Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring
Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 53 reviews
bm1324210
Joined: Sep 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
Verified Real Student Review

A private tutor is a great way to help you get those last few points

5 stars
September 18, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 411 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Teacher: Paul Fisher
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 700   After: 730
After speaking with several of my friends who were in business school, I decided to utilize Manhattan GMAT for my preparation. I participated in a 9-session in-person prep course (not with Paul) and ended up getting a 700 on my first real GMAT attempt. Although I was happy with my first score, my ultimate goal was to get at least a 730. A look at my split showed there was room to improve in verbal. So for the next month, I dedicated most of my time and efforts toward improving on the verbal section. Unfortunately, when I took the exam a second time, my verbal score decreased and I ended up with a 660.

With time not on my side (due to applications) and feeling a bit lost, I decided to sign up for online private tutoring sessions with Paul through Manhattan GMAT. As a former prep course participant, I was entitled to the cheapest rate for tutoring hours, meaning I could pay as I go while taking full advantage of bulk package pricing.

Before signing up with Paul, I thought studying with an in-person tutor would be best, but I quickly realized how much more convenient and effective the online interface was. Additionally, it enables you to record/playback all your sessions.

From my first session with Paul, I could tell I made a great decision. He was able to identify key weaknesses in my approach and taught me new methodologies and practices that enabled me to be more efficient with my time and energy. Paul's lessons and explanations were always clear and informative. After eight 2-hour sessions, I took the GMAT again and got the score I was hoping for: 730 (big improvement in verbal).

What I enjoyed about working with Paul, aside from him being a GMAT genius (he scored a 790), was his humility and positive attitude. He was very pleasant to work with and is an all-around great guy. If you get the opportunity to work with Paul, know that you will be in good hands.

wrosen25
Joined: Aug 2018
Purchased Course: Jun 2018
College: Trinity College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend Ryan McGorman

5 stars
August 13, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 411 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 95 reviews
Teacher: Ryan McGorman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 720
I had already been working with a tutor before meeting with Ryan, and decided to make a switch after making very little improvement and receiving a less than desirable first score. I can say quite positively that I would not have received the 720 without Ryan. All GMAT tutors know the material and can explain it, but that is not what made the difference for me. Ryan was able to pin-point my weaknesses in quant almost immediately, and was able to explain critical concepts in a palatable way. Most importantly, he did not allow me to stay in my comfort zone. He did not just explain a concept and ensure that I could repeat it back to him, but insisted that I be able to explain the reasons why it made sense. Even though it was sometimes painful, he made sure I learned these critical concepts forward and backward. I would (and have) recommend Ryan to anyone who needs an extra push and personal attention. I am extremely grateful for Ryan's help and could not speak highly enough of his talent as a tutor.

cbb7kj
Joined: Jul 2018
Purchased Course: Dec 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Recommend Mark Sullivan

5 stars
July 18, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 411 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Atlanta 4 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 720
I started working with Mark after taking the Manhattan Prep 10 week course and scoring well below my goal (650 with goal of 700). After this, I decided to invest in private tutoring and started working with Mark Sullivan. I took the GMAT again, and scored 720 thanks to Mark (47 quant, 41 verbal). He quickly diagnosed my weaknesses, and then provided a clear plan to hit my goal. He focused on the biggest hitting items / content areas and devised a plan that I could manage with a full time job.
Outside of providing excellent tutoring services during my paid sessions, Mark was always available to respond to emails and provide feedback on practice tests. I never felt like I was “on the clock” – if we ran slightly over the time allotment, I didn’t feel that he was rushing to end the session. Mark was really a source of positivity and made me feel confident going into the test.

Very highly recommend Mark for anyone needing personalized tutoring!!! Just wish I’d started working with him from the beginning.

dd43565
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Daniel Fogel

5 stars
May 6, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 411 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Teacher: Daniel Fogel
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 750
After I took the GMAT four times, I saw my score go from a 670, to a 600, to a 660 to a 680. I wanted to break into the 700-club. After exhausting nearly every book, website, CAT exam, I turned to the experts. Daniel is an incredible tutor. Daniel showed me that it isn't enough to simply do the problem and then review the ones you get wrong. Take the time to reflect on the problems and ask questions such as: What could I have done differently? Should I have skipped? On the math section, aside from helping me get a better grasp on the material, Daniel helped me develop a plan of which problems I should skip. Giving the time constraints, this proved invaluable.

I think where Daniel added the most value was for Verbal. Remember, the GMAT is beatable! Man made it, man can beat it. Daniel showed me the tricks of the trade when it came to issues such as parallelism and how to spot those tricks, something that is very important when you get to the higher-level verbal questions.

In addition to going over problems, Daniel also had me do targeted sets and make up my own problems. This type of teaching definitely helped push me over the hump. Now I am riding high on a 750. I know that Daniel is too humble to take the credit, but he deserves all of the credit and then some. He is a great teacher and really helps break down the material into digestible pieces all while rewiring your brain to really learn how this test is made.

I would recommend Daniel to anyone is having trouble getting over the 700 hump.

Best of luck!

moshelibbin
Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: Emory University
Major: Business
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Breaking 700: Practice, Persistence and a Perfect Instructor

5 stars
May 1, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 411 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Teacher: Daniel Fogel
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
While I was initially hesitant to hire a private tutor due to the cost, I can wholeheartedly say that time with Daniel Fogel is worth every penny. Daniel explained even the most complex of topics in a simple and digestible manner and also was fantastic at incorporating humor into his sessions. Moreover, Daniel was unbelievable at identifying my weakness areas and he expertly prescribed a very specific set of work for me to do each week. Daniel was always mindful of my goal to break a 700 and having him encourage me to continue pushing by taking CATs and completing tailored material was an absolute difference maker. Daniel shared numerous unique tips and tricks and he shed light on test-taking strategies just as often as he helped me bridge my content gaps in both verbal and quant!

I highly recommend working with Daniel based on his upbeat attitude, strong background in test taking, friendliness and passion for wanting to help others succeed. Daniel was always flexible with appointments and ensured that each session was recorded with detailed notes so that I could allude back to his points! Additionally, Daniel made himself available at almost all hours to ensure I was making progress and comfortable with my weekly assignments.

Daniel helped me push my score from a 680 to a 720 and I could not be happier! Daniel had me work hard and dig deep but there is no doubt in my mind that I would not have attained my dream score if I had never committed to the 2 months of sessions with Daniel.

tytham
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring - Dave Mahler

5 stars
January 30, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 411 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 95 reviews
Teacher: Dave Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 720
Got my target 720 score after approx 4 months that comprised self study, Manhattan Prep's 9-week course on Wall street Manhattan (Dave Mahler was our instructor), and private tutoring (also with Dave Mahler). I started with a 590 Manhattan Prep GMAT practice test.

After the 9 week course, I spent a couple of weeks wrapping up the GMAT OG and then I took a real GMAT test. Bombed it. I decided I needed more targetted tutoring, so I splurged on the private tutoring (8 lessons in total). This was worth every penny. Dave diagnosed my flawed test-taking strategies, and his private lessons sharpened my quant and verbal reasoning skills. These lessons were challenging but crucial to my success on the test - he would often ask me to explain my thought processes WHILE I solved tough problems (DS, PS, SC, CR), and this invariably forces you to think critically about every single step in your own problem-solving process. Every step in my problem-solving process was critiqued and improved upon. As important, Dave was extremely optimistic and encouraging throughout this whole process. He was a firm supporter and you feel that he's invested in your success.

TL DR: Manhattan Prep's private tutoring is very strongly recommended. Dave Mahler is very strongly recommended.

wendersyang
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Ivey Business School, Western University
Major: Business
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Elaine Loh!

5 stars
January 17, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 411 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - West LA 6 reviews
Teacher: Elaine Loh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 720
Without Manhattan Prep and specifically, my private instructor Elaine Loh, I could not have broken through the 700 barrier. I owe my entire 720 (Q49, V40) to Elaine's guidance, tutoring, and her holistic way of teaching. Content is not the sole focus of Elaine's teaching; of course, content is important up to a certain point, but your style of studying and mentality are equally important. Elaine put a huge emphasis on error logging and having a positive and relaxed mindset, and I can honestly say that these two things probably made the biggest difference in my studying.

After I started error logging and becoming more "mindful", upon Elaine's suggestion, my practice scores shot up exponentially. Just for reference, I began my GMAT journey at 600!

More so than her awesome way of teaching, Elaine is just really darn knowledgeable about the GMAT. The way that she is able to clarify points of confusion in a very clear and concise manner is not something that just any smart person can do! She also taught me certain strategies that were very helpful to ultimately succeeding on the GMAT.

All in all, as you can see, I am a huge fan of Elaine and Manhattan Prep. While I can't speak for other instructors, I certainly have no doubts that Manhattan Prep is a top-notch company. If you are struggling with the GMAT, I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep and Elaine Loh!

amvought
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Southern California
Major: Anthropology
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helped this liberal arts major score a 720 with 46 Q!

5 stars
January 16, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 411 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - West LA 6 reviews
Teacher: Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I completed 10 hours of private instruction with Dan Patinkin upon the enthusiastic recommendation of a personal friend, who had in turn been enthusiastically recommended by both of her MBA bosses. I would like to keep the enthusiastic chain of recommendation momentum going!

Obviously, everyone's results will vary depending on what their strength and weaknesses are, and their individual learning styles. So I'll just keep this to my personal experience.

I began studying for the GMAT in August of 2017. I work in non-profits and studied the liberal arts; the last time I did math was AP Stats in high school and I never took anything more advanced than Algebra 2. Thinking about standardized testing, let alone math, still makes my heart race.

From the get-go, I knew my work with Dan would be pretty much exclusively dedicated to quant, and that's partially why it was important to me to spring for personal tutoring rather than a class. Wouldn't have made sense to spend my precious time and money practicing verbal, since I desperately needed extra support with math.

Manhattan's attention to detail, and that of Dan specifically, helped me transform over the space of a few short months. Don't get me wrong, you have to work a lot.... like 10-15 hours per week for 4+ months... but for me, the hardest part of studying has always been knowing exactly WHERE to focus my efforts, and that's what Manhattan/Dan took care of for me.

So all I had to do, thanks to his help, was.... practice.

At one point, I scored a 490 on a practice test and CRIED. I am proud to say that last month, I sat for my very first (and final!) GMAT in December 2017 and scored a 720 -- 46 Q (WAY above my target) and 44 V!

I wouldn't have been able to make a fraction of these gains -- let alone keep my cool -- if it weren't for Dan's insight, generosity, and encouragement.

Thank you!

MirandaZ
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
January 3, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 411 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 740
I was very lucky to have studied with Keith from Chicago. I initially met Keith through the Manhattan GMAT class pack in which he was the instructor, and later took a few private classes with him to improve my understanding.

Overall, Keith is a very efficient and to-the-point instructor. I was quite confident in math but was making unnecessary mistakes so Keith pinpointed it to exactly where it was and provided CUSTOMIZED study plans for me based on my goal and schedule. As for verbal, he was instrumental in teaching me how to read and answer the question.

My first practice test was in the 600, and with the help of Keith and many hours of hard work, I increased a score of 100+. I would highly recommend Keith to any student who would like to learn and achieve a good score.

Manhattan GMAT also offers one of the best online platforms. It syncs up with the book and the explanations really helped me understand why an answer was right, and better yet, why other answers were wrong. In addition, you can use the report feature to see your overall performance and area of improvement. I would recommend taking a GMAT course with Keith through Manhattan. Thank you Keith!

allegra0209
Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: USC
Major: Film, Cinema and Video
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

You're in the hands of an expert

5 stars
December 20, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 411 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 53 reviews
Teacher: Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I was beyond thrilled with my outcome after working with Dan. If you're willing to put in the work and the time, he'll get you where you want to go. Over the course of four months, I went from a 620 (35Q, 41V, Princeton Review Practice Test) to a 770 (48Q, 48V, Official GMAT). I worked with Dan for 12 hours total, and about 150 hours on my own. I was astonished by how well Dan knew the material - he seemed to have hundreds of questions committed to memory and knew exactly which one to throw at you when. I felt like I was in incredible hands. I also really appreciated that Dan was conservative about how much time we were spending together (minding my budget) and that he was generous with his time between sessions if I had questions via email. After I finished up with Dan, I passed him along to my best friend, and she saw an equally sizable leap between her initial and final scores. I put a lot of faith in Dan as a guide and I am so glad that I did. Highly recommend working with him.