Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 50 reviews
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Feb 2018
Verified Real Student Review

Daniel Fogel

5 stars
May 6, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 401 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 50 reviews
Teacher: Daniel Fogel
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 670   After: 750
After I took the GMAT four times, I saw my score go from a 670, to a 600, to a 660 to a 680. I wanted to break into the 700-club. After exhausting nearly every book, website, CAT exam, I turned to the experts. Daniel is an incredible tutor. Daniel showed me that it isn't enough to simply do the problem and then review the ones you get wrong. Take the time to reflect on the problems and ask questions such as: What could I have done differently? Should I have skipped? On the math section, aside from helping me get a better grasp on the material, Daniel helped me develop a plan of which problems I should skip. Giving the time constraints, this proved invaluable.

I think where Daniel added the most value was for Verbal. Remember, the GMAT is beatable! Man made it, man can beat it. Daniel showed me the tricks of the trade when it came to issues such as parallelism and how to spot those tricks, something that is very important when you get to the higher-level verbal questions.

In addition to going over problems, Daniel also had me do targeted sets and make up my own problems. This type of teaching definitely helped push me over the hump. Now I am riding high on a 750. I know that Daniel is too humble to take the credit, but he deserves all of the credit and then some. He is a great teacher and really helps break down the material into digestible pieces all while rewiring your brain to really learn how this test is made.

I would recommend Daniel to anyone is having trouble getting over the 700 hump.

Best of luck!

Joined: Jun 2017
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: Emory University
Major: Business
Industry: Advertising/Marketing
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Breaking 700: Practice, Persistence and a Perfect Instructor

5 stars
May 1, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 401 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 50 reviews
Teacher: Daniel Fogel
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
While I was initially hesitant to hire a private tutor due to the cost, I can wholeheartedly say that time with Daniel Fogel is worth every penny. Daniel explained even the most complex of topics in a simple and digestible manner and also was fantastic at incorporating humor into his sessions. Moreover, Daniel was unbelievable at identifying my weakness areas and he expertly prescribed a very specific set of work for me to do each week. Daniel was always mindful of my goal to break a 700 and having him encourage me to continue pushing by taking CATs and completing tailored material was an absolute difference maker. Daniel shared numerous unique tips and tricks and he shed light on test-taking strategies just as often as he helped me bridge my content gaps in both verbal and quant!

I highly recommend working with Daniel based on his upbeat attitude, strong background in test taking, friendliness and passion for wanting to help others succeed. Daniel was always flexible with appointments and ensured that each session was recorded with detailed notes so that I could allude back to his points! Additionally, Daniel made himself available at almost all hours to ensure I was making progress and comfortable with my weekly assignments.

Daniel helped me push my score from a 680 to a 720 and I could not be happier! Daniel had me work hard and dig deep but there is no doubt in my mind that I would not have attained my dream score if I had never committed to the 2 months of sessions with Daniel.

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring - Dave Mahler

5 stars
January 30, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 401 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 50 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 91 reviews
Teacher: Dave Mahler
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 590   After: 720
Got my target 720 score after approx 4 months that comprised self study, Manhattan Prep's 9-week course on Wall street Manhattan (Dave Mahler was our instructor), and private tutoring (also with Dave Mahler). I started with a 590 Manhattan Prep GMAT practice test.

After the 9 week course, I spent a couple of weeks wrapping up the GMAT OG and then I took a real GMAT test. Bombed it. I decided I needed more targetted tutoring, so I splurged on the private tutoring (8 lessons in total). This was worth every penny. Dave diagnosed my flawed test-taking strategies, and his private lessons sharpened my quant and verbal reasoning skills. These lessons were challenging but crucial to my success on the test - he would often ask me to explain my thought processes WHILE I solved tough problems (DS, PS, SC, CR), and this invariably forces you to think critically about every single step in your own problem-solving process. Every step in my problem-solving process was critiqued and improved upon. As important, Dave was extremely optimistic and encouraging throughout this whole process. He was a firm supporter and you feel that he's invested in your success.

TL DR: Manhattan Prep's private tutoring is very strongly recommended. Dave Mahler is very strongly recommended.

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Ivey Business School, Western University
Major: Business
Industry: Food/Beverage
Country: Canada
Verified Real Student Review

Thank you Elaine Loh!

5 stars
January 17, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 401 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 50 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - West LA 6 reviews
Teacher: Elaine Loh
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 600   After: 720
Without Manhattan Prep and specifically, my private instructor Elaine Loh, I could not have broken through the 700 barrier. I owe my entire 720 (Q49, V40) to Elaine's guidance, tutoring, and her holistic way of teaching. Content is not the sole focus of Elaine's teaching; of course, content is important up to a certain point, but your style of studying and mentality are equally important. Elaine put a huge emphasis on error logging and having a positive and relaxed mindset, and I can honestly say that these two things probably made the biggest difference in my studying.

After I started error logging and becoming more "mindful", upon Elaine's suggestion, my practice scores shot up exponentially. Just for reference, I began my GMAT journey at 600!

More so than her awesome way of teaching, Elaine is just really darn knowledgeable about the GMAT. The way that she is able to clarify points of confusion in a very clear and concise manner is not something that just any smart person can do! She also taught me certain strategies that were very helpful to ultimately succeeding on the GMAT.

All in all, as you can see, I am a huge fan of Elaine and Manhattan Prep. While I can't speak for other instructors, I certainly have no doubts that Manhattan Prep is a top-notch company. If you are struggling with the GMAT, I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep and Elaine Loh!

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: University of Southern California
Major: Anthropology
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Helped this liberal arts major score a 720 with 46 Q!

5 stars
January 16, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 401 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 50 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - West LA 6 reviews
Teacher: Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I completed 10 hours of private instruction with Dan Patinkin upon the enthusiastic recommendation of a personal friend, who had in turn been enthusiastically recommended by both of her MBA bosses. I would like to keep the enthusiastic chain of recommendation momentum going!

Obviously, everyone's results will vary depending on what their strength and weaknesses are, and their individual learning styles. So I'll just keep this to my personal experience.

I began studying for the GMAT in August of 2017. I work in non-profits and studied the liberal arts; the last time I did math was AP Stats in high school and I never took anything more advanced than Algebra 2. Thinking about standardized testing, let alone math, still makes my heart race.

From the get-go, I knew my work with Dan would be pretty much exclusively dedicated to quant, and that's partially why it was important to me to spring for personal tutoring rather than a class. Wouldn't have made sense to spend my precious time and money practicing verbal, since I desperately needed extra support with math.

Manhattan's attention to detail, and that of Dan specifically, helped me transform over the space of a few short months. Don't get me wrong, you have to work a lot.... like 10-15 hours per week for 4+ months... but for me, the hardest part of studying has always been knowing exactly WHERE to focus my efforts, and that's what Manhattan/Dan took care of for me.

So all I had to do, thanks to his help, was.... practice.

At one point, I scored a 490 on a practice test and CRIED. I am proud to say that last month, I sat for my very first (and final!) GMAT in December 2017 and scored a 720 -- 46 Q (WAY above my target) and 44 V!

I wouldn't have been able to make a fraction of these gains -- let alone keep my cool -- if it weren't for Dan's insight, generosity, and encouragement.

Thank you!

Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Highly recommend Manhattan GMAT

5 stars
January 3, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 401 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 50 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Chicago 27 reviews
Teacher: Keith Blume
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 620   After: 740
I was very lucky to have studied with Keith from Chicago. I initially met Keith through the Manhattan GMAT class pack in which he was the instructor, and later took a few private classes with him to improve my understanding.

Overall, Keith is a very efficient and to-the-point instructor. I was quite confident in math but was making unnecessary mistakes so Keith pinpointed it to exactly where it was and provided CUSTOMIZED study plans for me based on my goal and schedule. As for verbal, he was instrumental in teaching me how to read and answer the question.

My first practice test was in the 600, and with the help of Keith and many hours of hard work, I increased a score of 100+. I would highly recommend Keith to any student who would like to learn and achieve a good score.

Manhattan GMAT also offers one of the best online platforms. It syncs up with the book and the explanations really helped me understand why an answer was right, and better yet, why other answers were wrong. In addition, you can use the report feature to see your overall performance and area of improvement. I would recommend taking a GMAT course with Keith through Manhattan. Thank you Keith!

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Apr 2017
College: USC
Major: Film, Cinema and Video
Industry: Computer-related Services
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

You're in the hands of an expert

5 stars
December 20, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 401 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 50 reviews
Teacher: Dan Patinkin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 770
I was beyond thrilled with my outcome after working with Dan. If you're willing to put in the work and the time, he'll get you where you want to go. Over the course of four months, I went from a 620 (35Q, 41V, Princeton Review Practice Test) to a 770 (48Q, 48V, Official GMAT). I worked with Dan for 12 hours total, and about 150 hours on my own. I was astonished by how well Dan knew the material - he seemed to have hundreds of questions committed to memory and knew exactly which one to throw at you when. I felt like I was in incredible hands. I also really appreciated that Dan was conservative about how much time we were spending together (minding my budget) and that he was generous with his time between sessions if I had questions via email. After I finished up with Dan, I passed him along to my best friend, and she saw an equally sizable leap between her initial and final scores. I put a lot of faith in Dan as a guide and I am so glad that I did. Highly recommend working with him.

Joined: Dec 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Huge Factor in 90 Point Swing

5 stars
December 20, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 401 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 50 reviews
Teacher: Chris Gentry
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 730
I highly recommend Chris Gentry to anyone in the Atlanta area looking to take the GMAT or looking to improve score. I achieved a 90 point swing over the course of three months, which I attribute greatly to Chris's help during our weekly hour-long sessions.

Learning about different GMAT-tailored test-taking strategies, learning how to manage time crunch more effectively and different approaches to common 700-800 level questions I feel made the difference for me. Getting this score was way above my expectations when I started the process, and I decided to apply to an additional three top-5 schools as a result.

Joined: Oct 2017
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Great working with Graham

5 stars
October 5, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 401 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 50 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 91 reviews
Teacher: Graham Riske
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 710   After: 750
I highly recommend working with Graham. Working with him, I was able to raise my score 40 points in just about 2 months. Not only did Graham help me with tips and tricks for math, but he did it with a calm demeanor that helped with my stressed-out GMAT nerves. Graham was relaxed as he told me to focus on studying smart, rather than just grinding away for hours. Taking his advice, I succeeded and made myself a lot less miserable in the process. I would definitely work with Graham again.

Joined: Aug 2017
Purchased Course: Jul 2017
College: cornell university
Major: Psychology
Industry: Sales and Trading
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Logan is awesome

5 stars
August 30, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 401 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 50 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Boston 30 reviews
Teacher: Logan Thompson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 660
Manhattan Prep is a great GMAT prep program. I was working full time in a busy job that was travel intensive...the online accelerated course was wonderful. It fit into my busy schedule, and really helped me to improve my score. I supplemented the course with a few private tutoring sessions with Logan Thompson...he was extremely patient with me and extremely thorough in his explanations. Logan helped me improve my over all score by 100 points, and boost my verbal score to the 98th percentile. Logan was a life saver! I am now applying to schools that were initially out of my reach. Thanks Manhattan Prep!