Course
GMAT PREP COMPANY

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring

4.8 stars
(4.8/5) - 48 reviews
Joined: Nov 2015
Purchased Course: Mar 2015
College: Barnard College
Major: American Studies
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Joe Martin Works GMAT Magic

5 stars
November 16, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 48 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 91 reviews
Teacher: Joseph Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
The short version: Joe is a gifted, enthusiastic, and patient teacher who helped me improve my score by over 100 points in less than two months of weekly tutoring sessions. Working with Joe made a top-tier MBA program a possibility for me. Work with him. Period. You won't regret it.

The long version: I'm an older candidate who graduated from a liberal arts school and hadn't touched math in nearly 10 years. I took Manhattan Prep's 9-week course and subsequently spent several months studying fundamental math concepts with a different tutor. Despite my efforts, I became frustrated by my progress and Manhattan Prep suggested that I work with Joe.

The difference was night and day. Joe is as humble as he is brilliant and clearly takes pride in helping his students succeed. During our first session, he listened to my concerns, asked pointed questions, and created a structured game plan that struck a balance between content review and test taking strategy. It was apparent that Joe not only has a masterful understanding of GMAT concepts and content, but is also a natural teacher who clearly enjoys working through the material with his students. For example, when I struggled with a problem, Joe would patiently think of different ways to explain the concept until I understood it. I started noticing improvement in my scores within weeks of working together, and was thrilled when I earned a 660 on my first official exam. (That might not sound very impressive to you GMAT snobs out there, but I started at a 410, so that's a victory in my book.) I truly can't recommend him enough; it's an investment that will definitely pay off.

Joined: Mar 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: Utah State University
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very Knowledgeable Tutor But That Didn't Translate to An Improvement In My Score

3 stars
March 27, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 48 reviews
Teacher: Mark Sullivan
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: 550   After: 550
My assigned tutor with Manhattan GMAT was Mark Sullivan. I was impressed with his knowledge of the GMAT and recommended strategies to succeed. He made himself readily available and provided great resources to help me during our time. His e-mails were informative and always useful.

I didn't see improvement initially with my private tutoring but after a few sessions I began to gain some traction and improve my performance on my practice exams. He served as a great motivator to me when I wanted to quit, and he was able to talk me into sticking with it.

Unfortunately when it came to taking the exam, I saw no difference in my score on the Quant or Verbal section. Needless to say, after spending thousands of dollars on private customized tutoring I was pretty disappointed. As a result, I can't recommend this service to friends. I take responsibility that I may not be the brightest kid and one who has always struggled with formalized testing.

Mark was confident that if I were to retake the GMAT in a month I would be scoring where I was on my practice exams prior the exam (upper 600s). Fortunately for me, I was able to land a great consulting position shortly after taking the GMAT exam but that meant I was unable to get back in and take the exam when that tutoring was fresh.

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Great Prep

5 stars
October 9, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 48 reviews
Teacher: Jake Nicholson
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
I decided to sign up for Manhattan GMAT because my sister used this program and had great results.

I took the 9-week session and the depth that Ron Purewal explains each question helped me understand the core fundamental of each problem and alternative ways to solve a problem. The prep material that Manhattan provided was also very complete and had tons of practice problems for review.

After the 9-week course, I signed up for private tutoring with Jake Nicholson. He helped me develop a systematic approach to each problem, which allowed me to avoid careless mistakes and to logically think through each problem, no matter how complex it was.

My 1st practice test score from not knowing anything about GMAT was in the mid-500's. From my 1st official GMAT to my 2nd, I improved my score from 680 to 720. I am very happy with my score and highly recommend Manhattan GMAT for anyone who is preparing for the GMAT!

Joined: Sep 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Brian Birdwell: GMAT Ninja

5 stars
September 5, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 48 reviews
Teacher: Brian Birdwell
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 680
Brian is an amazing teacher: he is not only extremely personable but also great at keeping the content fun and interesting. He does a great job at teaching the tricks of the trade, a lot of which there isn't time for in the online course. If you're looking to beat the GMAT, look no further than Brian Birdwell! Thanks B!

Joined: Jul 2014
Purchased Course: Apr 2014
College: University of Virginia
Major: History
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: Mexico
Verified Real Student Review

Avi Gutman A+

5 stars
July 14, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 48 reviews
Teacher: Avi Gutman
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Avi Gutman and Manhattan GMAT are excellent. Avi is exceptional at what he does. Great teacher, explains concepts clearly, understands the strengths/weaknesses/challenges of each student and has well-articulated blog posts that explain tricky concepts.

Whether as a course or private tutoring, I would recommend Avi and Manhattan GMAT to anyone taking the test.

Joined: Jun 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Highly Recommend MGMAT for a 700 Score

5 stars
June 1, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 48 reviews
Teacher: Kyle Widdison
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 720
I would highly recommend MGMAT to anyone wanting to score in the 700's. I first took a Veritas Prep class, which was fine, it helped me get a 680. As I continued to study though, I felt like I plateaued; I wasn't able to further improve on my practice tests.

Soon after I took the test I bought the MGMAT books and started studying on my own. I started to improve again as I feel I learned the content of the test material much better. MGMAT has the best content of any GMAT test prep I've come across. Other companies largely just teach tips and good guessing techniques, as opposed to how to actually understand the content on the test..

Along with using the MGMAT materials I also met with Kyle Widdison, a Manhattan private tutor. He was fantastic. He really listed to my concerns and tried to understand what was holding me back. He's very down to earth and pragmatic. Kyle helped me focus my study efforts very quickly and I started to see immediate improvement. Not only did he help me understand the test material better, he helped me to have a better mental game while taking it. After meeting with him and studying with the MGMAT materials I boosted my score to a 720.

Joined: May 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
Major: Accounting
Industry: Investment Management
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A one-hour private tutoring session took me to the next level.

5 stars
May 12, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 48 reviews
Teacher: Marc Fienberg
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I purchased the MGMAT materials second-hand and pursued a self-study strategy.

I was stuck between 700 and 720 on all my practice exams, but was hoping to get into the mid-700s. Enter Marc Fienberg. I thought a 1-hour private tutoring session would really help me go to the next level in my scoring. I was paired with Marc, who was a great instructor. He asked me beforehand (via email) what I was struggling with and what I thought I needed. While private tutoring costs as much as a 1st year associate at a top law firm, the money was well spent for me. Marc was able to quickly talk me through my struggles and give me concise, helpful tips that I used during the remainder of my study time and the actual exam.

On test day, I ended up getting higher than I got an any of the ~7 practice exams I ever took.

Joined: Feb 2014
Purchased Course: Jul 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Great Tutor for Personalized Instruction

5 stars
February 28, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 48 reviews
Teacher: Marc Fienberg
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 680   After: 760
I took the Manhattan GMAT course prior to taking the GMAT for the first time, and even after 9 weeks of diligently following the course syllabus, I didn't feel prepared for the test. The class simply did not provide me enough time to focus on my weakest areas. So before taking my next GMAT, I opted to get a tutor (Marc Fienberg) to focus solely on the math section. Marc quickly zeroed in on my strengths and capabilities and offered tailored instruction and advice accordingly. I would highly recommend a tutor (and Marc) to any student who is very strong in one area but weaker in another. This way, you don't waste your time covering material that you already perform well on.

Joined: Nov 2012
Purchased Course: Feb 2013
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Dan Bernstein for GMAT success!

5 stars
February 26, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 48 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - New York 91 reviews
Teacher: Dan Bernstein
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
Note that Dan also teaches regular classes but I opted for the private tutoring due to my unpredictable work schedule.

Dan is the best teacher I have ever had in my entire academic life. Through high school and college I've never had such a great teacher. I recommend him 100%

It goes without say that Dan is brilliant but what is exceptional about Dan is that he is also a great teacher. A lot of times a smart person doesn't always make a great teacher because they have a hard time understanding how you can not understand something that to them is so simple. This is NOT the case with Dan. He was super patient and was able to help me through every hard problem. He is such a great and experienced teacher that he was able to find exactly what I wasn't understanding and break down the problem to teach me the fundamentals that I probably never properly learned in high school.

Dan has an amazing background including having spent some time as a school teacher and it shows. It's one thing to be able to ace the GMAT it's another to have the skills to teach. Dan has both.

There need to be more teachers like Dan.

With Dan's help my score went up about 200 points and I broke 700.

Joined: Mar 2013
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Program

5 stars
February 17, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 48 reviews
Teacher: Stacey Koprince
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 700
Hi,

As I benefited from other users' reviews, I would like to pay the favour forward and write my own review of the GMAT Prep companies that I used and specifically of Manhattan GMAT.

First, the Manhattan GMAT (MGMAT) Strategy guides are the best resources to study from, regardless of your preparation level and of your knowledge. These books have provided me with the foundations for all of the concepts tested on the GMAT. The material is comprehensive and covers everything. The end of chapter problems in the strategy guides not only allow you to practice what you have learned but also provide you with the confidence that you need in your studies. I went over these guides many times until I understood all of the concepts well.

Second, the MGMAT CATs are the most accurate tests and the most representative of the actual GMAT compared to the other available resources. I have done practice tests from Veritas, Knewton, and GMAT Prep. The Math is harder on the MGMAT CATs than on the actual GMAT. For the Verbal section, I read a lot online that MGMAT CAT Verbal part is easier than the actual GMAT Verbal part. I do not agree with this assessment. The actual GMAT Verbal may seem harder due to the additional stress associated with the actual test experience. I definitely recommend the MGMAT CATs as practice to anyone who is aiming for high 600s or 700s score.

Third, Stacey Koprince at MGMAT is an excellent teacher and a great motivator. When Stacey stresses in online forums and to her personal clients to do ALL parts of the GMAT CAT when practising at home, she is spot on. One of the main things that I changed and that as a result helped me improve my score by 30 points (670 to 700) was the stamina that I built by doing the AWA and IR sections every time I did a practice test. Furthermore, Stacey is excellent at identifying the weaknesses of students. Each one of us knows what his/her weaknesses are but we sometimes attribute greater weight to improving certain weaknesses while completely ignoring other weaknesses. For example, I was always keen on practising Math question in order to improve my Math knowledge. However, to do well on the GMAT is to learn when to skip a question that tests an acknowledged weakness of yours in order to save time and preserve your mental energy for the questions when the GMAT actually tests your stronger areas. Stacey drilled this point in me and she was right in doing so. For example, I am much stronger in Verbal (hitting 90% plus in practice tests) than in Math. On the actual GMAT, I got this crazy combinatorics problem. I remembered Stacey's advice at that point and simply guessed on the question. This in turn helped me focus my mental energy and my time on the remaining Math questions and on the Verbal part.

Finally, my greatest improvement had been in Sentence Correction (SC). I feel like once you have a good grasp on the rules tested, it actually becomes fun to solve SC questions on the GMAT. As is widely agreed on the GMAT online forums, MGMAT SC guide is an amazing tool to use to improve your SC performance. The book organizes the information in a very elegant way and the end of chapter problems are really good practice. However, Knewton's SC lessons are very very good as well. If you study SC from MGMAT and Knewton then you'll for sure be hitting over 90% in Verbal provided that your CR and RC are decent (70% to 80%).

I owe Stacey Koprince and Manhattan GMAT a lot. They were tremendously helpful and really aim on developing personable relationships with their clients. I asked Stacey to call me for a few minutes before I started the GMAT and hearing her confidence-instilling words really helped me focus my attention on doing well in the test.

Thanks Stacey and Thanks Manhattan GMAT!

Good luck to Everyone!