plan, an attack strategy of sorts. I was going to follow Empower’s one-month guide to studying and take the test Oct 30th.

I 100000 % made the right call.

I am not going to lie and say I just did it causally and everything worked out, I straight up GRINDED for four weeks everyday. I spent hours day in and day out working through all of their lessons. It was 100 dollars for the month and the best money I have ever spent. I learned so much more from those videos than I ever did with any other material/tactic. They had advice and guidance I had never come across before and it was working. My CAT’s and practice problems were showing the results I wanted. I scored a 730 on my next CAT about 2 weeks into the month. I felt stronger than ever answering every type of question. You know in school when you finally understand a subject or piece of material and then afterwards you could nail it every time? That’s how I finally felt; it was all clicking. The lessons and practice problems were helpful and to the point. Yesterday, I took my second (and final!!) test. I scored a 710 and couldn’t be happier. I attribute so much of my success to EmpowerGMAT. If you are willing to do the lessons and take the time, it will improve your score—no DOUBT.

auljaj
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
Verified Real Student Review

580 (Q44 V26) to 670 (Q45 V37) in 2 Months!

5 stars
October 4, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Teacher: Rich, Max, Stacy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 670
6/23/18 - Official GMAT #1 - 580 - Q44 - V26
10/1/18 - Official GMAT #2 - 670 - Q45 - V37

I owe my 90 point increase entirely to EMPOWERgmat.

I self-studied for 1 month and got a 580. I was miserable and I wasn't sure if I could beat the GMAT. I took the month of July off from studying as I decided what my new approach would be. I knew I learned best through instructional videos. I don't like in-class instruction and I wanted it to be self-paced. Another big thing is PRICE. The GMAT exam is expensive enough, I didn't want to spend $1000 on a class - that's outrageous and unnecessary. Then I found EMPOWERgmat. I went through their trial period and I knew within a few minutes that this was the class for me. You pay $99 a month so if you can finish the whole online course in one month then you save money!

It took me two months to complete the entire Score Booster EMPOWERgmat course. I started studying on August 1st, 2018 and my GMAT retake was scheduled for October 1st, 2018. I do work full time and I honestly wasn't as diligent as I could have been. Had I studied more consistently (as opposed to just utilizing my weekends) I could have gotten a 700+.

Rich and Max's videos were amazing and they teach you everything you need to know. They taught me that the "trap" answers that always got me are actually punishment answers because I was doing something wrong. They also told me I can SKIP certain questions. I was shocked by that and I found it difficult in the beginning to skip hard/time consuming questions. Once I started skipping 3-4 questions in both Quant and 2-3 in Verbal, my practice scores shot up to 690. Now, given my goal sore of 650, I didn't focus as much on the Quant section because I was always within a range of 44-46, which was fine for me. What I needed to focus on was the Verbal section and the strategies for solving each type of problem. The strategies I learned from EMPOWERgmat were critical in improving my verbal score by 11 points! Only in the one week before my exam did I do official GMAT questions outside of those presented in the EMPOWERgmat course. So, as I said, if you put in more practice than I did, you can get a 700+ with the strategies taught to you by EMPOWERgmat.

Quant: Rich's videos helped me sooo much with pacing. I always ran out of time during my practice exams so I always got a bunch of questions wrong at the end. And the questions at the end are almost always GETABLE. The GMAT puts them there to reward the people who are doing well on time. Also, I was finally getting number property and overlapping set questions correct thanks to the strategies that Rich taught. If you struggle in math, Rich will teach you all the basics and then the tricks to make you better.

Verbal: Max taught me strategies I never knew I needed. I thought I could get by on Verbal because its just reading words. Nope. I needed those strategies in order to get an 11 point increase in my verbal score. After watching all the verbal section videos, SC was finally easy, I was able to knock out the 3 wrong answer types on CR, and RC was actually simple if you spend more time reading the passage! I hated the Verbal section of the GMAT, it was never my strong suit. But Max's videos were so amazing that I started to enjoy some of the questions because for the first time, I KNEW I was choosing the correct answer, I wasn't just guessing between 2-3 answers. The most important thing I learn from Max is how to choose the right answer when you've narrowed it down to two answers. That strategy helped me the most because I always got it down to a 50/50 shot, but I always chose wrong.

Overall, EMPOWERgmat is the best course out there. It's inexpensive compared to others, it's self-paced, and they provide so many other benefits with the class (they set you up with an advisor, they have an option for a 30 min phone call with a pro to look at your admissions essays/profile, you can get GMAT official exams at a discounted price). EMPOWERgmat is the best bang for your buck. The team is incredibly helpful and I've already recommended the course o multiple friends and colleagues who want to take the beast that is the GMAT. You won't regret choosing EMPOWERgmat. Start with their free trial, I promise you will like it.

Good luck and happy studies!

doublebarrel
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Vassar College
Major: Environmental Studies
Industry: Agribusiness
Country: Colombia
Verified Real Student Review

Nailing a 710 with EMPOWERGmat

5 stars
September 3, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 710
Everyone I knew was recommending a private tutor, but I was worried about both the price and the inability to move completely at my own pace. I am super super happy I stumbled on EMPOWERgmat. I went from a 630 to a 710 after working with them, and saw an incredible improvement in my Verbal score (from 82nd percentile to 98th!).

Verbal: I really enjoyed Max's videos on the verbal section. The dude knows this part of the exam inside and out, and through his videos, he gives you great insight into how he approaches each question and arrives at the right answer. I had worked with other prep books before so it took a little time for me to be completely won over by the new approach, but it really worked wonders. When it came to Verbal, I just tried to pretend I was Max and approach each question exactly as he would. In fact, the process became quite fun as I began to see the little tricks and stumbling blocks the test writers like to throw at us. I found his SC approach the most helpful, and improved greatly. Before Empower, I was having a ton of problems with SC and didn't know why! I learned quickly I was focusing on all the wrong things.

Quant: While I really enjoyed Rick's videos and approach as well, I didn't see the improvement I was hoping for in the quant section, and I'm still not sure why. I went from a 38 to a 42, but that still left me in the 43%, which for me was quite disappointing, as I don't consider myself to be bad at math. Rick is an absolute master at the quant section and while studying, I felt like I was picking up a ton of knowledge and techniques that would help me. However, I continued to struggle with Quant through my CATs and finally, on my official exam. When I was looking for a program to sign up with, many people recommended EMPOWER explicitly for the quant. Again, while I felt like I was learning a ton with Rick's videos, I am nervous to personally recommend this section, as I didn't see much improvement. However, I think with a little more time and review, I could have been much more successful with the guidance and help of Rick.

Overall: Studying and eventually taking the GMAT is a real pain, especially when so many of us already have pretty full schedules. I found working with videos much more effective than books as they do a better job of drawing in and holding your attention. EMPOWER's videos are all carefully thought out, and engaging enough that you aren't desperately trying to not fall asleep. The syllabus is also laid out in a way that takes the guess work out of planning your study schedule. I would feel more than comfortable recommending these guys to anyone. They are damn good at what they do and clearly take their work very seriously. Keep calm and Empower On.

Vid2018
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best self-pased course for retakers!

5 stars
August 29, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
Empowergmat helped me boost my score by 40 points in a less than a month. I had given the GMAT twice before, each time getting the same score despite using different tactics and extensively practicing with the Official guides and official mocks. I switched to Empower for my third attempt because after my 2nd one i realised that self-study was not working for me and i really needed a game- changing strategy as i was looking a score boost of a minimum 40 points.

I chose the Empower 1 month plan after reading so many positive reviews about them on gmat forums. I honestly was skeptical because i hadn't heard of any friends or colleagues use the platform before. But as soon as i started with the trial, i was convinced of the simplicity and effective approach followed. The concept videos are structured in a very thoughtful manner and makes every topic seem easy and intuitive. My ESRs from the previous attempts had indicated that my weakest area in verbal was SC so i was primarily focused on improving my SC sccuracy. I would recommend anyone who shares the same weakness to watch their SC concept videos atleast twice to etch them in your mind. My verbal score jumped from 35 in the last two attempts to 41 with just 3 weeks of prep.

I also really liked the mini clinics to teach quant formulae and the podcasts to boost confidence before every mock. Would definitely recommend the software especially for retakers who have tried to get the desired score in conventional ways and failed. Lastly, i haven't seen a more proactive customer support in any professional service i have ever taken. The response time in under 30 mins for any questions and they go out of their way to provide you with all the help they can.

Vid2018
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best self-pased course for retakers!

5 stars
August 21, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
Empowergmat helped me boost my score by 40 points in a less than a month. I had given the GMAT twice before, each time getting the same score despite using different tactics and extensively practicing with the Official guides and official mocks. I switched to Empower for my third attempt because after my 2nd one i realised that self-study was not working for me and i really needed a game- changing strategy as i was looking a score boost of a minimum 40 points.

I chose the Empower 1 month plan after reading so many positive reviews about them on gmat forums. I honestly was skeptical because i hadn't heard of any friends or colleagues use the platform before. But as soon as i started with the trial, i was convinced of the simplicity and effective approach followed. The concept videos are structured in a very thoughtful manner and makes every topic seem easy and intuitive. My ESRs from the previous attempts had indicated that my weakest area in verbal was SC so i was primarily focused on improving my SC sccuracy. I would recommend anyone who shares the same weakness to watch their SC concept videos atleast twice to etch them in your mind. My verbal score jumped from 35 in the last two attempts to 41 with just 3 weeks of prep.

I also really liked the mini clinics to teach quant formulae and the podcasts to boost confidence before every mock. Would definitely recommend the software especially for retakers who have tried to get the desired score in conventional ways and failed. Lastly, i haven't seen a more proactive customer support in any professional service i have ever taken. The response time in under 30 mins for any questions and they go out of their way to provide you with all the help they can.