Test Prep Companies,Private Tutoring,GRE Prep Company

Kaplan

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

Joined: Dec 7, 2019
Purchased Course: Oct 23, 2019
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Economics
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Outsanding

December 7, 2019
  • Teacher: Phil
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 430 After: N/A

The teachers are all engaging and do a great job answering questions. They break-down the approach is manageable chunks.
Joined: Oct 25, 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 1, 2018
College: Colby College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Transportation
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth Every Penny

October 25, 2018
  • Teacher: Howard Krulewitz
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I knew I wouldn't be discliplined enough to study on my own so I signed up for the Kaplan class. The results were beyond my wildest expectations! I scored a 620 on my diagnositic test and ended up with a 730 on the actual exam. The classes were small, personal, and informative. My instructor was very good about working with me one on one and answered my emails promptly. Very underrated in the Kaplan course was the online resource. They have a lot of practice tests, yes, but also many hours worth of adaptive quizzes that can help you target weak areas. I wouldn't change a thing about the way I went about preparing for this exam with Kaplan!
Joined: Oct 25, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 9, 2017
College: University of San Diego
Major: Marketing
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Raised my score 100 points with Kaplan

October 25, 2017
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 580 After: 680

I found the in person classes super helpful with the Kaplan course. I ended up having a class with only 3 other people and was able to take advantage of asking a lot of questions. I also loved the online resources, specifically the quiz bank and the practice tests. I spent about 100 hours using the online resources and never ran out of study materials. I raised my score from 580 on my diagnostic test to 680 on my official GMAT by the end. I would definitely recommend!
Joined: Oct 17, 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 15, 2017
College: Queens University of Charlotte
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT Live Online Course - Best Thing to Happen to Me

October 17, 2017
  • Teacher: Gene Suhrir & Carrie Wright
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 450 After: 560

When I first started my GMAT journey, I assumed that it wouldn't be hard at all or similar to the SAT where I can do my best and just do well enough to be accepted. I was so mistaken. I opened up my GMAT book infrequently, pretended like I could make myself study when in reality, I'd go home and not do anything. Kaplan's Live Online course was the best thing to happen to me. Although pricey, it's on the lower end of most of the great study programs. Every week for 6 weeks I'd sit myself down in front of my laptop and listen and participate while the instructor was live on the screen. He was able to answer questions immediately if anyone had any or clarify any points that I may have missed or was unclear to everyone. It was a busy 6 weeks for me. Kaplan also has a GMAT channel with both pre-recorded lessons and live ones that you can take outside of your scheduled live classes. Lastly, Kaplan has the Qbank with thousands of questions for you to work through and get feedback on. I retook the GMAT the following monday after my last class (Kaplan advises you to take it at least 3 weeks out to soak in the lessons; I scheduled the exam before finding this out) and scored a 560. That's a 110 point jump from my previous 450! Now, this score may not get into a lot of the higher rated business schools, but remember that I scored that against the advice of Kaplan. Had I waited an extra 3 weeks, it's possible I could've scored even higher. I 100% recommend this to anyone who needs to have a live instructor but cannot travel or afford to have an in person class.
Joined: Sep 11, 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 12, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

So many resources

September 11, 2017
  • Teacher: Greg Bunn
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I started my GMAT journey over a year ago - I took a practice test blind and scored 640. Bad score but not a bad place to start my studying. I began the course, while still in school and writing my senior thesis, and ultimately realized I couldn't put in the time to get to the score I wanted. I was hovering around a 680 which simply wasn't good enough for me. I spoke to my instructor and she informed me that I could "freeze" my course, which was a game changer for me. I probably wouldn't have gone back to the GMAT if it wasn't for that!

I returned to the GMAT about 8 months later and spent a good deal of time in the Qbank, recorded sessions, as well as in person classes. Kaplan was super flexible about enrolling me in new "in person" classes and refreshing all of my resources, which gave me a fresh start. I was impressed with how willing they were to enroll me a second time when I wanted to take advantage of the "Higher Score Guarantee" even though I hadn't taken the official exam yet.

Throughout my time with Kaplan, I was also very impressed with how willing the instructors were to listen to your questions, whether in person or via email, and give you thoughtful answers. As I approached my test date, my instructor Greg was incredible about answering my many questions as I did hundreds of Qbank practice questions between classes. He also encouraged me when I was doubtful of my own ability, and that confidence helped me a lot. I really appreciated his demeanour and help!

Overall, Kaplan was so accommodating and had all the resources I could've wanted for my GMAT prep. I highly recommend!
Joined: May 2, 2017
Purchased Course: May 30, 2017
College: Ryerson University
Major: Political Science
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Best Question Bank. Mediocre Lessons

June 16, 2017
  • Teacher: Self paced - no teacher
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

1) Video lessons: I like this course because it provides general overview of concepts and the live sessions go in some detail for the harder questions. So I use it as an intro to concepts. But for the most part, the lessons on the actual prep site aren't very thorough. If I really want to learn details, I go to Magoosh, Manhattanprep books or Gmatprepnow.

2) Question Bank: Probably the best question bank. It has 3000 questions. And they're in the form of a question bank (which is what I prefer) No issues here. This is the main use I get out of the course. (But you can also buy the question bank for much cheaper separately... although I think there are less questions. But still about 1500. Which is great)

3) Math foundations - I originally bought math foundation with these guys and asked for a refund. It's VERY basic and it cost 200. Not worth it at all. It doesn't prepare you nearly well enough. The math foundations book from Manhattan prep was the most useful tool for me in preparing for the actual GMAT studying.
Joined: Mar 14, 2016
Purchased Course: Mar 14, 2016
College: Brigham Young University - Provo
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great strategies and practice questions

January 27, 2017
  • Teacher: Aaron Hammes
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 680 After: 760

I needed a flexible course that could work with my schedule, which I found at Kaplan. I also wasn't sure a course would help. I was wrong. The Kaplan course teaches you how the test makers think and also helps you to understand the ways the test makers like to test you. This makes the test much easier and allows for quick gains in score. The practice exams and challenge workshops were especially helpful.
Joined: Aug 1, 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 1, 2016
College: University of Minnesota
Major: Health Sciences
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher and materials

December 4, 2016
  • Teacher: Glen Johnson
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 440

Overall, I had a good experience with Kaplan. I learned a lot through the in-person course. I had a great class size (5 people); everyone was able to get individual attention and also explain to each other why we got certain questions wrong or right and what our thinking was behind it. My teacher Glen was great, I'd recommend him to anyone. There are a lot of great materials online which were extremely helpful. The only thing I would change is that there's a deadline for which you have access to those materials. Due to me not being happy with my score I'll want to retake the GMAT, which I'm fine with, but Kaplan wants you to pay $50 for every two weeks until you retake it, which I think is ridiculous since I already paid $1400 AND received a score that I didn't like.
Joined: Dec 1, 2016
Purchased Course: Apr 13, 2016
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Preparation, and well worth the price!

December 1, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 730

I did the self-paced, online Kaplan GMAT prep. I only had 4 weeks to study before taking it, so I had to do the self-paced version and work on it on my own. I completed the entire course in 4 weeks, took 8 of the 9 available practice exams, including the on-site practice exam. I studied for 8-10 hours every day. It may not have been the ideal way to study for the GMAT (in such a condensed time frame), but Kaplan's course made it so easy. I loved the structure of the course. It gives you the liberty to follow an established plan if you don't know what to do, and allows you to do your own thing if you think something works better for you. Kaplan obviously are professionals, and it it shows in their coursework. The question bank is amazing, and the number of computer-adaptive practice exams is the most important tool to success. I have had many friends contact me after hearing that I took the GMAT, and I strongly recommend Kaplan to every one of them. I had a hard time paying that much money for a prep course, but it was well worth it in the end. Your future may depend on your GMAT score, so don't be afraid to invest.
Joined: Dec 1, 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 31, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Very good course. Online quiz bank very helpful.

December 1, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I took the Kaplan course this fall and it was very helpful. The online quiz bank had hundreds of questions and you could sort them by style, difficulty, subject. The practice tests were a very good gauge. I took 3 after studying for a while and go 690, 720 and 700. I ended up getting a 710 on the actual GMAT, which was my goal.
Joined: Oct 8, 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 15, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

worth the money for serious test takers

October 8, 2016
  • Teacher: n/a
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I was pleased with the course?my score improved by 120 points from start to finish. It's quite pricey, but worth it if you plan on putting the hours in. There's a decent amount of instruction and practice.

The self-paced course was a good option, especially if you are working full time.
Joined: Jul 18, 2016
Purchased Course: Feb 21, 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Would not recommend

July 18, 2016
  • Teacher:
  • Recommended forVerbal: No  Math: No
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

My teacher was fine, but not particularly organized. There were only 6 in person class sessions. Geometry was not covered, rules were not covered, how to approach problems was only covered in a very basic, glossing over manner.

I got a Diag score of 610 and ended the course getting 650-660s on the GMAT Prep free practice exams. That is unacceptable.

I am now doing some hours with Manhattan Prep -- highly recommend them. They actually analyze how you are doing in a much more in depth manner, and the teaching is much more structured. They also use Official Guide questions, which Kaplan does not, and are significantly different from the ones Kaplan uses.

Do not use Kaplan.
Joined: Feb 17, 2016
Purchased Course: Sep 28, 2015
College: University of Texas at Austin
Major: Geology
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Verified Real Student Review

Perfectly organized and paced lessons

February 17, 2016
  • Teacher: Various - Online
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 640

I decided on the Live Online version due to only having about five weeks to prepare for the test, with the thought that the online lessons might be hard to follow, or just not very engaging. I had taken one of their free "GMAT Orientation" live online lessons previously and did like how the instructor was very engaging and enthusiastic, and hoped that this was the rule rather than the exception.

What I found once I started the live sessions was that all of the Kaplan instructors have the same level of enthusiasm and supportive attitude that keeps you engaged in the class during the discussion and practice questions. The live instructor coupled with the additional instructors answering questions in the discussion boxes makes sure that none of the students get left behind or without their questions answered.

Overall, the live sessions coupled with the full length practice tests, quiz bank, app, lessons on demand, and other practice/study tools the Kaplan test prep was in my opinion a great value. I feel that it added close to 100 points to my overall score.
Joined: Jan 20, 2016
Purchased Course: Oct 25, 2015
College: Colgate University
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Consumer Products
Verified Real Student Review

Good experience with Kaplan

January 20, 2016
  • Teacher: Chauncey Bellamy/Loretta P
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 740

This was my first time using Kaplan, or any test prep service, as well as my fire time taking the GMAT. I likely would not have taken the course if the company I work for didn't offer reimbursement but I'm definitely glad that I did as I know it contributed to achieving the score I did, which was above my target.
The in-person sessions were great. Even if the teachers hadn't been fantastic, which they were, it forced me to devote 3 hours, 2 days a week to learning, which meant that my personal study time could be used for practice tests and quizzes. I only had a month and a half between the beginning of the class and my GMAT date but felt fully prepared on test day without having to completely cage myself up after work or on weekends.
The classes should fit easily into most professional schedules (7pm on weekdays, 10am on weekends) and I was able to easily find a make up class for the in-person session that I missed. Kaplan teachers were very knowledgeable, eager to answer any and all questions, and were never stumped. They also all seemed to have significant experience with the test and weren't afraid to point out areas that they thought Kaplan put too much or too little weight on compared to the actual test.
The online sessions were all well instructed and moved at a good pace. The database of questions and customizable quizzes was great towards the end of my studying as I could just focus on the areas that needed patching up. After taking 5 practice GMATs (they offer 9) including one "Test Day Experience" (you actually go to a testing center and take the test as if it is the real one) I was very comfortable and confident on test day. I actually thought the quantitative section of the real GMAT was easier than the Kaplan versions which was a nice surprise.
Overall, I started the course as someone who didn't much believe in the value of a test prep course but now would firmly recommend Kaplan to anyone and would go back to them if I ever have the need in the future.
Joined: Apr 20, 2015
Purchased Course: Apr 14, 2015
College: Tufts
Major: Economics
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome Course!

December 22, 2015
  • Teacher: Joseph Tambornino
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: 700 After: 750

I've used Manhattan, Magoosh, and Kaplan, and absolutely loved the Kaplan program. I raised my score from a 700 to a 750, and I think much of it was due to Kaplan's support and test-day experience. I got to sit down and take an actual GMAT test in a certified test center, which I think is an incredible advantage to any student looking to embark on this for the first time. Also, the mentor they provided me sent me over an awesome "how to structure your homework and studying" guide that I've since passed on to anyone looking for help. It really made a difference this time around. Finally, the ease of use and sheer amount of resources Kaplan provides in addition to the standard classes/homework are awesome. The quiz banks and workshops were super helpful and kept me busy until test day. By the way, Joseph is a rockstar. He's a riot, likes to sing, and has some incredibly useful strategies.
Joined: Nov 4, 2015
Purchased Course: Jul 16, 2015
College: Cal Poly Pomona
Major: Management/Business Administration
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

Great tips and tricks, but not enough time!

November 4, 2015
  • Teacher: Barbara Delaney
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: N/A

The instructor was amazing, she was detailed and made sure everyone in the class was able to grasp the concept before moving on to the next subject. We met a total of 6 times, every Saturday from 10-1 and 10-12 for the verbal lessons. The course comes with what they call "flex sessions," which are basically live online classes that are about 1-2 hours longs. These classes were really helpful, I definitely signed up for the same class more than once! Even with the short time restraint the instructors were willing to help and made sure to explain everything well. I tried studying without signing up for prep courses because my friends said it wasn't needed and I could study by myself. Oh boy was I wrong, as I was signing up to take the test I looked at the sample questions on the mba website and was completely lost. I did not know how to answer a lot of questions which made me very nervous so I decided to take a prep course. The instructors show easy ways to solve problems. You have about 2 mins to solve a question in the quant section, but they show you ways to cut your time down. Sometimes our brains are trained to make things more complicated than they are, I know my brain does that... The instructors teach you how to be strategic and how to pick your battles with questions since there is a penalty for not finishing a section. Overall the tips and tricks I learned are amazing. I just wish there was more meetings for in person and the flex sessions were longer. One hour is not long enough to learn geometry and statistics! I highly suggest taking this course if you think you're struggling. It's quite pricey, but I think it's worth it with what I've learned so far. I've gained more confidence for my GMAT.
Joined: Nov 4, 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 19, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Great course with really helpful test-taking tips

November 4, 2015
  • Teacher: Angela Hygh
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

The Kaplan Live-Online GMAT course was incredible helpful for my test-taking experience. Going in, I knew very little about the GMAT itself and had not taken a standardized test or a math class of any sort in years. The teachers are very helpful and skilled at teaching ways to attack the test. They have an array of great tips that make the experience quicker and easier and will help you pick up some of your older/lost skills. I don't generally write reviews for anything, but this course was really really useful and well worth the time and money.
Joined: Aug 25, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 22, 2015
College: Lawrence University
Major: Anthropology
Industry: International Development/Relief
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course that helped me reach my goal score!

August 30, 2015
  • Teacher: Joseph Tambornino
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 700

The Kaplan teachers were helpful and engaging. The additional online resources like the quiz bank and practice tests were amazing, and the on-site practice exam allowed me to familiarize myself with the testing site before test day--SO HUGE!! I also learned a lot of time-saving tricks in the live online sessions that I would not have learned through self-directed study or the on-demand sessions. I would highly recommend this course.
Joined: Jul 28, 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 8, 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Advantage Plus- worth it?

July 28, 2015
  • Teacher: Omar
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 710

I was pleased with my Kaplan course overall, but felt I would have gotten the same out of an online course with a couple of coaching sessions (ie without the on site component). I found the flex session teachers were much more effective in their teaching styles and the TAs were ready to answer questions that came up during the sessions. Save money and forgo the on site sessions, in my opinion. I was very impressed with Kaplan's online platform.
Joined: Jul 19, 2015
Purchased Course: Jun 20, 2014
College: Brandeis University
Major: Business
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thank Goodness for Kaplan

July 19, 2015
  • Teacher: Justin Doff
  • Recommended forVerbal: Yes  Math: Yes
  • GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A After: 720

First off, I can't thank Kaplan enough for their thorough and well taught courses. I learned a lot of great testing skills and tricks to help me through the GMAT. But what really blew me away was the customer service. Because of an injury, I was unable to take the GMAT when I had originally planned and rescheduled the test for February 2015. I called the customer service team a few days after my course access had "expired" and explained my situation and asked if I could use my Better Score Guarantee. They were incredibly accommodating and allowed me to re-register for another class. I was given access to every practice test and problem set that I needed to succeed. I cannot thank Kaplan enough for their professionalism and help.
Page:1 2 3 4 5