Magoosh
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 325 reviews
garmen
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Everything you need to know for the GMAT

5 stars
April 2, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 640
Let me start by saying I didn't even know calculators weren't allowed during the test and that a max score is 800. I was not ready for the GMAT, to say the least. Thankfully, Magoosh provides (almost excruciatingly, but necessarily) detailed videos covering all the material you need to know for the GMAT. With the Premium Course, they also provide practice tests and over 800 practice questions, which is what probably helped me the most! They also cover great tips to do quick mental math (ex. doubling and halving). My only regrets are waiting to take their practice exams and not leaving more time to review before my test date. Overall, Magoosh is great for starting from 0 and reaching a score you want!

Vincentsimpson
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: Penn State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Worth It - No Other Tool Needed

5 stars
March 18, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
x

srivastne
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: Carnegie Mellon University
Major: Finance
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great lesson videos and practice questions!

5 stars
March 18, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
The lessons were very effective and were a great refresher, especially for the math section. The self pacing of the prep was also very nice!

tony9800
Joined: Jan 2016
Purchased Course: Jan 2016
College: UC Berkeley
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Energy/Extractive Minerals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh was a great source in my GMAT toolkit

5 stars
March 6, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 730
Magoosh was a great resource with helpful videos of the official guide questions. I decided to prep for the GMAT in 2014 on a whim and this was the first source I used before the official guide. I used it throughout my multiple retakes and was able to reach my target score of 730. I really enjoyed using the user interface and solving all of the practice questions that are similar to the official GMAC format that you will see on the test date. It was not my own source, and I would recommend getting more than one prep source, but it was definitely a great complementary tool in my test prep toolkit

MattRudnick201
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: Rutgers University
Major: Biochemistry
Industry: Chemical/Pharm/Medical Products
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

760 (50Q/44V) Convenient, Self-Paced Program. Excellent for Full-Time Workers With Busy Schedules

5 stars
January 27, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Magoosh was the only study material I used when preparing for the GMAT. I scored a 760!!! My target score was a 700. My Magoosh practice test score was a 670. The Magoosh problems were actually a bit tougher than the problems I encountered on the test, and that really helped to push me to master the concepts necessary to do well.

jhdancer
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University
Major: Electrical Engineering
Industry: Chemicals
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

WORTH EVERY CENT YOU WILL PAY!!!

5 stars
January 22, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 490   After: 610
I can honestly say that I have never been a great standardized test taker. So when I decided I was going back to school to get my MBA, I knew that the GMAT would be my hardest feat. And this was further proven when I took the test the first time. I had a deadline to meet to qualify for a pre-MBA Program and did not have much time to meet it. So I read about Magoosh and read all of the wonderful reviews about the program and decided I should try it. I did the one month study plan (definitely modified but completed all required Magoosh material) and I can say it was all worth it. My score increased 120 points in a short time span. I am still not where I want to be, but now that I have qualified for my program, I plan to review the Magoosh material and do the 3 month study plan (all material included) to get to the score I truly desire. But I would recommend this program to anybody. Especially if you are a visual learner, but don't really have the time to sit in a 3-4 hour weekly prep class (I'm an Engineer in Oil & Gas so time is of the essence). You definitely have to be self motivated, as you are responsible for your progress and the knowledge learned, but I cannot say enough great things about Magoosh. Take from someone who absolutely HATES standardized tests. This will definitely help you well on your way to greatness on the GMAT!

hedleysk
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Nov 2017
College: McMaster University
Major: Anthropology
Industry: Student
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep tool

5 stars
January 9, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Teacher: Mike
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 700
Magoosh's video lessons were incredibly helpful in my preparation for my GMAT. The math videos allowed me to refresh on concepts that I haven't visited since highschool being in an arts undergrad program, and helped me to pass my goal score. My initial practice test were estimating a score of 610, with a very poor quantitative score of 37. After my actual test I came out with 45 in Quant and 40 in Verbal for a total score of 700. I really liked the videos that were linked after each practice question to further strengthen knowledge, and I found the practice questions to be very similar to the actual GMAT. I did, however, find the quantitative questions slightly harder than what I saw on the actual test, with Magoosh's software estimating my score significantly lower than what I received on test day. I used Magoosh primarily in my studying and near test day also began using the official GMAT prep guide to do more practice questions. I highly recommend using these videos in your preparation rather than reading from a book, and using it in combination with the CAT GMATPrep tests you are given access to when you register for your exam. I found that score from the GMATPrep to be very accurate in comparison to my final score, so using them in combination with Magoosh will give you a great idea of where you stand.

Natalia1991
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: University of Kent (UK)
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United Kingdom
Verified Real Student Review

A great resource!

5 stars
January 9, 2018
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 680
I couldn't be happier with the Magoosh course. I used mostly the maths video lessons and practice questions and managed to get 80 points more in comparison to a practice test I took only 3 weeks before my actual exam. It is a great resource and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone willing to significantly increase their score in a very short period of time.

smanney
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: Loyola University Chicago
Major: Communication and Journalism
Industry: Telecommunications
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Don't blow thousands on expensive test prep!

5 stars
December 28, 2017
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I started using Magoosh about three months before taking the GMAT, and I am thrilled with the results! I hadn't done any sort of math over 4.5 years of professional experience following my undergraduate studies. I don't have a pre-Magoosh score because I never made it through the first practice exam. I had NO IDEA how to answer almost ANY of the math problems. Mike came to the rescue! His videos explain everything you need to know to be successful on the exam, and nothing that you don't. He even explains along the lines of "this topic gets complicated if you dive in more deeply, but it won't be on the test, so don't bother!"

It's not just video lessons, Mike and his team provide video solutions to every single practice problem. On the message boards, you can find more solutions to official guide questions. Text explanations are often very hard to follow and can cause headaches (especially in the official guide) but the videos walk you through each problem step by step, and REALLY make a difference.

The best part is, it's not an expensive class! Magoosh is a steal compared to many in-person classes that charge four figures to attend. In classes like those, you're stuck with the course. Magoosh allows you to replay lessons on difficult topics and rewind videos to make sure an idea sinks in. In conjunction with the suggested study schedule, I believe this is far superior GMAT trainer, and WILL raise you score bigtime!

CKas
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Emphasis on Understanding, and Practice, Practice, Practice!

5 stars
December 2, 2017
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Teacher: Mike
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
Prior to starting with Magoosh, I took practice tests and my highest score was 570. I signed up for a free one-week GMAT prep with Magoosh and was stunned by the level of detail in the few explanation videos I had access to. So I decided to sign up for the premium package which covers all the math topics encountered in the GMAT Quant section. There are hundreds of practice problems ranging from easy questions to very difficult ones, and a timer helps you keep track of your pace. For every practice problem, there is a video explaining how to arrive at the correct answer. There are also dozens and dozens of video lessons that provide a thorough understanding of all the concepts. I kept watching the video lessons and practicing questions and I probably went through more than a hundred sheets of paper doing practice questions! The Verbal Reasoning, Integrated Reasoning and Analytical Writing lessons are also very thorough; however, I focused more on Quant because of my limited time. On test day I made sure to choose Option 3, which has the Quant section first, followed by Verbal, then IR, and, lastly, AW. I was confident because I had not memorized a bunch of formulas, rather, I understood the concepts and was able to answer questions using different approaches and still arrive at the same answer. Thank you Magoosh!