Genius GMAT Course
Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Genius GMAT Course

5 stars
(5/5) - 5 reviews
Hira.pvz
Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
Verified Real Student Review

I LOVE examPAL

5 stars
March 2, 2018
Company: examPAL 18 reviews
Course: Genius GMAT Course 5 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I found examPAL searching online for strategies and free stuff for prepping for GMAT. Its had been tremendously helpful. All the doubts that I had while prepping from other sources were removed one by one as I kept going thru the courses. A lot hoes in the tiny detail, and examPAL covers it totally. Understands what you need to focus on according to your capabilty. I HIGHLY recommend it to any1 looking for help prepping for GMAT.

Ramiro Medina
Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

A pal that walked with me on the swerving road to 760

5 stars
February 21, 2018
Company: examPAL 18 reviews
Course: Genius GMAT Course 5 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 760
"My journey started like almost everyone's: trying to gauge what my current level of skill was. I used a tool made by The Economist which estimated a score of 650. I thought ""not bad"", since my target score was 700. A 50 point increase is a far from impossible feat. This was on December 2016, and I had three months to prepare. However, upon closer examination, I realised that it wasn't as good as it looked. My raw verbal score, in the 40s, was covering up a math performance of barely 40. Although total score and percentile are regarded as the most important GMAT measures, I knew that a raw quant score in that range was problematic. On the bright side, I knew my performance was substandard because I just didn't have enough math knowledge nor recent practice.

Before thinking about any test taking strategies, I needed to revisit the basic concepts. Even though I had studied all of these concepts before at some point, they were still foreign to me. I started looking for courses and books. I bought a book. Let's just say it didn't work, mainly because it was a book and a book wasn't what I needed at that point. I found exampal and compared it to other options in the same market niche. The advantage of exampal was clear: it felt fresh and friendly. I work full time and I knew that studying for the GMAT after a long and stressful day at work was going to be hard. Actually, I knew that that was going to be the hardest part. I was used to coming back home and play guitar, cook or watch TV. The last thing I needed was a boring PDF on an LCD screen. The other online courses just seemed like video versions of that boring PDF.

Don't get me wrong, most of the other well established companies make excellent material based on what I could see. However, I'm positive that no other company puts as much emphasis on its presentation. Exampal feels like a good app, not like a recorded GMAT course. I won't say it makes studying for the GMAT fun, but it definitely makes it bearable. It's filled with interesting facts, funny remarks and animations. While playing the lessons, you are forced to answer questions to continue playing the video. If it wasn't for this feature, I would have fallen asleep every time.

After completing the exampal course, I was ready to try the first GMAT Prep exam. Two GMAT Prep tests are given away for free, and exampal gives you access to the Exam Pack 1, which allows you to take two additional exams. I got a 720 on my first GMAT Prep and I was ecstatic. The quant was in the mid 40s. This was in early February 2017.

After my first GMAT Prep test, I started working on the GMAT official guide (OG). The OG is a great resource, one that exampal nor any other company can replace. You're probably aware that the OG is made entirely out of retired GMAT questions, which means that those were once actual GMAT questions. What you may not know is that, after a while, actual GMAT questions start looking very different from their imitations. GMAT questions are excellent, as there is no ambiguity to them and they are usually complicated in appearance but straightforward if you know what is being tested.

I took several prep tests. After a week practising with the OG, I scored 690. This was discouraging, but I knew the score drop had a reason. As a test strategy for my second test, I thought ""I'm going to stop being so fixated on the stopwatch"". This is a terrible strategy. The next day, I took my third GMAT Prep test and scored 720 again. Relief. I tried the Manhattan GMAT (MGMAT) prep test and scored a 730. I agree with other test takers on the fact that quant is harder and verbal is easier when compared to GMAT Prep tests. A day after the MGMAT test, I took my fourth GMAT Prep test and I scored a 740. I had seen some of the questions on this test on the OG, so didn't think this score was entirely reliable. I didn't think I was going to be able to replicate this score, but it sure gave me hope for the actual exam.

Two days after scoring 740 on GMAT Prep, I went to the testing centre and went through the real thing. That thing on the screen looked a lot like the GMAT Prep, but it felt completely different. I was just so stressed. I made an effort and managed to stay calm. I thought I was doing well. Then the screen showed 660 (Q44 V37). I couldn't believe it. The quant was lower than expected, as I was aiming for something in the 45-48 range. But my verbal score wasn't just lower than expected, it was in a different league. My verbal was in the 40-44 range, and scoring 37 was a surprise.

I got home from the testing centre and booked the earliest possible appointment for a retake: 17 days from then (GMAC makes you wait at least 16 days). After the test, I took a Veritas Prep test on which I got a 38 on the verbal section. This didn't help. But thankfully I realised that the verbal questions were very different from actual GMAT questions and not of the greatest quality.

I bought the Enhanced Score Report for my 660, which told me the raw subscores:

- 39 for Problem Solving
- 50 for Data Sufficiency
- 42 for Critical Reasoning
- 28 for Reading Comprehension
- 38 for Sentence Correction

The Data Sufficiency and Problem Solving split is weird, however I've realised I'm good at thinking the math but bad at executing it hence the score split since on Data Sufficiency you often don't calculate as much. But the Reading Comprehension was a surprise. I had always got good scores on that subsection, and I had even hit 51 at a point.

I started reading about how stress affects the brain. I realised that at a subconscious level I was experiencing a life threatening situation. When in such a stressful situation, memory just doesn't work properly since instincts take over. I later realised I had no recollection of any test content, just that I was cold and that any noise was particularly annoying. I had to focus on controlling my ability to memorise. So I started practicing Reading Comprehension in a different way. Instead of just reading and answering questions, I would picture every situation in my mind. And most importantly, I focused on every sentence. I squeezed all meaning out of every single sentence and constructed a representation in my mind. My main goal now was absolute precision when it came to understanding what I was reading.

I applied this same principle to Critical Reasoning and Sentence Correction. This changed everything. The day before the actual test, I purchased GMAT Exam Pack 2 and took my fifth GMAT Prep test. I scored 740, with a meager 44 on quant but an astonishing 48 on verbal. It was amazing just how changing my way of thinking took me from the 95th percentile for verbal to well into the 99th percentile. Oh yes, and English is not my first language; it's Spanish. I have a very good command of the English language, but sometimes I struggle with things as simple as ""was he in the airplane or on the airplane?"". My point is that GMAT verbal is not an English test. Although the test is in English and it obviously helps to know the language, verbal ability is something else. It's the ability to work with natural language and meaning.

My GMAT journey ended well, with a 760 (Q47 V47) on the screen. My focus on understanding every sentence and consciously creating a representation in my mind allowed me to beat stress and ace the verbal. Looking back, the 660 was a blessing in disguise. Had I got 710, I probably wouldn't have gone back to the testing centre. It was a relatively short -3 month- but intense journey. In retrospect, there were four main components to it:

- Exampal. Taught me all contents tested on the GMAT (sets, geometry, etc). Like I said, most importantly, it made it bearable.
- OG. Made me solid, showed me many different variations of GMAT questions.
- GMAT Prep tests. Allowed me to build stamina, try different strategies and get acquainted with the test format.
- Introspection. Allowed me to make something powerful out of the information that I had, and develop a strategy and a mindset that worked for me."

romal417
Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

examPal has proven to be exactly a pal

5 stars
February 21, 2018
Company: examPAL 18 reviews
Course: Genius GMAT Course 5 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
examPal has proven to be exactly a pal (or should I say friend) in preparing one for the GMAT. The program offers several stages that allows for assessment on one's weaknesses and strengths, offers three ways to answer any problem (i.e., precise, alternative, and logical), suggests the best solution from one of three methods to solve any given GMAT problem. The founders of the company like to get in touch with subscribers to answer survey questions on how examPal can be improved. The program believes in diagnostic adaptability and, therefore, stresses that throughout the test preparation stage: pre-testing, testing, and post-testing phase. Last but definitely not least, the program is free while studying the materials. One only has to pay for practice materials beyond the free credits allowed through the diagnostic and optimization tests. Moreover, one can study material as needed up to the practice phase, where examPal offers nice discounts to purchase to course.

Patrickers
Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

50 Point Score Increase with 1 Month of examPAL

5 stars
February 21, 2018
Company: examPAL 18 reviews
Course: Genius GMAT Course 5 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 710
"I CANNOT THANK YOUR TEAM ENOUGH for how much examPAL helped me over the last month! As of the end of February 2017, I had a 660 GMAT and an opportunity to significantly improve my ability to receive financial aid at my top school with a score over 700. I chose your program (and chose to pay for the upgrade) based on the ability to work through key subjects in a month's time vs. some more traditional programs that needed 2 or 3 months. It obviously took a commitment of 20hrs/week from me, but having just gotten a 710 on my re-take, I'm 100% satisfied!I also really liked the interface of each lesson, and how the lessons were connected to each other.

I think the way your program is organized is very easy to follow and helped me study by giving me a lot of set check points. It made it less intimidating to come home from work and study for 2-3 hours until I finished a section as opposed to being overwhelmed and doing nothing. Additionally, it helped me deep dive into every subject to understand tactics, tips, tricks and strategies that you can't learn from book-driven studying, and avoid spending too much time on things that don't matter. Getting comfortable with the idea that, in many cases, you don't really have to know what you're doing to find the answer took some time to learn.

examPAL worked especially well for me because I needed the most help in math. Coming out of my 660, I did very well in verbal but lagged significantly in math. The program helped me focus my studying on the math topics. It would definitely have been harder for me to learn if I needed a lot of help on verbal so I can't really speak to your software in that regard. That being said, the tips and tricks for sentence correction helped me avoid some errors in my most recent test and improve my performance all around.

Thanks again for everything and I hope you guys are successful. The product is awesome and i'm confident that you can position it to take share from the entrenched test-help organizations, especially with younger customers"

Nellie Donhossou
Joined: Feb 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Everyone should try ExamPal !!!

5 stars
February 21, 2018
Company: examPAL 18 reviews
Course: Genius GMAT Course 5 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
"I just started using examPal and so far I am very happy with the free material. The video lessons are well put together and thorough. The examples are very good illustrations of the concepts that are being explained. By the time you begin the practice exercises, you start to understand how the PAL method works and how to use it.
This is definitely a very good alternative to books, and really makes me look forward to studying."