Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 301 reviews
Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
College: University of Windsor
Major: Criminal Justice
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent ground-up approach

5 stars
March 28, 2015
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
Magoosh provides an excellent-ground up approach that starts with the most basic material and works its way up to advanced GMAT material, for both verbal and quantitative. I had an extremely weak quantitative background when I began preparing for the GMAT, with under 2 months until my test. I only needed a score of 550 for the program I was was planning on attending, but after completing the one-month daily study plan from Magoosh, I was able to score a 660 - well above the score I needed. I would highly recommend Magoosh GMAT prep to anybody who is looking for a back to the basics approach, or a large pool of practice questions with thorough explanations.

Joined: Nov 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 2015
Verified Real Student Review

Good value prep, but not the best around

5 stars
March 26, 2015
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Teacher: Online
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 760
Overall the course was good for the amount paid. $99 is not a ton to spend on test prep and if you are looking to prep for the GMAT on a budget I would definitely recommend Magoosh.

The video explanations to every question were a nice feature that I had not seen from other test prep companies.

The Verbal questions from Magoosh can be very difficult (more difficult than the actual exam). Some of the RC passages were way too long but overall I think it prepped me a decent amount.

Quant questions were about average. Probably at the level of difficulty one could expect to see on the actual exam.

IR had a horrible format, would avoid these on Magoosh and use GMATPrep for IR stuff.

The score predictor and adaptive setting on Magoosh is way off. This is probably the area where most improvement is needed. The one practice test is just a combination of questions from their question bank and I felt that the adaptive algorithm wasn't very accurate. Score predictor gave me a predicted score well below all of my other practice exams and actual score.

Overall, good product for $99. There are better prep companies out there, but be prepared to spend way more money.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
College: India
Major: Computer and Information Sciences
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Focused, relevant guidance for busy working people

5 stars
March 25, 2015
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 620
Initially I planned on preparing for the GMAT by myself, but I quickly got lost in the sea of information and material available online. I realized i will need a focused approach due to the limited time I had in my busy work schedule as a professional. Magoosh helped me study relevant topics in an organized manner. The sample tests were also very helpful in keeping track of my progress. I went from a 440 to 660 in 1.5 months of study. Although I could only score 620 on the actual exam, I know I could have done much better so I will be taking the exam once again in 2 months.
Magoosh team - thanks for putting together the whole study package!

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Sep 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Helped me keep the pace

5 stars
March 23, 2015
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I had a hard time with pacing before I started with Magoosh. They really helped me bring my average time down in answering the questions, and watching a short video explanation was a much better way for me to learn than reading yet more text. Overall, great experience and I'd recommend their self-study program to anyone!

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Dec 2014
College: University of Edinburgh
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Russia
Verified Real Student Review

An amazing resource that I wish I found earlier

5 stars
March 22, 2015
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 750
My first mock test (GMATPrep), conducted before any studying as a diagnostic, yielded a 690. I initially used Kaplan books to prepare for the GMAT, but in hindsight it was quite possibly a waste of time. More than a month later, with intensive study, I got a 710. Long story short, I did better on a few mocks (730-740) and then, on test day, got a 710.

For my retake, I wanted to switch strategies, and came across Magoosh. I was very fortunate in that I grabbed their Premium Prep for 99 dollars on sale. At this price, it was an absolute steal. With just two weeks to prepare, I managed to drastically improve my performance, and got a 750 on the day (I even got a 790 on a Veritas mock test as well, but in my opinion their verbal is way easier than the official).

What makes Magoosh such an effective resource? That probably depends on the person, but for me it was:

- Visual and audio learning is far more effective for me than books (you need to figure out what works for you).
- The bite-sized videos helped keep my concentration very high, versus a never-ending textbook, and is also great in that you can plug in 5-10 minutes of study throughout your day if need be.
- The explanations for each and every question provided are terrific, much better than the official question banks.
- I listened to the videos at 1.5x speed, the ability to change speeds is fantastic as you can tune it to your needs in a way that it's not too slow (boring, lose focus) and not too fast (doesn't sink in).

I am confident that I would not have done as well without Magoosh, and highly recommend it!

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2015
College: University of Mannheim
Country: Germany
Verified Real Student Review

Very good preparation for the GMAT

4 stars
March 22, 2015
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 690
Magoosh was an essential part of my preparation and helped me to raise my score!

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2015
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Investment Management
Country: Japan
Verified Real Student Review

Recommended, especially for practice-learning.

4 stars
March 22, 2015
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I used Magoosh GMAT's prep software for 3 weeks while preparing to take the GMAT for the first time. As a source of practice questions, it's very good. Each question has a video/text answer explanation and links to the video lessons relevant to the question. This was great for finding the subject areas where one needs a bit of study, doing so, and then returning to practicing. It's very efficient and focused. I found the explanations in Quantitative questions to be the most helpful, verbal sometimes didn't totally justify its explanations, so I recommend the product more strongly for Quant than Verbal.

You might consider supplementing Magoosh with a practice test pack from another site, for a couple of reasons. First is that Magoosh uses the same body of questions for practices and tests, and can "run low" on fresh questions of certain difficulty/types if you've been practicing a lot. That can lower the realism of the test experience. Second is, to its credit, Magoosh has a nicer interface than the GMAT itself and other providers who seem to favor 1995-forever design. While that's great for practice-learning, for pure practice-testing you might want to buy tests from another source. It's worth noting though that only on Magoosh did I get practice scores indicative of my final GMAT result.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Oct 2014
College: Netherlands
Country: Netherlands
Verified Real Student Review

Great math and verbal tips and guides to quickly improve your score!

5 stars
March 6, 2015
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 660
I heard about magoosh by accident, through GMAT Club, and they were having a big discount on their course, so I decided to try it out.

The teaching style of the course is perfect for my style of learning, as it is based on videos explaining the techniques. Everything is very straightforward, they teach techniques that help you solve problems faster and more efficiently. I had prepped for GMAT before, but with the techniques that they taught me I manage to vastly improve my speed.

At first, I have to admit that I thought that ~450 practice math questions isn't that much, compared to other courses out there, but I have to say that they provide sufficient practice to master the techniques they teach you. The same goes for the verbal section; the explanations are very straight forward there as well, and there are enough practice questions available to practice them.

Overall, Magoosh helped me improve my score by 70 points for roughly a month and a half, so I definitely recommend it to people who need/want to take the GMAT!

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2015
Verified Real Student Review

A Great and Affordable Product that mitigates the need for a class

5 stars
March 2, 2015
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
This is a wonderful product. I did not take an official GMAT class. I relied solely on Magoosh and the Official Gmat Guide books. Magoosh gives great video lessons that helped me especially on days where I was too tired after work to do a lot of reading. The staff at Magoosh are also incredibly friendly. I would recommend this product to anyone taking the GMAT.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
College: Southampton University
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Country: England
Verified Real Student Review

Yet to take the course but great so far

5 stars
March 2, 2015
Company: Magoosh 301 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 280 reviews
Teacher: All
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The course has been excellent so far. All of the videos have proved extremely useful and the small tips and tricks that are highlighted save you heaps of time during a test.

When I first started the GMAT, I was mind-boggled with many of the questions. I totally flunked the initial diagnostic test in the Official GMAT guide and was ready to give up before I'd even started. A quick web search for some guidance and up popped Magoosh - on sale for a very reasonable price. It had good reviews so I figured I'd go for it.

And I'm glad I did!! I've been working away at the 3 month study plan for beginners. Again, it starts as an uphill battle - I work full-time and it took me about 4 weeks to fully complete the first week of the course (lots of reading and a full analysis of your initial diagnostic test). After that, it's now just commiting 2/3 hours daily to attack the next set of recommended questions, reviewing them right away.

I haven't used all of the features of the course yet but based on the learnings I am taking away from the course so far, I have no doubt that the material will be excellent.

If you are considering the GMAT and have been put off by your initial review of the questions - sign up to magoosh. My primary advise is that if you're working, give yourself sufficient time to prepare for the test. The 3 month plan for beginners in Magoosh is a great starting point!