Manhattan GMAT - Boston
Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - Boston

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 31 reviews
140 Clarendon St.
Boston, MA 02116
coekemo
Joined: Feb 2014
Purchased Course: Sep 2013
College: Colgate University
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Good Course

5 stars
February 7, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Faruk Bursal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I had a very positive experience with my Manhattan GMAT course. Faruk was an excellent teacher, the course was comprehensive, and the tips that I learned definitely contributed positively to my GMAT score. The course is only as good as the effort that you put into it, but if you are willing to put in the effort, it is a good way to study for the test.

Neilkpatel
Joined: Mar 2012
Purchased Course: Oct 2011
College: Washington University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Tons of resources!

5 stars
March 2, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Tom Rose
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Manhattan GMAT provides a comprehensive approach to studying for the GMAT.

They syllabus is a bit intimidating in the brute amount of information in contains, but if you diligently work through it over the course of a few months you'll definitely get improved results.

Tom Rose is a fantastic teacher. His explanations were clear and he's very funny as well.

I also heavily utilized "Thursdays with Ron", which is actually free to anyone. These thorough and difficult sessions significantly helped me with Quant.

bosox8
Joined: Mar 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 2011
Major: International Relations
Industry: Trading/Import/Export
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great GMAT content course

4 stars
January 16, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Josh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I finished Manhattan GMAT in November and was overall pleased with the experience. I believe that the class was very helpful in reinforcing what I had learned through my homework and clearing up some deficiencies.

The problem with MGMAT, however is practice testing. The tests are good for timing purposes, but their content is not at all similar to what I found on test day. The verbal was WAY too easy. The Quant was WAY too convoluted and overly difficult. In reality, a high % of questions on test day were focused on number properties (especially DS questions) and MGMAT seemed to go out of their way to make their problems especially wordy. I scored 700, 710, 720 in their practice tests but then got a 670 on test day round 1.

I finally retook this month and with help of other prep materials received a 710. I certainly wouldn't be where I am today without the help of Manhattan GMAT but think that their online system has a ways to go to catch up with Knewton and others.


milanproda
Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: May 2011
College: Iona COllege
Major: Finance
Industry: Sports
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT

5 stars
October 11, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Faruk Bursal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
MGMAT offered a comprehensive course that, combined with the strategy guides and online material, helped me score a 700 on my GMAT.

The course was very good, and introduced you to the GMAT and what to expect. Furthermore, the course helped you learn how to approach the exam-how to think. Because the course is a total of 27 hours, there is not enough time to get in depth into material. This is where their strategy guides as well as the online materials come in. The strategy guides helped me build a foundation, while the online material (especially Thursdays with Ron) help me push to a 700.

mcaruana
Joined: Feb 2011
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: College of the Holy Cross
Major: Mathematics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Well worth the money

5 stars
February 9, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Faruk Bursal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I went into this class knowing I was not a great test taker and would need to improve a ton on my verbal skills in order to break 700. My Manhattan GMAT Professor Faruk Bursal was incredibly helpful in teaching how to approach the test so that timing wouldn't be an issue. The materials that you receive are incredibly helpful and versatile enough that you can adjust how much time you want to spend on a given subject depending on how comfortable you were. Manhattan GMAT also provides awesome excel files that help you budget your study time on a weekly basis. I wound up scoring in the 86th and 85th percentiles for the Verbal and Quant sections. This class was worth every penny.

sethisankalp
Joined: Nov 2009
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: Wisconsin Madison
Major: Manufacturing Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course, delivered by a very friendly, approachable and competent instructor

5 stars
October 24, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Ian Jorgeson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Teacher:
Ian was extremely friendly, had a very informal style of delivering the content. He was always available after class to help out on questions or help me review my practice tests, even take calls before my exam. Very qualified, has a lot of experience teaching the course, brought new ideas to the classroom

Course Material:
Verbal course material was extremely helpful and help me get from a 32 when I started to a 41 on the test day.
Math is helpful is you are struggling with it, but you may need additional help if you are in late 40s and want to get to 50/51

Overall experience: Very helpful, helped me stay on top of things, despite heavy work schedule. Only worked during the weekends and the classes helped me get an excellent primer on the topics covered. I spent 2 months after the classes got over on my own, but the foundation the course built was very useful.


brucrewrat1
Joined: Oct 2010
Purchased Course: Aug 2009
College: Union College
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience

5 stars
October 12, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Eric Caballero
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
Manhattan GMAT's 9-week prep course was a great experience. They provide all of the necessary study tools as well as an easy to follow structure. Each class was well rehearsed and our great instructor, Eric, did a great job tailoring the classroom portion of the class to our specific needs.

The practice tests were very helpful to show the progression of my scores and were also very accurate as I ended up with a 700 on the actual gmat and was right around 690 on my latter practice tests.

I would highly recommend not only the Manhattan GMAT class, but also Eric Caballero specifically as a great teacher!

stephenzeek@gmail.com
Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Feb 2010
College: Hamilton College
Major: History
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Reap What you Sow

5 stars
September 22, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Ian Jorgeson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 700
MGMAT's class is fantastic. Ian helped me get my math to an acceptable level (42), while imparting the advanced tricks that helped me to squeeze every last point out of the verbal section (44). I actually looked forward to going to class, and Ian was always organized and ready to go.

The materials are also well done and very useful. There is a large volume of material to review, and that leads me to one caution for future students: You have to work at this class. I spent 10-15 hours per week reviewing and doing practice problems. Do not expect the three hours per week of class to help you at all, unless you go home and put your time in. With plenty of work, the class will help you refine your technique, timing, and brush up on any deficient content areas. If you need help with the Verbal section in particular, I would suggest enrolling with Ian. He also teaches LSAT, and it shows in his mastery of the GMAT verbal. I scored in the 99%ile in the verbal on both SAT and ACT, but I found Ian's help invaluable in posting a good verbal score on the GMAT. Good luck!

hotbiscuits
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: Brown University
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: Luxembourg
Verified Real Student Review

1/2 course -> 730!

5 stars
August 25, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Tom Rose
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 730
Within 5 weeks, I improved my score from a 630 (cold) to a 730. Had I finished the full 9-week course and allowed myself an extra 2 weeks for review, I could have probably scored in the upper 700s.

I had the pleasure of taking the course in Summer 2010 after graduating undergrad. I was in somewhat of a unique situation, because I did not complete the course before I took the GMAT. About a third of the way through, my teacher recommended that I start taking 2 practice tests per week. By the third exam, I became confident in my ability to score in the 700s, and took the test only 5 weeks after the start of the course. I had never even looked at a GMAT or Computer Adaptive Test before, and was able to score a 730.

The teaching style was very effective, though, at times, I wanted the class to move a bit quicker. To compensate for what I saw as a "slower" in-class treatment of material, I used Manhattan GMAT's online tools, labs and spreadsheets (Thank you, thank you, thank you OG Tracker!). These helped me tremendously in tailoring my own schedule, and made it possible for me to get extra practice and feedback outside of the classroom. The excel spreadsheets are the most underrated tool in all of GMAT review. They allowed me to:
- Effectively track my errors and areas of weakness
- Sort every problem in all OG guides by topic area and type
- Continue reviewing outside of the assigned homework
- Create custom problem sets that were suited to my personal needs

Bottom line: classes were informative and well-structured, my instructor gave me incredible advice by recommending that I go ahead and take the GMAT early (thanks for a month of my life back, Tom!), and Manhattan GMAT gave me every tool to succeed on the GMAT. If you want a class that will prepare you for the test, give you the learning materials that cover the exam, and provide you with intelligent, experienced GMAT teachers, go Manhattan GMAT.

davidjcardillo@gmail.com
Joined: Oct 2008
Purchased Course: Oct 2008
College: Providence College
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

740 (Q49, V41) thanks to MGMAT

5 stars
August 17, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 31 reviews
Teacher: Eric Caballero
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
I know it's just a silly test but I'm so excited that I don't even know where to begin or what to do now. I started in late October 2008 with a 530 MGMAT CAT score and finished the GMAT on Wednesday with 740 result. I am no propeller head so this can be accomplished with time and good study habits. It may take 1 month for the gifted ones out there, 3 months for others, or maybe even a year if you completely screwed off during high school math classes. But eventually things will click. Below is my debrief:

I first thought about an MBA back in 2001 when every other NYC investment banking turd that I was working with at the time told me that I had to do it. So, being young, being dumb, and in over my head with these guys, I followed the crowd. I took a Kaplan class and studied (while working long hours) for a few months before taking the GMAT. Back then I used to put so much pressure on myself that I'd simply have a meltdown on these things. Rule #1 of success on this exam: chill out dude, it's just a test. 1st try 590 (Q44, V27), 2nd try 630 (Q44, V33). I was completely crushed, embarrassed and just gave up on the MBA idea. Although I realize that a 630 isn't bad, I was confident that the net present value of my MBA would certainly be negative. I was not going to get into a top program and I have a somewhat non-conventional opinion on the MBA degree that just forced me to forget about it.

Fast forward 7 years later...I'm in Boston now, unemployed, and thinking a lot about my future so I spent a couple days researching GMAT prep programs in late October. I had never even heard of ManhattanGMAT but most reviews, including those on Beat The GMAT, pointed them out as the best of the bunch. So, since I despised my Kaplan experience and obviously the results, it was a no brainer to check out a free class class.

The instructor was Eric Caballero and his teaching style actually made the subjects interesting and fun. My only concern was that the MGMAT curriculum would be similar to the Kaplan class that I took in '01/'02. Perhaps Kaplan is much different now so I won't bash them too bad but I remember a lot of focus on "Backsolving" and other educated guessing techniques that just didn't work for me (I still find them almost useless.) I also don't recall much focus on Reading Comp or Critical Reasoning techniques, which was a big help to me this time around. Nor do I remember ever seeing OG questions. It was all Kaplan books and practice tests. Anyway, I knew that taking a class would at least get me focused so I forked down a few unemployment checks on it.

About halfway through the syllabus I began to get some sort of sick enjoyment out of this stuff, almost like a puzzle addict. The MGMAT guides were excellent and I followed the heavy syllabus pretty closely (did all the assignments and online labs but usually didn't get to do many OG practice problems). However, I didn't really get serious until after the class was finished in early January. I have a bit of a competitive streak in me and tend to go "tunnel vision" on things that I sincerely commit to doing. So, with the distracting holidays behind me, I completely immersed myself in GMAT for the last 2 months determined to not only erase the embarrassment of '01/'02 but also to beat the hell out of this exam in general. So, although my competitive side is telling me that I could have done better on the test (I need therapy!), I know that a 740 is plenty good enough and I'm happy to say that I achieved my goals. Below was my progression:

MGMAT #1 530 (46%) Q28, V35 (24%, 77%) Oct 24
MGMAT #2 690 (91%) Q44, V39 (73%, 89%) Jan 21
MGMAT #3 710 (94%) Q44, V42 (73%, 96%) Feb 3
MGMAT #4 680 (90%) Q43, V39 (70%, 89%) Feb 10
GMAT Prep #1 690 (88%) Q47, V39 (79%, 87%) Feb 22
GMAT Prep #2 730 (96%) Q45, V45 (75%, 98%) Feb 25
GMAT real 740 (97%) Q49, V41 (88%, 92%) Mar 4


Further thoughts on MGMAT:

Quant
Outstanding. I always considered my quant skills slightly above average, not engineer good but above average. The strategy guides teach all the basic rules that need to be memorized in order to do well on this. The MGMAT guides alone are sufficient to get a 640-680 score. However, when used in conjunction with the online forums (both MGMAT and BTG), one's understanding of these topics explodes as you figure out the different ways of asking about the same subjects. I did just about all of the Problem Solving and Data Sufficiency questions in the OG 11th Ed (big yellow book), taking notes on tough questions and lessons learned. However, most of the OG answer explanations stink at best. Without the MGMAT and Beat the GMAT forum discussions on just about every OG question out there, I could never have fully understood the topics tested. On the MGMAT CATs and the OG questions, I spent a silly amount of time reviewing different ways to answer each question and the theory behind it. Relative to other people who have posted their results on these forums, I don't think I did nearly as many questions but I spent an absurd amount of time understanding each one that I did do. The explanations to the MGMAT CATs, Question Banks, and Challenge Questions were also thorough and very helpful. I have to say, primarily because of my score jump, that the MGMAT quant in general is more difficult than the GMAT Prep and the real GMAT (especially Geometry). I did not feel that I had done well when I had finished the Quant section on Wednesday's main event (I had to guess on question #1!) so I am pretty shocked by my jump in score.

Verbal
My bread and butter but historically also my achilles heel. In high school, I had a drill sergeant of an english teacher for 2 years who permanently branded parallelism and proper grammar in my head for life. So, from the get go I was killing SC questions, similar to my experience '01/'02. However, as evidenced by my poor Verbal scores back then, I could never get to flash the grammar skills on the GMAT. Since my early school days, teachers have been trying to get me tested for some sort of reading disability. I could never digest what I was reading without having to reread things immediately after. SAT and GMAT RC questions were impossible under the timed conditions. I would never finish things like reading comp questions in the allotted time. It was torture and I dreaded those types of questions. But for whatever reason, after once through the MGMAT RC and CR guides, that problem disappeared forever (where the hell were you for the SATs?). Maybe I got better at critically reading things over the past 8 years of working in a high paced, sink or swim Wall St. environment but still, something clicked when I read those guides. I got so good at RC/CR on the CAT exams that I barely even bothered to do the OG problems (as I look at my OG tracker, I only did 12 RC passages and about 24 CR questions). Because of this drastic improvement in these areas, I not only was able to use the grammar skills to push it on high level questions throughout the verbal section but I also hoped for as many RC questions as possible for easy, quick points. All that said, I'm slightly disappointed in my Verbal score. I got tied up on some hard SC for too long and had to hustle through a couple RC/CRs to catch up. I think another 2 points puts me into the 750+ range but whatever.

AWA
I did little to no prep for this. Study consisted of a brief discussion in class, the online lab, reading a few 6-score topic and essay examples, and practicing on the 4 CATs and 2 GMAT Preps. I hope to hell that it was enough.

Forums
As I mentioned, the content in the forums was a vital study aid. One issue, however: about a month ago MGMAT changed up the search function in the forums. I'm not sure what they did but the new "search" function is garbage. I won't get into it unless you really care but try searching the MGMAT forums for a few Number Properties or Equations, Inequalities, or VIC OG questions that you know have been discussed there. There's a good chance that the query will not produce the threads. Then search for the same question on the Beat the GMAT forum and you'll get my frustration. I can't emphasize enough how important Ron and Stacey were (on both MGMAT and BTG forums) to my understanding of the topics. They are like 24/7 private tutors so thanks guys. But the forums are useless if your search produces no results because of a technology hitch. Someone has to fix the MGMAT search function.

One other comment regarding a class: Most of us want to get this test over as soon as possible. So, if you're signing up for a class (and I do recommend you do if for no other reason than to mold good study techniques), then I suggest checking the class schedule. DO NOT take a class that will be broken up by holidays, vacations, etc. I found momentum to be a strong ally for this stuff but it kept getting cut off by Thanksgiving, Xmas and New Years'. There were 3 weeks between the next-to-last and final class. That's not how you want to finish up when you're hoping to fire out of the gate on your own when the class is over.

Anyway, I hope that's helpful. Thanks again everyone, especially Eric, Stacey and Ron from MGMAT. Remember to commit to good study habits, study at your own pace, and most of all remember that it's only a foolish test. Don't beat yourself up if you get knocked down.

Dave