Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course
Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course

4.7 stars
(4.7/5) - 56 reviews
adrianh
Joined: Nov 2018
Purchased Course: May 2018
College: University of San Diego
Major: Business
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: Switzerland
Verified Real Student Review

I can highly recommend Jamie Nelson for the Manhattan Prep Online 9-Session Prep Course!

5 stars
November 19, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Jamie Nelson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 660   After: 730
When I first started studying for the GMAT, it was clear to me that I would do the same thing that I had done in college and that I had been quite successful with; I sat down in a quiet corner with a GMAT guide and started crunching. Unfortunately, I had to learn the hard way that that was the wrong way to approach the GMAT. Even after the third try, my highest score was a 660 and the magical 700+ score seemed far from reach.

I decided that I had to radically change the way I studied and prepared for the test. I signed up for the Manhattan Prep 9-Session Online Prep Course with Jamie Nelson and already during the first course I realized that I had had some fundamental misconceptions about the test. Jamie did a great jobs explaining how the test works and what strategies you need to use to successfully master it. Moreover, she did a fantastic job explaining all the different quant and verbal topics and concepts and thanks to her enthusiastic teaching style the classes were fun and engaging. When I entered the test center for the fourth time, I felt much better prepared and I walked out with a 730!

I wish I had known about Manhattan Prep and Jamie's course from the beginning; this would have saved me a lot of time and stress. However, I hope that this review will help others avoid the mistakes I've made. Take a course for the GMAT, it makes a huge difference and is definitely worth the money. In particular Jamie's course!

Clay O
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2018
College: The University of Texas
Major: Finance
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very Helpful Experience with Great Results

5 stars
August 11, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Dallas 4 reviews
Teacher: Jamie Nelson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 720
This course is everything you need to accomplish your GMAT goals. I would say the only thing that is tough is getting through a three hour online class in one sitting. If you see this as being a potential problem for you, don't panic - do these two things and you should be good: (1) pick a good time slot during the week that you will be able to consistently make and a time that you won't generally be extremely tired during (also, don't overthink this, you'll be fine if you are internally committed) and (2) pick a great teacher like Jamie that will make the three hour class as exciting as it is informative. Manhattan Prep actually allows you to test out teachers (the first session is free) which is great because it's is very important to like your teacher - nine 3-hour sessions lay ahead of you (but again, don't overthink it). Would I recommend this course, absolutely. The course material is great and does a good job of steering you toward what you need to focus on.

juliaclark15
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
College: University of Michigan
Major: Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Best Course for Maximizing Your Score!

5 stars
June 29, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan, Jeff Vollmer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I took the Manhattan Prep Live Online Course because I had read great reviews of the company and also saw that they offered a 25% student discount (I am currently a college student, so this was very appealing to me). Manhattan Prep doesn't hold any in-person classes near me, so I had to take the online course. I was a little nervous about it at first because I thought I would get distracted if I wasn't in a classroom. However, I think the online course was a great decision for me. The Manhattan Prep instructors are extremely helpful and make time during class to give you one-on-one attention. There were ~10 people in my class and 2 instructors. The class met for 3 hours every week. The instructors engaged everyone in the classroom by calling on students and making an effort to understand everyone’s thought process. The instructors solved practice problems with us, thoroughly explained common mistakes or misunderstandings, and walked through ways to approach problems that I found extremely useful on the test. I felt comfortable asking questions in class and reaching out to the instructors outside of class as well. Manhattan Prep also offers several practice exams with full, worked-out solutions and performance analytics capabilities. In addition to the 9-week online class, the plethora of resources available to me during through Manhattan Prep (GMAT Official Guide, Manhattan Prep books, practice exams, etc.) were invaluable to my success on the exam! I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to maximize their score on the GMAT!

jmyron
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: Oct 2017
College: Miami University of Ohio
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome teacher and overall experience

5 stars
March 13, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Elaine Loh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I took a 9 session, live online course with Elaine Loh at Manhattan Prep. I couldn't speak more highly of her and the overall experience. I got a 580 on my first practice test at the start of class. My score slowly went up throughout class and peaked on test day at a 730 about 4.5 months after the start of class. Elaine brought a ton of enthusiasm and motivation to every single class. She also was extremely responsive and helpful after the class ended. She gave me multiple suggestions and strategy tips in the weeks leading up to my exam. I was able to increase my verbal score 3 points thanks to her last minute advice. I recommend Manhattan and Elaine especially to all GMAT takers.

alliem
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: May 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome - Take Stephanie M's Class!

5 stars
January 26, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Stephanie Moyerman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
Amazing -- I could not recommend this place more. Stephanie Moyerman was incredibly and I fully credit her with getting me to an awesome score. Stephanie was incredibly attentive and knew how to pace the class so that no one was left behind or getting bored / feeling like they weren't be challenged. Even though it was a "Live Online" class, Stephanie made herself available outside of the classroom to answer any questions / provide a morale boost. Thanks to Stephanie and MP, I received a full ride to my dream school!

bbrunken
Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: University of Wisconsin - Madison
Major: History
Industry: Other Manufacturing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Superb Program!

5 stars
August 3, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Kara Thornton
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 680
The curriculum for Manhattan Prep is very well planned and builds your skills up slowly over time. The instructors were very good about both being able to teach, keeping the course interesting, and being responsive to any questions. I would recommend this program to anyone who wants to prepare for the GMAT.

bro2017
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Feb 2017
College: The University of Texas at Austin
Major: Logistics & Supply Chain Management
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great experience with Seb!

5 stars
May 26, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Seb Moosapor
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
After about a month of attempting to self-study using the Offical GMAT Guides, I realized I needed more structure and content review, so I decided to take a class. I had heard great things about Manhattan Prep, so I decided to try it. Overall, it was an awesome experience! I did the online class and was worried about staying engaged, but the instructor did a great job of utilizing student responses and even calling on us to explain our reasoning on the microphone to the class so it was a really good online class experience. I was especially grateful for my instructor, Seb, because he gave us difficult practice problems in class, so you really learn even if you’re already scoring pretty high on your own. Seb was also very available before/after class and over email for extra help and questions. Manhattan sends you TONS of resources, both physical and online, which is great but also a little overwhelming. Seb was really helpful in telling us how to prioritize the homework and which resources would be most helpful. I don’t know many people who would have time to do all the homework and read all the resources, so having help to choose which things to spend my limited time on was great. Seb was also wonderful at helping me get to know the test in addition to the materials. He gives you tricks for guessing, timing, and understanding how/why GMAT writes its questions, which really helped me get a top score! Overall a great experience that helped me to pace my studying and make sure I had been exposed to all of the content!

ballin@thebubble
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
College: Columbia University
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT's Online Course with Josh is the way to go!

5 stars
May 23, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Josh Braslow
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I'd highly recommend Manhattan Prep, and specifically Josh Braslow as an instructor. When I was initially looking up who to take the course with, there were many highly rated instructors. Josh's name obviously came up, given how long he's been at MGMAT and his consistently strong track record. Despite the fact that there were some younger instructors who were highly rated, I figured that Josh's experience with the test for many years would be helpful. And boy, was I right! Josh really understands the test inside out, and will help you understand how the test writers think about questions. This goes a long way in terms of understanding guessing and elimination strategies. Josh also has a great sense of humor, which make the classes very enjoyable - making it a lot easier to sit through classes starting at 7am!

I also had a post-course assessment with Josh, which I would HIGHLY recommend signing up for ASAP after the course ends, provided that you were able to keep up with all the classroom requirements. I had one month between when the class ended and when I was taking my exam, and spending about 45 minutes with Josh on the phone really helped me develop a plan to elevate my performance in the last 4 weeks before my exam. We analyzed my prior performances on practice exams, focused on key areas, and made sure I was spending my last few weeks efficiently.

The first time I looked at anything GMAT-related was in February 2017. I improved 140 points from my first practice test in February 2017 (620) to my actual test in May 2017 (760) - all in the span of 3 months

It's not about working hard and doing as many practice questions / tests as you physically can, it's about working smart and using your time efficiently. Josh and MGMAT do a fantastic job of reinforcing these principles.

tciambrone
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: University of Notre Dame
Major: Civil Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Score Improved to 760!

5 stars
May 21, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: Brian Birdwell and Patrick Tyrell
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 760
I had a fantastic experience taking the online Manhattan Prep GMAT course. The instructors (mine were Brian and Patrick) were extremely knowledgeable and took the time to get to know where each student was in the studying process. I had taken the GMAT once prior to taking this course and my score jumped 70 points after it ended which was more than I could have asked for! By taking the course you also receive tons of studying material divided by topic and level of difficulty along with numerous practice tests.I would highly recommend this course to anyone who plans to take the GMAT.

bmriso
Joined: May 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2016
College: University of Michigan
Major: Business
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

I hit my goal thanks to Manhattan Prep

5 stars
May 15, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Teacher: James Brock
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
My goal required a 160 point swing and I was able to hit it with the help of the course. The layout of the course was perfect; I used the homework to create a study schedule which kept me on track each day. The once-a-week class was great to clear any questions I had during the week of the study,

The course was surprisingly interactive for an online course. I did not feel like I was missing out at all by not attending a live in-person class. The instructors were very energetic and kept the class exciting. They explained the material in a way that was easy to understand, but more importantly they taught strategies for taking the test, such as guessing and timing strategies, which I think helped me the most.

I would absolutely recommend Manhattan Prep to anyone looking to take the GMAT.