Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course

5 stars
(5/5) - 110 reviews
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: University of Washington
Major: International Relations
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for test taking strategy!

5 stars
January 28, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 110 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 110 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 710
My experience: I studied for & took the GMAT in 2014 shortly after taking the LSAT. I received a 700 thanks to a really high verbal score (48/ 99th percentile) but low quant (37/ 34rd percentile).

I ended up pursuing an early career Masters in Management rather than the joint MBA+JD I was originally planning on. Last fall I started thinking about eventually applying for an MBA (in 2020) and was at a time in life it seemed more convenient to study for and take the GMAT (no big moves, no big job changes, etc.).

So I retook an exam to see what stuck from 2014 - I think I scored around a 650. I knew I wanted 700+ so decided to read through Manhattan Guides. However, I didn't feel they really improved my math skills. It required memorizing a lot of formulas and I'm more of a common sense test taker (would rather use logic to solve problems rather than relying on memorization - I'm not great at memorizing). After reading reviews I decided to use EmpowerGMAT because it seemed to include a lot of test taking strategies.

It fulfilled all my expectations! It was super helpful. I did the first section and then some parts of the remaining sections. I found the strategies most helpful (e.g. eliminating answers, testing the answers, etc.).

My GMAT score ended up 710 (47 verbal, 41 quant) which I am happy with for the amount of time I put in. I think if you actually did all of the EmpowerGMAT modules you would be in a really good position for 750+.

As far as ROI on time spent goes, I think EmpowerGMAT is great. It provides test taking strategies that will immediately bump your score, and also a great breakdown of concepts tested on the GMAT. I was also impressed with their verbal - I think it would be good for studying for the LSAT reading comprehension actually! Additionally, the fact the materials are online helps a lot with being able to study anytime (I travel for work so this was nice). And the checklist / progress dashboard is pretty motivating. Finally, they are available if you have any problems or questions. Great program!

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat equals number one

5 stars
January 25, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 110 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 110 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
When I decided to apply to an MSc Management course at one of the top universities in Europe I knew I had a lot of work ahead of me. This work included studying for and taking the GMAT. I looked around online, seeking advice. To be honest, I didn't know where to start.
Then I came across some forums advocating the EMPOWERgmat program. They offer a free trial, so I thought why not?
That trial turned into 3 months hard studying and following the curriculum carefully laid out by EMPOWERgmat.
The teaching style of both Rich (Quant), and Max (Verbal) ensure no stone is left unturned, and I my confidence grew as I progressed with the course.
In the end, I got 640 in the exam and accepted to the course I desired. I cannot thank the guys at EMPOWERgmat enough for the role they played, and I highly, highly recommend them to anyone embarking on the same journey I did!

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: Lebanon
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Construction
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

A customizable and direct course

5 stars
January 18, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 110 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 110 reviews
Teacher: Brian Michaels
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 700
Already having a good score, I wanted to reach the 700 threshold; after reviewing several online GMAT courses I chose Empower GMAT's program because its course could be customizable for the duration of study and I only needed to refine my verbal skills. It turned out to be a good decision as the author of the verbal section did an excellent job of simplifying the learning curve all the while giving out out the tricks of the trade especially regarding the SC and CR sections. For people having more than 3 months time to prepare for the test, the course is very rich in material and would be ideal for first timers especially.

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Major: Engineering
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: Chile
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Tactic approach towards my 700 GMAT

4 stars
January 3, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 110 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 110 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 700
The first time I took the GMAT I only self studied using the GMAT official guide and I was able to get a respectable 670 (Q49 V33). My main weakness was the way I approached quant (too much complex maths and I wasn't fast/efficient enough on most standardized questions), and on the verbal side I lacked a proper strategy (I had the bad habit of not properly eliminating answers and just selecting the one I though that fitted the best)

EMPOWER was a huge game changer. I knew that for my second try I had to take a good, structured course that would go through all the core content and specially teach strategy regarding elimination of wrong answers.

EMPOWER definitely excels at this last topic: its triage tips, and strategies specially for sentence correction, allowed me to improve 30 points (all in verbal, going from V33 to V37)

I would definitely recommend this course to anyone. The only positive criticism that i have is that I believe it lacks a bit more difficult excercises (700+) on the quant side.

Thank you very much EMPOWER for my 700 GMAT which has allowed me to gain admissions at Kellogg, INSEAD and LBS!

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Major: International Business
Industry: Chemicals
Country: Switzerland
Verified Real Student Review

100% recommend - 500 to 700 in Practice CATs and I genuinely enjoyed the process

5 stars
December 13, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 110 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 110 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I am so lucky I came across EMPOWERgmat. I actually signed up to the course mostly because I thought the price point was more reasonable than some of the alternatives, but in the end it was so good that I would have paid anything! Here I will provide some highlights from the course and the main reasons why I would 100% recommend it to anyone preparing to take the GMAT. (I will include more details of my personal experience in the Share Your Experience thread; in short, I went from 500 to 700 in my practice CATs, but score was 650 on the day due to some very stupid timing mistakes).

STRUCTURE
First of all, the structure of the course is excellent; I was able to break the 12 week study plan into clear, achievable goals for each week; a typical week would involved completion of a Quant module (ie. Algebra), completion of a Verbal module (ie. Reading Comprehension), a couple of mini courses on strategy or tactics, and then some practice quizzes. Even as the weeks closed in I didn't feel overwhelmed, because I was following the curriculum and I felt confident that I would have covered everything I needed to know by Test Day. (They have also designed study plans for 8 weeks and 4 weeks, where I assume curriculum is cut back or condensed).

TEACHING
The other amazing thing, was that when I sat down to do a module, for example, 'Algebra', it wasn't at all overwhelming; the module was broken up into clear classes, where Rich would take you quickly through the concepts and then work with you through lots of example questions. Same with Max on the Verbal side. I was very weak in Quant when I started, and the answer explanations in the OG would often just leave me confused and frustrated, but Rich's explanations are so simple and clear. He also has a positive yet pragmatic attitude, which I really enjoyed.

APPROACH
I also really love that this course is specifically designed around beating the GMAT. It's not about improving your maths skills or your English grammar - all of those things are only focused on in as far as they can help boost your GMAT score. There is a lot of focus on clever strategy and tactics. The Test It tactic and Data Sufficiency process completely changed Quant for me, and even in Verbal, where I was already strong, I saw my score go up several points once Max explained the wrong answer types to look out for and little tactics like the 'The Opposite Test' in Critical Reasoning. I think this element of the course is worth its weight in gold and really sets this course apart from others.

ENJOYMENT
Perhaps this is the most important element. I had thought that studying for the GMAT would just be this necessary yet unpleasant task that I would have to endure for a couple of months. I imagined that I would dread every evening and weekend that I had set aside for studying. However, I was pleasantly surprised when this was not the case at all! I know it might sound crazy, but I actually even looked forward to working on an EMPOWER Quant module after dinner. I think it's because there are so many quizzes built into the curriculum, so the study is very interactive and you're constantly getting feedback.

I am usually not one for the gushing review, but I honestly cannot recommend this course highly enough. If you are preparing to take the GMAT, take this course!

(As an additional note/brag, I completed this three months of study while working full-time and parenting a 1 year old child, so I was only getting in an average of 10-12 hours of study a week).

Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Major: Business
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Become a GMAT assassin

5 stars
December 9, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 110 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 110 reviews
Teacher: Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 640
In September I sat the first time for the GMAT exam with an effort of about two months training. I received a 560 and was very disappointed. Therefore, I wrote a post in a forum and received an answer by Rich Cohen. Rich told me exactly what my issue was without even telling me about EMPOWERgmat.
Nevertheless, for my second prep time I started informing myself about GMAT courses and chose EMPOWERgmat because of the positive feedback by people who took the test a second and third time.

I soon realized that Rich Cohen is the founder of EMPOWERgmat and started asking him further questions via e-mail. Rich replied always in about 1-3 hours. Amazing to have the GMAT assassin himself answering your questions within hours. Rich is very direct and tells you if you are doing totally wrong. He is really pushing you to stand up and do what it needs to become a GMAT assassin. Maybe some people find that offensive, nevertheless I think it helps a lot!

The course itself is very well structured. You start learning using techniques instead of math (or in combination with math). This totally changed my view on the GMAT math section and helped me to get faster and more accurate. The verbal part of EMPOWERgmat is made by Max. His approaches to solve CR questions and RC questions are just amazing. I also really liked that the transcripts of his videos are available. This allowed me to learn in the library without the need to wear my headphones for hours. Unfortunately, I did not improve my verbal that much (from V32 to V33) but I think with more practice in the EMPOWERgmat techniques, I would have improved my verbal part significantly as well. My math score was improved my 10 points (from Q36 to Q46), what I think is amazing for that time and the fact that I was not able to finish the course.

Beside the approaches for math and verbal, EMPOWERgmat includes very useful tactics and information about the test and the preparation for the test itself. I bought myself headphones and pencils that are like the original GMAT headphones and pencils. I really enjoyed the GMAT podcasts, especially the ones for the last days before the official exam.

Learning for another 2,5 months was tough. I had to start writing my bachelors thesis in that time, preparing for internship applications, taking classes in university and working nearly full-time. Nevertheless, EMPOWERgmat made it possible to improve myself by 80 points and receive a 640! I did not even have the time to finish the course (progress: about 45%). I am pretty sure by completing the course and having more time for preparation than I had during the 2.5 months, a near to 700 or 700+ score would definitely be possible coming from 460.
I would highly recommend EMPOWERgmat to everyone!

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The Most Effective GMAT preparation course

5 stars
December 6, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 110 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 110 reviews
Teacher: Rich, Brian
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 680
When I started my GMAT preparation, I was studying by myself. I used to solve questions posted in forums, downloaded free material, going through discussions for explanations, etc. Doing this by myself did not give me a structured approach to the GMAT. Learning for the exam seemed a daunting task. I wasted few months doing this, and I didn't see any improvement in my score. An expert suggested taking the Empower course and after reading some reviews I decided to do so. Looking back, I would say this was a step in the right direction.

This course helps beginners get the right foundation as well as for retakers. I was strong in Quant but not in Verbal, so at first I planned to use the course for Verbal. Listening to Max's explanations for Verbal OG questions seemed so simple. This was a huge confidence boost. I imitated his approach towards SC and RC questions. The SC 5 second rule, and RC Ladder and reading pace improved my accuracy to 90%. I listened to his explanations for all the OG questions and read the solutions in OG as well. I got accustomed to official questions and was able to quickly identify any question that didn't seem official. During the exam, I was so confident in SC, which was a horrible nightmare a few months back, that I completed the questions in a minute and was able to easily eliminate the wrong answers. In RC, the approaches seemed very simple but they were the most effective. But due to some unfortunate circumstances, I did not score well in verbal on the final exam, but that does not discourage me to give these guys a shout out.

At first, I wasn't focusing on the Quant as I was pretty comfortable, but then I thought let me check it out. Rich's explanation and the tips he gives at the end of every explanation are terrific. As he mentions, Test it and Test the answers can be applied to most of the questions. I was stuck at Q48 for a long time, but after combining Empower tactics and my math skills I was able to reach Q50.

By listening to their explanations carefully and practicing those tactics, the GMAT will be a breeze. If anyone is looking for a structured, an effective and simple approach to tackle questions, these guys are the best.

Joined: Feb 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: washington university in st. louis
Major: Engineering
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Empower is the best resource I have used

5 stars
November 21, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 110 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 110 reviews
Teacher: Brian Michaels
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
Empower was far-and-away the best tool I used for my GMAT prep. They provide hundreds of instructional videos and use only real, retired gmat problems. They know the test better than anyone I have come in contact with and what really sets them apart is their strategy to "beat the gmat."

The Empower team has analyzed the gmat and has found ways to crack the test, so that you can achieve your highest score. I know this is probably cliche and many companies claim to have a "leg up" on all the competition, but I think Empower truly is the best. I took a course with another test-prep company and studied for about 4 months and got a 660. This was a disappointment because I got a 620 on the diagnostic test.

With empower I studied for about a month and a half and got over the "plateau" that everyone seems to face at some point in their studies. I ended up getting a 710 after using Empower. Additionally, the staff was very prompt in their replies to questions. The company is smaller than the goliath companies such as Kaplan and Manhattan, which works to your (the student) advantage.

10/10 recommend Empower.

Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Turkey
Verified Real Student Review

30 points increase in a month!

5 stars
November 18, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 110 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 110 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 730
I took GMAT two times, one in 14 September the second in 3 November. I prepared only using Official Guide for the first one, I got 700, but I aimed higher than that, since I will apply for scholarships too, so I registered for another test. I took 2 weeks break after the first one and decided to prepare more systematically for the second test. I searched for the courses, check the prices, took some trial courses and decided to register for EMPOWERgmat since it seems most logical to me taking into account price and quality. I had only one month to prepare and being able to register for only a month was very convenient for me. I was good at quant, I got 49 in the first trial, so I did not use EMPOWERgmat for quant. I increased my verbal score from 36 to 40 thanks to EMPOWERgmat's tricks. I watched the videos for RC, CR and SC in verbal section and solved the practice questions. The course helped me to be familiar about all verbal question types in GMAT and also taught me how to approach them. Practice questions after each video of a certain type of question helped me to comprehend the concept. I really enjoyed EMPOWERgmat, it is very effective. After you got prepared with this course, you will not be surprised by any question on the actual test. I recommend it to anyone who aims to increase his/her verbal score. I scored 730 on the second try thanks to it.

Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: UCSB
Major: Environmental Studies
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Increased my score 100 points in 4 weeks

5 stars
November 10, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 110 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 110 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 730
I decided to take the GMAT in the end of September. After doing some research on the best study tools, I heard about EmpowerGMAT and I'm so glad I checked it out. Not only are they a whole lot cheaper than most of the study services (only $99 a month with unlimited access to all of the study materials), but they teach you a ton of great tricks.

I signed up to take the test on November 7th, and started my subscription in the beginning of October, giving me about 5 weeks to study. I ended up not really studying for 2 of those weeks due to a natural disaster happening in my town, but that's another story. I ended up only studying hard for about 3 weeks. My score went from a 630 to a 730 on test day, just with the help Empower gave me. I didn't use any other study materials or programs.

Some of the things I liked about Empower:
-You can go at your own pace. Some of the modules/lessons I already knew really well, so I just skipped them. It's that easy. Or, you can redo modules as many times as you need to.
-Great little tricks. They taught me a few tricks in both quant and verbal that could apply to many different problems, and were super easy to learn. These were a big reason for my score increase.
-It's cost effective. You pay by the month (I think there is actually a two week extension option as well) so you don't pay more than you need to. For me, I didn't want to study for 3 months, and a lot of other services only have like $500-$1000 intensive long programs. So it can work for anyone with any type of study needs.
-There are a TON of lessons and resources on the site. I barely even scratched the surface. Basically any part of the test or topic on the test, there were a ton of lessons and practice problems and tips. And you can do them in any order you want.