Magoosh
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2018 & Verified Reviews

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 325 reviews
cso09a
Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Abilene Christian University
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

High Quality and Cost-Effectiveness Can Coexist

5 stars
September 14, 2014
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I purchased Magoosh Premium for ~$100 as some sort of package deal they were running. I was planning on trying to take the GMAT cold and see how I would do but after taking one of the GMAT official practice tests I realized that this was not going to be a good plan. On my official GMAT practice test, having no preconceived notions of the test, I scored a 600. 89th percentile in verbal and 35th percentile in quant. Having identified the area in which I was lacking I began to worry because I saw how much the Kaplan courses and others like it cost. After a bit of Internet sleuthing I found Magoosh, the price was right, so I went for it. Though I purchased the premium I only used it for math. I drilled math for about two weeks and put in about 50 hours of studying. The video explanations after each question is the main feature of Magoosh that I found beneficial. With only two weeks of using this program under my belt, I began working full-time and stopped studying for the month before my test, which was likely a handicap to my final score. Yesterday I took my exam and I scored a 720, 94th percentile in verbal and 68th percentile in quant. I didn't need to do as well as I did for the program I am applying to but it felt great to know that I rocked the GMAT with a minimal amount of studying. Thanks to Magoosh I spent only $100 on study materials and got, what I would consider to be, an acceptable result. Magoosh is all you need.

Ambitious88
Joined: Aug 2012
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Good for quant

4 stars
August 21, 2014
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 720
Hello,

I'll be honest in how I used Magoosh prep. I'm from tech background with relatively stronger quant skills. I had taken GMAT before as well but I was stuck at Q49. I read some Magoosh's reviews and gave it a shot. And the concepts are really good and it was a good brush-up for me. And their tougher questions are also good. I ended up with Q50. So I'd recommend Magoosh for quant material.

Thanks
Sachin Y

T0ny9
Joined: Aug 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great prep site at a great price

5 stars
August 4, 2014
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 700
I thought Magoosh was great. It was exactly what I needed. Video explanations for every question are perfect. The video lessons themselves are great too. I just needed one place to get everything - lessons, problems, and explanations - and Magoosh provides all that without costing a lot.

snoozeking1
Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Jun 2014
College: FSU
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Verified Real Student Review

Great format to structure and focus effort!

5 stars
July 31, 2014
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Teacher: Magoosh- online
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
Magoosh was instrumental to my improvement on the GMAT - and I'm feeling stoked for just scoring a 690. I found the online lessons extremely helpful by focusing my attention on a set curriculum and providing an outline that thoroughly covers all the material needed. In my case, around 3 months ago I took a baseline practice test and scored a depressing 500. Then, after signing up for full Magoosh access online, I just watched all the videos and finished the 800+ practice questions. After words I was doing much better on the practice tests. My best practice test was 630 I believe, so it's also helpful to know their material may be a bit more difficult than the actual exam. In all, I think I invested around 120-140 hours studying over several months with Magoosh and the Official Guide, and just hit 690. I'm confident this score will get me exactly what I need.. Anyway, I found Magoosh extremely helpful and I highly recommend it.

gabei7
Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
College: University of Chicago
Major: Economics
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh Math + Verbal 1yr Subscription Review

4 stars
July 30, 2014
Company: Magoosh 325 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 303 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I actually used Magoosh and MGMAT books to study for the GMAT. The only reason I didn't give a 5 star review stems from the fact that I didn't use Magoosh exclusively or in its entirety.

I studied all of the MGMAT books and then used Magoosh video lessons as a supplement. Often the Magoosh videos taught me new things that weren't in the MGMAT books, helped reinforce concepts that I had already learned, and made it easier to understand concepts from a different perspective when the MGMAT methods weren't clicking for me.

One of the biggest assets from Magoosh was the question banks. I found them to be a great source for hundreds of new questions that could be done online in a customizable test. Although customization wasn't perfectly comprehensive, it still gave options for time, number of questions, and detailed question types. I used nearly every practice question, and each question came with a video and text explanation.

Ultimately I think Magoosh was a big help when combined with the MGMAT books and I would recommend Magoosh to friends.

N.B.: I don't think any one source is the comprehensive guide to the GMAT. So saying Magoosh was a supplement to MGMAT is not a knock on the site. If anything, MGMAT was a supplement to Magoosh as well.