Magoosh Premium Prep
Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh Premium Prep

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 303 reviews
JRhodes
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2018
College: Nottingham University
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

If you've not been a student in along time, it's a very good resource

5 stars
December 12, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
First off, some simple details. I'm 35, so it's been a long time since I was a student, even more so when it comes to solving the type of question the GMAT throws at you. As such, whilst the OG is useful, it does not so much 'teach' as inform.

The most useful aspect of Magoosh, at least initially, are the hours of tutorial videos. If you need to learn, or re-learn various techniques this is invaluable. They tend to focus on the fundamental principals in clearly delivered 5-15 minutes videos.

Whilst their question bank does seem to be quite good in terms of volume, I would say that their scoring appears to be on the conservative side, at least for me. I attempted the GMAC prep test 1 prior to signing up or even opening up the OG. I got 610 on that first try. After a month of Magoosh I sat each of the GMAC prep tests (1-6) once a week, and it 710-730 each time. The Magoosh predictor, as well as the practice tests, typically had me around 660-680. It's better to be conservative, but still the discrepancy was nonetheless noticeable .

If you need to learn or relearn fundamentals, then I would highly recommend Magoosh as a supplementary provider to the OG and other GMAC materials.

cmyers1
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great Service

5 stars
December 8, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
The structured layout of Magoosh was very helpful to keep me on track. You can track your progress, watch videos, and get explanations to questions right away. 10/10 would recommend.

Skrrrba
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Structure is key

5 stars
November 17, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I think the best thing about this plan is the structure. It forces you to study everyday and to learn both verbal concepts and math concepts from different sources. Magoosh is great for teaching you want. I went from a 38 to a 48. However, I don't think it can get you higher than that score. I believe that if you use this plan you should also consider supplementing it with gmat club quant tests. After i went through all of those exams I found it really easy to score 49-50 and still have 5 minutes left.

In terms of verbal, magoosh is really good for concepts for sentence correction. It will teach you the fundamental idioms; however, I think SC on the actual gmat is much harder than any SC question I have seen on Magoosh, and also on MGMAT practice questions. Magoosh CR is a little easier but in its plan for advanced students it has you do LSAT CR and RC questions which are much harder and prepare you behind the difficulty of the questions on the exam. I don't think I would have been exposed to all the resources available and all nuances of the exam if I hadn't used Magoosh.

For reference, Magoosh also had you do MGMAT practice exams throughout the course. My MGMAT practice score are 570, 580, 620, 640, 720, 720 then gmac gmat exams 720, 720, 640, 750, 690

avinod8
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Great for practice, but not a good indicator of actual performance

4 stars
November 14, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Magoosh is great for both math and verbal because of the in depth lessons and strategies, but I found it particularly useful for practicing math problems. Definitely should buy the premium package if you haven't done some of the math or verbal since high school. Even with an engineering degree, I had to go back and practice heavily on combinatorics, statistics, probability, and geometry. One warning, if you decide to do "practice tests" on Magoosh, which consists of just the Math and Verbal sections, do not pay attention to the score you receive at the end. In each of my practice tests, I would get anywhere between 600 and 670, but when I did the GMATPrep exams and the actual GMAT, I got well over 700 each time. This is because Magoosh's computer adaptive algorithm is pretty simple and can end up giving you strings of Very Hard questions if you do well initially in the sections, which, if you fail these, will kill your score. The most important thing is to just practice practice practice, and then review each question you do regardless of if you got it right or wrong, and take plenty of notes on questions (Magoosh has a feature to let you make notes on each question). The goal should be that by the two weeks prior to your GMAT exam, you're able to narrow down your specific topic weaknesses in the math and verbal sections, and just practice questions on these topics (which Magoosh allows you to filter and do). Best of luck to everyone prepping for the GMAT.

schaap
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Major: Bio(medical) Engineering
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I'd definitely recommend Magoosh

5 stars
October 20, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I watched most of the videos and did most of the prep questions. I found it very useful and attribute my score to the excellent study preparation provided by Magoosh,

gigi2018
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend this product!

5 stars
September 28, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Fantastic product. I had only about one month to study for the GMAT, and using this course was the best prep decision I could've made. Loved in particular the video explanations of answers to each question as well as the analytics that kept my test prep schedule razor-focused on strengthening my weaknesses. Felt very well-prepared for the GMAT after just one month with this course. Premium is completely worthwhile.

lrw421
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
College: Northwestern University
Major: Economics
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great product!

5 stars
September 25, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 730   After: 760
I entered the Magoosh course frustrated, after having taken the GMAT twice and receiving the same score both times (730). I watched all the Magoosh videos in about two weeks, spent several hours targeting my weaknesses on quant, and achieved a score of 760! I can't recommend this product enough.

rbgong89
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2018
College: Northwestern University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very happy with the product + outcome!

5 stars
September 10, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 760
I only had 4 weeks to prepare for the GMAT from scratch and found Magoosh products to have worked extremely well in my preparation. I scored a 650 in my very first CAT exam (no preparation); in the actual test, I scored a 760 (M50 / V41). I used Magoosh and OG guide in my preparation and put in about ~120 -150 hrs in total prep time.

Advantages of Magoosh:
1) Video instructions and lessons are much more efficient than live lessons because you can play them at 1.75x playback speed and skip / revist as necessary. The lessons were helpful as material refreshers. Every question also has a mini video explanation, which made me absorb each question much faster than reading from OG / text explanations.
2) High quality question bank, UI is simple to use and makes it easy to revisit wrong questions
3) Every feature is available via iPad apps - the idiom flashcard app was most helpful

Areas for improvement:
1) Bigger question bank for hard / very hard questions - I did all of my practice sessions in "adaptive" difficulty, and found myself mostly working through easy / medium questions in my last week of prep
2) I didn't find a few explanations very convincing (especially in harder CR / DS questions)
3) A few quant questions are slightly poorly worded / misleading - but imo less so than other providers

joe24
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great product and you can't beat the price

5 stars
August 27, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
A product that will provide you with all of the information and challenging problems you need in order to get a 700+ score. I condensed the basic 3-month study plan into a 2 month program. The study guides themselves are very helpful and keep you organized and on pace. Magoosh also recommends using other services, I did not use the MGMAT books or practice test they recommended, but did buy the OG. The lessons are great for building the basic blocks and I would strongly recommend using them. Of course, the video explanations are invaluable. When I had taken the two practice test provided by GMATPrep, I scored a 630 and 660. Magoosh is ideal for someone who can manage their own study time and stay motivated/focus to do well on the GMAT without the assistance of a tutor or large sunk cost.

rwt534
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: Brigham Young University
Major: Construction Technology
Industry: Retailing/Wholesaling
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great program to take you from beginner to test day

5 stars
August 25, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
I purchased the Magoosh program when all I knew about the GMAT is that I needed to take it. The reviews and value of Magoosh I found online really caught my eye and thought it would be worth a shot before I take my first attempt at the GMAT. I went through the entire course and took time working on all the problems and watching how the solution videos got to the answers and if they were more optimal than mine even if i got it right. I love the way that they help you think outside the memorization of formulas and really break down number sense and how it can apply across the test. In the end I was able to surprise myself and scored my target score on the first attempt with 3 months of intense Magoosh study. I would recommend the program to anyone starting out as it worked wonders taking me from completely clueless to 650 in a short amount of time.