Kaplan
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Kaplan

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.4 stars
(4.4/5) - 111 reviews
kaplangmatstudent
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: Colgate University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Kaplan GMAT - great prep course!

5 stars
October 31, 2010
Company: Kaplan 111 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan Village 6 reviews
Teacher: Jennifer Moore Soprano
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
The Kaplan GMAT course exceeded expectations - the curriculum of the course was extremely well laid out. Each class alternated between math and verbal allowing for intense focus on both mathematical and verbal topics. The instructor was incredible! She was personally invested in each student's success. It's critical that students complete all assignments as each homework task contains key elements covered during the corresponding class and previews for the upcoming class. My favorite component of the course was the "Test Day Experience" where any Kaplan student can sign up to take one of his 9 practice GMATs at an actual Pearson test center. This allowed for a real test experience so going on the actual test day was not intimidating whatsoever. The student has the opportunity to become acclimated to his surroundings and what to expect on test day.

Overall, a well-structured course that prepared me very, very well for the actual exam!

suhjachin22
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
College: Irvine, CA
Major: Political Science
Industry: Other Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely helpful GMAT prep course

5 stars
October 31, 2010
Company: Kaplan 111 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - Anywhere
Location: Kaplan - Los Angeles 2 reviews
Teacher: Gene Suhir
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
This course was perfect for me because it allowed me to take the course within my schedule from the comfort of my own home but still giving me the classroom experience. The instructor and TA were extremely knowledgeable about the GMAT and were more than willing to share their knowledge (along with their humor). Everything from the moment I signed up until I ended the course has had no issues.

This course helped me focus on my weaknesses and give me a strategy to not only improve my weaknesses but to turn them into strengths. I highly recommend anyone taking the GMAT to take a prep course with Kaplan. It is more than worth your money.

rmd
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Work overload

4 stars
October 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 111 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Queens College 1 review
Teacher: Jeffrey
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
A great course to get your feet wet. Expensive, but worth the money.

dnhgmat77
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
College: Northwestern University
Major: Economics
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Kaplan teaches the strategy

4 stars
October 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 111 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Boston 5 reviews
Teacher: Lisa Wolf
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I reall enjoyed this course. Though i felt the actual lessons on mathematical properties were not as useful because of my current skill set, the course did a great job to teach how best to beat the test using strategy to eliminate answers and get the best answer in the least amount of time. Lisa was great and was very knowledgeable and willing to help.

asteward81
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: SUNY Albany
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great tips, but intense

4 stars
October 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 111 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT AdvantagePlus - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Manhattan International 11 reviews
Teacher: neelam
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 440   After: 550
I took this course over a 5 week period, I would of extended it out if I knew it was going to be so intense. The course was great and the teacher was great as well. It gave a lot of good tip and ways to combat certain types of problems.

aneild
Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: University of Alberta
Major: Finance
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent!

5 stars
October 30, 2010
Company: Kaplan 111 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - Anywhere
Teacher: Justin Doff
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I enjoyed my Kaplan experience because of the helpful, engaging, and genuinely motivating qualities of my teacher (not to mention his humour). Also, the resources offered such as exam banks, practice CATs, etc were invaluable. Would recommend.

nychivas
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: Manhattan College
Verified Real Student Review

instructor was great, but materials is a little lacking

3 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 111 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Washington D.C. 1 review
Teacher: Chris Hickman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I want to be very clear, My instructor was great. his teaching style and guidance were amazing. My issue with the course is that the material provided with the course was lacking. I can honestly say this because i am now doing the self study with Manhattan GMAT and the materials are much more comprehensive.

barnesw
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher, great practice

4 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 111 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Nashville 1 review
Teacher: Newton Jennings
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Newton Jennings was an excellent instructor because he's a full time math teacher. My problem area is math, so this was a perfect match. Kaplan offers a lot of practice material so you can become comfortable and consistent with the material before taking the official test. I was reasonably satisfied with how I scored on the GMAT, but I do plan to take it a second time. I would recommend this course; it's worth the time and money.

dellwat
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2010
Verified Real Student Review

A consistent and advantageous product

5 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 111 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Cambridge 3 reviews
Teacher: Eli Meyer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
After starting my course in Houston and transferring to Cambridge, I can say that Kaplan delivers a consistent and advantageous product: that of instilling confidence in their students through strategies and simulations of the actual test day.

Although the teaching styles that I encountered in both Houston and Cambridge differed, both were able to arm me with strategies and give me a sense of what test day would be like. In Houston, my teacher explained each problem's solution thoroughly, which proved beneficial for initially learning the strategy. In Cambridge, where I spent the majority of my Kaplan course, my instructor created an environment that encouraged learning but more importantly caused me to implement those strategies more efficiently. Eli randomly selected individuals to solve problems in front of the class and utilized the various Kaplan strategies in order to demonstrate their correct uses and the time allotment for each step. My main concern for every test I take is maintaining good time management because I can lose significant points if I don't finish the GMAT. But, with the challenges encountered in class, I am able to feel more confident in myself on test day.

lmagliolo
Joined: Jul 2010
Purchased Course: May 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Good foundational teaching; good online resources

4 stars
October 29, 2010
Company: Kaplan 111 reviews
Course: Kaplan GMAT Advantage - On Site
Location: Kaplan - Schaumburg 1 review
Teacher: BJ Groenewold
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I think the Kaplan classroom teaching is a great tool to get you up to speed on GMAT foundational principles, and how to approach each type of problem.

The online resources are perhaps an even greater asset. The online Quiz Bank (which is included if you’re enrolled in a classroom course) has thousands of problems, with answers and explanations. Lessons and workshops are also available online.

Though it is a really helpful foundational resource, I think that it definitely does need to be supplemented with doing a great deal of problem work straight from the Official Guide (GMAC) books. There’s no substitute for these, and these guides give you a better feel for the actual GMAT problems.