Manhattan GMAT - New York
Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - New York

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 96 reviews
138 West 25th St.
9th Fl.
New York, NY 10001
bhs125
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Vanderbilt University
Major: Economics
Industry: Health Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Awesome, efficient course with Ryan

5 stars
September 27, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 610   After: 730
Great course - focused on efficiency and strategies, rather than extraneous content. Everything I learned was very useful during the actual test. Ryan, in particular, was an awesome teacher. He was very blunt, and direct; and I even found it helpful (weirdly) to approach questions with his emphatic voice/intonations, as well as his helpful analogies. There was an optimal balance of quant vs. verbal content, and the strategies were very helpful, particularly in time management/on the quant section. Additionally, the 1-on-1 assessment during the course to help focus my strengths/weaknesses did wonders for my score. There were only 2 minor negative aspects with the curriculum: 1. Limited practice tests (more personal preference – I study best through excessive repetition, so I wanted more than 6) and 2. Slightly too much IR focus in the homework assignments.

wrosen25
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Trinity College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Ryan McGorman

5 stars
August 13, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 720
I had already been working with a tutor before meeting with Ryan, and decided to make a switch after making very little improvement and receiving a less than desirable first score. I can say quite positively that I would not have received the 720 without Ryan. All GMAT tutors know the material and can explain it, but that is not what made the difference for me. Ryan was able to pin-point my weaknesses in quant almost immediately, and was able to explain critical concepts in a palatable way. Most importantly, he did not allow me to stay in my comfort zone. He did not just explain a concept and ensure that I could repeat it back to him, but insisted that I be able to explain the reasons why it made sense. Even though it was sometimes painful, he made sure I learned these critical concepts forward and backward. I would (and have) recommend Ryan to anyone who needs an extra push and personal attention. I am extremely grateful for Ryan's help and could not speak highly enough of his talent as a tutor.

vgenerelli
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
College: University of Notre Dame
Major: Accounting
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattn prep with Dhivya - WORTH IT!

5 stars
July 9, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Dhivya Arumugham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
The live Manhattan Prep GMAT course was critical to my success and enabled me to ultimately score a 740. My instructor, Dhivya Arumugham, was very well-prepared, articulate and knowledgeable. I would really recommend Dhivya as an instructor - she provides clear, concise explanations of problems, has a good sense of humor and brings a lot of energy to some mundane topics.

The course is very structured and incorporates quant, verbal, and test taking strategy each week. The online learning portal makes it very easy to manage your assignments weekly, track progress, and flag areas of weakness to review. I took the exam for the first time only two days after the course ended (which is not recommended) and scored a 690. After another month of review using the official guide and other quant drills, I scored a 740. I am convinced that Manhattan prep was key to my success and the price was well worth it.

They also provide additional resources including webinars about certain test areas, selecting the right schools for you, applications, and interviews. You have access to an individual review of a practice exam with an instructor to create a study plan. I also received a free half-hour session with an admissions consultant who helped tremendously and could answer questions about the specific schools to which I applied.

lakersfan8172
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Ryan McGorman: Great Instructor!

5 stars
July 3, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Ryan was an excellent instructor who was very engaging in-class and delivered great lectures. He did a very good job breaking down complex concepts into clear and concise points. I found this to be especially helpful in sentence correction. Ryan emphasized finding splits and taught effective strategies that simplified a lot of hard questions. Outside of class, he made a huge effort in being available for questions 24/7. He was very responsive to emails and attentive to my learning needs. I would strongly recommend taking a GMAT class with him.

bobgrech
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great Experience with GMAT Manhattan Prep Course - Ryan McGorman

5 stars
June 28, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I took the 9-session GMAT course with Manhattan Prep with Ryan McGorman. Class was extremely helpful in preparing for the test. I increased 140 points from my first practice test. Ryan was a great instructor and does a great job teaching how to approach every type question on the GMAT. He is also very helpful and willing to speak outside of class. The course also comes with great study material for all of the subjects covered on the test as well as 6 realistic practice test

Laurachez4
Joined: Mar 2018
Purchased Course: May 2017
College: Smith College
Major: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies, and Humanities
Industry: Real Estate Development
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep helped me raise my score 150 points!

5 stars
March 13, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Reed Arnold
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I had a great experience with Manhattan Prep! My starting practice GMAT score was 560 and my final official score was 710. A 150 point increase!! I took the class in NYC with Reed Arnold, and I highly recommend taking the course especially with him. Reed made the classes very enjoyable and effective, and he scheduled weekly "study groups" at a nearby coffee shop for students to get extra help from him and other classmates. I went to a couple of the study groups and was able to ask him about specific problems, and get detailed explanations for them. The Manhattan Prep guide books were a great resource, too. I studied about 25-30 hours per week outside of class for about 8 weeks, so you can't expect the course to raise your score without your own self-guided study. Manhattan Prep was the an awesome resource, along with the Wiley guides.

kdailey
Joined: Nov 2017
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Is Exceptional

5 stars
January 31, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Matthew Brandon
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I had an excellence experience with Manhattan Prep. Manhattan Prep provides a complete package of study material (including practice exams and subject-specific books), ideal for people aiming to reach a top ten percentile score. My instructor, Matthew Brandon, kept the class engaged and had a superb grasp on the content. I left each class excited to practice the skills I learned and discover how much my performance had improved. In the end, it most certainly paid off, as I achieved a score of 760 (Q50, V42), which was well above what I was targeting.

tytham
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring - Dave Mahler

5 stars
January 30, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Dave Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 720
Got my target 720 score after approx 4 months that comprised self study, Manhattan Prep's 9-week course on Wall street Manhattan (Dave Mahler was our instructor), and private tutoring (also with Dave Mahler). I started with a 590 Manhattan Prep GMAT practice test.

After the 9 week course, I spent a couple of weeks wrapping up the GMAT OG and then I took a real GMAT test. Bombed it. I decided I needed more targetted tutoring, so I splurged on the private tutoring (8 lessons in total). This was worth every penny. Dave diagnosed my flawed test-taking strategies, and his private lessons sharpened my quant and verbal reasoning skills. These lessons were challenging but crucial to my success on the test - he would often ask me to explain my thought processes WHILE I solved tough problems (DS, PS, SC, CR), and this invariably forces you to think critically about every single step in your own problem-solving process. Every step in my problem-solving process was critiqued and improved upon. As important, Dave was extremely optimistic and encouraging throughout this whole process. He was a firm supporter and you feel that he's invested in your success.

TL DR: Manhattan Prep's private tutoring is very strongly recommended. Dave Mahler is very strongly recommended.

tytham
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Review

5 stars
January 30, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: Dave Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 720
Got my target 720 score after approx 4 months that comprised self study, Manhattan Prep's 9-week course on Wall street Manhattan (Dave Mahler was our instructor), and private tutoring (also with Dave Mahler). I started with a 590 Manhattan Prep GMAT practice test. Quite frankly, I could not have managed the 720 without Manhattan Prep.

1. The 9-week course: This was a great start for me as my math skills were very rusty (haven't touched math since high school and my day-to-day work doesn't require the use of any meaningful quant skill - I'm a lawyer). The math foundations and GMAT test strategies explored in class were concise and immediately helpful. Dave Mahler was our instructor - I highly recommend him for the clarity with which he explains tough concepts (particularly Data Sufficiency and Critical Reasoning). FYI the 9-week course comes with the full suite of Manhattan Prep Books, which were all great - concise, clear, and effective - no verbiage which is good for busy professionals.

2. Private tutoring: After the 9 week course, I spent a couple of weeks wrapping up the GMAT OG and then I took a real GMAT test. Bombed it. I decided I needed more targetted tutoring, so I splurged on the private tutoring (8 lessons in total). This was worth every penny. Dave diagnosed my flawed test-taking strategies, and his private lessons sharpened my quant and verbal reasoning skills. These lessons were challenging but crucial to my success on the test - he would often ask me to explain my thought processes WHILE I solved tough problems (DS, PS, SC, CR), and this invariably forces you to think critically about every single step in your own problem-solving process. Every step in my problem-solving process was critiqued and improved upon. As important, Dave was extremely optimistic and encouraging throughout this whole process. He was a firm supporter and you feel that he's invested in your success.

TL DR: Manhattan Prep's 9 week course and private tutoring are both very strongly recommended. Manhattan Prep's books are very strongly recommended. Dave Mahler is very strongly recommended.

accy410
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Manhattan Prep!

5 stars
December 29, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 96 reviews
Teacher: David Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I got my target score of 720+ thanks to Manhattan Prep, and highly recommend the MP program to anyone who is seriously considering applying to a top b-school. I say this for a few reasons:
1) The resources and course content are unparalleled, and very well structured. You start the process by taking a practice test that immediately pin-points your strengths vs areas that may need improvement, and then track your progress by taking more exams throughout the course.
2) The content is carefully curated, and is structured in a way that makes the classes effective without being overwhelming. The MP problem sets enable you to absorb content in the most efficient way.
3) The online interface is well designed and easy to use. Whenever I saw other interfaces friends were using, I was always thankful I decided on MP.
4) The instructor that I had (David Mahler) was amazing. He was intelligent, personable, always prepared, and a great teacher. He was diligent in answering emails, and always made himself available to students.
5) On top of the classes, Manhattan Prep offered a ton of events with top MBA programs which really helps when you get to the application stage.