Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location)
Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location)

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 10 reviews
52 William St.
2nd Fl.
New York, NY 10005
tconklin1992
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2018
College: Dartmouth College
Major: Economics
Industry: Commercial Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Success

5 stars
September 10, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: David Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
I participated in David Mahler’s ten-week Manhattan Prep GMAT course in Spring/Summer 2018. Following an initial practice exam score of 590, I scored a 760 on my first and only GMAT sitting in July.



Having not been acquainted with the exam format or any official GMAT resources, I selected Manhattan Prep as a familiar service with a positive reputation in New York and among my undergraduate classmates. I completed my undergraduate degree in 2014 and am applying this fall to MBA programs for matriculation in Fall 2019. I considered the GMAT to be an unpredictable and time-consuming first step in the admissions process. I knew I needed to prepare strategically, given my time constraint, which justified the course investment.



For me, the robust course materials and carefully organized curriculum were critical for achieving a high score. The strategy guides necessarily walked me through a massive variety of content I hadn’t encountered since high school. Infamously, this content represents only half the battle. The GMAT also tests strategy and decision making, and, in my experience, emotional composure. Rather than separating the content from these components, the strategy guides themselves incorporate these challenges throughout. For example: I found the importance of strategy selection during the Quant section to be remarkable. Solving a problem with even the most refined “textbook” technique is frequently penalized by way of time. As the curriculum advances through Quant subjects, the books reiterate alternative (or “shortcut”) strategies in their different applications. Only purposeful practice with several strategies and, more importantly, review of that practice, can bolster one’s ability to select efficient strategies or cut bait when necessary. Not only do the Manhattan Prep strategy guides cover content with digestible pace and organization, they immerse that content in strategy and in the context of agile decision-making. While it is impossible to benchmark, I think the strategy guides alone enabled me to score in the 700-720 range (a far cry from where I began). The books are ordered, which helps organize studying and makes them less daunting to approach. For those on a budget and/or not local to New York, the materials are a rich resource on their own and well worth the investment.



In order to score those additional 40-60 points (it’s all relative), I believe the in-person class to be worth the incremental investment. Research the instructors and consult the online reviews. I had an exceptional and memorable experience with David Mahler, whose instruction was as effective as any college professor I can remember. While I chose Dave because we shared an Alma Mater and he recorded a 790 GMAT, I believe online reviews such as this one testify to his talent and led many of my classmates to choose his course. I’ll begin there: my section was fully booked with ~12 students as opposed to a section with four or five students that I addended as a make-up. All things equal, the smaller section was surprisingly less productive than the larger. The smaller headcount did not come closer to resembling a tutored course—if there is even one other student the curriculum cannot be tailored to you. The increased individual attention only caused the instructor to check in with each student before proceeding to the next practice question or topic. Class is not about solving individual problems—there are too many to address. Rather, as Dave emphasized, a class succeeds if it can polish your study and review process. You must prepare mostly on your own. As a person that struggles with self-regimen, I needed Dave’s guidance to “work smarter” and accomplish as much as possible with the little time I had. Dave held us accountable in our coursework. There was no passing his class, as his objective was to nudge us as close to our potential as was possible in ten weeks… you are not evaluated by your instructor. I performed well on the problems in class, but this was not a barometer of my ability relative to my classmates. It was an opportunity, each time, to recognize areas of improvement and consider better strategies. I got careless and made silly mistakes. Dave did not hesitate to knock me down a peg and I never once felt like I “passed the test”. There was always a critique to be made and a weakness to recognize in future problems, when exams don’t break for discussion, when there are 20 problems ahead, when review is no longer a luxury. Dave was able to challenge every person in the room at once, facilitating discussion and holding attention. It was masterful instruction and it was a blast.



The GMAT is a terrific test. I don’t believe it can be conquered, but I know that it can be whittled down to a more manageable feat. Believe it or not, that process can be fun. No exam, including the GMAT, can print an objective assessment of your intelligence. The GMAT doesn’t try to do this. It anchors itself in 30-60-90 right triangles and comma splices and proceeds to test your decision-making and composure. But it doesn’t do this mysteriously—there’s tape on its schemes that you mustn’t break down yourself. Manhattan Prep has done it for you. I can’t imagine approaching the GMAT without being coached on its tricks. It is my enthusiastic recommendation that any prospective MBA student prepare for the GMAT with David Mahler and Manhattan Prep. The cost was a large investment for me, and provided an overwhelming return, which feels pretty good.

nicholaus.tucker
Joined: Jun 2018
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: University of Central Arkansas
Major: Music
Industry: Education
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep - Shelton Windham

5 stars
June 29, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: Shelton Windham
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 580   After: 760
I took the complete GMAT prep course with Shelton, and it was a great experience. He delivered really high-quality, exploratory lectures that really dove into the heart of what the GMAT tests: logic. My first practice score was a 580, and I ended up with a 760 when I finally took the GMAT.

I saw my practice test scores go up considerably during the duration of the course, and kept studying on my own well past the end of the class. My time with Shelton proved more valuable the longer I studied, and I really credit a lot of my success both to his actual instruction and his methodical way of teaching his students to analyze their own weaknesses and address them head-on.

There are no miracles when it comes to test-prep, and you won't wake up with a 700+ score if you don't put in the effort. If you're willing to work for it, though, there's no better choice than Shelton to get you up-to-snuff with the material.

smm81
Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2014
College: University of Delaware
Major: English
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent instructor - fun class!

5 stars
October 29, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: Joe Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 440   After: 590
Joe is a great instructor. He's conversational, and knows how to communicate complex material in a way that is easier to understand. He's also great at making sure everyone has an opportunity to talk through the problem, understand it and encourages multiple approaches. The GMAT is a tricky exam and his approach makes it a lot of fun to try to outsmart the GMAT. I increased my school by 150 points in 2.5 months. I was also accepted into my top choice school (a top tier school in my opinion). I know that without the class this would not have been possible.

mnurick
Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: May 2011
College: New York University - Leonard N. Stern School of Business
Major: Finance
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Needed refinement, achieved success

5 stars
August 23, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: Kate McKeon
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
This course is invaluable. You could be the smartest person on the planet, but without a solid GMAT strategy, the test will eat you alive. My situation was unique, and MGMAT provided a unique solution to get me the score I wanted.

I tested well on the pre-course diagnostic: 730. I knew this must have been a fluke since I barely started studying, but as soon as I brought this to the attention of my teacher Kate, she immediately put me on a more individualized path. First, she had me take another diagnostic to confirm my current ability. I scored a 710 the second time around, so I was definitely in the ball park of my 720+ goal.

At this point, it was crucial to identify my weaknesses, and attack them hard. Each week before class, Kate scheduled private tutoring sessions with me to cover advanced content (this is at a time when there was a 4 week wait for private tutoring, she really went beyond the call here.). She suggested that I schedule a test mid-course. She rightly felt if I could knock it out in 4 weeks, no need to wait until the end of the nine week course.

I studied hard, completing the intensive course work (there is a lot of work!) + the advanced content provided to me by Kate. Test day came and went, and I scored a 690. I had choked on verbal. I let my fatigue get the better of me. But with a decent score in the books, I pushed ahead, finished the course, refined my verbal strategy, and came out the other side with a 730.

I attribute my success to the following factors:
-Plain hard work. MGMAT may be the best course out there, but if you don't put in the work, any prep course will be useless to you
-Individualized care. The class size hovered around a dozen, but Kate took an interest in each of us. Without her specific direction, achieving a 730 would have been much more difficult to do.
-Excellent course design. MGMAT front-loads the most important topics first, allowing the concepts to sink in over the length of the course. They provide solid fundamental understanding of quant and verbal topics, but they also provide an arsenal of solid strategies that saved me multiple times during the exam. By the time I took the test, it sometimes didn't matter if I was clueless on a certain quant problem. Due to certain strategies I learned at MGMAT, I was able to eliminate answer choices, recognize patterns in wrong answers, and hone in on the correct answer with only a mild understanding of the concept tested. This applies to the verbal side as well. By the end of the course, it was almost impossible for me to get a Critical Reasoning or Reading Comp question wrong! I jumped from 80th percentile in verbal to 95th.

In retrospect, the exam not only tests your proficiency in math and verbal, but it tests your mental endurance and adaptability. You can consider "test strategy" an invisible third section of the test that is ever present. If you are testing at the 500 level or 700 level, MGMAT prepares you for all of this.


mhg
Joined: Dec 2010
Purchased Course: Jul 2010
College: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Major: Engineering
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great instructor and well delivered, thoughtful content.

5 stars
December 16, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: Dan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Dan had a fantastic, patient, and effective instructional style. His delivery and class engagement were top notch and really brought out the best in students, forcing even those who might struggle a bit to comprehend. There is a lot of homework and study content, and the more this is kept on top of, the more it will set students up for success (I fell behind pretty badly but still managed to do well on the test, which I attribute in large part to course absorption of material). Great class and definitely highly recommended!

BJW34
Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: University of Pennsylvania
Major: Finance
Industry: Private Equity
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great GMAT Prep Class

5 stars
September 24, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: Dave Malloy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Manhattan GMAT's 9-session prep course was an appropriately thorough review of the material for the GMAT for working professionals considering applying to business school in the future. Dave did a great job of covering all of the topics addressed on the exam in as much detail as our class required. In particular, Dave guided us in how to study efficiently and make sure to improve our weaknesses rather than merely confirming our strengths. Overall I thought it was a great course and would definitely recommend it to others looking for a GMAT prep course.

AYD34
Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Mar 2010
College: Stanford University
Major: Engineering
Industry: Diversified Financial Svcs/Insurance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Course was more helpful in terms of discipline than content

4 stars
September 24, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: Dave Malloy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
Pro's:
- Practice problems discussed in class and detailed explanations afterward
- Dave was very accessible as a teacher and enthusiastic about the content
- 6 CAT exams that were available online for practice
- Extensive question bank and focused content capsules to zone in on problem areas
- Syllabus provided an excellent guideline to break up material / suggest timetables for studying

Con's:
- classes tended to drag a bit at times; sometimes as function of the class participation aspect
- content was helpful but not especially groundbreaking
- Manhattan GMAT books not that helpful; found official GMAT guide to be the most helpful

ng.michelle.t@gmail.com
Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Great teacher, great experience, but no score improvement

4 stars
September 23, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 650
The best part about this course was the quality of the instructor. He was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable. Having a boring instructor could have made taking this prep course terrible, but it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. The materials given to you at the beginning are great guides. The practice problems are helpful. I think the best book is the new Official Guide Quantitative Solutions book which provides an in-depth guide to every solution. Also, I found Manhattan Gmat's online materials to be helpful- in the "forum", students copy/paste questions from practice exams, and the questions are answered by staff.

That being said, I didn't improve my score at all. I took the exam 3 times- 2 of the times, I scored lower than my original score (BEFORE taking the course), and the 3rd time I scored the same as my original score. I found there to be a pretty large discrepancy between my verbal score when I did Manhattan Gmat problems and when I took the actual exams (I scored significantly lower on the actual exam). So... overall, I thought the quality of the course was great, but I didn't end up improving at all.

gmatter11
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Oct 2010
Verified Real Student Review

great program / teacher

5 stars
August 15, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: jon schnieder
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
i took the course with jon schnieder who did a great job of keeping our overworked group engaged with the material. it was nearly impossible to keep up with the homework during the nine weeks, but Manhattan GMAT is really good about allowing you to attend additional classes and access their amazing online resources once you have finished the course. i buckled down for a month afterward and do not think that i would have scored as well had it not been for going through the 6 adaptive tests, question banks, sentence correction study guide, and listening to some of the lectures online. i would highly recommend manhattan gmat and jon schnieder.

RM 2723
Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Sep 2009
Verified Real Student Review

IMO the best GMAT prep available

5 stars
August 13, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 414 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 286 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York (Wall Street Location) 10 reviews
Teacher: Dave Malloy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 710
I've taken a course through two different test companies and the difference really was night and day. The Manhattan course was superior in nearly every aspect: instructors, curriculum, materials, and facilities. I took the competitors course first and scored a 630, I then took some time off and enrolled in the MGMAT course about one year later. After completion of MGMAT’s 9 week prep I received a 710.

When compared to this specific competitors program, MGMAT’s course requires significantly more time and effort. It’s a big commitment. The curriculum is ambitious and, if you put the time in, very effective.

The materials included with the course were great, they give you all the official guides and their own guides, which were very helpful (especially the SC guide, buy that even if you don’t take the MGMAT course). My instructor was very encouraging and enthusiastic throughout the 9 weeks, which made the whole process easier. I couldn’t be any happier with my experience.