EMPOWERgmat
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 130 reviews
Shubrat
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
College: University of Alberta
Major: Economics
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Best way to Approach the GMAT

5 stars
November 13, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 130 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 130 reviews
Teacher: Stacy Wilson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 690
When I started the process to apply to business school, I originally thought the GMAT would be the easiest portion due to my background as a CFA and Investment advisory. However on my first attempt I scored a 650 and realized that I would probably need to prepare before I took an actual attempt. I found EMPOWERgmat online and heard great reviews, so I jumped in and followed the course format. Since I had a limited time of 1-2 months, I took the fast track course and spent 2-3 hours every day. The tricks and practice they provide really gave me an edge in increasing my score. I ended up getting a 690 on my actual try, even though I had achieved a 720 on a practice exam. Regardless, this score was above the average of what I needed and am more than happy with the outcome.

jsus16
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2018
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT or bust

5 stars
October 31, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 130 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 130 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 710
I started my GMAT studying about 6 months ago and wasted a lot of time with an expensive tutor and going about studying with no plan. My first test in August was a disaster. I got a 610 and I was SO upset.

I took about a month break and had to get surgery. I wanted to reset and figure out my new plan.
I started doing some research on what online program/tutoring to do going forward as I wasn’t going back to spending 150 plus on a tutoring session. I landed on EmpowerGMAT. Fast forward to Oct 1. I made my game plan, an attack strategy of sorts. I was going to follow Empower’s one-month guide to studying and take the test Oct 30th.

I 100000 % made the right call.

I am not going to lie and say I just did it causally and everything worked out, I straight up GRINDED for four weeks everyday. I spent hours day in and day out working through all of their lessons. It was 100 dollars for the month and the best money I have ever spent. I learned so much more from those videos than I ever did with any other material/tactic. They had advice and guidance I had never come across before and it was working. My CAT’s and practice problems were showing the results I wanted. I scored a 730 on my next CAT about 2 weeks into the month. I felt stronger than ever answering every type of question. You know in school when you finally understand a subject or piece of material and then afterwards you could nail it every time? That’s how I finally felt; it was all clicking. The lessons and practice problems were helpful and to the point. Yesterday, I took my second (and final!!) test. I scored a 710 and couldn’t be happier. I attribute so much of my success to EmpowerGMAT. If you are willing to do the lessons and take the time, it will improve your score—no DOUBT.

auljaj
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
Verified Real Student Review

580 (Q44 V26) to 670 (Q45 V37) in 2 Months!

5 stars
October 4, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 130 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 130 reviews
Teacher: Rich, Max, Stacy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 670
6/23/18 - Official GMAT #1 - 580 - Q44 - V26
10/1/18 - Official GMAT #2 - 670 - Q45 - V37

I owe my 90 point increase entirely to EMPOWERgmat.

I self-studied for 1 month and got a 580. I was miserable and I wasn't sure if I could beat the GMAT. I took the month of July off from studying as I decided what my new approach would be. I knew I learned best through instructional videos. I don't like in-class instruction and I wanted it to be self-paced. Another big thing is PRICE. The GMAT exam is expensive enough, I didn't want to spend $1000 on a class - that's outrageous and unnecessary. Then I found EMPOWERgmat. I went through their trial period and I knew within a few minutes that this was the class for me. You pay $99 a month so if you can finish the whole online course in one month then you save money!

It took me two months to complete the entire Score Booster EMPOWERgmat course. I started studying on August 1st, 2018 and my GMAT retake was scheduled for October 1st, 2018. I do work full time and I honestly wasn't as diligent as I could have been. Had I studied more consistently (as opposed to just utilizing my weekends) I could have gotten a 700+.

Rich and Max's videos were amazing and they teach you everything you need to know. They taught me that the "trap" answers that always got me are actually punishment answers because I was doing something wrong. They also told me I can SKIP certain questions. I was shocked by that and I found it difficult in the beginning to skip hard/time consuming questions. Once I started skipping 3-4 questions in both Quant and 2-3 in Verbal, my practice scores shot up to 690. Now, given my goal sore of 650, I didn't focus as much on the Quant section because I was always within a range of 44-46, which was fine for me. What I needed to focus on was the Verbal section and the strategies for solving each type of problem. The strategies I learned from EMPOWERgmat were critical in improving my verbal score by 11 points! Only in the one week before my exam did I do official GMAT questions outside of those presented in the EMPOWERgmat course. So, as I said, if you put in more practice than I did, you can get a 700+ with the strategies taught to you by EMPOWERgmat.

Quant: Rich's videos helped me sooo much with pacing. I always ran out of time during my practice exams so I always got a bunch of questions wrong at the end. And the questions at the end are almost always GETABLE. The GMAT puts them there to reward the people who are doing well on time. Also, I was finally getting number property and overlapping set questions correct thanks to the strategies that Rich taught. If you struggle in math, Rich will teach you all the basics and then the tricks to make you better.

Verbal: Max taught me strategies I never knew I needed. I thought I could get by on Verbal because its just reading words. Nope. I needed those strategies in order to get an 11 point increase in my verbal score. After watching all the verbal section videos, SC was finally easy, I was able to knock out the 3 wrong answer types on CR, and RC was actually simple if you spend more time reading the passage! I hated the Verbal section of the GMAT, it was never my strong suit. But Max's videos were so amazing that I started to enjoy some of the questions because for the first time, I KNEW I was choosing the correct answer, I wasn't just guessing between 2-3 answers. The most important thing I learn from Max is how to choose the right answer when you've narrowed it down to two answers. That strategy helped me the most because I always got it down to a 50/50 shot, but I always chose wrong.

Overall, EMPOWERgmat is the best course out there. It's inexpensive compared to others, it's self-paced, and they provide so many other benefits with the class (they set you up with an advisor, they have an option for a 30 min phone call with a pro to look at your admissions essays/profile, you can get GMAT official exams at a discounted price). EMPOWERgmat is the best bang for your buck. The team is incredibly helpful and I've already recommended the course o multiple friends and colleagues who want to take the beast that is the GMAT. You won't regret choosing EMPOWERgmat. Start with their free trial, I promise you will like it.

Good luck and happy studies!

doublebarrel
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Vassar College
Major: Environmental Studies
Industry: Agribusiness
Country: Colombia
Verified Real Student Review

Nailing a 710 with EMPOWERGmat

5 stars
September 3, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 130 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 130 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 710
Everyone I knew was recommending a private tutor, but I was worried about both the price and the inability to move completely at my own pace. I am super super happy I stumbled on EMPOWERgmat. I went from a 630 to a 710 after working with them, and saw an incredible improvement in my Verbal score (from 82nd percentile to 98th!).

Verbal: I really enjoyed Max's videos on the verbal section. The dude knows this part of the exam inside and out, and through his videos, he gives you great insight into how he approaches each question and arrives at the right answer. I had worked with other prep books before so it took a little time for me to be completely won over by the new approach, but it really worked wonders. When it came to Verbal, I just tried to pretend I was Max and approach each question exactly as he would. In fact, the process became quite fun as I began to see the little tricks and stumbling blocks the test writers like to throw at us. I found his SC approach the most helpful, and improved greatly. Before Empower, I was having a ton of problems with SC and didn't know why! I learned quickly I was focusing on all the wrong things.

Quant: While I really enjoyed Rick's videos and approach as well, I didn't see the improvement I was hoping for in the quant section, and I'm still not sure why. I went from a 38 to a 42, but that still left me in the 43%, which for me was quite disappointing, as I don't consider myself to be bad at math. Rick is an absolute master at the quant section and while studying, I felt like I was picking up a ton of knowledge and techniques that would help me. However, I continued to struggle with Quant through my CATs and finally, on my official exam. When I was looking for a program to sign up with, many people recommended EMPOWER explicitly for the quant. Again, while I felt like I was learning a ton with Rick's videos, I am nervous to personally recommend this section, as I didn't see much improvement. However, I think with a little more time and review, I could have been much more successful with the guidance and help of Rick.

Overall: Studying and eventually taking the GMAT is a real pain, especially when so many of us already have pretty full schedules. I found working with videos much more effective than books as they do a better job of drawing in and holding your attention. EMPOWER's videos are all carefully thought out, and engaging enough that you aren't desperately trying to not fall asleep. The syllabus is also laid out in a way that takes the guess work out of planning your study schedule. I would feel more than comfortable recommending these guys to anyone. They are damn good at what they do and clearly take their work very seriously. Keep calm and Empower On.

Vid2018
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best self-pased course for retakers!

5 stars
August 29, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 130 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 130 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
Empowergmat helped me boost my score by 40 points in a less than a month. I had given the GMAT twice before, each time getting the same score despite using different tactics and extensively practicing with the Official guides and official mocks. I switched to Empower for my third attempt because after my 2nd one i realised that self-study was not working for me and i really needed a game- changing strategy as i was looking a score boost of a minimum 40 points.

I chose the Empower 1 month plan after reading so many positive reviews about them on gmat forums. I honestly was skeptical because i hadn't heard of any friends or colleagues use the platform before. But as soon as i started with the trial, i was convinced of the simplicity and effective approach followed. The concept videos are structured in a very thoughtful manner and makes every topic seem easy and intuitive. My ESRs from the previous attempts had indicated that my weakest area in verbal was SC so i was primarily focused on improving my SC sccuracy. I would recommend anyone who shares the same weakness to watch their SC concept videos atleast twice to etch them in your mind. My verbal score jumped from 35 in the last two attempts to 41 with just 3 weeks of prep.

I also really liked the mini clinics to teach quant formulae and the podcasts to boost confidence before every mock. Would definitely recommend the software especially for retakers who have tried to get the desired score in conventional ways and failed. Lastly, i haven't seen a more proactive customer support in any professional service i have ever taken. The response time in under 30 mins for any questions and they go out of their way to provide you with all the help they can.

Vid2018
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

Best self-pased course for retakers!

5 stars
August 21, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 130 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 130 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
Empowergmat helped me boost my score by 40 points in a less than a month. I had given the GMAT twice before, each time getting the same score despite using different tactics and extensively practicing with the Official guides and official mocks. I switched to Empower for my third attempt because after my 2nd one i realised that self-study was not working for me and i really needed a game- changing strategy as i was looking a score boost of a minimum 40 points.

I chose the Empower 1 month plan after reading so many positive reviews about them on gmat forums. I honestly was skeptical because i hadn't heard of any friends or colleagues use the platform before. But as soon as i started with the trial, i was convinced of the simplicity and effective approach followed. The concept videos are structured in a very thoughtful manner and makes every topic seem easy and intuitive. My ESRs from the previous attempts had indicated that my weakest area in verbal was SC so i was primarily focused on improving my SC sccuracy. I would recommend anyone who shares the same weakness to watch their SC concept videos atleast twice to etch them in your mind. My verbal score jumped from 35 in the last two attempts to 41 with just 3 weeks of prep.

I also really liked the mini clinics to teach quant formulae and the podcasts to boost confidence before every mock. Would definitely recommend the software especially for retakers who have tried to get the desired score in conventional ways and failed. Lastly, i haven't seen a more proactive customer support in any professional service i have ever taken. The response time in under 30 mins for any questions and they go out of their way to provide you with all the help they can.

klw11
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2018
College: Connecticut College
Major: Environmental Studies
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

EmpowerGMAT - great value & results. Highly recommend.

5 stars
August 7, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 130 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 130 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I relied exclusively on EmpowerGMAT for my test prep, and it paid off. The platform provides study guides to users who want a structured study plan, but also allows flexibility to users who want to focus their study time on particular weak areas (for example, I focused 100% of my study efforts on Quant b/c I didn't need the help on Verbal.) The practice problems and accompanying video lessons provide clear and easy-to-follow guidance for answering each question, and the quizzes leverage the GMAT Official Guide, so you can be confident your practicing on problems that closely mimic the real thing.

Throughout the "mini lessons," Rich acknowledges that there are multiple ways to solve a problem, but shows you the best (i.e. fastest) way to solve them, and gives you clear guidance for employing those strategies wherever possible to pick up valuable seconds/minutes on Test Day. He also shares strategic insight into how the test works and what the test-makers are really looking for, which helped me get more comfortable with triaging questions and drastically improved my time management.

The people at EmpowerGMAT are really helpful and proactive in ensuring you're satisfied with your test prep materials. When my first attempt at the test didn't go the way I'd hoped, they were quick to offer me a month of complimentary access, and Rich provided his feedback on my Enhanced Score Report to help me focus my study efforts prior to my next attempt. I was regularly impressed by the value I got from EmpowerGMAT, and at a price point far below what many of the leading test prep courses charge, it is undoubtedly worth the money. I highly recommend.

JCM_720
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2018
College: Harvard University
Major: Chemistry
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Quant Booster

5 stars
July 7, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 130 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 130 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
My first ever practice gmat without any studying I scored a 680 and was really stuck at 680 for a while, with my quant score always bringing me down. After 2.5 months of studying, my math knowledge was where it needed to be, but I didn't have a good strategy to tackle the section. I stumbled upon EmpowerGmat while looking for resources and was drawn to the 30 day Quant Booster. I loved the videos, the structured approach and checklist of things to do. It was helpful for me to have a set list of tasks that I had to accomplish in a given timeline. It made studying feel much more guided and gave me a tangible goal.

What I learned most from EmpowerGMAT was strategy on how to complete the test, and it applied to every section, not just Quant. I had triage techniques, frameworks for timing and pacing myself, and learned more about how to skip a question and move on to another to still get a high score. At the end, my final gmat score was a 720 which is exactly where I wanted it.

I would definitely recommend EmpowerGMAT for anyone looking for structured approach to studying. It will not substitute coming up with your own general strategy and approach (no gmat prep site should), but it is a fantastic way to hone in concepts you're less comfortable with, and provides a lot of helpful problem sets for you to work through. You can use it in the beginning of your studies, or if you're stuck months into studying.

Thanks Empower for the help!

tx_51
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Major: Philosophy
Industry: Military
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Learn the Right Approach -- Test It!

5 stars
May 19, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 130 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 130 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 730
After taking the GMAT for the first time last December, I felt like even though I had a solid foundation for the material, my approach still needed a little work. I had already gone through the video lessons offered through Magoosh and learned the Quant basics in the Target Test Prep course leading up to my first attempt. I came away from my first test feeling alright, but like there had to be a better approach to the questions. I emailed Rich directly and asked him for some insight. He was glad to look over my enhanced score report and offer his thoughts on moving forward from there. He had mentioned the Test It method, and it definitely sparked my interest. I ended up going through the all of the lessons on the Test It and Test the Answer approach and review lessons offered through Empower a few times and ended up coming out of my second attempt 20 points higher! So much for not being able to improve an already over 700 score. I could not have done it without Empower's approach to questions. I was able to triage every question right away and get through the entire test. Thanks Rich!

inbalh
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: Northwestern University
Major: Biology
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Engaging, easy to tailor to your needs, responsive!

5 stars
May 17, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 130 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 130 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I loved EMPOWERgmat for many reasons. First, the quality of the practices and the explanation videos was incredible. The software really encouraged you to work through problems on your own first, and then giving you an in-depth explanation, which I feel is the best way to learn. It's also easy to customize this course for yourself. You click through the videos and you can focus more on what works for you and less on what you don't need as much help with. Lastly, whenever I had a question or an issue, the people at EMPOWER were extremely responsive and helpful. Overall, I highly recommend this course! I bumped up my score by almost 100 points using the tactics from EMPOWERgmat and I'm positive that everyone would experience similar results!