EMPOWERgmat
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

EMPOWERgmat

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

5 stars
(5/5) - 124 reviews
sponcedeleon
Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome for retakers

5 stars
February 16, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 680
I signed up to the EmpowerGMAT course after doing some research on the online courses available that could be completed in one month.

I had already taken the GMAT with some preparation but unfortunately it didn't go as planned. I got a 600 Q38V34. My scores from practice tests were much better so I was really angry. The EmpowerGMAT course made me realize that if I wanted to improve in one month I had to focus on the most frequently tested areas.

Quant: My situation in quant was a bit atypical. I was REALLY good at some complex subjects such as probability, combinations, multi shaped geometry and overlapping sets. But I was failing at subjects such as remainders and percentages. If you don't know it yet you will learn it in your Empower course: some subjects are worth little points and some other are worth a lot. I was good at the ones that were worth less so I had to focus on getting those easier problems correct first. Rich's approach helped me in two fundamental ways: firstly, Test It works wonders on A LOT of problems and secondly, you should prioritize some type of questions over others. I'll tell you this now: focus on getting insanely good at Test It. My score in Quant wasn't great but I truly believe that Test It is the right approach for non-math guys like me.

Verbal: I'm not a native speaker but since the beginning I was better at the verbal section than the quant one. It came more naturally and I found it much easier. My lowest verbal score was actually in my first GMAT (V34), I remember finding that exam extremely difficult, much more than what I had seen at the CATs. I was already really good at CR and RC without taking notes so I didn't follow Max's advice in that aspect, but mainly because I had very little time to get good at doing that. My weakness in verbal came from SC so I followed Max's advice thoroughly and I saw a really good improvement. Once again, Empower is focused on teaching you the most common type of questions. It was the same for SC, they helped me realize that the mistakes are usually the same, you just need to get rid of all the fillers.

Overall I consider it a very good and focused course. I came with some background since I had bought and read all the Manhattan Guides before doing the Empower Course but you could totally get a good score by only following this course. The only reason I'm not giving them 5 stars is because the web page course interface could be better. Apart from that they know what they are doing and they will teach you what you need to know to succeed, nothing more and nothing less.

Mario9789
Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Major: Economics
Country: Italy
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERGmat is probably the best, most efficient and affordable course on the market

5 stars
February 8, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Teacher: No-one personally, I only followed the course
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I am not a native speaker and I am currently completing my graduate studies.

I am writing this review today because I truly am grateful to the guys over at EMPOWERGmat for the service they provide: I could score in the 96th percentile while prepping for a relatively short period of time (1 month and a half, averaging a couple of hours a day) and without too much of a hassle, and for an affordable price. I know this might sound like I'm marketing for them, but the truth is they are so great I decided to write this review. My reccomendation is to try the course as they offer long-ish free trial periods, and check by yourself if it the course will work out for you. I'm sure it will.

The EMPOWERGmat course is GOLD. It consists of video-lesson in which an instructor speaks, and you are only shown a pad onto which he writes down calculations / formulas / important data. They are all very direct and simple (The solution to a Quant exercise averages around 2 minutes, and I think all of the theory lessons don't add up to more than a few hours). The various arguments are split in lessons + exercises made up by the company in order to show specific patterns/tricks + solutions to Official Guide exercises using the EMPOWER approach. The Quant and Verbal are teacher by 2 different tutors. Quant part tutor is almost funny, definitely not heavy to follow, and very clear. Verbal can be a little bit more tedious, but it will give you anything you need to beat the test.

Why is this course different from the other I've checked out? Because it's totally, entirely, nonsense free. It's not one of those courses that make up weird, twisted arguments only to push you to purchase more tests / questions / books. These guys only give you exactly what you need in order to score a very, very good score. Quant covers all of the arguments that show up on the test and actually matter. I'll give you one example: standard deviation. You will never, never, never be asked to calculate the standard deviation formula on the GMAT. You just won't, it's impossible. You are only required to understand the concept, so why would you fill your brain up with that formula? Plus, the sad truth is that the 700-800 level questions idea is nonsense. In order to hit a very high score (think 90-95 percentile) you only need to be consistent with questions of Medium level from the OG, plus figuring out some of the Hard ones. That's it. No need for difficult things, just practice long enough to become consistent: after a while you will feel like the problems are all the same, you will see patterns / where the tentmakers are trying to trick you without even thinking about it. That's the secret to the GMAT: it's really similar to solving a bunch of medium questions and some hard ones, taking the OG questions as a reference.. Worked out for me. Verbal gives you an approach that can help you figure out most of the questions. If you are somewhat good by yourself, you will be able to consistently hit 90-95 percentile just practicing with a couple dozens of questions.

OWN
Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
Major: Engineering
Industry: Engineering
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Empower GMAT: The results-oriented course

5 stars
February 5, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 730
I was initially drawn to Empower GMAT because of a review - the poster had gone from a 490 to a 770 in 3 months. Since I couldn't ignore the effectiveness demonstrated in that story, I decided to see whether this improvement was representative of their other clients. Not only was Empower very positively mentioned on the forums, but it also included 1, 2, and 3 month study plans so they can be used to fit most time frames.

After signing up for the free trial, I was sold. Empower focuses on a fundamental aspect of the GMAT: it is, categorically speaking, predictable. As such, Rich and Max present the course in a way that capitalizes off of that. Although there is no substitute for knowing the GMAT's curriculum, which Rich and Max cover in its entirety, the GMAT's underlying theory is relatively rudimentary, and so tactics and strategy reign supreme. Rich's strategy game is insane. He will tell you which questions to dump, which questions don't count, and which questions your absolutely must get right. He will teach you how to guess properly, how to manage your time, and even how to get over a 700 while only focusing on 75% of the questions you see on test day. By the end of the course, you will experience such an intimate understanding of the GMAT and its underlying structure that come test day, you will go in there knowing exactly what to expect and how to get what you want.

Empower not only emphasizes strategy above all else, but also only focuses on official GMAT questions. A huge pet peeve of mine is when test prep companies try to focus on their own "in-house" made questions rather than just use the most accurate resource available: questions made by GMAC. I can guarantee you that test prep companies who make their own questions do not spend $2000-$3000 per question like GMAC does. You might not see a difference as a beginner, but once you get used to GMAC official questions and then start doing third-party questions, you will notice that they have a different feel to them. With Empower, you focus your efforts where they are most effective: questions made by the test maker.

In terms of customer service, I was always - without fail - taken care of within 2 hours of submitting a ticket or a request. Because Empower is a small company, I tended to deal with the same people and it is just refreshing to not have to constantly explain your situation to whoever your case has been passed on to. With that in mind, I felt that Empower's staff were truly invested in my success and in my experience using their website. In short, if you need anything done, or have a question, you can get a response fairly quickly and it will be from someone who sincerely wants you to succeed.

Finally, looking at the price tag for some of these other courses, Empower's course offers incredible value. The videos are focused, engaging, and entertaining and give you what you need without focusing on adding unnecessary production value that will ultimately come out of your pocket.

Whether you are an experienced test taker or have never taken a standardized test before, Empower will definitely add to your arsenal as you prepare for the GMAT. I would definitely recommend this course!

MalinF
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: Frankfurt School of Finance & Management
Major: Business
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

In less than 2 month to my target score

5 stars
January 31, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Teacher: Rich and Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 630
I applied to Master Programs in Business School in Europe and needed to score at least 600 points. After I did some review in math concepts, I took a practice test and scored 570. It was really shocking for me as I only had 2 months left until the application deadline and really needed to score above 600 on my first try.

At first, I thought that I could master the GMAT with the OG alone but after my second practice test, which I scored even lower (540), I asked a friend who recently did his GMAT for help. He recommended EMPOWERgmat as this course took him to his target score. I gave it a try and really can't thank the EMPOWER guys enough! Their approach is so much better than studying math formulas and rules all day long. They teach you very powerful tactics to beat this test without the need to learn all the math and verbal rules you otherwise would have to learn. Furthermore, for me, it was very helpful to have a study plan and to know what to learn and practice next.

In the actual test, I was still very nervous and not sure whether I learned enough to get my target score but in some situations, I heard Rich or Max speaking in my head and reminding me about all the approaches and tactics I learned during their lessons. This made me feel more comfortable and I was rewarded with a score of 630 in the end. I didn't even imagine to score over 600, so this score was a huge surprise for me and a reward for the skills and tactics I learned during the EMPOWER online training.

All in all, I can unconditionally recommend the EMPOWERgmat training to anyone who wants to reach their target score in minimum time with a really efficient approach. I don't which score I would have scored without the EMPOWER training but honestly, I don't even want to know that.

heathermkc
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: University of Washington
Major: International Relations
Industry: Internet Development Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great for test taking strategy!

5 stars
January 28, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 710
My experience: I studied for & took the GMAT in 2014 shortly after taking the LSAT. I received a 700 thanks to a really high verbal score (48/ 99th percentile) but low quant (37/ 34rd percentile).

I ended up pursuing an early career Masters in Management rather than the joint MBA+JD I was originally planning on. Last fall I started thinking about eventually applying for an MBA (in 2020) and was at a time in life it seemed more convenient to study for and take the GMAT (no big moves, no big job changes, etc.).

So I retook an exam to see what stuck from 2014 - I think I scored around a 650. I knew I wanted 700+ so decided to read through Manhattan Guides. However, I didn't feel they really improved my math skills. It required memorizing a lot of formulas and I'm more of a common sense test taker (would rather use logic to solve problems rather than relying on memorization - I'm not great at memorizing). After reading reviews I decided to use EmpowerGMAT because it seemed to include a lot of test taking strategies.

It fulfilled all my expectations! It was super helpful. I did the first section and then some parts of the remaining sections. I found the strategies most helpful (e.g. eliminating answers, testing the answers, etc.).

My GMAT score ended up 710 (47 verbal, 41 quant) which I am happy with for the amount of time I put in. I think if you actually did all of the EmpowerGMAT modules you would be in a really good position for 750+.

As far as ROI on time spent goes, I think EmpowerGMAT is great. It provides test taking strategies that will immediately bump your score, and also a great breakdown of concepts tested on the GMAT. I was also impressed with their verbal - I think it would be good for studying for the LSAT reading comprehension actually! Additionally, the fact the materials are online helps a lot with being able to study anytime (I travel for work so this was nice). And the checklist / progress dashboard is pretty motivating. Finally, they are available if you have any problems or questions. Great program!

msyrett23
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Verified Real Student Review

EMPOWERgmat equals number one

5 stars
January 25, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
When I decided to apply to an MSc Management course at one of the top universities in Europe I knew I had a lot of work ahead of me. This work included studying for and taking the GMAT. I looked around online, seeking advice. To be honest, I didn't know where to start.
Then I came across some forums advocating the EMPOWERgmat program. They offer a free trial, so I thought why not?
That trial turned into 3 months hard studying and following the curriculum carefully laid out by EMPOWERgmat.
The teaching style of both Rich (Quant), and Max (Verbal) ensure no stone is left unturned, and I my confidence grew as I progressed with the course.
In the end, I got 640 in the exam and accepted to the course I desired. I cannot thank the guys at EMPOWERgmat enough for the role they played, and I highly, highly recommend them to anyone embarking on the same journey I did!

Joe Mgh
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: Lebanon
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Construction
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

A customizable and direct course

5 stars
January 18, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Teacher: Brian Michaels
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 700
Already having a good score, I wanted to reach the 700 threshold; after reviewing several online GMAT courses I chose Empower GMAT's program because its course could be customizable for the duration of study and I only needed to refine my verbal skills. It turned out to be a good decision as the author of the verbal section did an excellent job of simplifying the learning curve all the while giving out out the tricks of the trade especially regarding the SC and CR sections. For people having more than 3 months time to prepare for the test, the course is very rich in material and would be ideal for first timers especially.

AHUNEEU1
Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Major: Engineering
Industry: Aerosp/Autom/Transp Equipment
Country: Chile
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Tactic approach towards my 700 GMAT

4 stars
January 3, 2018
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 700
The first time I took the GMAT I only self studied using the GMAT official guide and I was able to get a respectable 670 (Q49 V33). My main weakness was the way I approached quant (too much complex maths and I wasn't fast/efficient enough on most standardized questions), and on the verbal side I lacked a proper strategy (I had the bad habit of not properly eliminating answers and just selecting the one I though that fitted the best)

EMPOWER was a huge game changer. I knew that for my second try I had to take a good, structured course that would go through all the core content and specially teach strategy regarding elimination of wrong answers.

EMPOWER definitely excels at this last topic: its triage tips, and strategies specially for sentence correction, allowed me to improve 30 points (all in verbal, going from V33 to V37)

I would definitely recommend this course to anyone. The only positive criticism that i have is that I believe it lacks a bit more difficult excercises (700+) on the quant side.

Thank you very much EMPOWER for my 700 GMAT which has allowed me to gain admissions at Kellogg, INSEAD and LBS!

MissSwiss
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Major: International Business
Industry: Chemicals
Country: Switzerland
Verified Real Student Review

100% recommend - 500 to 700 in Practice CATs and I genuinely enjoyed the process

5 stars
December 13, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Teacher: Rich & Max
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I am so lucky I came across EMPOWERgmat. I actually signed up to the course mostly because I thought the price point was more reasonable than some of the alternatives, but in the end it was so good that I would have paid anything! Here I will provide some highlights from the course and the main reasons why I would 100% recommend it to anyone preparing to take the GMAT. (I will include more details of my personal experience in the Share Your Experience thread; in short, I went from 500 to 700 in my practice CATs, but score was 650 on the day due to some very stupid timing mistakes).

STRUCTURE
First of all, the structure of the course is excellent; I was able to break the 12 week study plan into clear, achievable goals for each week; a typical week would involved completion of a Quant module (ie. Algebra), completion of a Verbal module (ie. Reading Comprehension), a couple of mini courses on strategy or tactics, and then some practice quizzes. Even as the weeks closed in I didn't feel overwhelmed, because I was following the curriculum and I felt confident that I would have covered everything I needed to know by Test Day. (They have also designed study plans for 8 weeks and 4 weeks, where I assume curriculum is cut back or condensed).

TEACHING
The other amazing thing, was that when I sat down to do a module, for example, 'Algebra', it wasn't at all overwhelming; the module was broken up into clear classes, where Rich would take you quickly through the concepts and then work with you through lots of example questions. Same with Max on the Verbal side. I was very weak in Quant when I started, and the answer explanations in the OG would often just leave me confused and frustrated, but Rich's explanations are so simple and clear. He also has a positive yet pragmatic attitude, which I really enjoyed.

APPROACH
I also really love that this course is specifically designed around beating the GMAT. It's not about improving your maths skills or your English grammar - all of those things are only focused on in as far as they can help boost your GMAT score. There is a lot of focus on clever strategy and tactics. The Test It tactic and Data Sufficiency process completely changed Quant for me, and even in Verbal, where I was already strong, I saw my score go up several points once Max explained the wrong answer types to look out for and little tactics like the 'The Opposite Test' in Critical Reasoning. I think this element of the course is worth its weight in gold and really sets this course apart from others.

ENJOYMENT
Perhaps this is the most important element. I had thought that studying for the GMAT would just be this necessary yet unpleasant task that I would have to endure for a couple of months. I imagined that I would dread every evening and weekend that I had set aside for studying. However, I was pleasantly surprised when this was not the case at all! I know it might sound crazy, but I actually even looked forward to working on an EMPOWER Quant module after dinner. I think it's because there are so many quizzes built into the curriculum, so the study is very interactive and you're constantly getting feedback.

I am usually not one for the gushing review, but I honestly cannot recommend this course highly enough. If you are preparing to take the GMAT, take this course!

(As an additional note/brag, I completed this three months of study while working full-time and parenting a 1 year old child, so I was only getting in an average of 10-12 hours of study a week).

Karophit
Joined: Jul 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Major: Business
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Become a GMAT assassin

5 stars
December 9, 2017
Company: EMPOWERgmat 124 reviews
Course: EMPOWERgmat On Demand Course 124 reviews
Teacher: Rich
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 640
In September I sat the first time for the GMAT exam with an effort of about two months training. I received a 560 and was very disappointed. Therefore, I wrote a post in a forum and received an answer by Rich Cohen. Rich told me exactly what my issue was without even telling me about EMPOWERgmat.
Nevertheless, for my second prep time I started informing myself about GMAT courses and chose EMPOWERgmat because of the positive feedback by people who took the test a second and third time.

I soon realized that Rich Cohen is the founder of EMPOWERgmat and started asking him further questions via e-mail. Rich replied always in about 1-3 hours. Amazing to have the GMAT assassin himself answering your questions within hours. Rich is very direct and tells you if you are doing totally wrong. He is really pushing you to stand up and do what it needs to become a GMAT assassin. Maybe some people find that offensive, nevertheless I think it helps a lot!

The course itself is very well structured. You start learning using techniques instead of math (or in combination with math). This totally changed my view on the GMAT math section and helped me to get faster and more accurate. The verbal part of EMPOWERgmat is made by Max. His approaches to solve CR questions and RC questions are just amazing. I also really liked that the transcripts of his videos are available. This allowed me to learn in the library without the need to wear my headphones for hours. Unfortunately, I did not improve my verbal that much (from V32 to V33) but I think with more practice in the EMPOWERgmat techniques, I would have improved my verbal part significantly as well. My math score was improved my 10 points (from Q36 to Q46), what I think is amazing for that time and the fact that I was not able to finish the course.

Beside the approaches for math and verbal, EMPOWERgmat includes very useful tactics and information about the test and the preparation for the test itself. I bought myself headphones and pencils that are like the original GMAT headphones and pencils. I really enjoyed the GMAT podcasts, especially the ones for the last days before the official exam.

Learning for another 2,5 months was tough. I had to start writing my bachelors thesis in that time, preparing for internship applications, taking classes in university and working nearly full-time. Nevertheless, EMPOWERgmat made it possible to improve myself by 80 points and receive a 640! I did not even have the time to finish the course (progress: about 45%). I am pretty sure by completing the course and having more time for preparation than I had during the 2.5 months, a near to 700 or 700+ score would definitely be possible coming from 460.
I would highly recommend EMPOWERgmat to everyone!