Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C.
Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C.

4.6 stars
(4.6/5) - 33 reviews
1327 14th St. NW
Suite 350
Washington, DC 20005
wmarshall
Joined: Apr 2018
Purchased Course: Jan 2018
College: University of Virginia
Major: International Relations
Industry: Public Relations
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great on strategies and content

5 stars
March 10, 2019
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Volmer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: N/A
I took the 10-week Manhattan Prep course with Jeffrey Volmer (in the D.C./Northern VA area) in winter 2018 and was very pleased with the experience. Jeff is an excellent and patient teacher who always made himself available outside of class hours to answer questions.

The Manhattan coursework and classroom format encouraged self-study. For someone who may not be motivated to study alone and profits from the pressure of having to keep pace with peers, this is a great option. In addition to reintroducing the grammar and math concepts that one will need to ace the test, the Manhattan curriculum emphasizes the strategies a test-taker must use to optimize his or her score under the time constraint and how to recognize and approach recurring “tricks” that the test throws at you. Jeff did a great job of giving equal currency to the test content and strategies.

I started studying for the GMAT without having taken a math course since high school (eight years prior). Given the intensity of the quant, this was my greatest weakness. But the Manhattan textbooks (especially Foundations of Math) provide an overview of the basics and ample drill exercises to help improve on that portion of the test.

I did not take the test for business school so I wasn’t trying my damnedest to break 700 (I didn’t). The programs I applied to also accepted the highest score in each category (Quant/Verbal/IR/Essay) from any test sitting, so I had different incentives from someone applying to an MBA program. If you struggle in one category, I would recommend supplementing the Manhattan coursework with a tutor as you get closer to test date. If you are in the D.C. area, I’m fairly certain Jeff offers tutoring and would make an excellent one-on-one teacher.

jtheffelfinger
Joined: May 2018
Purchased Course: Sep 2017
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

A Surprisingly Enjoyable Experience

5 stars
May 21, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Jeff Vollmer
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 650   After: 710
It was not until after the 9 week in-person group GMAT course was complete that I learned that we had been Mr. Jeff Vollmer's inaugural class. I must say that I was surprised, because Jeff's teaching throughout the course was so effective and seamless. Jeff has an uncanny ability to answer questions and address confusion in such a way that benefits the entire class despite widely varying ability levels amongst the students. He also has a knack for demonstrating multiple viable methods for attacking the same problem. For those new to the exam, this a critical skill; you will not always have time to execute a full algebraic solution to a problem for instance. You must have multiple tools in your GMAT toolbox, and you must be comfortable in quickly discerning which approach is appropriate for the problem at hand. To boot, Jeff is also a humorous and inclusive teacher, and he made our multi-hour Thursday night study sessions, dare I say it, enjoyable.

As a military officer transitioning out of the service to business school, whose quant skills were certainly a bit rusty, I am very happy that I was able to achieve a 710. I am grateful to Jeff and MPrep, and I would enthusiastically recommend the service to anyone who is considering it.

zancap
Joined: Jan 2018
Purchased Course: Mar 2017
College: Rhodes College
Major: Political Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great Instructor, Great Resources

5 stars
January 4, 2018
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Marcus Hedahl
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
I had a highly positive experience taking a GMAT prep class at Manhattan Prep on Wednesday evenings from March to May 2017. I came in with little familiarity with the GMAT's format as well as a poor understanding of the level of effort necessary to prepare for the exam. Manhattan Prep did a fantastic job of acclimating me to the exam's content and providing excellent resources for preparation.

The most impressive part of the class was, however, the instructor, Marcus Hedahl. Marcus has an exceptional grasp of the GMAT's topics and does a great job of coaching students through the content effectively. Even more impressive, Marcus brings energy and engagement to the class despite its three-hour runtime at the end of the workday. There was never a dull moment over the course of the nine-week class.

Marcus helped me better understand what score range I could reach by test day. Initially, I was happy with the 80th percentile I was getting on Verbal in practice exams, but Marcus encouraged me to push for the high 90th percentile. After putting in additional work on Reading Comp and Critical Reasoning, my Verbal score on test day (44) definitely went a long way in bringing my total score up into the 700s.

I was also really pleased with the wide array of resources- both online and printed- that Manhattan Prep included in their 9-week class. In the final weeks leading up to test day, I used the online video lessons to refresh on earlier topics. I also used topic-specific practice question sets to drill hard on weak points.

Thanks to Manhattan Prep's first-rate instruction and excellent resources, I went from prep scores in the mid-600s to a 730 on test day.

sefitter
Joined: Sep 2015
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
College: William & Mary
Major: Accounting
Industry: Accounting
Country: United Arab Emirates
Verified Real Student Review

Disappointing.

3 stars
September 30, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Marcus
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 660
My main problem with Manhattan GMAT is that it is just a standardized test machine. I did not feel like the professor or anyone working at Manhattan really cared how I did- even when I asked for help. You would think if you shelled out $1,200 for a prep course that you would get some personalized study tips.
My problem was timing. The only help I got was advice to "just keep doing more problems". I, of course, obliged and did not get near the score I wanted to get.
I went from a 660 after taking Manhattan GMAT course to a 720 after using Magoosh GMAT materials.
Obviously, this course works for some people. If you do end up taking it, my suggestion would be to know your stuff before you go. Make sure you are solid on the fundamentals or else this course will not help you at all.

cartersfrank
Joined: Jan 2015
Purchased Course: Feb 2014
College: Wake Forest University
Major: Economics
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Very helpful if you're willing to put in the time

4 stars
January 19, 2015
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Great course. Learned plenty of tips that I would have otherwise not have seen or overlooked in the books. Just make sure that you have enough time during the week to do all of the accompanying work - if you don't the course itself will be far less useful.

BSchoolAspirations
Joined: Dec 2014
Purchased Course: Aug 2014
Verified Real Student Review

ManhattanGMAT is a weaker course than Veritas - I did both

3 stars
December 4, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Pedro Ledesma
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: No
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
Veritas and ManhattanGmat have very similar scores here. Given their status at the top of the heap I decided to take both.

Materials:

Veritas and ManhattanGMAT materials are generally pretty similar. Though, with the exception of sentence correction, Veritas materials are either equivalent or better than ManhattanGMAT. The online materials are so poorly organized at Manhattan GMAT it took me a long time to realize that they even had all of the material Veritas had.

Finally, Veritas just put up some new practice tests. They are awesome. They feel very similar to the official test questions and are quite challenging. ManhattanGMAT feels a few years out of date. Maybe it's because they were bought out by Kaplan, but either way, it's clear that they have work to do.

Instructor:
Pedro Ledesma is a solid instructor. Knows the material well. Very approachable.

nal645
Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Nov 2013
College: College of William and Mary
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Dedicated Teachers

5 stars
June 27, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Pedro Ledesma
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 710
I was initially hesitant to sign up for a Manhattan course, as it is higher priced than other prep classes. However, you truly get what you pay for - quality! The classrooms are nice and you actually enjoy being there. The teachers are incredibly smart, funny, and attentive. I excelled in this learning environment and with the course was able to raise my score 150 points from start to finish! I performed higher than I thought possible and am so thankful to Manhattan GMAT!

mp123
Joined: May 2014
Purchased Course: Jan 2014
College: University of Virginia
Major: Chemical Engineering
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Manhattan Gmat improved my score 110 pints

5 stars
May 14, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: David Chong
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 720
I believe taking the Manhattan GMAT course was the difference between me getting an okay score and me getting my goal score. I am a very motivated person and have always been a good student but having the GMAT really focused my efforts. Before starting I had no idea how to approach the Data Sufficiency questions or Critical Reasoning questions. During class, David really emphasized the skills in the course and reviewed the wrong answers. I think that is what helped me the most is seeing the little differences between right and wrong.

It was towards the end of my studying when I got frustrated and actually had a huge drop in my score (620). It was the second to last practice test I took. After that, I reevaulated how to approach the questions specifically the Critical Reasoning and Sentence Correction. I thought of how David kept emphasizing how one wrong word could make the difference and how the whole sentence correction needed to be right. That was what really got me over the hump on my last practice test (700) and finally on test day to my 720!

I encourage everyone who is hesitant to spend the money on the class. It is worth the investment. The GMAT is a long and tiring test and the skills and shortcuts they teach you in class make you stay focused on the task at hand and really improve your score.

Woodbriar
Joined: Apr 2014
Purchased Course: Feb 2012
Verified Real Student Review

Quality GMAT Data Sufficiency Prep

3 stars
April 4, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Quest for 750 Live Online Workshop
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 640   After: 660
The Quest for 750 Data Sufficiency Prep allows you to quickly develop your quant data sufficiency skills in a short amount of time. You can easily figure out where your strengths are and where your gaps are so you know where to focus your studying The software works well and is user-friendly. The course is an interactive class despite being virtual.

nmtaylor08
Joined: Mar 2014
Purchased Course: Dec 2013
College: Emory University
Major: Finance
Industry: Real Estate Finance
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Excellent Resources and Teacher Quality

5 stars
March 25, 2014
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Live Online 9-Session Prep Course 56 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Stacey Koprince
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
I would highly recommend taking Manhattan GMAT to prepare for the test. My experience with Manhattan has been nothing but positive. I chose to take the online course with Stacey Koprince and Marcus Hedahl, two wonderful teachers who were extremely invested in your learning experience. The course provided excellent study materials, ranging from in-depth study guides/books, an online bank of question analysis (OG Archer), and online labs. The quality of the instructors cannot be beaten - their enthusiastic attitude was very encouraging, and they shared useful tips and strategies that made studying much easier (and also kind of fun)! Overall, this was an excellent guide to getting the score you want.