Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C.
Location
GMAT COURSE LOCATION

Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C.

4.6 stars
(4.6/5) - 33 reviews
1327 14th St. NW
Suite 350
Washington, DC 20005
mvf2100
Joined: Jul 2013
Purchased Course: Jul 2013
Verified Real Student Review

Pricey, but worth it for quant review

4 stars
September 26, 2013
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Pedro Ledesma
Recommended forVerbal: No   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 690   After: 690
My tutor was awesome. I'm really happy after spending 6 hours with him. I was scoring in the 640-690 range before meeting with my tutor. I knew I needed to work on Quant, as that was my main weakness. I was scoring in the roughly 50th percentile, while my verbal was upwards of 90th. I was able to improve a lot of basic skills just by talking through the difficult quant sections and problems, particularly percents.
Ultimately, after a few hours I was able to bring my quant score up to a solid 44. Not the most incredible showing, but I don't have a quant background and this was about as far as I felt I could go with a tutor. My overall score didn't change, but my quant skills went up and I intend to take the GMAT again.
So, my view is this: the Manhattan books are great and second to none, but only do tutoring if you have a solid base or feel you learn better with 1:1 attention. The tutoring helped mostly with tweaking my understanding of the process -- not actually teaching me the basics. If you have a strong base, I'd recommend tutoring or a class through Manhattan!

Krawls
Joined: May 2013
Purchased Course: Jun 2013
Verified Real Student Review

They give you the tools, the rest is up to you.

4 stars
July 19, 2013
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Joe Martin
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 760
The nine week course with Manhattan was great as a comprehensive overview of all things GMAT. My instructor, Joe, was engaging, bright, funny, and very approachable which seems to the be hallmark of Manhattan teachers nation wide. Each class is effectively split into two halves, verbal and quant (not surprisingly) which is great if you need to brush up on all your skills but superfluous if you are already strong in one area. I will say the greatest value from Manhattan was not so much the classroom but rather the materials. OG Archer, the study guides, and the special sections are top notch and will give you every resource you will need to conquer the GMAT. That being said, the hard work after the class is over is entirely up to you. If you have the time, motivation, and commitment necessary to get to a 700+ score, the tools offered by Manhattan will get you there, but the class alone is unlikely to spring board you into the 99th percentile.

Personally, I would say the class gave me about a 90 point jump in raw score (started in the low 600's) but the rest was earned through good old fashioned studying.

The downside to having so much material available to you is that it can be overwhelming at times and Manhattan does not do a good job at giving you a complete inventory of what is offered. Certain tips for studying and test taking are buried in the GMAT roadmap, and I didn't discover them until after the course was completed. In addition, they have some hidden resources (advanced quant workbook for instance) that you have to "qualify" for before they will grant you access. I understand not wanting people to tackle the hardest material before learning the basics but I found it silly they were blocking off material you had already paid for and will eventually need.

Overall, they provide a great service for people who need a way to structure their GMAT studying and/or who are looking for a crash course covering all things GMAT. Although they are not cheap, they provide tremendous value if you come ready to work.



jimsumner84
Joined: May 2011
Purchased Course: Aug 2011
College: University of Virginia
Major: Computer Science
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great course with invaluable instruction and tips

5 stars
August 24, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Mark Porath
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
The MGMAT course was fantastic. It was very well organized and extremely well taught. My instructor was very knowledgable and personable. The online materials were some of the best I have ever seen, and the instruction books are very thorough. I could not have done well on this test without studying the lessons specific to each question/content type and the practical test taking tips from MGMAT!

itsgman
Joined: Feb 2012
Purchased Course: Aug 2011
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Expert instructor and concrete strategies to help you achieve a high score

5 stars
February 28, 2012
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Andrew Mara
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 750
I would highly recommend the in person Manhattan course for anyone who knows they want/need to achieve a 700's score to get in to the schools they are targeting. I did some research and asked around about other courses and the most positive I kept hearing about was Manhattan, minus the cost. It is expensive, but in my eyes it was worth it because I had heard success stories from others and I knew I needed a top score.

The bottom line is that Manhattan couples harder than average practice questions/tests with pretty legit and specific test taking and problem solving strategies for the GMAT to basically help ensure that you are going to achieve the best score your intelligence will allow, and likely higher because of all the tricks. The in person class was great, the instructor was incredibly smart but had a knack for making sure that you understood the "half ass" ways to do the most difficult problems and increase your chances. I really felt like I benefited from being there in person and getting the perspective of someone who was successful themselves (they are not shy about proclaiming that all teachers scored 99th percentile).

The books themselves are very good and many will recommend just to buy those whether or not you take the course. If you're tight on money that might not be a bad idea, because you get access to their online tests if you simply purchase a book. The books help give the same unique way of tackling all the different problem types that they discuss in class. But like I said, I think the class was valuable, but that is just me. The explanations of the official guide practice problems are also infinitely better than in the official guide itself.

The online practice tests were helpful as well because they are MUCH more difficult than the actual GMAT, so they help you push yourself and force you to get better by pinpointing areas you should work on, timing issues, etc...

Overall the course helped force me to push myself, do the practice, come to class, and ultimately know the best way to tackle the whole process. Expert advice every step of the way (I forgot to mention they have free 30 min virtual sessions with professors every week you can sign up for. I did these a few times and they helped as well).

If you are someone who knows they want a top score, I would highly recommend it. The first class is usually free, try it once and see if you like the instructor. Cheers.

alizabach
Joined: Dec 2011
Purchased Course: Oct 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Not for the faint-hearted, but worth the effort

4 stars
December 21, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Marcus Hedahl
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 730
The Manhattan GMAT course is really made for people who are willing to put forth the time and effort to make sure they are achieving to the best of their abilities. They give you tons of information, breaking down each individual component of the test, which can be overwhelming, but really prepares you for what you face in the GMAT.

The practice tests, in combination with timing strategy, are alone worth it because they give you as close an experience to the actual testing environment as you possibly could get prior to the test. However, the other materials are just as good. For not having done math in over five years, it really helped to have the Fundamentals of Math book and course to get up to speed quickly. The verbal section is all about tricks, and Manhattan GMAT definitely knows them!

The other benefit is the specialized attention that is available. The teachers know a ton about the test, so if you are willing to speak up and ask about areas that are troubling you, they will definitely provide targeted advice. They are invested in helping you do better, and want you to understand what you are doing wrong and how you should be thinking about changing your tactics. Office hours too are an opportunity that help you take advantage of the questions you have and give directed feedback. SUPER helpful in areas that are weak and the in-class descriptions are not sufficient.

That said, this course is made for people who really are investing the time, as it is quite expensive. Lots of homework is assigned each week, which is necessary to continue to progress in your individual areas of weakness. If you are thinking about taking this class to get an easy set of pointers to acing the test, look elsewhere. If you put in the effort, though, you can raise your score significantly. My score went up 100 points over the course, and I felt secure in my strategy as I went in to take the test.

All in all, a really strong course, with very strong support materials (especially the flashcards, online recorded webinars), but only if you are really willing to devote a few months to doing well on the GMAT. If so, it definitely pays off.

CW2424
Joined: Nov 2011
Purchased Course: Jul 2011
College: James Madison University
Major: Finance
Industry: Consulting
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Thanks MGMAT!

5 stars
December 1, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Marcus Hedahl
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 700
I wanted to take a moment to recommend Manhattan GMAT to any student looking to conquer the GMAT. I recently completed the 9 week course and am thoroughly satisfied with the service. They provide strategy guides for every subject and question type that the GMAT has to offer. Additionally, they offer 30 minute private tutoring sessions via an internet classroom, which really helped me work through problems and receive specialized attention.

The 6 CATS provided were very reflective of my actual score. Throughout the course, I took 4 CATs and my score gradually increased each time, until I finally achieved my goal of a 700+ GMAT score. When the time came to take the test, MGMAT provided a 1 hour private strategy session with a specialist to identify the best study material.

In my opinion, to conquer the GMAT, you need to really understand the test and learn what it is trying to test in each question. MGMAT provided this and much more. I can confidently give MGMAT credit for achieving my target score, and I strongly urge prospective MBA students to consider enrolling in MGMAT if they wish to conquer the GMAT!

scarlin129
Joined: Sep 2011
Purchased Course: May 2011
College: Wesleyan University
Major: Political Science
Industry: Multimedia
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

Great results - forced me to stay disciplined

5 stars
September 5, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Sean Murphy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 780
I work a very busy schedule and by the time I get off work I'm usually spent for the day. So when I signed up for Manhattan GMAT, I was worried that I wouldn't have the time or energy to keep up with the class. I thought that the moment I started to lose interest, I'd fall hopelessly behind. Well, that moment never came, because my instructor rocked and the course material seemed designed for people like me.
First, about Sean - he certainly knows how to keep a room full of very sharp people engaged: by challenging and entertaining them at the same time. Sean only caught me looking at my phone once in the entire nine weeks, which says something. He focused on tactics and counterintuitive situations, not merely foundations, so I knew that if I stopped paying attention even for a moment I'd miss something important.
The course materials were the same - always cutting to the chase with something new and important. I'm sure other courses just provide a textbook understanding of the fundamentals -- which is fine, and you can get that too from Manhattan -- but these course books never wasted my time with obvious stuff. For example, the first book focused on number properties -- elementary school stuff -- and yet when it was full of highlights when I was done with it. It was chock full of high level, valuable extrapolations from the easy number properties that I had not been taught in school, but I knew would be incredibly important on the GMAT.
Finally, the most valuable thing the course emphasized was the need to quickly recognize problem types. I got to the point that I could read a problem, realize that I'd done 10 like it, and then I'd follow the same path as before and get it done in half as much time. So with enough practice and recognition skills, you can autopilot your way through this test. That's what Manhattan (and Sean) taught me, and that's what got me a 780.

troym
Joined: Aug 2011
Purchased Course: May 2011
Verified Real Student Review

Best Prep Out There!

5 stars
August 31, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring 54 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Sean Murphy
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: 560   After: 750
I just took my GMAT and scored a 750 (Q49, V42). This was a pretty amazing feat for me considering I scored only 560 my first time taking the GMAT (and that was after taking Veritas tutoring and a Princeton Review Class!)

Only by sitting down with the Manhattan GMAT books and really learning the content contained in them was I able to get into the 700 range. Then, when I was consistently scoring in the 90+ percentile, Manhattan tutoring got me my 750 and into the 98th percentile. I recommend trying to get Sean Murphy in D.C. if he is available. He is a superb teacher and pretty much a genius. He'll show you exactly what you need to do to get the score you want.

If you want a 700+ on the GMAT, use Manhattan GMAT. PERIOD!!!

Lily M
Joined: Jun 2011
Purchased Course: Jan 2011
College: The Pennsylvania State University
Major: History
Industry: Other Non-Profit
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

GMAT success

5 stars
June 23, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Marcus
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 690
-I took a practice GMAT before the signing up for the class and scored in the low 500's. I knew at that point that I would need to take a class and I'm so glad that I chose Manhattan GMAT. Marcus was a fantastic instructor! He covered all of the material, tips, pointers, etc, but did so at a pace that worked for the "students". He was very down-to-earth and understood that most of the people in the classroom (if not all) were working full time jobs, and therefore were tight on time. In order to make sure that we focused on the important material, he would give us 3 "priority" homework assignments for each week if we didn't have time to cover all of the homework.

-The free weekly "office hours" were extremely helpful. I didn't miss any sessions and they really helped me focus on my problem areas. They also provided me with additional resources in my weaker areas.

-I took advantage of the Manhattan GMAT's free "you screwed up the GMAT and let's figure out why" phone consultation (scored a 620 on my first GMAT), which was great. I spoke with Daniel, who I believe is based on the west coast, and he set me up with a solid study plan.

-I took GMAT #2 and scored a 690. That's 20 points higher than my best practice exam and 70 points higher than GMAT round #1. I can't remember my exact break down, but I tested in the 65-ish percentile in quant and 92 in verbal. I'll take it!

Thank you Manhattan GMAT

kam248
Joined: Jun 2011
Purchased Course: Mar 2011
College: Georgetown University
Major: Finance
Industry: Investment Banking
Country: United States
Verified Real Student Review

The program has a steep price but delivers everything advertised.

5 stars
June 22, 2011
Company: Manhattan Prep 420 reviews
Course: Manhattan Prep 9-Session Prep Course 291 reviews
Location: Manhattan GMAT - Washington, D.C. 33 reviews
Teacher: Marcus Hedahl
Recommended forVerbal: Yes   Math: Yes
GMAT ScoresBefore: N/A   After: 740
Quality of instruction is generally PHENOMENAL. Marcus, my instructor, did an exceptional job keeping the class engaged, clearly organizing the schedule of work and preparation, and managed to coordinate a class of students whose scores probably wil range well over 100 points.

Of my 9 sessions, 1 was with another, substitute instructor. That 3 hour session was unbearable, much slower and far less productive. Highly recommend you use the "1 free trial class" option to make sure you're getting a competent instructor.

I took the class February - May of my senior year of undergrad (class of 2011), and crammed multiple hours a day ~6 days a week from the end of May to my exam on June 15th.

The course materials are comprehensive ad extremely helpful, and the numerous online resources (practice tests, diagnostics, online tutoring, etc.) are likewise very helpful. It is stressed (with reason) that it is imperative each individual tries to prepare ahead of time for each class and reviews the material as suggested by a detailed syllabus & homework schedule. Besides the 36 hours in class, students can probably anticipate 1x-2x that amount in additional personal review.

The program is pricey ($1400 for a 9 week session) but I felt I got a lot of value out of the class. Likewise, the price seems even more worth it in retrospect, now that I have the score to validate it. Had it turned out worse, it'd seem a little more exorbitant.