Magoosh
Company
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Magoosh

Best Promo Code 2019 & Verified Reviews

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 329 reviews
steveh1988
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course at a Great Price!

5 stars
November 1, 2017
Company: Magoosh 329 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 307 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 610
If you are looking for a self paced course then this is the best option out there. The lesson videos easily break the material into 5-10 minute clips that make the content seem very manageable. They also provides 3 month lesson plans that break down what you should review each day to complete the content. This is very helpful for holding yourself accountable. One of the most valuable tools is that each of their online practice questions has an answer video that will walk you through the problem. They also have links to related lesson plans which makes it easier to pinpoint the areas that you need to review.

cwbrian
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Major: Business
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

100 Point Increase using Magoosh

5 stars
October 24, 2017
Company: Magoosh 329 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 307 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I purchased the Magoosh Premium program. I had heard from a friend that it was an essential study help and that it was extremely affordable. With that background I pulled the trigger and got started. I had less than two months to study (and my wife was pregnant, which didn't make things easier). I watched all of the Quantitative videos and did about 400 practice questions on Magoosh. When I took my first practice GMAT exam I scored a 590, with verbal in the 90th percentile and quant in the 30th percentile... I obviously needed to focus on the quantitative section. After my many hours of study, I ended up with a 46 on quant, which was amazing for me. My final score was a 690. I'm certain that I couldn't have done it without Magoosh.

4dilipg@gmail.com
Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2016
Verified Real Student Review

prepare for gmat with the leader!

5 stars
October 22, 2017
Company: Magoosh 329 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 307 reviews
Teacher: Anne
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
magoosh video lessons are best. All the GMAT topics are covered wonderfully! Also the OG video solution for maths came in handy. The practice questions helped me a lot in finding out my weak areas. At the end of each session, it also suggested me some video lessons that helped me improving specific areas.
Another thing that really impressed me was their prompt response to my queries, be it related to specific questions or GMAT as a whole. Magoosh played a very important role in my GMAT preparation.
Thier support is the un matched. go for magoosh without any doubt.

ag312
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Pennsylvania State University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Legal Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great service with lots of resources

5 stars
October 21, 2017
Company: Magoosh 329 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 307 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I thought this was a great program. I am many years out of undergrad, and was overwhelmed with re-learning the math to take the GMAT. I thought I was pretty much hopeless, but the videos, flashcards, study schedule, and huge supply of practice questions helped me get back up to speed. I'm really happy with my score and I'm glad that I invested in the Magoosh program.

kaaten
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
Major: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh GMAT Prep Is a Lifesaver

5 stars
October 20, 2017
Company: Magoosh 329 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 307 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 520   After: 660
After taking the GMAT once and doing very poorly on it, I knew that I needed to improve my score by at least 50-80 points. With Magoosh, I improved my score by 140 points. This not only restored a sense of confidence in my abilities, but it also made me realize how beneficial Magoosh was for me. I hadn't taken a math class since high school, so every single math lesson video was a refresher course and re-taught me all the pesky rules I had forgotten about that had previously tripped me up in my earlier GMAT prep. I was decent at verbal in the first place, but I always got extremely frustrated with critical reasoning questions. The Magoosh videos and hundreds of practice problems finally made me understand what the critical reasoning questions were looking for. By the time I took the test again, I felt like every Quant and Verbal practice question I had seen in Magoosh, even the medium ones, were harder than any question I saw on my real GMAT. Additionally, as a broke undergrad, the $120 I paid for a yearlong premium subscription seemed like pocket change for what I got in return for using the program. You seriously cannot beat 100+ lesson videos and hundreds of adaptive and well-explained practice questions. To sum up my experience with Magoosh, I'll leave a list of pros and cons.

Pros:
-Math lesson videos are extensive
-Math practice questions are extensive and all-encompassing
-Critical reasoning question explanations were extremely thourough
-Reading comprehension passages were way harder than anything I saw on the real thing
-Cost

Cons:
-Reading comprehension videos could be a bit more descriptive

If you're shooting for admission to public, mid-tier state school specialized masters programs and a goal score of 700 or less, you seriously cannot go wrong with Magoosh.

jacsand1
Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

The only non-OG resource I used and you'll ever need.

5 stars
October 13, 2017
Company: Magoosh 329 reviews
Course: Magoosh Math + IR 20 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Magoosh is the only resource I used apart from the OGs. I followed their 1 month study schedule and managed a 710. The quant lessons were very detailed and I wasn't taken by surprise by any of the questions on the actual GMAT. All thanks to Mike and his pedagogy.

bvhuntley
Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: University of Kansas
Major: Political Science
Industry: Government
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

An all around amazing tool

5 stars
September 25, 2017
Company: Magoosh 329 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 307 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 760
My career has been in politics. I'm 32, and the last math class I took was in high school (college Calculus in 2004).

I began studying for the GMAT about 2 years ago (Fall of 2015), as time allowed. I knew that I was going to be applying for matriculation to business school in the Fall of 2018. I bought the 2016 Official GMAT Guide, and began working through it slowly but surely.

Fast forward to November 2016, when I began studying in earnest. I'd take a few hours every weekend, and work through an amount of problems roughly equal to the GMAT, with the distribution of question types roughly even to that on the GMAT, as best as I could engineer. I really struggled, but figured it was because I hadn't taken a math class in over a decade, and, as a fairly bright guy, assumed it would come back to me with practice.

Fast forward again to the Spring of 2017. I had signed up for the actual test (August 2017). I was studying pretty much every day at that point, all on my own. I found myself making the same mistakes over and over, and really hitting a wall as far as my improvement and progress. After what can only be described as a nervous breakdown (I'm KIND of kidding), I began to look into 12 week prep courses. Because of my schedule, I determined I couldn't do a traditional prep course (Manhattan, Kaplan, etc) because I couldn't guarantee I could carve out a three-hour window on "x-night" every week for 12 weeks. I then began looking at online prep courses, and came across Magoosh. After reading some extremely positive reviews, and determining that the price was certainly right, I signed up for Magoosh.

I can unequivocally state that signing up for Magoosh was the best decision I made in the GMAT prep process. There is nothing I didn't like about Magoosh. I used the 3-month study plan for advanced students (I knew I needed an elite score - 700+). While demanding, the study plan forced me to keep myself accountable, on track, and allowed me to really dedicate myself to the process. Beyond that, the online questions that Magoosh has are varied, completely customizable, and extremely helpful. The online videos, both for materials and for answers, really help you to understand the logic behind questions. The online help is responsive and insightful. The tools that Magoosh provides were absolutely amazing, and in many instances, prepare you for questions that are harder than anything you'll actually see on the GMAT.

But I think the most important thing about Magoosh is the central philosophy behind the product. The materials are not presented to teach you how to do (insert random skill here). The materials are prepared so you learn the logic behind the problems. As anyone who has taken the GMAT will tell you - the test does not test your math and english knowledge as much as it tests your ability to understand the logic behind the questions. The test is about figuring out the problems, not about answering them.

I had taken one practice test right before signing up for Magoosh and scored a 610 (Q: 40, V: 34, IR: 6, AWA: 4.5).

After more than 12 weeks of using Magoosh, I scored a 760 (Q:50, V:42, IR: 8, AWA: 6).

I'm fully confident I'd not have been able to crack 700 without Magoosh. Hopefully, I never have to take a standardized test again, but if I do, Magoosh is the first place I'll turn. I'll recommend Magoosh to anyone I encounter in the future who is studying for a standardized test.

The one thing I will "warn" people considering signing up for Magoosh about is that it forces you to hold yourself accountable. If you are one that has trouble getting motivated, and really needs a presence forcing you to do what you need to do, Magoosh is likely not the product for you. If you will do better reporting to a teacher, and being assigned homework, look at one of the more traditional prep courses. But if you are able to keep yourself motivated, to force yourself to do the work, and to keep yourself driven, you don't need to look any further than Magoosh.

alexanisback
Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2016
Major: Business
Industry: Agribusiness
Country: Greece
Verified Real Student Review

Magoosh- A great course

5 stars
September 16, 2017
Company: Magoosh 329 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 307 reviews
Teacher: Mike McGarry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 400   After: 660
I sat for the Gmat and scored 660 Q47 V34. I can definitely say that my Q47 is a product of Magoosh preparation since i didn't use any other products or books, not even the OG. Mike McGarry and his team have put a great product out there-designed, in my opinion for 660-700 level score targets. They don't have many super hard questions of the level 700-800 that you will see on the gmat if you are striving for a Q51 but, you probably don't need them. To be honest, there are questions of this level, but only in a small number, in my opinion not adequate to get the elusive Q51. If you want a 660 with a low cost, go for Magoosh. The Verbal part is renowned also.

The course has 1 year subscription for a small amount of money while other prep companies ask a lot of money for only a fraction of this time.

The Magoosh team is always there to resolve any queries with a lot of effort. Other prep companies answer very sparingly. Magoosh instructors may write 1-2 pages to help you with only one question.

The question bank is well inspired as it helps you build the quizzes you want and the analysis helps you home in on your weaknesses and Beat Them!

One thing that could make the course better is the number of questions. If the team adds some more questions (i myself like to practice a lot ) the product will be amazing.

Overall, this course provides a great ROI and i highly recommend it. Anyone out there trying to study all alone with only free resources no matter how poor you are, find a promotion of Magoosh and buy it. You will remember me.

ArunSrinivasan93
Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
College: Bannari Amman institute of Technology
Major: Mechanical Engineering
Industry: Consumer Products
Country: India
Verified Real Student Review

A resource for the best GMAT score

5 stars
September 8, 2017
Company: Magoosh 329 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 307 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
The course was really good!!

The videos were really good and comprehensive. The instructors were very well versed, witty and made the classes really interesting. And a special mention to the video explanations of the questions which really helped me understand the questions and where I went wrong.

The question bank which Magoosh is really really thorough and encompasses almost every single type of question you can think of. Sorting through types of questions and the topics from which they come from helped me to understand which topics needed more concentration

All in all, the course helped me get a 720 ( Q 49, V 39) on my first attempt and I would recommend this course wholeheartedly to everyone who wants to prepare for GMAT.

shreyh13
Joined: Sep 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: Toronto
Major: Finance
Industry: Accounting
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Amazing Course - got a 730 on my first attempt!

5 stars
September 2, 2017
Company: Magoosh 329 reviews
Course: Magoosh Premium Prep 307 reviews
Teacher: N/A
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
The course was absolutely amazing. While the video lessons were fantastic, it was the detailed video explainations of the comprehensive question bank that truly made Magoosh crucial to my prep. I did also greatly appreciate the videos on what to expect on the test day, tips for before the test day and also on how to answer the essay question.

While I did do all the GmatPrep tests as well as the Official Guide questions, Magoosh helped provide me with a strong foundation, especially in quant. However, in all honesty, I believe that they need to fix up the score predictor as, atleast in my case, it was quite off.

That minor issue aside, I would strongly recommend this course as it helped me score a 730 (Q47 V42) on my very first attempt!