Manhattan GMAT - Boston
Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - Boston

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 31 reviews
140 Clarendon St.
Boston, MA 02116
mkt8080
Joined: Dec 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience

5 stars
December 9, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 416 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 287 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: N/A
Great class and highly recommend taking it with Logan Thompson -- he's very patient and his methods are creative and effective!

nvs2110
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Definitely worth it!

5 stars
June 10, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 416 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 287 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 750
Would not have been able to get this score without Manhattan Prep. The framework that they put around the questions is critical and makes it easy to understand how to approach problems. Logan was a fantastic instructor - he reinforced key frameworks / concepts in every class and challenged us to always think of multiple ways to solve problems. In addition to the standard Manhattan Prep offerings, I used the Advanced Quant strategy guide. Even though I only got the book a week before my official test, I felt much more comfortable approaching the more difficult quant problems after reading through it. Would definitely recommend Manhattan Prep and Logan to anyone looking to take the GMAT!

davidturner744
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Effective 9-week night course, more than manageable while working a full-time job.

5 stars
December 20, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 416 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 287 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Josh Yardley
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Manhattan Prep was the main reason that I more than achieved my target score on the GMAT. My score went up almost 200 points from the pre-course exam to my final score, which was in the 99th percentile. Josh was a great teacher - really helped to understand the ins and outs of how to approach the questions and develop a strategy for the GMAT as a whole. I was able take the 9-week in person course at my own pace, which really helped while working full-time. Doing the work suggested for each class was helpful, but i was certainly was not lost if I didn't get to the material in a given week.

jnridella
Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: cornell university
Major: Psychology
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Logan is awesome

5 stars
August 30, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 416 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 660
Manhattan Prep is a great GMAT prep program. I was working full time in a busy job that was travel intensive...the online accelerated course was wonderful. It fit into my busy schedule, and really helped me to improve my score. I supplemented the course with a few private tutoring sessions with Logan Thompson...he was extremely patient with me and extremely thorough in his explanations. Logan helped me improve my over all score by 100 points, and boost my verbal score to the 98th percentile. Logan was a life saver! I am now applying to schools that were initially out of my reach. Thanks Manhattan Prep!

adgluesing
Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Bowdoin College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Logan Thompson - Excellent

5 stars
August 28, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 416 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 287 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 770
I took the 9-week summer course, led by Logan Thompson, and was extremely happy I did. Logan's sense of humor and personality made the class fun rather than tedious, and I always looked forward to our sessions. Perhaps more importantly, Logan was instrumental in improving my understanding - and therefore my score - over the course of the class. He consistently emphasized finding multiple paths to a solution, and taught us tools to reach the correct answer when we were otherwise stumped. From the beginning of the class to the end, I was able to improve my score from a 620 to a 770, which I wouldn't have been able to do without Logan.

fernandez.patty
Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
Major: Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Logan Thompson - Highly recommended!

5 stars
August 27, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 416 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 570   After: 710
Logan is a great teacher! He helped me improve my score from a 570 to a 710. Before reaching out to Logan for private tutoring, I had studied from the Manhattan books. However, it was Logan who helped me understand how to tackle problems, and how to avoid common GMAT traps. He taught me how study and review wrong questions. He was very encouraging through the entire process, always believing in me. He was very accessible, and would always respond to my emails. After our tutoring sessions were over, he would follow-up with me, making sure I was making good progress. I would really recommend Logan!

dcsibor
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the Investment!

5 stars
May 24, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 416 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 287 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Sergio Frisoli
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I had an outstanding experience with Manhattan Prep in getting ready for the GMAT. I took the full nine week class with Sergio Frisoli, who was not only an excellent instructor in the classroom but also went above and beyond by making himself available outside of class via phone or email. Although I had not been in a classroom in several years and the idea of a three hour weekly session seemed daunting, the way Sergio ran the class was so engaging that I never really noticed the time going by. He mentioned at the beginning of the nine weeks that he had been a teacher prior to going to business school, and his experience clearly showed.

While Manhattan has a set curriculum the instructors follow, Sergio (and, I would imagine, other instructors) don't just stick to a script; they always make time to answer questions and customize each session to fit what the students need. This flexibility made my experience that much better and had a huge influence on my score.

Speaking of scores...I started the course "cold" with a baseline score in the low 600s. I sat for the exam twice and ended up with a score over 700, which was my target. Getting the nearly-100 point improvement was great, of course, and is ultimately why people take prep classes in the first place.

But when I think of Manhattan, I will most remember my experience after the first time I took the exam and I did not do very well. Even though class had been done for several weeks, I reached out to Sergio and he responded immediately with several really helpful pointers about what to do in the couple weeks before I took the exam again. I even got an unsolicited email from him the night before the test, just wishing me good luck. While I haven't used another prep service so can't say this with 100 percent certainty, I highly doubt you'll be able to find a better, more personalized experience than the one you get from Manhattan.

dfs623
Joined: Dec 2016
Purchased Course: Aug 2016
Verified Real Student Review

Extremely useful course if you don't know anything about the test

5 stars
December 12, 2016
Company: Manhattan Prep 416 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 287 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Chris Gentry & Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I took this course without having taken the GMAT before. I didn't know anything about the format of the exam or the questions when I started it. With this in mind, I had high expectations. From the very beginning, Dan and Chris were thorough and methodical in their approach. The first week consisted of explaining the entire format of the test, how each section is scored, how we should structure our study time, and the logic behind the syllabus. I found this very useful because from the outset I was able to develop a long term plan of how I could tackle the various components of the exam.

Personally, I struggled the most with the math at first. I found the study guides somewhat useful for reviewing the basic math skills that I hadn't used in a while (exponent rules, geometry, etc). That being said, the most useful tool was access to the GMAT Navigator. This tool in conjunction with the Official Guide helped me brush up on my math skills and get my timing down to the second. The verbal lessons provided were also very useful. Dan and Chris broke down the thought process behind each question and this helped me form a consistent method of attack on the tricky CR Q's.

The Post Course Assessment was arguably the most helpful component. After you take 3 practice exams and complete the course, you are scheduled a 30 minute one-on-one session with an instructor. I did mine with Chris and he helped me target exactly what the pain points were, develop a study plan leading up to test day, and give me strategies to use as I studied. The PCA was critical to my success on the exam.

Finally, I should say that I found the MPREP practice exams significantly harder than the actual GMAT and the GMAC practice tests. This is a good thing. While I was quite frustrated throughout the course, my lower scores on the MPREP tests made me keep pushing myself. In the end I beat my target score on the real exam by 10 points! Huge thank you to Dan and Chris for an excellent course.

Mister_Fox
Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2015
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Teacher, Great Books, Decent Online Resources

5 stars
June 2, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 416 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 287 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Josh Yardley
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I opted for the 9 week Manhattan course over the much more compact Veritas course because I was working full time and only had about 1-2 hours a night to study.

Right out of the gate, I score a 620 and brought it up to a 730 several months later with Manhattan Prep (studying about 15 hours a week on average).

Pros:
- Incredible Teacher
- Great Schedule (once a week for 9 weeks)
- In depth, well-written, and entertaining (at times) books
- Ebooks (this was HUGE, I didn't even factor it in at the beginning, but it made studying while traveling so much easier)
- Solid online resources (cons below)
- Post-Course Assessment was very helpful

Cons:
- No way to sort by unsolved OG problems in Navigator (seems like such an obvious feature, but they spent all their engineering resources on a site facelift apparently)
- MGMAT math and IR were way harder than the quant problems on the real exam. I believe this did me a disservice, because I over-analyzed easy problems on the test and double-checked my work when I should have spent that time elsewhere
- IR practice sets were obnoxious. I couldn't just practice a few at a time, I had go through an entire section to see the answers
- Couldn't restart an exam. I accidentally started an exam without IR, I realized this 2 seconds in, but couldn't restart and effectively "lost" that section unless I decided to reset all 6 exams

Honestly, I'd probably give the course a 4 overall, but the my teacher was so good that I'll round up to 5 stars

gmatstudent123
Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Fun class, but guides are good enough.

4 stars
April 14, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 416 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 287 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Faruk Bursal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
The class, as it is taught, is OK. I realized that I would've done just as good had I just studied on my own with the manhattan guides (which are phenomenal). However, going to class was a pleasure because Faruk made it fun and engaging. I looked forward to class every week for this reason.

Here is how Manhattan can improve their program:
- Make the process of KEEPING TRACK OF WEAK AREAS easier and more fluid for students. Right now, Navigator is a little clunky and is not optimal. It also doesn't sync well with other study materials. Maybe Manhattan can design some sort of a portal for students to flesh out and keep track of their weak areas. This is key to doing well on the GMAT (especially for scoring 700+): identifying weak areas and focusing on those.
- Connect all the material we learn in each class. The classes seem separate and disjointed.