Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley

4.9 stars
(4.9/5) - 8 reviews
2905 Stender Way
Suite 66
Santa Clara, CA 95054
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Aug 2017
College: Haverford College
Major: Economics
Industry: Computers/Software
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

If you want to get your best score, sign up for Manhattan GMAT right now!

5 stars
January 30, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 8 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 490   After: 750
Manhattan GMAT is really worth the money! I took an in-person course with Ryan Jacobs, and the overall quality of the class far surpassed my expectations. If you make full use of the homework, subject guides, practice tests, and online "Interact Lessons", you will see significant improvement in your scores (260 points from my first practice test, 100 points from my second)!

Ryan brings a lot of GMAT teaching experience to the class. He has done his MBA, so he also explains why the GMAT tests concepts the way it does. This helped me to adjust my thinking throughout the course, ultimately shaping my test-taking strategy. I come from a mathematics background, so I was used to working on a problem until I got it right. It took a lot of practice and guidance from Ryan to adjust to thinking like a test-writer, improving my speed, and increasing accuracy.

If you are serious about getting the best GMAT score you can, sign up for Manhattan GMAT and do all of the practice problems, assigned homework, practice tests, and Interact Lessons. You will see significant improvement in your scores!

Joined: Jan 2017
Purchased Course: Jun 2017
Verified Real Student Review

Worth the Money!

5 stars
December 15, 2017
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 8 reviews
Teacher: Ryan Jacobs
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 630   After: 750
Very happy with Manhattan Prep! Class was incredibly helpful in mastering the test taking strategies. Ryan was clear, patient, and very thorough. Well worth the money!

Joined: Oct 2014
Purchased Course: Mar 2014
College: Northwestern University
Major: Metallurgical & Materials Science
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT Review (Q49/V40/IR8)

4 stars
October 16, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 8 reviews
Teacher: Ron Purewal
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I studied the GMAT starting in Feb/March; enrolled in the course starting in April and finished in June. Took the GMAT once in August after 1.5 months of intense self-studying and improvement. I didn't do as well on the CATs through MGMAT but I was within 10 points. I took a class because I just needed a routine schedule to get into the mode of studying while at work and I also like being able to contact an instructor for any questions. Ron was pretty laid back although he had some quirks about him. But the material was pretty useful. I found that the examples used in class weren't as hard as ones in the practice CATs. I am an engineer so i thought the MGMAT math wasn't so bad but I found MGMAT's math CATs to be harder than what they made you practice during the course. When I took the actual GMAT, I thought the math was extremely easy, so I guess its good to have a training course thats harder than the actual test. On the other hand, I did pretty well on Verbal portion of MGMAT's practice CATs, but I found the actual GMAT to be much harder, in both SC and CR, so that was a throw-off and I didn't get as good of score as I was getting on my practice tests. Lastly, the IR section was insanely easy on the real GMAT compared to the MGMAT practice IR. Markedly large difference. All in all, my score is pretty good and much better than when I started studying in the beginning so using the MGMAT materials definitely boosted my score and understanding of the test.

Joined: Jun 2011
Purchased Course: Jan 2011
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent company, amazing teacher

5 stars
June 20, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 8 reviews
Teacher: Ron Purewal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I do not doubt that Manhattan and Ron made the gmat as pleasurable an experience as it could possibly be. As other reviews have said, the quality of the materials is generally top notch. I found the verbal strategies a bit more difficult to implement, but that was rectified via office hours and discussions with Ron. As well, I feel the resources that are made available to you are the most robust in the industry, so much so that it can be overwhelming if you don't approach it correctly. The structured way in which Manhattan suggests studying is amazingly helpful, as it removes any additional stress brought on as a result of having to formulate your own study plan. The customer service at Manhattan is, bar none, among the best I have ever received from any company. I have never gone a full business day without having a question answered and I've always been treated with respect in a polite and enthusiastic way. This aspect alone would be enough for me to recommend the company.

Ron is a great instructor and I can say confidently that his knowledge of this test in unparalleled. His approach is no-frills and takes a while to get used to, but he does absolutely everything possible to ensure that your score is as high as it can be. His focus is very practical and he doesn't rely solely on theory. He strives to teach alternative methods to approaching questions (which many people, to their own chagrin, do not take seriously), which proves amazingly helpful in improving accuracy rates. He does an amazing job to get his students thinking about how the test makers think and how they plan to trick test takers, which provides an invaluable inclination to re-assess your answer to each question. If you live near the bay, I would absolutely recommend taking your course with him (though I'm sure you can't go wrong with any of Manhattan's people).

Joined: Sep 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: Arizona states
Industry: Highly Diversified Manufac and Service
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

MGMAT- good course if you are prepared to work hard!

5 stars
September 20, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 8 reviews
Teacher: Ron Purewal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took one in Jun 2010, I am going to take GMAT in Nov so I don't have results yet however the experience has been great. The instructor put his full efforts in showing us all the tricks and tips to watch out for twists in questions. The class was very conveniently located and was very decent. The material however is the best part of the course. MGMAT provides you the best books, online resources and class room trainig. The books are very well written and the online resources are very useful. They provide you good techniques to save time and answer intelligently.


I would recommend this to working professionals who have less time to prepare but want to score high to get into decent school

Joined: Aug 2009
Purchased Course: Jan 2010
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Ron Purewal Private Tutoring

5 stars
September 20, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 48 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 8 reviews
Teacher: Ron Purewal
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 700
I've encountered many teachers and tutors throughout my schooling and Ron is by far the best. No joke!

During my sessions with Ron I learned more valuable information and techniques than any course or self study program. Ron was able to diagnose my problems with the GMAT during our very first session by just watching how I solved the problems and seeing which problems I typically missed. The way that he is different from other instructors is that other instructors would have looked at my weaknesses and just told me to do more problems in those areas and go back and re-read the concepts in the workbooks. Instead, Ron gave me new techniques/tips to apply in those weak areas but more importantly he stressed his TAKEAWAY philosophy (just search the forum for takeaways)

Additional things I learned were a throwaway list, time management, alternative quant solving techniques, DS techniques, CR techniques, test day stress management, etc. For someone like me who had plateaued, Ron's help was helpful in taking me to the next level.

Also, as others have mentioned, he creates a comfortable setting in which its more of a dialogue than getting lectured at. He is simply awesome! Try to take a class with him and/or private tutoring.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
College: UCLA
Major: Economics
Industry: Accounting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Course and Instructor

5 stars
August 19, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 8 reviews
Teacher: Tommy Wallach
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
Tommy is a great instructor who is honestly interested in helping students succeed on the GMAT. He communicates the material clearly and provides his personal insight and strategies when possible. The classroom setting was a mix between lecture and discussion. He maintains a comfortable pace throughout the session so all material is presented. During each class session, students are trained to answer questions quickly or guess and move on. This prepares students for the time sensitivity of the actual exam.

The course material is logically divided into 8 books which focus on a particular area of the GMAT. They teach the basics and advanced concepts and strategies. The amount of homework assigned each week was challenging to complete. Class meetings were used to teach new concepts and review certain elements from prior sessions. Homework problems were not reviewed during the class. However, students are allocated 30 minutes a week for private tutoring sessions over the phone. Also, the course uses webcasts effectively to provide students with access to additional lectures.

Joined: Aug 2010
Purchased Course: Jun 2010
Verified Real Student Review

Excellant GMAT Prep Course

5 stars
August 6, 2010
Company: Manhattan Prep 396 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 276 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Silicon Valley 8 reviews
Teacher: Tommy Wallabach
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
I would highly recommend anyone looking to understand the GMAT in depth to take their class with Manhattan. My instructor was extremely knowledgeable and enjoyed teaching the material.

He made the material fun and was very encouraging. I couldn't have asked for a better prep session and instructor. I highly recommend this class for anyone wanted to know the gmat in detail.