Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course
Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 286 reviews
alicepike
Joined: Oct 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommended!

5 stars
October 16, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Starr
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 730
I got 730 in the GMAT after taking the 10 week course with Ryan Starr. I had taken it twice before and I wish I had done the course earlier! Ryan has a great teaching style, he really knows his stuff so you feel confident in what you're learning and the classes are fun. The course covers all aspects of the GMAT from exam content to test day strategy, so all bases are covered. If you want to get your best score then this is absolutely the course you should invest in.

bhs125
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome, efficient course with Ryan

5 stars
September 27, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 730
Great course - focused on efficiency and strategies, rather than extraneous content. Everything I learned was very useful during the actual test. Ryan, in particular, was an awesome teacher. He was very blunt, and direct; and I even found it helpful (weirdly) to approach questions with his emphatic voice/intonations, as well as his helpful analogies. There was an optimal balance of quant vs. verbal content, and the strategies were very helpful, particularly in time management/on the quant section. Additionally, the 1-on-1 assessment during the course to help focus my strengths/weaknesses did wonders for my score. There were only 2 minor negative aspects with the curriculum: 1. Limited practice tests (more personal preference – I study best through excessive repetition, so I wanted more than 6) and 2. Slightly too much IR focus in the homework assignments.

tconklin1992
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2018
College: Dartmouth College
Major: Economics
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Success

5 stars
September 10, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: David Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I participated in David Mahler’s ten-week Manhattan Prep GMAT course in Spring/Summer 2018. Following an initial practice exam score of 590, I scored a 760 on my first and only GMAT sitting in July.



Having not been acquainted with the exam format or any official GMAT resources, I selected Manhattan Prep as a familiar service with a positive reputation in New York and among my undergraduate classmates. I completed my undergraduate degree in 2014 and am applying this fall to MBA programs for matriculation in Fall 2019. I considered the GMAT to be an unpredictable and time-consuming first step in the admissions process. I knew I needed to prepare strategically, given my time constraint, which justified the course investment.



For me, the robust course materials and carefully organized curriculum were critical for achieving a high score. The strategy guides necessarily walked me through a massive variety of content I hadn’t encountered since high school. Infamously, this content represents only half the battle. The GMAT also tests strategy and decision making, and, in my experience, emotional composure. Rather than separating the content from these components, the strategy guides themselves incorporate these challenges throughout. For example: I found the importance of strategy selection during the Quant section to be remarkable. Solving a problem with even the most refined “textbook” technique is frequently penalized by way of time. As the curriculum advances through Quant subjects, the books reiterate alternative (or “shortcut”) strategies in their different applications. Only purposeful practice with several strategies and, more importantly, review of that practice, can bolster one’s ability to select efficient strategies or cut bait when necessary. Not only do the Manhattan Prep strategy guides cover content with digestible pace and organization, they immerse that content in strategy and in the context of agile decision-making. While it is impossible to benchmark, I think the strategy guides alone enabled me to score in the 700-720 range (a far cry from where I began). The books are ordered, which helps organize studying and makes them less daunting to approach. For those on a budget and/or not local to New York, the materials are a rich resource on their own and well worth the investment.



In order to score those additional 40-60 points (it’s all relative), I believe the in-person class to be worth the incremental investment. Research the instructors and consult the online reviews. I had an exceptional and memorable experience with David Mahler, whose instruction was as effective as any college professor I can remember. While I chose Dave because we shared an Alma Mater and he recorded a 790 GMAT, I believe online reviews such as this one testify to his talent and led many of my classmates to choose his course. I’ll begin there: my section was fully booked with ~12 students as opposed to a section with four or five students that I addended as a make-up. All things equal, the smaller section was surprisingly less productive than the larger. The smaller headcount did not come closer to resembling a tutored course—if there is even one other student the curriculum cannot be tailored to you. The increased individual attention only caused the instructor to check in with each student before proceeding to the next practice question or topic. Class is not about solving individual problems—there are too many to address. Rather, as Dave emphasized, a class succeeds if it can polish your study and review process. You must prepare mostly on your own. As a person that struggles with self-regimen, I needed Dave’s guidance to “work smarter” and accomplish as much as possible with the little time I had. Dave held us accountable in our coursework. There was no passing his class, as his objective was to nudge us as close to our potential as was possible in ten weeks… you are not evaluated by your instructor. I performed well on the problems in class, but this was not a barometer of my ability relative to my classmates. It was an opportunity, each time, to recognize areas of improvement and consider better strategies. I got careless and made silly mistakes. Dave did not hesitate to knock me down a peg and I never once felt like I “passed the test”. There was always a critique to be made and a weakness to recognize in future problems, when exams don’t break for discussion, when there are 20 problems ahead, when review is no longer a luxury. Dave was able to challenge every person in the room at once, facilitating discussion and holding attention. It was masterful instruction and it was a blast.



The GMAT is a terrific test. I don’t believe it can be conquered, but I know that it can be whittled down to a more manageable feat. Believe it or not, that process can be fun. No exam, including the GMAT, can print an objective assessment of your intelligence. The GMAT doesn’t try to do this. It anchors itself in 30-60-90 right triangles and comma splices and proceeds to test your decision-making and composure. But it doesn’t do this mysteriously—there’s tape on its schemes that you mustn’t break down yourself. Manhattan Prep has done it for you. I can’t imagine approaching the GMAT without being coached on its tricks. It is my enthusiastic recommendation that any prospective MBA student prepare for the GMAT with David Mahler and Manhattan Prep. The cost was a large investment for me, and provided an overwhelming return, which feels pretty good.

vgenerelli
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: University of Notre Dame
Major: Accounting
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattn prep with Dhivya - WORTH IT!

5 stars
July 9, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Dhivya Arumugham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
The live Manhattan Prep GMAT course was critical to my success and enabled me to ultimately score a 740. My instructor, Dhivya Arumugham, was very well-prepared, articulate and knowledgeable. I would really recommend Dhivya as an instructor - she provides clear, concise explanations of problems, has a good sense of humor and brings a lot of energy to some mundane topics.

The course is very structured and incorporates quant, verbal, and test taking strategy each week. The online learning portal makes it very easy to manage your assignments weekly, track progress, and flag areas of weakness to review. I took the exam for the first time only two days after the course ended (which is not recommended) and scored a 690. After another month of review using the official guide and other quant drills, I scored a 740. I am convinced that Manhattan prep was key to my success and the price was well worth it.

They also provide additional resources including webinars about certain test areas, selecting the right schools for you, applications, and interviews. You have access to an individual review of a practice exam with an instructor to create a study plan. I also received a free half-hour session with an admissions consultant who helped tremendously and could answer questions about the specific schools to which I applied.

lakersfan8172
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Ryan McGorman: Great Instructor!

5 stars
July 3, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Ryan was an excellent instructor who was very engaging in-class and delivered great lectures. He did a very good job breaking down complex concepts into clear and concise points. I found this to be especially helpful in sentence correction. Ryan emphasized finding splits and taught effective strategies that simplified a lot of hard questions. Outside of class, he made a huge effort in being available for questions 24/7. He was very responsive to emails and attentive to my learning needs. I would strongly recommend taking a GMAT class with him.

nicholaus.tucker
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: University of Central Arkansas
Major: Music
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep - Shelton Windham

5 stars
June 29, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: Shelton Windham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 760
I took the complete GMAT prep course with Shelton, and it was a great experience. He delivered really high-quality, exploratory lectures that really dove into the heart of what the GMAT tests: logic. My first practice score was a 580, and I ended up with a 760 when I finally took the GMAT.

I saw my practice test scores go up considerably during the duration of the course, and kept studying on my own well past the end of the class. My time with Shelton proved more valuable the longer I studied, and I really credit a lot of my success both to his actual instruction and his methodical way of teaching his students to analyze their own weaknesses and address them head-on.

There are no miracles when it comes to test-prep, and you won't wake up with a 700+ score if you don't put in the effort. If you're willing to work for it, though, there's no better choice than Shelton to get you up-to-snuff with the material.

bobgrech
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience with GMAT Manhattan Prep Course - Ryan McGorman

5 stars
June 28, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I took the 9-session GMAT course with Manhattan Prep with Ryan McGorman. Class was extremely helpful in preparing for the test. I increased 140 points from my first practice test. Ryan was a great instructor and does a great job teaching how to approach every type question on the GMAT. He is also very helpful and willing to speak outside of class. The course also comes with great study material for all of the subjects covered on the test as well as 6 realistic practice test

nvs2110
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Definitely worth it!

5 stars
June 10, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 30 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 750
Would not have been able to get this score without Manhattan Prep. The framework that they put around the questions is critical and makes it easy to understand how to approach problems. Logan was a fantastic instructor - he reinforced key frameworks / concepts in every class and challenged us to always think of multiple ways to solve problems. In addition to the standard Manhattan Prep offerings, I used the Advanced Quant strategy guide. Even though I only got the book a week before my official test, I felt much more comfortable approaching the more difficult quant problems after reading through it. Would definitely recommend Manhattan Prep and Logan to anyone looking to take the GMAT!

sj1234
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: Columbia University
Major: Economics
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Would highly recommend if you need a good study schedule and to learn specific GMAT strategies

5 stars
June 1, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Teacher: Michael Morgan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 740
Came here for the full 9-week GMAT course and my instructor was Mike Morgan. It was a really useful course. The materials and syllabus for the class are well-planned and kept me on track to take the exam about 1.5 months after finishing the course. I worked a 60+ hour/week job while studying, so the homework was a bit tough to keep up with, but I felt it was very valuable to do so. My instructor was also great. His strength was definitely Quant, which is what I most needed help on and it ended up being my strength on the actual exam. He also did a good job of sending up post-course materials whenever we needed and working with us individually during breaks in class if we had specific questions. Most of my coworkers recommended Manhattan Prep over other prep sites and I agree. I would recommend that you take this course if you want an in-person weekly class to keep you on schedule. In addition, if you don't struggle as much with the content but more with specific GMAT strategies, this course would also be a good option. It's not really a course to teach you math/verbal content, since usually the content itself is straightforward - I feel that this is where a lot of other prep companies fall short, as they spend too much time on the content - but rather the tricks and strategies to help you do well on the exam. Each course also comes with a lot of guides, the OG, and a testing dry-erase pad. The online exams are also extremely helpful to supplement the 2 official GMAC practice exams. To me, the MPrep exams were much harder but also helped me perform better as a result.

jtheffelfinger
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A Surprisingly Enjoyable Experience

5 stars
May 21, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 32 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Vollmer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 710
It was not until after the 9 week in-person group GMAT course was complete that I learned that we had been Mr. Jeff Vollmer's inaugural class. I must say that I was surprised, because Jeff's teaching throughout the course was so effective and seamless. Jeff has an uncanny ability to answer questions and address confusion in such a way that benefits the entire class despite widely varying ability levels amongst the students. He also has a knack for demonstrating multiple viable methods for attacking the same problem. For those new to the exam, this a critical skill; you will not always have time to execute a full algebraic solution to a problem for instance. You must have multiple tools in your GMAT toolbox, and you must be comfortable in quickly discerning which approach is appropriate for the problem at hand. To boot, Jeff is also a humorous and inclusive teacher, and he made our multi-hour Thursday night study sessions, dare I say it, enjoyable.

As a military officer transitioning out of the service to business school, whose quant skills were certainly a bit rusty, I am very happy that I was able to achieve a 710. I am grateful to Jeff and MPrep, and I would enthusiastically recommend the service to anyone who is considering it.